• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Mids] Slower Midranges

RebelZero

Par Member
I started playing over ten years ago and then got out of it for a while. Over the last 5 years I've jumped back in. Back in the day, I usually threw Buzzzes for main midranges, complementing them with Meteors when I needed US shots.

When I got back into disc golf, Trilogy was making a big splash. I've always been sort of addicted to plastic, so I got a bunch of their stuff, some of which has stayed in the bag for years.

Verdicts, Truths, and Fuses have been the core of my midrange lineup. After throwing Buzzzes for so long, those discs felt very similar but they were faster. My Emac Truth goes damn near as far as my fairways.

Lately, this has evolved into a problem. I'm having trouble ranging faster midranges and, as I'm "enjoying" my late 40s, sometimes I have issues getting them up to speed. The arm ain't what it used to be.

I've always thrown slower discs well. When I got on a Roc just right, it was always money. But I never liked the feel of it. The bead was too big and the dome threw me off. Eventually, I realized the feel of flatter discs with lower profiles was very comfortable for me. Hence the Verdict, Truth, and Fuse. Pretty flat, low-profile discs and the beads were either micro or absent.

But now I feel maybe I should transition to some slower midranges to get back into the sweet spot (and give my old arm a break). I've been loving Suspects for the last couple years but I use them more for approach shots than anything else.