• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

My first dye / first post!

BleedsOrange

Hello all this is my very first dye and very first post here on the forum I have been playing disc golf since 2003 and have always wonder how to dye so I finally got some used disc and supplies to give it a shot. Here are the materials I used: swivel xacto, contact paper, dye from custome disc dyes ebay store, 91% alcohol to mix with dye, paint brushes cuz I painted it, and then acetone to remove the stamp. I had I lot of trouble transferring to cut contact paper to the disc cuz I did not want to cut it out on the disc it self so I taped the contact paper clear side up to a cutting board and circle for my disc and then placed the art down and started to cut. Then after that I carefully peeled the back of the contact paper off and with some work I got the drawing to stay on the paper I didn't know where to find or how to use transfer tape, so I laid it down on a flat surface and then placed my disc on ther and smoothed and stretched it out to where there were no bubbles and then picked away the pieces I want to dye and I then heated it up just a little with a blow dyer and smoothed then paper out again and then applied the dye with a brush leaving it on there for about 1 min then wiped with paper towel and applied 4 total coats doing that and then I used luke warm water to peel the contact paper off after the 4th coat and washed the disc with soap and this is how it turned out. Let me know if you have any pointers or how I could do a better job I would greatly appreciate all the help. I live in the DFW area in Texas.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    118.2 KB · Views: 78