Grenada, MS 
Cemetery Ridge DGC Share
Uploaded By: WSP420 Hole #15 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 130ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Incredible potential

1    9/22/2022   9/22/2022
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 260  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 22.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic Terrain for DG. Heavily wooded with great changes in elevation. Beautiful park with great water views. Bathrooms on site
Cons: Course is not maintained. #18 basket was on the ground and several others were in bad shape. I never found the basket for #16. Tees are also in bad shape.some tee signs are missing and the signs are not great anyway. Many holes don't have much of a line due to overgrowth. Hole number 1 is a bad design. It throws right over a picnic table and there is a fenced in area right by the basket. Easy to put a disc in there. Also too many holes throw across roads. Navigation is bad. No course map on site. There are some signs pointing to next tee but it was still difficult. Baskets are numbered but numbers are too small to see at a distance
Other Thoughts: I struggled with how to rate the course. With some maintenence and slight changes this could easily be a 4. Based on current condition it also could be less than the 2 I gave. The 2 was for the beauty and potential. I did enjoy playing there despite having to look for a lot of holes. Some of the individual holes are nice but again no maintenence. I talked to the ranger while I was there and he would like to do some improvements but there doesn't appear to be a local club or group to help with that. A previous review said baskets were underwater but not when I was there. Water was low. This could become a destination course with a redesign and update. The land really is fabulous for disc golf

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Extreme baggers course only as of now.

1    5/18/2021   5/18/2021
Review By: TRoss886
Played: 267  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 20.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Bag Hooks: 6 of the 18 holes at Cemetery Ridge feature bag hooks on poles. There are also a few laying on the ground and taken over by brush, but 6 are standing tall and proud.
- Next Tee Arrows: These are great and necessary on this course. They are faded blue metal and usually attached to trees near the basket.
- True Turn: This course returns to the parking area after #9 if you want to grab anything from your car for the back 9 or simply head out.
Cons:
- Unplayable Tee Boxes: The tee boxes at Cemetery Ridge are all natural and marked by two blue wooden posts at the front of the box. Many of the these are not level and have been covered over by grass and brush. 3 of the 18 tees are completely unplayable due to trees laying on the tee box area after demolishing everything.
- Unplayable Baskets: 3 of the 18 baskets here are unplayable. One is 20 feet into the lake with basket high water. One looks to have been nearly demolished by a tree. The other is totally flattened under a huge tree. This one could possibly make a neat art installation if it is ever recovered. That comes to a grand total of 5 out of 18 holes that are completely unplayable with the tees and baskets combined.
- Tee Signage: The signage here is simple and aged with time. Wooden signs feature only hole number, distance, and a very basic shot shape. Par, OB, and next tee information are missing. The biggest issue is that 4 of the 18 signs are missing all together.
- Safari Golf: This course gives new meaning to this term. Many of the holes feel like you are just throwing through totally untouched woods. Many are lacking any kind of "line" for this reason. When walking from shot to shot, this is also a problem since there are few paths or fairways. You just kind of bushwhack. The only time this is not the case, you deal with the next con.
- Roads: This course throws over the road on 5 of the 18 holes. This would not be ideal on a busy day here. Unfortunately, these holes are currently the best on the course since roads don't require grooming and do require fallen tree removal.
- Basket Visibility: It can be hard to spot the baskets from the tees here for a few (fixable) reasons. The older Mach 2 baskets can be hard to spot anyways but the rust that has accumulated on these is no help. The "safari" nature of the course mentioned above is the main culprit. Some new orange visibility on the baskets (that are still playable) would be a nice addition.
- Course Baggers Only: I'm not sure why anyone would play here as of now other than an extreme bagger (as myself) with the current course issues. I would love to see this course get revitalized and I'll be the first to come back and reevaluate.
Other Thoughts:
Not pros or cons:
- Navigation: This is somewhat of a wash at Cemetery Ridge. The next tee arrows mentioned in pros are a huge help while the course lacks a course map or next tee info on signage as mentioned in the cons. A course map would be a great addition.
- Benches: I counted 3 usable benches at tee pads that had not been destroyed. Zero benches is a con but I can't complain about the 3 that are still here. Adding more or rebuilding the others would be a great touch.
- Elevation: The elevation changes of the property have a lot of potential. However, this is frustrating at the moment because bushwhacking (on the fairway) is always more frustrating going uphill.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty little pitch and putt

1    3/8/2015   3/8/2015
Review By: Wood Chuk
Played: 371  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 42.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Many of the holes (4,5,6,8,9, & 14-18) are really quite pretty and have an intimate feeling utilizing small land features.
*Very little disc golf specific vegetation disruption during course installation and subsequent management.
*Course is easy to navigate.
*All signs and baskets present.
Cons: *Throwing over roads.
*Baskets do not stand out, so you often need to walk ahead to determine basket locations.
*#15 tee sign is too close to the tee pad for a safe RHBH follow through.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty little pitch and putt course in a State Park. While the park is managing vegetation (there was evidence of a nicely executed controlled burn on much of the course), they are not managing vegetation for disc golf purposes. This means you will enjoy tight, overgrown fairways, and several striking patches of tall grass - sometimes very near the basket. It may be frustrating at times, but it can be refreshing to play a course where the challenge has not been manicured away.
It would be cool to have this course's evil twin on the highly groomed ball golf course carved out of the woods less than a 1/4 mile away - who knows what the future holds.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Closing Down

1    7/25/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: wheelthrill
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I must first note that this course is closing down.
I found this out after talking to the personnel at the State Park office, commenting to them about the bad shape the course was in.

The first 4-5 holes are great and playable. I suppose it's this way due to being out in the open, which makes the park look nice.
I liked that it was designed by an Eagle Scout. I hate to see that they are closing it down.
Cons: 6-18 are pretty much unplayable or not safe.
Throwing through thickets because of the course not being kept up with. Grass/weeds are rather tall and great places for snakes.
Some signs are broken and baskets are bent due to trees falling on them.
Other Thoughts: If a state park is going to have a disc golf course, they should definitely keep it up, clean it, and have it always playable. There really isn't any excuse for a course like this to go under. Could have been a great course and I hate to see it closed down. I would rather have it closed though instead of other disc golfers or families go trekking into basically uncharted territory due to maintenance.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun!

1    8/17/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 20.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice flow. I never had to search around for the next tee.
-Holes #9 & #18 both loop back around to the parking area.
-Tee signs with distances on every hole
-Most baskets were in excellent condition (#4, #10 & #14 were exceptions)
-Benches on several holes.
Cons: -Not well maintained at all: Very tall grass on #6 & #18. A large tree has fallen in front of the #12 tee. (It's not that bad though... you can play through the tree or take a few steps up to the road and tee-off from there)
-Baskets #10 & #14 look like a trees fell on them and #4 is in disrepair.
-I didn't see a single trash can on the course
-Very short holes
-The lanes/fairways on a few holes are non-existent, or too overgrown to recognize.
Other Thoughts: After reading the single review and seeing the course condition as 'Unplayable,' I was ready for the worst. Turns out, the course isn't nearly as bad as it was made out to be. I had a great time!

Yes, it's overgrown in places and a few baskets need to be replaced/repaired, but all in all it's a nice little course that needs more traffic. If you play George Payne Cossar State Park, it's worth the 30ish minute drive to play this short fun course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not Much here

1    11/18/2008   12/10/2008
Review By: ambroze
Played: 231  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 17.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Not much here to report except I was able to play here while passing through MS and it was the only one I had time to play.
Cons: Very hilly and a lot short easy shots. Some shots go over the road into oncoming traffic, which I'm personally not a huge fan of. I would not play it again if I was in the area.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.