• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

One year into my form journey - this is the most important thing I’ve learned

azplaya25

Double Eagle Member
Actually, the most important thing I'm still learning. As disc golf gains popularity, there seems to more drills, channels, advice, and ideas than ever, and it would be very easy to get lost as a newer player. I've focused on all sorts of stuff over the past year , grip, power pocket, reach back, you name it. I think it's natural to really focus on the upper body positioning as you try to improve, but the most important, fundamental concept happens in the lower body.

This is the move you need to nail down before you worry about anything else. This is a lateral shift. This is different than a rotational shift, which I've been battling for the past year and counting. What is the difference? When you get torqued into that back leg, the natural inclination is to just rotate right back. There's even a "spin and throw" group/coach out there promoting this. This is incorrect. This is the difference between shifting from in from in front vs shifting from behind.

There is lots of content on this site that discusses the benefits of shifting from behind, so I don't want to get into it here. The whole purpose of this post is to simplify the concept and give one simple move to focus on. I found this little pool stick move buried in the one leg drill vid, and I thing it illustrates the idea better than anything I've seen.

Good luck out there, and stop spinning and throwing