San Diego, CA 
Colina Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #4 (Taken 1/2016)
3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Marker



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  

2-4    3/23/2016   7/30/2019
Review By: Nate32
Played: 58  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2019
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Colina Park in San Diego, California is a short 18 hole disc golf course. This disc golf course plays through Colina's golf course.

-This course is maintained very well and has some challenging shots. All the holes play along the golf course layout which makes it easier to manage your way around the course. They have turf tees at Colina which are very grippy as well as very nice Discatcher baskets.
-There is a pro shop with some discs to rent and other things as well as a lost and found.(If you throw it in the lake)
- There are kids disc golf clinics as well.

Since it is a golf course you will not get much of a skip which makes you rethink your decision of a disc.
There are stone markers on every hole which also makes it easy to navigate your way around.

They have scorecards in the pro shop for players as well as a used disc rack and new disc rack. This course is fairly short but I still needed to throw driver on some of the holes.
Cons: All of the bunkers are OB which takes out a little bit of the fun if you are a beginner. The prices to play are a little high but I can understand them because they keep this course looking very nice.
- This was my first time playing a disc golf course on a ball course and I thought it was a little more challenging than I expected. As you may know a lot of the ball courses have streams or water running through them. Well they have this at this course and it makes it hard if you are a beginner to throw across it.

- Some of the holes on the back side play by a soccer field and they were so loud.
This course is fairly busy ball golf wise and disc golf wise. I did not have issues running into a big group though.
Other Thoughts: I think this course was a challenge and very fun to play. I enjoyed the down hill floater shots to the basket. This course kind of reminds me of Sunset Park in San Marcos, California. I would rate this course much higher just because it is longer and maintained a little bit better.

- Another course in the area is Morley Field which offers a little bit more of variety in terms of Par 3s, 4s and 5s.

If your on a road trip try to hit up Morley and this course they are the best in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Colina Park-An Outstanding Little Rec Course in San Diego!

1    1/9/2019   1/9/2019
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1418  Reviewed: 1365  Exp: 41.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Colina Park Golf Course is located just about three miles from the world famous Morley Field Disc Golf Course. The Colina Park course is a very lovely little pitch and putt golf course with rolling hills, majestic palm trees and a couple of water features. The course is immaculately maintained and beautiful, as well. It cost a very reasonable $7 for one round or $10 to play all day. Compared to other golf courses with disc golf, this is a bargain. The nearby Mission Bay Golf Course charges $18 a round.

The course plays from the same tees as the regular golfers (there are only tee pad per hole). The pads are square carpet like and are great for us disc golfers. There is a rock like tee marker at each hole showing the hole number. Most holes have benches, as well. The baskets are Discatchers complete with yellow bands and numbers. The baskets are placed all around the greens. Some are closer, some placed behind the green and others placed on the sides. All of them are straight throws, most in the 230'-275' range. Only # 3 is over 300' and five player under 200'. To me, this classifies this as a recreational level course. Advanced players could play here with mid-ranges and putters only.

When you play both the greens and the sand traps as OB's, the challenge here grows exponentially.

A signature hole? I liked the long hole, # 3, mostly because it was lined with palm trees. # 9 was a nice little 192' downhill Ace run, always a favorite of mine.
Cons: Playing on a public golf course, you never know what kind of golfer or disc golfer you might have to deal with. I got stuck behind a foursome of high school aged boys. First, they were terrible golfers routinely driving 75' grounders. Second, they had no clue about golf etiquette. Instead of letting me play through, they hurried up to try and stay ahead. One guy always lagged behind staying in the green to record his 6's. I finally played out of turn and was able to sneak past them.

With 17 holes playing under 300' and open, this is definitely a rec course. Not recommended for better players.

Even though $7 a round is a bargain, it might prevent some players from playing here.
Other Thoughts: When I consider all the disc golf courses on regular golf courses I've played, this ranks right at the top with Sunset which was not far from here and unfortunately has closed. That's a shame. However, Colina is hilly and lovely and pretty inviting for us rec golfers. If I lived in San Diego and got tired of the hordes who play Morley, Colina would be an excellent change of pace. Get it a chance, you'll probably be glad you did.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    9/22/2018   9/23/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 119  Reviewed: 117  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice located on ball golf course, and very well maintained. Even though every shot is fairly short the ob still present plenty of obstacles. Very nice tee pads, and baskets. Pro shop with scorecards, and map of course. Easy navigation and everyone there including golfers seemed aware of the disc golfers.
Cons: It does play next to most the golf greens, and on a busy day could be an issue watching for golfers and disc golfers as long as waiting for people to finish as the tee pads are shared as well.
Other Thoughts: This a nice technical course with no holes to air out. Could get a little crammed but a very fun expirence

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 An unexpected gem.

1    1/3/2017   1/4/2017
Review By: programchaos32
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Uphill and downhill shots.
Technical shots.
Lots of short to the left and to the right.
Some water hazards.
Lots of OB areas.
Not busy on a weekday morning.
Easy to navigate.
Friendly staff.
Pristinely kept.

Cons: Not a lot of guardian trees.
$7 to play one round.
Not a lot of long shots.
Other Thoughts: Colina park is a little gem of a course situated in between the El Cerrito and City Heights neighborhoods in San Diego, California. Situated on a ball golf course, you navigate up and down hills and around the park on a very easily navigable path. The pro shop was happy to provide maps and pencils, but was mostly a ball golf shop, so their gear and disc supply was pretty limited.
The course was kept really well and the staff were more than friendly when helping me out with a disc I lost in water. All the shots were pretty fun and not very challenging distance-wise, but as for the challenge that the out-of-bounds bunkers and golf green were, the course was not just easily swept away. Baskets on top of small hills and lots of OB kept this course a fun little challenge to birdie and an interesting roll-out away for an outside the circle par shot. All in all it was a very nice course to play, and although the price is a little steep for San Diego, it'd still recommend it to anyone and probably will go back just because of its fun factor.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Technical Fun

2-4    5/14/2016   5/28/2016
Review By: ShortyToThrow
Played: 53  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: On a perfectly manicured ball golf course with nice synthetic grass tees. Fun technical shots requiring you to avoid the putting greens, sand traps, water features and going over the fence surrounding the course.
Cons: A small course with close fairways-watch for errant shots from disc golfers and ball golfers.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course! The fees go to support the course and the nonprofit youth ball golf program ran there. This is not a course that challenges your driving distance but rather you ability to place your shots.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/1/2019   4/9/2016
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 60  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2019
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Colina is an 18-hole course on a very well-maintained, par three ball golf course. It is a beautiful site with green grass, rolling hills, palm trees, and ponds.

-The routing follows the ball-golf course layout. Every tee is shared with the ball golf corresponding tee, and the basket is near the green. There are hole numbers carved into boulders next to the tee, and numbers on the basket, however, so the map isn't really necessary.

-Disc Golf scorecards with hole distances and a course map are available in the pro shop.

-The turf tees are excellent and the new Discatcher baskets catch great. Benches and trash cans are available on every tee.

-Since the course is so well maintained, you know exactly how your disc will skip/slide. This is great, but takes out some of the unpredictability factor out that disc golf is known for. On many holes you can play to stick your shot near the basket or to skip it off of the ball golf green.

-There are discs for rent in the pro shop. Most of them are 150-class discs, things to get kids started with.
Cons: -Being on a ball golf course, it is very open, with very few holes forcing you to throw one shot or another. If technical courses are your favorite, this one won't be for you. There aren't any long throws, either (longest hole - 310ft.) Most holes are ~200ft putter shots.

-The course can get crowded on weekends, and the holes tend to be very close together. Errant golf balls and discs can easily sail two fairways over.
Other Thoughts: -Fees are $7 weekdays, $8 weekends, and $10 for a day pass. I'd recommend the day pass. There are a lot of fun holes, but few long and challenging holes, so you may very well be tempted to play a second 18.

-Overhead throws aren't allowed so as not to make marks in the ball golf greens.

-This is a kid-friendly place, as well as a great place for beginning disc golfers of all ages to get started in the game. If you like to smoke, drink, yell, swear, or play loud music while you play, I'd look elsewhere.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A lot of disc golf in a little area

1    1/5/2016   1/18/2016
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 255  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 16.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Beautifully landscaped
- Astroturf tees are great, even in the rain
- Marked tees
- Simple to follow
- Easily visible baskets with numbers
- Ace Pot for hole 18
- Pro Shop
- Bathrooms
Cons:
- Pay to play : 7 $ per person, 10 all day
- Sharing tees and fairways with golfers
- Small course with a small area to work with
- Wide open fairways
- Some baskets orientated so that errant throws could fly over the fence that lines the perimeter of the course
- No distances in the tee markers
Other Thoughts:
This course is located on the small open hillside of a putt golf course. Colina Park has a boys and girls club meets golf course vibe going on. It's either part of or closely associated with Civic San Diego, a nonprofit public benefit corporation owned by the City of San Diego. It involves public improvement and public-private partnership projects of the city.

The course itself is very well maintained and had a selection of disc golf related items to buy or rent in the proshop. On the course disc golfers share all 18 tees and fairways with the golfers. You can pay a dollar for a shot at the Ace pot on hole 18 before the round. Half the pot goes to charity, no practice drives, chubby aces don't count.......unless you have payed for multiple runs at the basket. A group ahead of me hit a chubby ace, but didn't pay for it and snuck off with 50$. That sort of behavior was very un-dude of them.

As for the course play, nothing about the course was overly exciting. Fairways were a combo of mild up or downhill throughout the park, but lacked definition. They were too open, overlapped a bit, and for the most part too short. There's a whole lot of fairway sharing going on here, which could lead to some really long waits with this type of layout when the course becomes even remotely crowded. Prices were either 7 $ for one round or 10 $ for all day. Discounted punch cards are available to purchase for frequency flyers too. I found the prices a little presumptuous considering the product being sold. If I'm going to pay to play a bad course that's short, I'd much rather go to Olive Grove. This is the least likely course I'd replay of the 5 in the immediate San Diego area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A light 18 holes

1    1/24/2015   2/2/2015
Review By: orchdork1986
Played: 37  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely clean and well-tended lawn. The course has partial shade on most holes and is just generally pleasant to play.

Every tee has a stone marker. The holes are short but challenging if you play with the usual golf course OB rules (greens and sand traps are OB). The basket placement and changes in elevation meant an ever-present threat of an easy birdie rolling away.

The course is busy with both ball and disc golfers but I never had to wait more than a minute or two to throw. The course is not long which is a pro if you want a quick game. You could easily make it through all 18 holes twice in the time it would take you to play a more intense course such as Morley.
Cons: Again, it's short. For the $10 all-day pass, I would argue a little too short. But... you do get all day to get your money's worth.

If you are somewhat experienced with disc golf you will find the holes challenging with their OB but not overly so. Most of the course can be completed with a midrange and putter.

There are no maps but the tees are easy enough to find. The only reason why I list this as a con is because there were a few holes that had multiple baskets in view (due to the tight course layout). This led to one or two instances of confusion.

As I mentioned earlier, it is a busy course. So while the waits aren't bad you do have to constantly watch out for people when you throw, especially when it's so easy to throw past the basket.
Other Thoughts: I think it's important to understand that this course is a very established "young professional-in-training" ball golf course with disc golf only recently added. As in, there is definitely a ball golf vibe. Ball golfers are wearing polo shirts and slacks and there are lots of kids/teens working on their game.

This plus the well-groomed grounds gives the course a very upscale feel compared to the normally laid back energy on most disc golf courses. Alcohol and smoking are not allowed on this course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.