Mishawaka, IN 
George Wilson Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
4 / 430ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
You'll Get A Workout And A Chance To Throw Some Air!

1    9/6/2017   9/6/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1168  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: George Wilson park is a ???? I don't know exactly what this wonderful hill is used for? Is it for tubing? Can't be skiing, can it? I think it's a pretty awesome chunk of land for a disc golf course. There is a $2 entrance fee but if the booth is closed, it's free. Today was a free day. I played Faurette Baugh DGC about five miles from here earlier today and it was $4 to play a flat course in the trees. That's makes old George Wilson a pretty fair deal, in my book.

There is a disc golf code of ethics sign at the start. Of course, I memorized it. There's a practice basket and a sign warning about flying discs. I parked right where everyone says not to and when I got ready to tee off on # 9 with the wind gusting, I could see why parking here isn't the best idea.

The baskets are mostly older models except for the brand new Mach III on # 3, I think. The concrete pads are fine and the new signs are great showing the route and everything else. The tee pad on # 5 is the most heavy duty pad I've ever seen. You could park a tank on it.

The course starts on the parking lot side of the fence and play up the hill with the fence on your right. There were some fun throws on the front 9. I liked # 5 throwing from he woods out to an open basket just 250' away. # 7, at 335', was a cool down and then up the other steep hillside. The basket is set at the top of this hill with 15 wooden steps leading the way. Then # 9 gives you a chance to air it out, with he basket down behind some trees 485' way down here. And try not throw into the parking lot.

I liked the back 9 more. # 12 was a cool, slightly downhill, 252' to a basket tucked in beside a big tree. # 13 should challenge most players. It's 345' and slightly uphill but then the fairway cuts tightly into the woods with the basket back there about 125'. You need arm strength, accuracy and some luck to score well on this hole. 15-18 were all great holes, IMO. # 15 is a slightly downhill toss with a sloping hillside on your left. Then # 16 is a big downhill with the basket tucked in by some trees 430' away.

# 17 is a nice change of pace. It's 200' straight across to a barely visible basket set on a steep hillside. Over shoot this hole and you'll have to walk down a ways and play back up. And by this time, most players will be fairly gassed. And then # 18 is the classics "Top of the World" hole. It's 590' to a basket set out in he open. No place to get into trouble here but I'm betting you can't just throw one!
Cons: The course does have this slightly neglected run-down vibe to it with older baskets, a missing sign on 14 and some evidence of trash around. There's nothing fresh here excepting that single new basket and the nice signs.

The wind was a big factor today and I suspect that is the norm here.

Is $2 to play really a con? Really, the price of a Coke?

There are erosion and compacted soil issues.

The stairs on # 7 could use some work.

Course is quite a workout. You should be a little tired by 18.
Other Thoughts: I think this course has a wealth of really enjoyable holes, mostly downhills, but also some of the more level ones like # 11 and # 17, as well as some uphills. There is a really nice mix of hole types and then you end with the epic # 18. Because it's open with no chance of losing your disc here, it's a perfect hole to throw the entire contents of your bag. How far can you fire your can of sunscreen? Your mini marking disc? My towel didn't carry much at all.

I don't quite understand the lack of love this course gets. I'm a fan.



2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Worth the Cost

2-4    8/14/2015   1/20/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 24.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The elevation and the views are spectacular. There are some very nice holes in the woods (3-7) after the first few flat holes, and the 16th hole is a really cool hole with slope and elevation to a great protected green.
Cons: It was free when I first played it so many years ago and is no longer free and not worth paying for.
Power lines and infrastructure run throughout the course and the course is not very well kept at all.

The course is largely open and boring, taking little advantage of the woods nearby or the slope and elevation on most occasions.

Holes #10-12 are flat, straight and exactly the same distance (245). The long holes are simply outrageously so and don't offer much of a chance to reach, even when they are downhill (more often you are going from crest to crest or along side slopes, which would make them marginally interesting if they were of a reachable length).

There are several holes (4, 6, 13, and 14) that require long shots and 90 degree turns after completing a lay up drive. I've seen holes like this before and they are ludicrous. I sort of liked holes 4 and 6 because they are wooded and a challenge to get par, but 13 and 14 are basically the same hole with a slight variation in distance (and the hole sucks).

The #7 tee sign is to the front left of the tee pad, and I nearly hit it with my lefty backhand follow through, and it is a huge liability hazard and very idiotic placement. I could have easily broken my hand if I had been throwing harder or taking a bigger run up.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My experience with GW

5+    11/14/2015   11/19/2015
Review By: comeonbro73
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some really good things about this course. The holes with elevation change are really cool and fun to play and there's a decent mixture of wooded and open holes, especially on the front nine. I also appreciate how there are variations in how long the holes are because that's unusual for most courses in my experience. You get to bomb on some holes and there are some that only require 225' on a hyzer.
Cons: First, it's one of the weaker pay to play courses I've been to. I feel like there should be better tee signs and such if it costs money to get in ($2). Second, the back nine is pretty weak. Whereas the front nine is pretty well designed, the back nine is nothing special and doesn't require much. Third, the par is ridiculous. I've shot double digits under par here without doing anything right. There are some holes marked as par 5's that should be 3's. I've gotten a couple of deuces on hole 16 which is supposed to be a 5. I am not nearly good enough at disc golf to be getting an albatross on a regular basis. If you play that every hole here is a par 3, you have a much more realistic view of how you're doing.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice change of pace. It's not going to be the best course you ever play, but I like it because it has a nice mix of holes and it's pretty close to me. It could really nice if someone with some vision redid it and used the terrain to its full potential.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Big Hills, exciting and disastrous shots

5+    9/14/2015   9/29/2015
Review By: Kylecoplen
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice mix of long and medium drives. Throwing from giant hills is awesome but can be frustrating on a windy day. Fee is reasonable. League cash doubles on Wednesday nights. Great group of guys. Lots of benches. Was gonna give it a 3.5, but as I write this I'm reconsidering. 4.0. Will likely be updating as Ricky and crew continue to improve the course.
Cons: Definitely not for fat fatties. Huge hills. Some shots challenge you to be dumb.
Other Thoughts: Don't park too close toward the basket on 1. You may get a hyzer flip from the hill in your window.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid, but...Rum Village is better.

5+    8/19/2015   8/19/2015
Review By: Tony Koch
Played: 43  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Variety in tee shots (front 9). Distances vary and has a decent mix of left and right turning shots.
-2 big let er rip holes (9 and 18) that produce a scenic view.
-Part of the course, mainly the front 9, feeds through the woods for some tricky anhyzer shots (RHBH)
-Trash cans near quite a few holes.
-Many benches to sit on or set your bag on.
-Mini pro shop at the gate that sells some Innova discs as well as Gatorade/water.
-Challenging woods shots with tight lines on the front 9.
-New tee/pin placement on hole 13 is awesome. Huge hyzer shot that goes into the woods far. Tough but really fun.
-3 par ratings. Basically newbie, novice, and pro/advanced where everything is a 3 par.
-Cool pavillion up near holes 17 and 18.
-Baskets are in fair shape, although hole 6 in the woods is tilted sideways quite a bit.
Cons: -$2 bucks to play, while neighboring Rum Village is free.
-Speaking of which, if you're in the area and only have time to play 1 course, play Rum. More challenging/fun at least in my opinion.
-You have to walk backwards rather than forward to hole 6 after finishing hole 5 which is a bit odd. However, it appears as if hole 5 will be getting a new pin placement to counteract this.
-While Wilson is no doubt a good course, the back 9 becomes very repetitive and easy. Hence why playing Rum may be a better idea, much more variety.
-Fair warning: especially in the summer you will find that Wilson is a pot smoker haven, especially on hole 7 where "bros" tend to herd at a bench and play hacky sack.
-Not the cleanest course. Despite numerous trash cans, there is constantly bottles everywhere. On hole 17's original tee pad there seems to be a bottle gathering in a bush.
Other Thoughts: -Be sure to park way up near the practice basket as many errant tee shots tend to go flying right off the hill on hole 9 into the parking lot. Especially on windy days.
-It seems as if Wilson is getting an upgrade as far as new tees/pin placements go. I have updated the distances according to the scorecard from the front gate.
-Overall Wilson is a solid place to play. To me the front 9 is way more fun and challenging. A lot more variety in terms of pin placements. The back 9 isn't awful, but a few holes are eerily similar.
-Nice to see the park mixing up the tees/pin placements, interested to see what else they do!
-It is a must play in the South Bend area for sure, but like I mentioned Rum Village is a much better course that provides trickier tee shots and boasts more variety overall.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/1/2015   4/6/2015
Review By: Gizmotronx
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Setting - Close to the city, playground and restrooms on site.

Terrain - 9 and 18 are awesome fun to throw.
You will get in shape if you play here a lot.

Holes - Distance is varied

Tees - Nice long concrete tees
Cons: Setting - Not very attractive, bare in a lot of areas, power lines over head, trash all over.

Terrain - It is in a valley, and a pain in the butt to walk around.

Trees - 2-7 have some woods, but mostly just cut fairways out of young growth forest. No trees on the back 9 except 16 and 17.

Holes - A few holes have a 90 degree turn in them, never seen that before and not fun.
1-8 are just a trek to get to the downhill bomber that is 9 (with the exception of 7) and 10-15 a trek to get to the last holes.

Tees - If there is a sign, it is illegible. Had no idea of distances. Course is hard to navigate. Tees are not pointed at baskets.
Other Thoughts: If you are visiting the area, play Rum Village instead

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid up and down course!

1    6/13/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: ajbova
Played: 109  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 11.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great intermediate level course that may be too hard for beginners. Advanced players will still enjoy the course. It is challenging in it's own way but can be easy to save par.

Baskets - 17 very grippy Mach 3 baskets and 1 Innova Discatcher (hole 3). Baskets catch great. There is also a practice basket before hole 1 that is a Discatcher.

Tees - 1 long and narrow concrete tee per hole. I believe they were 3 or 4 by 10 feet long. Always pointed somewhat towards the basket.

Signs - When there were signs, they included distance, par, and picture (map) of the hole. (See cons). There are signs listing areas that are out of bounds, a sign telling the rules of disc golf, and a sign pointing you towards the front 9. A course map is available at the front office (where you pay) that is a part of the score card. I would recommend it.

Variety - Distances varied from 200 to 600 feet. Holes 3-7 are wooded holes with tight fairways. The wooded holes all had elevation changes. Course has major elevation changes (see below). There were many blind shots due to either woods or elevation (holes 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13). Holes in the open had elevation as the main obstacle or a few mature trees.

Elevation - There are holes going slightly uphill, greatly uphill, running along sides of hills, rolling hills, valleys, and downhill bombs. No hole is completely flat. Hills galore! Holes 10 and 11 are the flattest holes and there are a few mature trees as obstacles. The elevation provides a nice view of the area. You could see the golden some at Notre Dame from tee for hole 9.

Very easy to navigate (especially if you have the course map). Tees are near basket or path taking you there (see cons).

Trash cans near tees for holes 1, 7, 10, 14, 15, 16, and 18 (see cons).

Benches near tees for holes 1, 5, 7, 10, and 17. Hole 17 had an awesome structure at the top of the hill that had benches and tables. Nice view too!

Restrooms, a playground, and a pro shop on site.

Wind is a major factor at this course. It adds to the challenge.

Holes 1 & 9 border eaxh other with a fence in between. There is a gate midway down in case you throw it over fence. Definitely a plus.

Threw through a power lines tower on hole 8.

The park is primarily a disc golf park. Some benches and a playground but you won't have to wait due to other park users.
Cons: Signs need replaced. Holes 14, 15, and 18 do not have tee signs (but you can see the basket). Half of the signs that are remaining are faded or unreadable due to writing on them with sharpies. New signs would greatly improve the look of this course.

This course needs more trash cans. If the hole did not have a trash can, there was a ton of trash near the tees for the holes. Some holes had trash in the fairway.

Only 1 tee per hole. If this course wants to take it to the next level, it needs alternate concrete tees for each hole. It would make it more playable for different levels of players. Tees could be same difficulty with a different angle, longer, or shorter (depending on hole).

Poison ivy in the rough for several holes. Holes 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 13, 14, 15, and 16 had poison ivy. Be careful and bring sanitizer! I noticed it while walking.

Some tees had sand on them which was luck and could be dangerous.

Some tees were close to the precious basket; tee 3 basket 2, tee 4 & 9 basket 8. Tee 18 basket 17. Could be dangerous if busy.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. It was $2 to play. By the time I was done I forgot that I played. It was worth it. I'm from Indianapolis so this course is a journey for me. I was not disappointed. More elevation than any Indy area course.

It appears the course has changed it's layout. There were crumbles tees near holes 5, 15, and 16 pointing in a different direction than that hole.

I wanted to rate this course a 4. Trash and lack of readable signs lost it points. If it had 2 concrete tees per hole, new signs, more trash cans, and a few more benches, this course would easily be a 4 out of 5, maybe even higher.

I will definitely be back if I'm in the area. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a challenge that includes wooded holes and major elevation change. It may be too frustrating for beginners but I feel like anyone would enjoy this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good

1    9/20/2013   4/4/2014
Review By: Indiana574
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some real high elevated shots nice wooded area part of the course bathrooms
Cons: Trash all over broken glass some bad erosion
Other Thoughts: The first hole is kinda weird with the fence right next to you but you'll learn to love it haha

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/25/2012   2/17/2013
Review By: donny vomit
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros: Nice decent mix of woods , big hills and a few open shots. Soaring downhill shots on 9 and 18, very fun watching a disc go that far downhill. I liked 4 and 7.
Cons: Not many , the tee pad on 7 to me is very dangerous . It slopes down and drops off at the end couple feet. Level would be good . I like elevated tees . 10 to 14 pretty boring but it is what it is.
Other Thoughts: Played the course with my brother on Xmas day so I avoided paying to park and play. Had a good time . This is a sledding hill in the winter so 10 thru 12 baskets were gone. Enjoyed nice scenic hills with a funny little chateu thing on top of hill by 18 tee. Want to play again when i come back in the spring .

 Very Nice

1    7/4/2011   10/11/2012
Review By: chainbang
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variaion in holes. Lots of terrain variation. Some pretty drastic elevation changes on a few holes.
Cons: A couple of places to get really lost. Back 9 is a little bland.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play here again!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.