Clearwater, MN 
Airborn Disc Golf - Lynx Share
Uploaded By: playrecords Hole #5 (Taken 11/2020)
3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
All skills welcome

5+    8/20/2020   1/11/2021
Review By: Thoraken
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Lynx is a great course for all skill levels. Good mix of longer holes with some shorter holes offering that enticing Ace run! The Lynx course offers a great opportunity for all skill levels to get out and enjoy disc golf! Once you've warmed up make your way to the Timberwolf for some more demanding throws.
Cons: If there must be one... Tee sign distances are misleading.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Property

1    1/11/2021   1/11/2021
Review By: Drunnfeldt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: A great course to play for any skill level. All of the shots are super fun and the design was thought out well. Not as challenging as the Timberwolf as it is a little shorter and does not have as many water encounters.
Cons: Would like for the course to have permanent teepads.
Other Thoughts: This course along with the Timberwolf is laid out on one the the most beautiful disc golf properties in the world.

0 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Another winner in MN

1    5/20/2020   1/10/2021
Review By: Norvelljeff
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Lush greens, wide open fairways, clear footing, what else could a disc golfer ask for? I'll tell you, a burger and fries, which can also be attained at this disc golf course! Wow-what a place, you go and check-in, pay some cashola, and boom, it's tour time baby. The views are fantastic and so is the golf. Love the prodigy baskets
Cons: As somebody mentioned earlier, there is only one bad thing about this course and it's the signage. I'm sure there will be something new in the works soon.

Other Thoughts: If somebody could open one of these closer to my house, that would be great......thanks.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.


1    6/22/2020   6/23/2020
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 526  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 16.7 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Lynx at the Airborn Disc Golf Preserve is the shorter more technical of the two courses onsite. This course is a great compliment to the Timberwolf. It's the same style golf but in an easier to manage style for us without the cannons for arms. A bite size version if you will. It's still a challenging, well designed course. I actually liked this one better personally.

The Prodigy baskets are amazing. These are some of the best, if not the best, baskets I've ever played on. Beautiful. The Lynx baskets are a bright yellow which stands out great and makes them easy to differentiate from Timberwolf's orange baskets. These are all mounted nice and level and catch great.

The tee pads are the artificial turf pads they got on the big course for the majority of the holes. These are pretty solid and are nice sized. Plenty big enough for a solid run up. They were solid. Not sure how they are in wet conditions but in dry conditions they work fine. A couple holes used a section of the old cart path.

The tee signs have all the basic info on them. Hole #, par, distances and a pretty simple hole map. The top right corner has either a Lynx or Timberwolf on it designating which course the signs for. There are numerous next tee signs to help with navigation in needed spots.

The flow of the layout is pretty easy to follow. Much easier for a first timer than the other course. The Lynx plays entirely on the south side of the entrance road.

There's a better mix of different types of holes on this course in my opinion. It's definitely more wooded than the other, but that's not saying much. Less water but it's still present. I actually lost a disc on hole 5 I believe it was. The water carry hole. It was a terrible, low shot by me but it's still a factor at least.

$10 for all day play is on the high side but it's not overly high. $5 after 5 PM is a cheaper alternative. The course is permanent and has restrooms and a pro shop by the parking lot. Solid setup. There is also a driving range area and multiple practice baskets behind the shop.
Cons: As I mentioned in the other review, the turf pads are a little lumpy and uneven in spots. It's mostly due to sandy/soft ground underneath them. It's not a dealbreaker but a little odd in spots. The sections of cart path used as tees aren't always level which is worse than the lumpy turf imo. These seemed worse on this course.

The tee signs are not going to last with the material they're made of. I'm sure they have plans for more permanent signs, but as of now these will be hard pressed to last the rest of the summer. The course is still VERY new so I'm sure these are just temporary but worth mentioning.

Other Thoughts: This course is a fantastic compliment to the big bad wolf. I wouldn't consider this course beginner friendly by any means, but it's much more managable for the recreational player such as myself. This complex isn't destination worthy per se, but with all the other fantastic disc golf in the area, the whole Twin Cities region is destination worthy. If you're in the area or driving through it's definitely worth a stop, even if you only have time for one of the two. I'll go with a 3.5 for a rating, which is very good. It's just not as epic feeling as it's big brother.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Shorter, but comparable

1    5/26/2020   5/26/2020
Review By: Dr.feelgood
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- decent shot variety
- some water hazards
- great baskets
- scenic
- easy to navigate

Cons:
- expensive
- minimal elevation change
- not many obstacles
Other Thoughts: This course is a good alternative to the Timberwolf one if you can't throw as far, or just prefer shorter holes. Some of the holes have water hazards, but they're not as big of a factor.
Since this course plays up and down an old ball golf course, most of the holes involve either throwing along the woodline, or throwing from one woodline to the other. A couple of the holes are very technical, but for the most part, it's pretty open. There's also very little elevation change.
The course was very easy to navigate. The signs and Teepads were fine, but they seem temporary. The baskets are Prodigy T1s, which are excellent. I've had fewer bounce outs with the T1s than any other basket. There's also an elevated, and a hanging basket, which is a nice touch.
For me, this course alone definitely isn't worth the $10 price of admission, but if You're already playing the other course, it's worth checking out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Solid complement to the other course onsite

1    5/3/2020   5/4/2020
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 175  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 16.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is part of a 2-course 36-hole complex built in a defunct ball golf course along the Mississippi River. The two courses have different color Prodigy baskets orange and yellow, to help navigation. Lynx uses the yellow baskets, and is the easier and shorter (by about 2000ft) of the two courses.

Although the holes are set among old ball golf fairways, they mostly avoid simply following the ball golf routes. There are 3 or 4 bombs to throw down the ball golf fairway, but the rest of the holes take advantage of the wooded edges of the fairways. Some play across from woodline to woodline, highlighted by hole 8 with a basket nestled about 100 feet into a glade with a creek just short of the basket. The rest play along fairways edge to create more defined lines, with one side wide open, or with tunnel shots highlighted by a great finishing hole 18 that is about 500ft through a moderately wooded tunnel that has a few sections that narrow down to 20-30ft width. Ponds come into play on holes 3 and 5 but they are relatively easy to avoid if you want to play safe. Creek is in play on 3 holes.

An interesting and unique design feature is that the two courses are interwoven, so that you can see parts of the other course from the course you're playing. If it's poorly designed there could be interference, and I didn't notice any problem like that at all.
Cons: A few too many wide open fairways for my taste but that's not really part of my numerical rating.

Non-uniform tees are not ideal. Some are using the old cart path concrete, but aren't necessarily lined up right with the hole. Some are natural and bare dirt...mud could be a problem.

Some holes have mandos to enforce a tunnel route. Without them, the hole designs could be defeated by playing out to the fairway, and could lead to some interference with other holes. So I understand why the mandos are there, and they make the holes better. But I view mandos as a correction to a design flaw, rather than a design feature.

Several holes of the Lynx course play alongside a wooded hillside that has significant potential for extra elevation in the hole design. That didn't seem to be utilized much, just barely touching the edge of the hillside. I don't know if that land is unavailable or restricted, and if it is, I obviously wouldn't knock the designers for it. If that space is available, it would be nice to see a couple future long tee and long pin locations set farther up that hillside to improve the variety and challenge of the course, in a way that is different from the Timberwolf course.
Other Thoughts: The complex has a huge amount of space and could easily accommodate big festival-type tournaments. There is only a small parking lot and the overflow parking area is in a low grassy field that looks like it could retain water. It was dry when I was there, but I wonder how that overflow parking would fare in wet conditions.

Distance on signage was suspect in many cases. They are temp signs so it can be easily fixed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.