• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Discraft] Discraft putter plastics

ray1970

* Ace Member *
Searched but couldn't find what I was looking for.

Anyhow, I made the switch recently to the Discraft Roach for putting and have been using the jawbreaker plastic. I kind of feel like I've been struggling with the grip lately. It's been really dry here lately and having everything covered with a layer of powdery dust is worse than a wet disc.

I started out with classic blend judges and then moved to P2's in either x-line or soft p-line and never had a grip issue when the discs were dusty.

How is the grip on the pro-D or soft-X in the Discraft putters?

I've been putting with Jawbreaker Roaches for a few years now & haven't had any issues with grip. I think that Jawbreaker is a fantastic putting plastic. But if you're having issues then you gotta keep looking around.

X-Soft is super grippy but the flight plates are way too soft for me to get used to.

Pro-D will be as close as you'll get to X-line feel but durability has always been poor with Pro-D. Your putter rim might chip up more than you want.

I'm shocked that you have putted with Classic Blend but don't like Jawbreaker. Those are the two best putter plastics on the market, in my opinion. And they feel almost identical.

Searched but couldn't find what I was looking for.

Anyhow, I made the switch recently to the Discraft Roach for putting and have been using the jawbreaker plastic. I kind of feel like I've been struggling with the grip lately. It's been really dry here lately and having everything covered with a layer of powdery dust is worse than a wet disc.

I started out with classic blend judges and then moved to P2's in either x-line or soft p-line and never had a grip issue when the discs were dusty.