Disc Golf Center
Santa Cruz, CA 
DeLaveaga Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #20
3 / 376ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #21 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 92
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

5+    9/29/2017   9/29/2017
Review By: JRock Santa Cruz
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 38.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What more can be said? An icon. Challenging holes, mixed elevations, striking views, long holes, technical holes, legendary holes.

If it's not on your bucket list, it ought to be.
Cons: Crowded on the weekends. Alternately, if you're a first timer and arrive on a quiet weekday morning, it can be hard to spot some of the baskets from your tee (Such as 2, 7, 12, 14, 15.)

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lottery

1    8/9/2011   9/1/2017
Review By: jonasgr
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.6 Years
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: I nice course for a casual round with your friends. Nice elevation.
Cons: I really can't understand how this could be one of the most highly rated disc golf courses in the world. I can think of very few other courses which feel as much of a lottery.

The fairway mainly consists of hard soil with roots which makes it very unpredictable -- when you expect your disc to slide 10 meters (30 feet) to the basket it might as well hit a root and bounce backwards. Other holes have large logs that prevents discs from sliding out and OB, but there are huge gaps between the logs so if you're lucky the log will stop the disc for an easy birdie but if you're unlucky you'll go OB.

It's ok to have a cliff behind the basket (sometimes) but when the green consists of huge roots that easily will make your disc stand up and roll down the cliff (and cost you 3 throws to get back up) it's not ok.

The infamous "The fridge" is something else: throw your disc into a forest, aiming for a painted spot on a tree 30 feet up in the air, and pray you'll find your disc when you've walked to the basket, and hope you have a birdie opportunity.

The last hole -- Top of the World -- is so much fun to play, but a slight miss means your disc will land on the parking lot. I would not be surprised if this will be the first hole where we hear about a severe disc golf casualty.

It absolutely takes a very good disc golfer to master the course but you will also need a great deal of luck to succeed and I'm no fan of courses where you need to depend on luck.
Other Thoughts: I have only played the course during the WC 2011 (27 hole layout). Perhaps a different seasons adds some grass to the fairway and makes it more predictable. But to me this was the worst (of four) courses we played during this WC.

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Course, Well Maintained, Active DG Community, Thumbs Up All Around

1    7/25/2017   7/25/2017
Review By: Treeplant
Played: 46  Reviewed: 32
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautifully maintained park with great hole layouts and multiple pin positions.

- Disc golf only park that's tucked in behind a golf course, so very little interference from the general public, though we did see a couple of what appeared to be hikers.

- Good concrete pads and signage, well maintained.

- Good length and challenge to most of the holes, not a whole lot of gimme Par 3s.

- Good mix of elevation and left/right bends that let you use the full range of throws in your bag.

- Although there are some nasty spots to lose discs, for the most part you will not be in danger of losing discs if you're able to stay on or close to the fairway. Rolling way off line or grip locking off to the right can put you off a massive hill, but it's not like the fairways have long grass or are lined with thornbushes that make small misses hard to find.

- Great little shack that sells a limited selection discs and snacks in the parking lot. A good place to go for info on the course or for info on the surrounding disc golf community, which sounds awesome.

- A few mandos, but they didn't overdo it with mandos or OBs when designing the course. They used the lay of the land to create the challenge, which is really great.

- Benches at pretty much every hole is awesome, especially for someone like me who doesn't carry a stool around. A lot of the tee pads were shaded as well, so waiting on other groups wasn't nearly as painful as it can be at other courses.
Cons: - Without a course map, can be a little confusing to find the next tee.

- Fairways are tight together in spots, people in our group were almost hit twice in the one round we played. It's completely fine, you just need to keep an eye out.

- Busy course, I was told it can take a very long time to play 18 or 27 holes at peak times.
Other Thoughts: - The golf course you drive through on the way into the disc golf course also has baskets, which can be played for a fee on certain days of the week. Just google the Delaveaga Golf Course phone number and call the pro shop for info.

- It's worth taking the time to look ahead on a few holes. there are some blind shots and some pin placements where going past the pin can roll you off a painful hill.

- We played this course because we were told this was one of the best courses in the state and a couple of people said it was one of the top courses in the world. It is an absolutely fantastic course that's well maintained with a couple of neat views, but I was expecting a little more myself because it had been hyped up so much to me. Was worth the drive and I really loved playing it, but it was all Par 3s and there wasn't anything about it that completely blew me away. Absolutely nothing wrong at all with the course in anyway but don't go in expecting every hole to have breathtaking views or staggering elevation drops or incredibly challenging unique Par 5s etc.

- One of the best courses I've ever played.

- Get there early to beat the heat and the crowds!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of my all time favorites

5+    7/17/2017   7/22/2017
Review By: KMBreith
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee pads in mostly good condition, tee signs accurate, and baskets are always on the move
Great hole to hole variety: up, down, left, right, and everything in between
"Top of the World": 500+ ft downhill shot with a view of Santa Cruz and the Pacific Ocean
Small pro shop with nice employees, snacks, drinks, and discs for sale
I meet awesome people
Cons: All par 3
Not enough garbage cans
Crowded on the weekends when it's nice out (obviously)
Lacking signage around the course (pay attention to tee sign for next hole, or ask!)
Other Thoughts: Overall one of my all time favorite courses! While there may be a few things that could use improvement, I truly believe this course to be a model for others.
I will continue to come back to this place for as long as I live!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 If you are in the area you have to play this course. if you aren't you still have to play this course

1    6/2/2017   6/2/2017
Review By: rjmead23
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful drive to the parking lot for the first tee. Has a great parking lot and disc golf store if you are looking to buy new discs. Well marked holes with big cement tee pads. Map of the course available at the disc golf store. $2 parking pass will allow you to stay until sunset (worth it I promise). There are some great challenging tunnel shots, elevation changes, wooded, open and shots that will challenge anyone from beginner to pro. Holes 12 and 15 are for the brave, but read the sign about the fridge that will surely bring a smile to your face. Big pine trees and some wonderful natural obstacles will have you challenged.. This is still a great course for beginners to the more experienced. A beautiful setting so be sure to take your time to enjoy your surroundings.
Cons: There are no trash bins on the course so be prepared to carry out what you carry in. Make sure you take a map of the course with you as there are a few holes that benefit from this. The basket placement is not always what you might expect so be sure to know which basket you are shooting at before you commit.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course that is well worth checking out. This course will take you among beautiful scenery with lots of elevation changes with an abundance of shade. Enjoy nature on this one, you will not be dissapointed

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

What a place!

1    11/26/2016   4/9/2017
Review By: The Katana Kid
Played: 80  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful place.
The combination of challenges is incredible.
The tunnel shots are some of the toughest I've seen.
The mountain shots are amazing.
Cons: It's a little scary to have discs flying at you from seemingly nowhere. There are nets in places to help, but I heard "FOUR" a lot.
Other Thoughts: I drove 45 minutes one way to get here and it was well worth it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Home Sweet Home!

5+    11/14/2016   2/22/2017
Review By: PapaRick1959
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of varied holes and shots.
Not overly punitive for a beginner.
Super affordable (only $2 per car to park)
Sweet views and ocean breeze
Pace of play even when crowded is good
Cons: A couple of holes criss cross each other
#13 should really be a par 4
Other Thoughts: DeLa is the mecca, the original! and the best!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

DeLaveaga Park

1    12/9/2016   1/14/2017
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 147  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 6.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has concrete tee pads with notches carved across

Has tee signs with locations of the various basket placements

Has a bench at every tee pad if I'm not mistaken

Has multiple basket placements for most holes

Has some mandos

More wooded than open fairways with doglegs and elevations - which will be challenging to the casual player

Park is exclusive for disc golf

Nice scenery

Well-maintained

Porta potty
Cons:
Course design and flow could use improvement as there are some holes that have intersecting fairways

Long 29 hole course can be demanding and intimidating to those not ready for a challenge

Baskets are hard to locate on some holes - need flags or bright paint

Some holes require blind shots - recommend a spotter

Many opportunities to lose discs abound here via rollaways, blind shots, tree catching - recommend backup discs

Needs more next tee signs - recommend a course map for the first-timer

No variety in pars - par 87

Course can get crowded at times as it's popular with players

Pay to park but worth it
Other Thoughts:
This a nice, challenging 29 hole course in Santa Cruz that I enjoyed playing while vacationing out here. I would have never known about this course if it wasn't for Central Coast Disc Golf - thanks guys! I probably would have had more fun if it wasn't raining on the Friday morning that I played. In fact, I was bummed to learn that the baskets for holes 2, 17, 25, 26, 26a, and 27 were removed due to drainage projects and area rejuvenation until March 31st. Making the best of it, this course is a hard one to play while raining. Losing your grip on throwing wet discs can be frustrating enough where there are plenty of crooked trees on tight enough fairways to deflect into a nearby ravine. Or maybe it's the approach shot that hits one of the many exposed tree roots and rolls away down the mountain. Or perhaps the death putt that doesn't find the chains but the abyss instead. After playing this course, I understand how Dela became a verb. After watching the pros play this course from the Steady Ed Memorial Masters Cups, I have profound respect for them more than ever. In my opinion, the course falls short of being perfect. As listed in my cons, number one con for me is the intersecting fairways for some holes. I have played almost 100 courses at this time and only a handful of them have this con. With a park this large, one would assume that there wouldn't be any intersecting fairways. The Mach X baskets were in great shape to play with but most are hard to spot from the tee pad with the trees in between and with all the various basket placements. Some of the holes could have used more next tee signs to direct flow - thankfully I had my course map from DGCR to refer to throughout the round. With the course having varied elevations and lots of trees, some holes such as holes #12 and #15 require blind shots. Many opportunities to lose discs abound here via rollaways, blind shots, tree catching so one should prepare to part ways with a disc. No variety in pars as the par is 87 (29x3) - definitely a technical course where many holes are challenging enough to par despite their distances with some being arguably tweeners. The tee signs appeared to be old and could use updating but I didn't list this as a con - the old signage is somewhat appealing and gives this course character if that makes sense. Playing in less ideal conditions on that day, I saw very few players braving the elements. I understand how this course can be crowded though given how challenging and fun this course is to play. If you're in this area, you should play it as it's very unique.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

New Pay to Play Course on the Ball Golf Couse

5+    8/3/2016   8/4/2016
Review By: Redline4j
Played: 104  Reviewed: 36
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: All the pros have been mentioned in other reviews.

I would like to add that they have added 18 holes to the ball golf course and are soon to open them to the public. The DG will play on the ball golf course concurrent to th e ball golfers. As of the date of this review, 8/3/16, I was told they are still a few months out from going live. They have played a couple of tournaments on the ball golf course and permanently placed 18 baskets. I can't wait to play the ball golf DG course.
Cons: Poison Oak on the existing DG course. Stay on the fairway, and poison oak is not much of a challenge, but stray a bit off course, and BEWARE!
Other Thoughts: The course club has done an excellent job keeping this course up and improving where necessary. Mult pin placements make for a different course each time played.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Iconic

5+    7/27/2015   6/17/2016
Review By: Wasp
Played: 63  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Amazing, iconic course.
-Difficult
-Variety of shots
-nice scenery
Cons: Really dusty at times, but really no complaints.
Other Thoughts: Go there and play the course. One of the best courses in the country. It's easy to see why so many pro's grew up in the Santa Cruz area playing DeLa all the time.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.