Gainesville, TX 
Moffett Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #2 (Taken 3/2018)
4 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Moffett Park

2-4    4/29/2020   4/29/2020
Review By: aclay
Played: 197  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 36.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Plenty of space for the 3 holes. Other than a small playground set and a couple of picnic tables, there is nothing else there, so the course is unlikely to ever be crowded.
-- Good design. It's not just three baskets sitting in the middle of a field. There are trees to navigate and even a small piece of playground equipment.
-- New Discatcher baskets.
-- Natural tees in good condition.
-- Decent signs (posts) that show distance. There is no other information (other than par), but you don't need it. You can see the basket from each tee.
-- Park is clean.
Cons: -- Only 3 holes.
-- No bathrooms or facilities and no water.
Other Thoughts: -- If ever a course screamed "practice your mid ranges," this is it. I wish this course were close to my house instead of being 75 miles away.
-- With the addition of 9-hole courses nearby (Lindsay and Muenster), there is a disc golf reason to visit this part of Texas.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 3 of the best holes in Gainesville

1    4/8/2019   4/10/2019
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 287  Reviewed: 209  Exp: 9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Buckle up, y'all. Without a doubt, this is the best disc golf course in town. Heck, it might be the best attraction in town. Gainesville, TX - population: ~10,000. It is as close to being Southern Oklahoma with still being in the best state in the country; they love their disc golf, and it shows - they have a sign welcoming you to their lovely Moffett Park, which is right off I-35, and they advertise their disc golf course on their park sign. That's right, a town paid money to get a disc golf sign for a course that is three holes long. Honestly, that's okay; the park is small and probably couldn't hold any more holes.

It's not like the baskets are just three baskets sitting randomly in a park with no rhyme or reason for them being there. They are nice Discatcher baskets. There are yellow tee posts with hole number and distances listed on them. They have what you need to create, without a doubt, the best 3 hole disc golf course I have ever played.

The holes are not even terrible. There are big oak pine trees in the park that do create obstacles. You need to throw a left to right shot on hole 2 to get a chance at a 2 because of the trees guarding right off the tee.
Cons: Like literally every other reviewer said: the course is only three holes. Though like I mentioned before, I am not sure if the park space is suitable for any more than that. There is a larger park across the street that holds the zoo and other amenities that could have created a more expansive course, but from what it seems, disc golf is the only reason to go to this park.

Again, the three holes are solid to play, but I could never warrant rating a three hole course more than what it is.
Other Thoughts: With the more recent addition of a nine hole course in Lindsay, TX, which is about 4 miles to the west, there is more of a reason to bag this course along with that one. Lindsay Park is a great course, and Moffett is something you can bag in no time at all.

Don't expect anything too crazy or awesome. It is, in the end, a three hole course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 3 Lonely baskets

1    3/24/2018   3/25/2018
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 164  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 18 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice clean park
Very big old trees
Great space to practice any shots
Good place to practice in summer months to help block the sun
Great Innova Discatcher baskets
Cons: Only 3 baskets, if they could add a couple more on the other side of the road it would make for a great 9 hole course.
Single post to mark tees
Other Thoughts: Another easy bagger course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It has only 3 baskets but mowed and perfect

5+    9/8/2017   9/8/2017
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 382  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mowed grass.
No one around
Can play as many disc as you want
Great practice
Good distance.
Nice shade
No one around
Cons: It has only 3 baskets
I actually think 6 could fit perfect no crowding they have some good space
Other Thoughts: Just West off 35 its on north side beside DQ.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Moffett Park

1    2/27/2016   2/28/2016
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 193  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a nice little park. There are tee signs and new DISCatcher baskets with numbers on them. Navigation was very easy. It looks like there were alternate pin locations for each hole as well. I don't know how often they are switched but there is still that option. I don't image this course gets much traction but that means if you are out there you can play safari golf and work on different aspects of your game.
Cons: There are only 3 holes. Like previously mentioned at least the designer did not cram in a bunch of holes. There really isn't anything wrong with this course because there is not much to pick apart. The course has 3 holes with solid natural tees and quality baskets.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on my way to Norman, OK. It was a quick easy stop and I enjoyed the course. The course is nice for locals as it gives them a place to throw at baskets. There is Lindsay Park about 10 minutes away if you are trying to play more holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 WTF

1    2/6/2016   2/6/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 1004  Reviewed: 367  Exp: 33.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: How do rate a course and do a review when there are only 3 holes.

Well, the 3 holes are just your basic holes, nothing to write home about. They is a 4x4 yellow post marking the 3 holes. Baskets do have the numbers on them so it was super easy to follow and only took me 5 min to play.

The only reason to play here is to work on your short game, you can play the 3 holes over and over and make up some of your own holes,

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good practice course

1    4/25/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -plenty of space for the 3 holes
-new discatchers
-natural tees in good condition
-signs show distance
-not crowded
-lots of room for safari holes
-clean park, trash cans, grills
Cons: obviously, it's only 3 holes. the park itself is very small so there isn't room for more. at least they didn't try to cram too many holes in too small a space.

no bathrooms or facilities. there is a large park across the street that looks like it has bathrooms and water fountains.
Other Thoughts: For what it is this is a decent practice course. There is not another course for at least 25 miles so it is cool that you can throw at baskets if you live or happen to be in Gainesville.

The grass pads are in good shape. They won't get rutted from overuse here. There are plenty of other places in the park, even some from elevation, from where you can throw for some alternate looks.

Don't expect much if you come here. It is not a bad spot to stop and stretch your legs if you're driving on I-35; it's right off the highway at the California St. exit.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.