Orange Beach, AL 
Orange Beach DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers   (Taken 6/2013)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Lil Beach Course

1    7/15/2017   7/16/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 131  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- free to play , plenty of parking
- quality baskets
- numbered tee signs with bag hangers
- park located on the water
- bar on location
- low traffic course
- baskets numbered
- intuitive course layout
- plenty of shade
- very beginner friendly
Cons:

- natural tees
- short hole lengths, no variation of lengths
- plain hole design
- flat course
- fairway overlap
- tees too close to other fairways
- tee signs don't list distances
- beach traffic
Other Thoughts:

Orange Beach is a short pitch and putt course located near a small boat harbor. The natural tees are marked by makeshift tee signs with arrows directing throwers to their corresponding basket. What these signs lacked in information, they made up for in functionality. Each had a flat "L" shaped surface in which casual players can rest their beverages and hang their bag. Another great feature of this course was it's proximity to a bar on the water. Clearly, the course designer had the casual aspect well covered if nothing else. I'm actually a little surprised 9 baskets were shoehorned into this small strip of land.

As is, it's not a course I'd likely play again. Gameplay is plain and forgettable. More than anything, it's a pain to brave the summer beach traffic. I stopped by at the end of a road trip around 1:30 on a Saturday, traveling west to east. Westbound traffic to the beaches was absolutely horrendous. I couldn't imagine waiting all that time just to throw this course. If you're already in the area I could see this as a fun way to break up the beach monotony, though. Hole one starts next to the dog park, on the opposite side of the park parking lot. Leave the tourney bag at home, this is a true pitch and putt course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice short course

1    5/14/2017   5/20/2017
Review By: RollTideRikard
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course if your on vacation in the area or live close by just to get a quick round in. Nice views of the water . They did a decent job with the area they had to work with.
Cons: Short course , most holes around 200 or under.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice quick and scenic

2-4    9/10/2016   9/11/2016
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 60  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice quick round, this is the closest to the coast in Alabama you'll play DG. It also balances the 18 hole Graham Creek course in Foley.

- easy to navigate though no real signage other than tee markers on the trees
- baskets in good shape
- scenic
- restrooms are near the tiki bar, there are at least a couple trash cans on the course, and each tee sign has a bag holder
- yes I said tiki bar.
Cons: - on the short side, no holes over 300', some under 200'
- I could see how crossplay could occur
- could get repetitive
- watch for broken glass in various spots
Other Thoughts: This is the only course in Baldwin Co. I hadn't played. The most recent reviews mentioned how it was possibly going to be moved soon so I didn't prioritize it. However, having a reason to go down to OB I decided to check it out and was delightfully surprised to find a fun pitch & putt course that was easily playable in less than 30 minutes once you figured out the route. Don't go by the maps, as the layout is practically the reverse of it. There are wooden tee signs on the trees w/ an attempt at bag holders. Nothing fancy but gets the job done.

The course plays a loop. Facing from tee 1 w/ the dog park behind you, it plays along the east side of the property towards the water, then at the water it double-backs to play along the west side of the property back towards the dog park. All baskets are clearly marked on the headrick facing the direction of the tee. Most baskets go past the next tee so you have to backtrack to the next tee. You really can get away w/ just using a midrange out here. Whether you're a forehander or backhander there are no punishing distances here so mistakes are easily forgiven. Almost has the feel of a Disc Mini-Golf course. It'll challenge your control though, in that it's easy to overshoot your target. No real water hazards except #5.

It's a super short/quick course but if I were vacationing in the area I'd totally make the trip for at least a couple rounds. When you're done you can walk down to the water to a small tiki bar where you can order food/drink/watch tv with great views of Terry Cove. If you're looking for something more challenging and longer Graham Creek in Foley is just up the road, not to mention Pensacola has a few courses of its own.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good intentions

1    7/31/2015   8/13/2015
Review By: Revell8r
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: Easy to find. Clean and a good view of the bay. Nice baskets.
Cons: Tees weren't marked. Very small so each hole is on top of each other.
Other Thoughts: My review may not be very favorable but overall I enjoyed this course. I spoke with a local and they said that the course gets a lot of visitors. Also the local said that he believes the land is being donated some sort of marine life organization and the course will most likely be moved, which it really needs to be.

 

1    6/3/2015   6/18/2015
Review By: Justin L
Played: 50  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great view of the bay
- Easy to find, ample parking
- Dog park next door for your four legged friend
- Minutes away from some of the best beaches in the country
- Good use of the very little land provided
- Good course to bring the kids/first timers
Cons: - No tee signs
- Missing tee markers in places (purple flags blown/washed away)
- No restrooms on site
Other Thoughts: Based on the previous reviews it appears this course might be abandoned. Another posibility is that the new-ish looking dog park might have replaced some of the land used by the disc golf course. Tee pads are marked by small purple landscaping flags of which several were blown/trampled over. Several holes didn't have marked tees at all so I looked for trampled areas of grass/sand.

Even with all those things considered I still recommend you plays this course. First, it's a disc golf course just a few miles away from some of the nicest beaches in the country. So if you're here, you're probably on vacation. Take an hour, throw on some flip flops, and go toss a few discs!

I feel pressed to give this course a "do over" because it looks like there might be some changes coming. I'll definitely check it out next time I'm down in the OBA area!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice quick round

1    5/18/2014   5/24/2014
Review By: The Drake
Played: 106  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The OB disc golf course is a nice little course set near the water on a relatively small property. The park is well maintained and very clean. The course flows pretty well and its easy to figure your way around. I would describe the course as partly wooded. There are clear routes to hit but the course is designed well in the limited space to allow for a decent amount of variability during the round.

This is a great course to bring new players to and work on your short game. Being only 9 holes and short it makes for a quick round so if you're in a pinch for time its perfect.
Cons: The only negatives to the course are those that would be expected.

There is no distance on the course so don't worry about bringing your drivers.

The tees are natural which isn't really a negative given the short layout but what they do lack are real tee signs. As a result you don't know distances when you're on the tee.

Unfortunately during my round two of the holes were greatly altered following part of the course literally washing away. The basket for hole 3 is no longer in the ground and the tee pad for hole 4 is also gone.

Of course the last negative is its only 9 holes (and with one basket gone really 8)
Other Thoughts: During my round, because of the missing holes I decided to play safari golf to make up for it. This course definitely lends itself to some good safari holes so if you wanted to play 18 holes it could easily be done.

Just a short drive from the beach this is a great course to hit if you just need a little time away from the beach or to mix things up some. Its not a course I would drive down specifically to play but anytime I'm at gulf shores I'll probably play.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 fun little course

2-4    11/28/2013   11/28/2013
Review By: mudpie
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun little course for only 9-holes. Grounds are kept up very well and the local folks who support it are to be commended. Great map near the first tee along with nicely printed scorecards AND little pencils just like a regular golf course. Unheard of at most DG courses. If I had had anything other than a credit card, I would have made a contribution in the contribution box. Quiet little neighborhood to the east with houses that have widow walks, back bay to the south make for nice views. A good player can actually birdie every hole if on game. Brand new baskets were very nice. Wood next tee signs attached at the bottom of each basket that help the first time around...
Cons: None really, just wish they had a little more land to make it an 18 hole track.
Other Thoughts: It took me six or seven trips around the track to birdie every hole except that little sucker #3. Might be because it is the only hole where the basket is in sand, hard to get tee shot close to basket on this hole. #7 is the only hole where a driver is truly needed except on very windy days, but is still a very fun hole. #2 is such a fun hole with a couple of options off the tee, including a big high throw out to the right over a parking lot with a big fade back toward the basket. Don't let the water scare you on #4, scenic but short hole you should birdie every time, just be careful on windy days so you don't lose a disc in the bay.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting

5+    10/13/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: AUfantastic
Played: 128  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short, easy to maneuver. Gives a break from the beach to break up the monotony. Well kept. This is like a PAR 3 golf course for disc golf. However, it should be PAR 2. Good for honing skills on short throws, especially turnover shots.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Only one long hole on the course.
Other Thoughts: Will be back there again for just fun.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center