Choctaw, OK 
Choctaw Creek Park - A Share
Uploaded By: MikeK Hole #4 (Taken 7/2016)
3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
a fun work in progress

1    1/18/2021   1/24/2021
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -new concrete tees on most of the course (dirt on 8-11)
-baskets in good condition
-pretty good design that takes advantage of some elevation, a creek, and a few ponds
-a nice mix of shorter & longer holes, open & more wooded holes
-a couple memorable holes: the tunnel on 5, over the creek on 7, the island on 9
-many alternate basket locations
-plenty of parking
-another shorter 9 in the same park
Cons: -signage is terrible, either no signs or old, outdated ones
-navigation is better with new concrete tees but still tough in a few spots: 2, 4, 12, 13 require some scouting without a map
-course kiosk has an outdated map, use uDisc
-the map here is also outdated, use uDisc
-the new tee pads are too short
-the course generally could use some maintenance but a few holes really need some clearing to make a real fairway: 2 & 14, maybe 6 also
-the end of the course feels like filler, especially the last 2
-the course doesn't cater to a particular skill level
Other Thoughts: Choctaw Creek Park has two courses, an 18 hole course and a beginner 9 hole course. The bigger course seems like it has been in a state of unfinished purgatory since it was installed but it is getting close to completion. The space it occupies has some cool terrain and the design takes advantage of a few ponds, a creek, some elevation changes, and woods ranging from sparse to very tight.

The course looks to have a reputation for having an unclear layout and difficult navigation. Concrete tees have been poured for most of the holes (all but 8-11, near the ponds) and it makes navigation much easier but there is still work to do. New tee signs and a few next tee signs in some key places would do wonders for the course experience here. Tees 2, 4, 12, and 14 are not obvious from the previous hole and you could easily miss hole 9 and end up at hole 10 if you walk to the right instead of the left after hole 8.

The course has some fun and memorable holes. Hole 5 has a tunnel to throw through about 275' off the tee and hole 9 has an island green; both are signature holes. I also liked the basket just across the creek on hole 7 where a well-placed skip shot could ring up some metal. The layout makes its way through various areas of the park that each have their own character. There are open shots with sparse trees to avoid, there are tight woods, and there are a few holes around the ponds with water in play. Unfortunately, the course runs out of steam at the end. From 15 onward the holes are longer and almost totally wide open and the last two holes are obvious filler.

I played here with some casual beginners and it made me notice that there are some very challenging holes for what is really a red layout. Over half the holes are under 300' but some are very tight for a rec level player. The remainder are between 300'-350' and only 2 are longer than that but still under 400'. The holes around the ponds are very risky for any unexperienced player and they should probably skip 9 and 11.

With very few options on the east side of OKC, this course probably gets a lot of play from a range of golfers. I'm sure that each demographic has its own complaints about the hole designs and challenge level but I'm sure they all have complained about the signage and navigation. Those issues are almost remedied and hopefully the finishing touches get done soon. There are some fun holes and I also noticed alternate sleeves on most holes if I remember correctly, very nice for replay value. I'm sure I'll be back at some point and I look forward to seeing the progress.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Almost there

1    2/26/2019   3/1/2019
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I got lucky, there were makeshift tee markers on every tee. (although they messed up and the numbers were off after hole 3)
Some really good holes
Tunnel, literally a tunnel.
Several holes had alternate pin placements
Cons: Grass tees
no direction markers to next tee's.
Other Thoughts: You got to have a map for this course. There has been some slight changes to the course from the map on this site.

Course uses the are pretty good, you have some slight elevation shots, tight holes and wide open holes. You even have a couple of holes that are flat out blind shots.

I played the UDisc map, nearly ever tee had a small sign marking the hole number, however there is a new hole 4 and all the numbers were off by one after that.

In general, this is a decent course, it is more for advance players than top pro's. However this park does have the 9 hole course that is more rec friendly. At least in that the holes are shorter.

memorable holes that help make this course.

Hole #5 (old hole 4) is the tunnel hole. Not sure if you are "suppose" to throw thought it, however it does help you with your upshot if you throw it right.

Hole #9 (old 8) is an island hole. Literally the basket is on an island surrounded by water. I am sure in the summer it is dry, but it was an island when I played it.

Would I play here again? Yes, I would like to play this course in better weather. It was very cold the day I played and my hands were frozen. I had some bad shots because of it. Shot a 55, I know I can do better than that.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 so so

1    3/4/2018   3/6/2018
Review By: Rezora46
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: lots of challenging shots. lots of different types of throws.
Cons: no idea whats going on with this course the maps doesnt exactly line up with the actual pads/baskets. 17 is either missing or its that basket across the fairway of 18 either way its a little odd.
Other Thoughts: someone needs to marks the pads better and put numbers on the baskets. I'll do it just some body get me permission and the equipment.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Potential

1    7/26/2017   7/26/2017
Review By: Jasearcy92
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has potential to be a great course.
Looks like it would be a fun course.
Cons: No map.
Most tee pass I came across not marked.
Other Thoughts: (9 hole section of course) After playing hole ones tee to hole threes basket then going to hole fours tee pad to play hole "2". Somehow we managed to play hole three correctly. Then asked a group that showed up where hole 4 was we were informed the hole we played as two was actually 4. No clear markings on tee pads or baskets. When we finished the 9 hole course we realized, thanks to another group that there is a 9 and 18 hole course here. Found 2s tee for the 18 hole course threw it and spent 20 minutes looking for 3s tee pad then just decided to leave. The least you could do is have a map of the course for newcomers. Again looks like a fun course if you're not going in blind. Feel like I walked a full round just looking for the proper holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting.

1    1/21/2017   1/23/2017
Review By: RILEYFISH
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good mix of challenging holes and some pretty easy holes
Cons: baskets 15, 16 & 17 were missing. it looks like they were taken out for the german festival and never placed back. so that was kind of a bummer. also the tees are marked very well on this course. however the 9 hole course just to the north is perfect

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Interesting course, lots of shrubs and underbrush

1    2/20/2016   3/11/2016
Review By: Kingpin85
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Island hole(if there was water in pond), good mix of long and short, fairly technical. Multiple tee pads. Very cool tunnel shot on hole 4!
Cons: Needs to be cleaned up of a lot of brush. Permanent markings to next hole would help.
Other Thoughts: Has potential to be my favorite course, but it needs some work. Very playable.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great New Course

5+    10/17/2015   10/17/2015
Review By: Darth Nova
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course to get an Ace when you throw disc from white tee or go gold and challenge yourself.

If your a seasoned player or Pro you will love the long gold tees.

Holes #10 ,#11 throw over water at gold tee

Hole #8 is still not finished there is big huge long woodin logs near where it will be.
Cons: Alot of hiking lol and walking it is easy to lose your disc I haven't yet but a couple close calls
Other Thoughts: Watch out for sticks they are everywhere off and on through out the course

The other 9 hole course separate from the big 18 hole course has great playing hole #6 is in the woods with a small 8 to 10 ft window to throw your disc through then #7 is inside the woods over a huge pine tree great hole to practice your Tomahawk throws

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  New 18 Added

1    8/22/2015   8/31/2015
Review By: low2theground40
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great par 4 and 5s . Long holes some in the 800ft range
Clearly marked tees
Each hole has 3 tees for different skill levels
Cons: Brand new so some vegetation still needs to be trimmed down and weeded out
Needs better tee pads as wood chips on uneven ground can get sketchy
Hole 8 is still unplayable as it will be a true island hole once the windmills start pumping again and needs a bridge

Other Thoughts: I cant wait to see this course when it gets beat in and played through more often. I love the direction its headed and look forward to many great rounds!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.