Plainwell, MI 
Calvary DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
This Course Is Looking Pretty Sad!

1    8/28/2017   8/29/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Calvery Church appears to be coming up a little short in the collection plate on Sundays. Everything about this church and the adjoining property is shabby looking and could use some paint and TLC. There are some cheap looking lawn chairs around the church. Maybe they have hired a homeless guy for pastor. The basketball hoop by hole 1 is broke off and is an eyesore.

The disc golf course has the same feel. It's just kind of grubby and unkempt. The grass doesn't appear to have mowed anytime recently. The kiosk is OK but has no information. There are small garbage pails around the course but every one is overflowing with cans and bottles strewn on the ground. The signs are kinda strange. They have a number and a board that faces up, like it's there for writing down your scores. They were perfect for me jotting down thoughts about the course. My notes have never been neater.

I wouldn't quite say that this course is on life support but I would say that the course is very, very sick in need of some serious medical help, and soon.

The actual course is not that bad of a design. There is nothing overly dynamic nor are there any signature holes but there are 9 little recreational holes to fill your disc golf urges. You can see that there has been some play here lately. I think every hole here qualifies as an Ace Run. There is some rough along # 3's left side but other than, there isn't much danger
Cons: General shabbiness everywhere.

The grass needs mowing.

Pitch and putt distances.

Garbage is piling up.

Lacks challenge and creativity.
Other Thoughts: It's a shame this course is being put to seed. With some basic maintenance, it would be a nice little beginner course. You can tell it gets some play by the amount of garbage that is piling up around the pads. Probably not a course you're going to go out of your way to play but local beginner and rec types could have fun playing here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ace City

1    4/7/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 89  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Baskets, compaired to the other 9 holers in the area this is one of the few that has actual baskets.

- Navigation - every tee has a different colored box to show you were it is. Everything flowed well and it seemed the fairways were mowed to show you which basket you are shooting at.

- Tee pads while they are a little short and rubber they are better then the sand boxes it appears that everyone has mentioned before.
Cons: -No real difficulty. They are all pretty much ace runs, but they do have a little bit of shot mix up.

-By the highway (also a plus as it's easy to get too) but it's very loud.

-Hole 8, appears to have two shots, one that is a huge weight hyzer that the tee pad doesn't really face the basket and one small like 80ish ft hyzer spike. Not sure if they moved the basket and made a new tee.
Other Thoughts: From what i read on the other peoples reviews it looks like they are trying to fix it. This isn't anything that is a destination, but if you are coming north to go to Kzoo or battle Creek, this is a quick stop off the high way for a nice little warm up round.

I am guessing by being at a church it's made to get kids and new players into the game, and it is very good for that.

I enjoyed this more then what most people did, but I also like throwing putters at watching them go for ace runs :D

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 9 Practice Holes

5+    10/12/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: Anheuser
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets, Course map at the start of the course. Very little traffic. Easy to find. Well maintained. An ace opportunity on ever hole. This will be the first place I take people who have never played the game before. I met two guys on the course who come out there every day on their lunch break.
Cons: Holes are short and mostly straight with not many trees or obstacles to use different styles of throwing. More than anything, I think that is the biggest drawback to this course, not the short links or the fact that it's only nine holes. It seemed flat and barren to me. The tees are basically sand boxes and usually offer no hope of an X step (not that you really need to out here).
Other Thoughts: I tried to review this course as a 9 hole course on it's own and not let the hole count sway my vote. The fact remains, though, it will still be boring for the veteran player. Where it could really shine though is as a "disc golf training center". You could try out new shots, tweak your drive and practice your putting and midrange shots with what I'm assuming would be very little interference from other players. This course and a soccer field for long drive practice would be all you would need to become a great player on your own time. I wish I lived next door to it. I'd be out there every day before work.

No play during Sunday morning services- 10:45 am til ?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 oh.... Plainwell

5+    9/21/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: adam8706
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its a course, no wait, never busy, almost impossible to lose a disc, good baskets, very clean, & very close to the interstate. good to work on short game and putting.
Cons: verry short, not challanging, very open not many obsticles.
Other Thoughts: good place to practice, no wait ever, quick play,

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 short, simple

1    8/23/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 227  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 19.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Basic teaching skills design
- Free
- Easy to figure out
- Great baskets
Cons: - Dirt tees
- Very, very short
- No obstacles/challenges, should shoot -6 to -9 during a hurricane.
Other Thoughts: Not worth the trip, good stretcher course between Kzoo and Grand Rapids if on the highway and bored.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/21/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: jacob baptiste
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: short holes with few trees makes this a good course for beginner, nothing fancy required to make par
Cons: wont pose a challange to a golfer of moderate skill level
Other Thoughts: usualy pretty clean, not a lot of activity makes so you dont have to wait to play

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center