• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Santa Cruz, CA

DeLaveaga Park

Permanent course
4.445(based on 107 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

DeLaveaga Park reviews

Filter
4 0
Johnsondere
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 1 years 136 played 83 reviews
4.00 star(s)

THE Iconic Course drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 12, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

- One of the more iconic courses in the US.
- So much elevation!
- Unique and unforgettable holes!
- Various layouts to play.
- Challenges every aspect of your game.
- The nearby golf pro shop sells discs and apparel.
- The views! *chef's kiss*

Cons:

- Some of the holes can get a little gimmicky.
- Some holes play close to the main road leading into the park.
- Not a whole lot of parking.

Other Thoughts:

Played Dela on a trip to California. I only brought 3 discs but I had plenty of fun! It was so cool to be at such a historic and iconic course. Got to play with some locals so it was nice to have that course knowledge with me.

Parking was a little bit of an issue but someone left just in time to get me a spot!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 7
Gwilson9
Experience: 25 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Classic, great variety, gorgeous drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 15, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great beauty and variation of shots. Wide open, technical, elevation, forehand, backhand etc. did I mention beautiful and iconic?

Cons:

Poison oak, slightly crowded, parking can be a bit annoying, but not enough to put off the experience of playing Dela!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
20 0
Mark R
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 115 played 89 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 18, 2021 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

An iconic course, DeLaveaga lives up to the hype. This course has several, unique and unforgettable holes, and I'm not just talking about the 'top of the world' Hole 27. Hole 3 has a slightly downhill drive with with just enough room between tree obstacles; Holes 7, 8, 9 and 10 are all terrific wooded tunnel holes with dangerous pin positions that satisfy in terms of fun factor. Hole 11 is another wooded tunnel hole that demands a perfect low-trajectory drive to get anything better than a bogey.

My favorite hole may be the famous 'refrigerator' Hole 12, which plays like a water hole and also requires ample skills to negotiate. Hole 13 (nicknamed the 'I-5' hole for obvious reasons), has an open drive with a hard left turn with a low ceiling and protected basket that can cost several more strokes, but is mostly fair enough to not be a crap-shoot. But the course doesn't let up, with Hole 15 being somewhat similar in nature to Hole 12, with a dangerous water-hole like fairway requiring a high-trajectory right turn. The so-called 'gravity hole' 17 can be a birdie (or even an ace), but can also be double bogey capable with bad upshots. Hole 26A is a hilltop (almost tabletop-like) flat hole with treacherous slopes on either side. And of course, the aforementioned Hole 27 is one of the most famous holes in all of disc golf.

Cons:

There are a couple of filler holes here, such as the awkwardly uphill Hole 8A and Hole 26 that aren't in the same class as the rest. Walking on this course can be slightly hazardous, with numerous roots and sandstone craters that have likely resulted in a fair number of injuries. Not sure if this is a con, but this is a very long course. Plan on at least three and a half hours to play a full 29 hole round, possibly more if you are in a big group or if the course is busy.

Other Thoughts:

Deserving of its iconic status, this course deserves to be at the top of your bucket list. There is a pro shop with a few discs and water available, which can be a life saver if the course is 88 degrees like it was on one of the days I played. One more note....coverage of the Masters Cup has a slightly reworked 24 hole layout with Hole 1 starting at Hole 25. It costs an entirely fair two dollar fee to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
Breh
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 192 played 190 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 30, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course has the most iconic and signature holes I've probably ever seen. From hole 1 with a double mando up to a platform green all the way to hole 29 top of the world. This course can create amazing scoring separation, with every hole being amazingly constructed. Keep your disc flat you can do well however easier said then done. 29 holes will take you all day but with not one bad hole out here that's a plus. Like I said so many iconic shots I can go on and on. The kitchen hole I5, and many more great shots, will have you throwing every which way and every disc in your bag. Beautiful tee signs with hole nicknames on most/long enough tee pads when you need them on big holes, and mach x baskets that catch well just don't miss weak side. Great mix of elevation and hole distances. Navigation is super easy as most holes pads are right by last hole without much walkouts. Pro shop on site with disc for sale and friendly help. Saftey nets on the areas that need them. To me this course is challenging and I love every aspect of it, not many courses leave you saying wow but you will always remember playing this course and the holes here

Cons:

There's 29 holes here but there is a 8a and 26a might confuse some just play it as 29 and it flows great. Couple of the fairways cross fairways with each other ...some Saftey concern for that reason. Hole 20 I think it is by the clubhouse crosses fairway with 21, and the pin position by the road is really bad and shouldn't ever be there. This course will take a long long time plan for it you don't come back to parking lot until hole 19 I think. Rollouts are a huge factor hear, and I'm sure you've all heard the saying you got DeLa'd try to land flat I like the death greens and to me not really a con. The cliffs on the side of some of these holes are insane and dangerous again I like it if you miss fairway you should get punished however this isn't great for new players families or older people if they go down there.

Other Thoughts:

Parking is only 2 dollars and worth every penny. Some massive uphill shots like hole 2 and 24 I think it is bring lots of water hard ground to walk on can give you big skips and rolls keep that in mind on your shots
Was this review helpful? Yes No
21 1
Pierparknut
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.1 years 90 played 87 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

-DeLaveaga. Where to start. This magnificent property has to be the St. Andrews of disc golf, being home to one of the oldest courses and one of the oldest tournaments in the game. I would venture to say that this has to be the most well-known course in the sport of disc golf.

-The Scenery. DeLaveaga Park, at first glance, seems better suited for a nature hike than for a disc golf course. The thick woods, steep canyons, and panoramic views are incredible but it must have taken a lot of creativity and imagination to envision and then carry out the construction of a disc golf course on this property. Enter Tom Schot.

-I'm not too well-versed regarding the history of DeLaveaga and which holes remain from Schot's original routing, but nevertheless the present routing is world-class. Every single hole has a unique character. Particularly well known holes include Gravity, The Refrigerator Hole, I-5, and of course the Top of the World. It's the sign of a fantastic course when multiple of its holes are imitated by designers at dozens of other courses.

-It's needless to describe any hole in detail as Youtube can take care of that, but my personal favorites were #3, #6, #8, #11, #12, #13, #16, #17, #19, #25, and #27. Wow. That's a lot.

-The incredible variety of holes requires a player to use their entire arsenal of shots. It's not a wide open course that only requires a few overstable discs. It's also not a heavily wooded course that only requires your straightest fliers. DeLaveaga includes both of these types as well as a handful of "Type Z" one-of-a-kind holes that will leave you drawing a blank deciding what is the most effective shot. These types of holes are what elevate courses from excellent to outstanding.

-Putting is a challenge. Most greens are ridden with obstacles: large trees, downed logs, roots, low hanging tree branches, and of course, steep canyons that are more than willing to make you exclaim "I just got DeLa'd!" Being comfortable manipulating your style of putt is a certain stroke-saver.

-The course strikes an unmatched balance between challenge and forgiveness. A score of Even par with all long baskets is traditionally rated 995-1000 in the Masters Cup. It's the only par three course on the professional tour, but remains a player favorite. Ricky Wysocki, Matt Bell, Sarah Hokom, and Madison Walker are among the touring professionals that have named DeLa their favorite course. In addition, the fact that it is a par three course makes it a favorite of players all over the skill spectrum. Even a novice player can have fun making a few pars in a row.

-Large concrete tees, Mach X baskets, excellent tee signs, and super size benches adjacent to every tee box are just a token of evidence of the hours and hours of hard work put into this course by the local community. A small pro shop with discs for sale is on-site as well.

Cons:

-Chance of lost discs. A slight mis-release or a bad kick off of a tree can easily send you down into a canyon. Holes #8a, #9, #12, #15, and especially #26a pose the greatest risks.
-Poison oak. Stay on the fairway, and you should be A-OK, but send one down a ravine, and, well, best of luck.
-Crossing fairways - Holes #5 & #6 and holes #13 and #16 share fairways. In addition, errant drives from #27 pose a risk for several holes and the parking lot.

-These things can and do make for a miserable round at many courses. However, they add to the charm and experience of DeLaveaga.

Other Thoughts:

-This course has lost a lot of trees in the last five years. In fact, a large portion of one of the huge oaks guarding the #15 basket has just fallen (as of Jul 2019). It's nice to see that new trees have been planted in several spots. I don't know how many trees have failed due to environmental factors as opposed to contact from discs, but I'd like to see some of the trees in high-impact areas be protected with wraps or screens.

-Almost every hole has an alternate basket position, which helps ease the wear and tear on parts of the course. While it's a bit disappointing to come to an iconic hole and find the basket in the secondary position, the lines are fun and well thought-out.

-The elevation change is not as extreme as it is made out to be. The only large hill on the course is climbed on #1 - #2, and #25 - #26. The rest of the layout is of only moderate elevation change unless you find yourself at the bottom of a canyon searching for a disc.

-This is an incredible course. Very few courses can boast being on public park property, having land used exclusively for disc golf, and being among the world's finest. DeLaveaga checks all three boxes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 2
Peltier
Experience: 29 played 16 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Iconic course, variety of elevation, difficulty, length, starting to feel years of wear and tear 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 19, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Top of the world - hole 27 is epic. I hit the chains on my birdie shot, which was super rewarding as I normally can't drive even 300.' Elevation changes. Nice baskets. Multiple pin placements. Variety of difficulties and hole lengths. Cement tee boxes. Pro shop is pretty awesome. They have a spreadsheet for lost discs where they hold them for 30 days before selling them for $5 if you don't pick them up. Camaraderie among locals and patrons is second to none. Everyone was super friendly, social, and helpful.

Cons:

Pay for parking. A couple of holes require a spotter or need to be skipped unless you want to lose a disc (at least for an amateur like me.). This is hole 15 in particular. As a RHBH player, I just don't know where to throw this one as it is a steep cliff to the left. Can get busy as it is an iconic course. The course is definitely feeling the effects of the constant heavy foot traffic. Perhaps at some point in the future, they could touch up the landscaping some.

Other Thoughts:

A must play, destination course, one I hope to play annually at a minimum. It's only just over an hour away for me and definitely worth the trip. I played first thing in the morning, which is recommenced if you want to avoid the crowds.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 1
Nate32
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.9 years 75 played 60 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Absolutely Amazing Views and Course!!

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 26, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Delaveaga in Santa Cruz, California is one of California's best disc golf courses. This course offers amazing views from the iconic top of the world hole. This course is challenging for all players.

This course is maintained pretty well but many holes play in hard compacted dirt like Morley Field in San Diego, California. There are quite a lot of fun holes at Dela such as the refrigerator.
Some of the first holes play in the woods.

One of the holes I especially liked is called Gravity. This hole is on the side of a steep hill. They call it gravity because it is the shortest hole on the course and you can float your disc right down to the hole. Tee signs I believe were added quite some time ago but are very nice in many ways because of blind shots and other reasons.

- There is a pro shop in the parking lot near the back side of the course. They sell quite a few discs, bags and Rovic Disc Golf carts.

The Masters Cup is held at this course. They play 24 out of the 27 holes there are at Dela.

- One of my favorite holes is the refrigerator. Apparently someone dumped a old fridge down in the ravine and the name kind of stuck. If you go to the course they give you the full description of why they called it that.
- They do not water this course so you will get enormous skips, especially on the top of the world hole.

- The top of the world hole is around a 500 foot down hill shot that has amazing views of Santa Cruz.

There is poison oak now I don't mean that it is bad but man it is there. Just stay away from it and you will be good. Overall the some of the wooded holes are just amazing. Just like in all the videos I have seen of Dela there is nothing like just playing there in the morning. Although it does get crowded this course is definitely worth playing. The Delaveaga Golf course is a nice change and I would like to come up to Santa Cruz again to play it.

Overall this course is spectacular I really wished it was much more close to me. The variety of the shots is amazing. What a Great Pro shop and other spectacular holes. This course is one of my favorite courses by far. I do not live close but I really want to play the other Dela course on the golf course. But that course is much harder and admission is so much more. Delaveaga park is free though.
There are no maps to this course. I thought it was really fun to walk in-between the holes just because you don't see that on the videos on youtube. When I played the refrigerator hole the pin was in a different spot. Just about every hole has a second pin location. At the fridge the hole was off to the side which was a little annoying. I was hoping to go over the trees like you would see on youtube.

Hole 25's top basket has been removed this hole plays as a short par 3. I believe due to mud slides and stuff like that they removed it.

Cons:

There are not very many cons on this course because of how amazing this course really is.

-One concern is that on the top of the world hole there is a road that runs on the back of the basket. Quite a few cars come threw there which makes it hard if you throw long.

- This course is not a very beginner friendly if you are one. Very steep cliffs and lots of hills make it very easy to loose your disc.

Other Thoughts:

Overall the course is very nice and I would definitely want to play it again. This is one of a couple courses in Santa Cruz. One of the other ones was on a campus. I could not access that course.

There are many wooded holes where it is hard to loose your disc which can be nice because previous holes have very steep cliffs.

One thing to know is to go early in the morning because it will get very hot and dry in the afternoon. Dela tends to be kind of open on a few holes.
One of my favortie holes is gravity which I already mentioned. But there is nothing like it. it is the shortest hole on the course and it looks just like it does in the CCDG videos. Just let your disc float down and you are parked. Although this hole is on a steep hill your disc will definitely sit when it hits the hill.

There is also another course there that plays through the golf course. In the Masters Cup they play this course on their final day. Nothing Like playing here for a change this course is spectacular.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
DarkRye
Experience: 30 played 7 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Favorite course of all time 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 28, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

It's regarded as one of the best courses in the whole world, and for good reason. Signature hole after signature hole. Park is strictly used for disc golf and nothing else. You'll never forget throwing off the top of the world.

Cons:

I can't say I'd recommend this course to a beginner. There are a couple blind shots and scary fairways with canyons so you must be careful not to lose your disc. That said, off the fairway doesn't have a lot of brush so you're usually fine as long as you don't shank one off a cliff. As an intermediate player, the last couple times I went I didn't lose any, so I think that if you are comfortable with your shots you'll be fine. Pay for parking but hey, it's so worth it! Imagine how much a premiere course like this would cost if it was ball golf.

Other Thoughts:

My favorite course, ever. The pinnacle of the sport for me. Get ready to test every shot in your arsenal. Uphill, downhill, sidehill, gaps, trees, bombers, technical shots, you name it. Unlike some pro courses, this course offers a lot for your average player who takes the sport semi-seriously. You just need to be extra careful on ~3 holes, the rest won't be an issue, just be mindful of the steep drop-offs. There aren't any 400' water gaps or anything too ridiculous, but still has incredibly challenging holes in their own, very unique way. Would recommend to anyone intermediate skill and above. You'll need a good right turn shot for one of the holes that has a canyon on the left. It's a long course so pack water and snacks and make sure you're physically capable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 5
Chuck Reed
Experience: 41 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

DeLa Love 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 8, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Challenging course with opportunities to make birdies. Locals are friendly.
Iconic setting. 29 holes!

Cons:

No maps.
First timers need help from a local to locate the pin
and the next tee in some cases.
Small parking lot.

Other Thoughts:

A destination course, if you're in the area, make the effort to play here! I already want to go back.
It's on my top three list.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 14
zfish102
Experience: 12.9 years 68 played 18 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Lived up to expectations 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 13, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great layout and use of terrain
Good teepads.
Just the right amount of trees so you don't have to worry about constantly scrambling.
Pro shop on the property with super friendly staff.

Cons:

Occasional trash

Other Thoughts:

This course is a monster! The hike is worth it though. It lived up to my expectations after watching so many pros play here. I loved the change in elevation on almost every hole which constantly challenges your skills. Good spread of open and wooded holes and wooded holes did not have heavy underbrush which is always nice when you get off the fairway. Definitely loved throwing from the top of the world!! An experience like no other.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 10
nnewms
Experience: 13 played 9 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Good Lord 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 9, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is beyond incredible, coming from Colorado this course was so much fun to play. The course made you hit your lines without feeling like every shot was down a tunnel. It felt fair to where getting dela'd was confusing. The rough was rough and the elevation was fun without being too extreme. Overall everything was incredible and it felt like how a disc golf course should play.

Cons:

Nothing to speak of, holes on the hill were closed which was a letdown but the course still played amazingly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
coyotepower
Experience: 18.8 years 87 played 34 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Can't Forget the DeLa 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 4, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Where to begin. Its Dela!
- No better feeling than launching it from Top of the World.
-Friendly Locals
-Get in Shape playing here
-tests every shot in the bag
27 holes and none seemed repetitive
-Gravity! (Hole 11, I think) is a hole I would put in my top 10 all time.

Cons:

-Cluster of Holes that start the round are too close together. Was an issue at some other courses in the area as well (Golden gate Im looking at you)
- Guy running the trailer was surly and kinda rude. I wanted to get some Dela stamped discs as souveniers. His window was open but told me to buzz off he was closed. Ok dude, whatever.

Other Thoughts:

...due to originality and if I ever went solo my favorite MC would be me.

Day 4 of 12 day DG trip.

Holy Balls! DeLaVeAgA! Just driving up to the course you could feel the history. The anticipation was palpable. We parked near the trailer and went to work. DeLa was ours to be had!

I pared the first few and thought to myself - "yeah I can hang with the big boys". ...and then proceeded to go 10 over. Womp Womp. Lost my favorite G* Destroyer on 12 or 13. Green with a bunch of stripes my daughter poly-dyed for me. If you find it let me know!

DeLa is not for the timid nor the weak. you have to commit to your shots and execute or else pay the consequence. I am a better player after playing these courses even if I don't play well. That is the mark of a great course to me. Enjoy the challenge and test yourself. its not always easy but your game will improve on your local 18 after days like August 4th, 2018.

Friend I was with almost aced Top of the World. That was a highlight as good as anything i've seen ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.2 years 388 played 318 reviews
4.00 star(s)

iconic course is more impressive in person 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 13, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

-amazing terrain for disc golf with big and small elevation, old growth trees, lots of tunnels, and a few open spots to rip one
-nice concrete tees, Mach baskets in good condition
-multiple basket locations on most holes
-tee signs are useful but don't always show all distances to various pin positions and don't show current position
-variety of shots uphill and downhill, tunnels, finishing right and left, huge bombs, and opportunities to use any and all kinds of shots off the tee or to get out of trouble
-super dangerous greens with major slopes, roots, and trees inside the circle; forces you to think about your landing angles
-practice basket
-small disc shop
-lost and found disc bin
-portojohn

Cons:

-poison oak
-crossing fairways
-top of the world throws onto potentially 7 or 8 other holes plus the parking lot; a fun shot but really not very safe
-some brutally punishing rough off the fairways and especially down the ravines, plus the poison oak
-several holes that could easily play into the road
-tough to navigate without a map, make sure you bring one
-a daunting course for beginners; you really need to be able to throw straight, keep it in the fairway, and play smart to keep all your plastic out here, let alone actually score well

Other Thoughts:

DeLaveaga Park is iconic. I've heard about this course for years and seen it in numerous tournament coverage videos. It's interesting playing a course for the first time but feeling like you know the course already. It definitely helps with the navigation, which can get tricky out here so bring a map or follow some locals.

The variety of elevation across fairways shaped by the Monterey Pines, Oaks, and scrubby brush makes for a great challenge and beautiful scenery. Elevation changes both major and minor are in play on most holes. There is early and late danger on most holes and the greens are incredibly dangerous. Roots, trees, steep drop offs, and completely sloped ground are abundant on the greens so you have to think about it on all shots: drives, approaches, and putts.

There are a number of alternate basket positions but it looks like some of the more memorable holes stay in their typical positions. I'm curious how often they change but with 29 holes, there are no issues with variety. The tee signs are decent but I would love to see the current pin locations indicated on the signs.

Speaking of 29 holes, are they really necessary? Holes 5 and 6 cross each other as do holes 13 and 16. I'm not a fan of crossing fairways but at least these ones have decent lines of sight. Top of the World hole 27 is definitely unsafe but I can't imagine it would ever go away. Don't be shy about yelling "fore".

DeLaveaga is definitely a destination course where you can spend the whole day enjoying the expansive property and varied holes. I look forward to coming back and trying to improve my score. At this point, it's both the best and my favorite course I've played in California.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
BBB-SoCal
Experience: 26 played 17 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Famous or Infamous? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 3, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Easily recognizable
Great use of terrain to make even short holes challenging
Good mix of elevation and natural obstacles to keep the course fun and exciting throughout

Cons:

Treacherous O.B. at times
Unforgiving ground and skips if not calibrated properly
Ravines will punish weaker arms on some of the long holes

Other Thoughts:

It was great to finally play this course after seeing it so many times online. The videos do not do this course justice. It is even more intimidating in person -- but also much longer and varied than I had realized.

If you have a wide mix of shots in your arsenal you will not be disappointed in how much creativity you can unleash. I was able to intentionally skip a hard-plastic approach disc several times to great effect.

This course is easily recognizable and very iconic and yet playing here felt fun and new because I do not have something comparable near me. I came here as a destination event and it was certainly worth the trip. I assure you I will be back to play it again. I played pretty conservatively my first time here but I think I will gradually learn to be more aggressive as I figure out which shots are safe enough to throw without losing a disc and risky enough to improve my score.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 8
imageoftheson
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Worth every minute, perfect course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 13, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very challenging layouts, iconic holes, amazing views. This place is legendary. I have been wanting to come here since I started playing, about 2 years ago. For our 1 year anniversary we made this one stop on our road trip, and it was well worth the drive. Baskets were all in A position, I ended up -7 which i was very happy with. Course conditions were perfect.

Cons:

A little out of the way, somewhat crowded, patrons didn't have the cleanest of language.

Other Thoughts:

I am so glad I played this course, and will again if I get the chance. Maybe next time the course will be in a tougher layout.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
JRock Santa Cruz
Experience: 44.8 years 42 played 3 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 29, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

What more can be said? An icon. Challenging holes, mixed elevations, striking views, long holes, technical holes, legendary holes.

If it's not on your bucket list, it ought to be.

Cons:

Crowded on the weekends. Alternately, if you're a first timer and arrive on a quiet weekday morning, it can be hard to spot some of the baskets from your tee (Such as 2, 7, 12, 14, 15.)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 15
jonasgr
Experience: 25.1 years 10 played 8 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Lottery 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 9, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

I nice course for a casual round with your friends. Nice elevation.

Cons:

I really can't understand how this could be one of the most highly rated disc golf courses in the world. I can think of very few other courses which feel as much of a lottery.

The fairway mainly consists of hard soil with roots which makes it very unpredictable -- when you expect your disc to slide 10 meters (30 feet) to the basket it might as well hit a root and bounce backwards. Other holes have large logs that prevents discs from sliding out and OB, but there are huge gaps between the logs so if you're lucky the log will stop the disc for an easy birdie but if you're unlucky you'll go OB.

It's ok to have a cliff behind the basket (sometimes) but when the green consists of huge roots that easily will make your disc stand up and roll down the cliff (and cost you 3 throws to get back up) it's not ok.

The infamous "The fridge" is something else: throw your disc into a forest, aiming for a painted spot on a tree 30 feet up in the air, and pray you'll find your disc when you've walked to the basket, and hope you have a birdie opportunity.

The last hole -- Top of the World -- is so much fun to play, but a slight miss means your disc will land on the parking lot. I would not be surprised if this will be the first hole where we hear about a severe disc golf casualty.

It absolutely takes a very good disc golfer to master the course but you will also need a great deal of luck to succeed and I'm no fan of courses where you need to depend on luck.

Other Thoughts:

I have only played the course during the WC 2011 (27 hole layout). Perhaps a different seasons adds some grass to the fairway and makes it more predictable. But to me this was the worst (of four) courses we played during this WC.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Treeplant
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 9.1 years 109 played 62 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Fantastic Course, Well Maintained, Active DG Community, Thumbs Up All Around 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Beautifully maintained park with great hole layouts and multiple pin positions.

- Disc golf only park that's tucked in behind a golf course, so very little interference from the general public, though we did see a couple of what appeared to be hikers.

- Good concrete pads and signage, well maintained.

- Good length and challenge to most of the holes, not a whole lot of gimme Par 3s.

- Good mix of elevation and left/right bends that let you use the full range of throws in your bag.

- Although there are some nasty spots to lose discs, for the most part you will not be in danger of losing discs if you're able to stay on or close to the fairway. Rolling way off line or grip locking off to the right can put you off a massive hill, but it's not like the fairways have long grass or are lined with thornbushes that make small misses hard to find.

- Great little shack that sells a limited selection discs and snacks in the parking lot. A good place to go for info on the course or for info on the surrounding disc golf community, which sounds awesome.

- A few mandos, but they didn't overdo it with mandos or OBs when designing the course. They used the lay of the land to create the challenge, which is really great.

- Benches at pretty much every hole is awesome, especially for someone like me who doesn't carry a stool around. A lot of the tee pads were shaded as well, so waiting on other groups wasn't nearly as painful as it can be at other courses.

Cons:

- Without a course map, can be a little confusing to find the next tee.

- Fairways are tight together in spots, people in our group were almost hit twice in the one round we played. It's completely fine, you just need to keep an eye out.

- Busy course, I was told it can take a very long time to play 18 or 27 holes at peak times.

Other Thoughts:

- The golf course you drive through on the way into the disc golf course also has baskets, which can be played for a fee on certain days of the week. Just google the Delaveaga Golf Course phone number and call the pro shop for info.

- It's worth taking the time to look ahead on a few holes. there are some blind shots and some pin placements where going past the pin can roll you off a painful hill.

- We played this course because we were told this was one of the best courses in the state and a couple of people said it was one of the top courses in the world. It is an absolutely fantastic course that's well maintained with a couple of neat views, but I was expecting a little more myself because it had been hyped up so much to me. Was worth the drive and I really loved playing it, but it was all Par 3s and there wasn't anything about it that completely blew me away. Absolutely nothing wrong at all with the course in anyway but don't go in expecting every hole to have breathtaking views or staggering elevation drops or incredibly challenging unique Par 5s etc.

- One of the best courses I've ever played.

- Get there early to beat the heat and the crowds!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
KMBreith
Experience: 11.9 years 83 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

One of my all time favorites 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 17, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Tee pads in mostly good condition, tee signs accurate, and baskets are always on the move
Great hole to hole variety: up, down, left, right, and everything in between
"Top of the World": 500+ ft downhill shot with a view of Santa Cruz and the Pacific Ocean
Small pro shop with nice employees, snacks, drinks, and discs for sale
I meet awesome people

Cons:

All par 3
Not enough garbage cans
Crowded on the weekends when it's nice out (obviously)
Lacking signage around the course (pay attention to tee sign for next hole, or ask!)

Other Thoughts:

Overall one of my all time favorite courses! While there may be a few things that could use improvement, I truly believe this course to be a model for others.
I will continue to come back to this place for as long as I live!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 2
rjmead23
Experience: 7.1 years 66 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

If you are in the area you have to play this course. if you aren't you still have to play this course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 2, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful drive to the parking lot for the first tee. Has a great parking lot and disc golf store if you are looking to buy new discs. Well marked holes with big cement tee pads. Map of the course available at the disc golf store. $2 parking pass will allow you to stay until sunset (worth it I promise). There are some great challenging tunnel shots, elevation changes, wooded, open and shots that will challenge anyone from beginner to pro. Holes 12 and 15 are for the brave, but read the sign about the fridge that will surely bring a smile to your face. Big pine trees and some wonderful natural obstacles will have you challenged.. This is still a great course for beginners to the more experienced. A beautiful setting so be sure to take your time to enjoy your surroundings.

Cons:

There are no trash bins on the course so be prepared to carry out what you carry in. Make sure you take a map of the course with you as there are a few holes that benefit from this. The basket placement is not always what you might expect so be sure to know which basket you are shooting at before you commit.

Other Thoughts:

This is a beautiful course that is well worth checking out. This course will take you among beautiful scenery with lots of elevation changes with an abundance of shade. Enjoy nature on this one, you will not be dissapointed
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top