Racine, WI 
Johnson Park Share
Uploaded By: tangerinewarehouse Hole #3 (Taken 8/2016)
-- / --   3 / 194ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
A welcome new course

1    6/18/2017   6/19/2017
Review By: Rogheff
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Any time there is a new course in the area - it is welcome. This course has an abundant variety of holes, from open to heavily wooded to prairie. Terrain change is great. Some tee pads are brick, some are wooden, some are natural. I actually liked that variety. Ample garbage cans eliminate some of the concerns from previous reviewers. This is a great place to find lost discs. Loved the elevated basket on (15?)
Cons: The lack of signs made for an incredibly confusing first round at this course. Zigzagging paths lead you from the baskets to multiple directions. You could follow the woodchip path where available, but a simple sign (or even an arrow) would be better (Which of the three baskets you can see from tee #1 is the basket for hole #1? is a good example of how signage would work.) I'm sure as the course gets worn in and improved upon, the flow from hole to hole will improve.

DANGER - Hole # 10 is LOADED WITH POISON IVY! It is in the rough, it is in the fairway - right up to the basket. The plant is on nearly every hole since it is a wild weed and conditions are perfect, but this particular hole should be avoided if the lawn hasn't been mowed.
Other Thoughts: To the designers: A map of the course would be welcome at hole #1. I played very conservatively my first time on this course because you can't see the basket on at least half of the holes unless you walk up halfway on the fairway. Beware of using mottled or dingy colored discs. Blaze orange discs may be your friend here.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

first course in this county!!!

5+    4/24/2017   4/30/2017
Review By: TeebirdDan
Played: 90  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: designed to its fullest potential , use of river and ravine threw first 9 holes is very good. i love all but the last two holes of this course . work is always being done on this course no shortage of woodchips to mark out putting greens and paths . course will only get better [RAPIDLY!! due to somebodys insane work ethic.
Cons: can get a little swampy on some fairways due to little ground springs n such.
Other Thoughts: Designer has done a ton to bring this gem to life .first course in Racine county . hopefully not the last.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Play This Course, Soon.

2-4    4/22/2017   4/28/2017
Review By: Senorpinchy
Played: 73  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 28.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2017
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Another great Southern Wisconsin
course with a plethora of Technical to Inspiring holes, that are both advanced and moderate . Each hole holds a variance of possible shots, yet with its limited relief around the fairways and tucked away baskets there are opportunities to score, but beware the course bites Aggressive play. This course has none of the sophomoric issues you would find in a Municipal (older, or run down city course) course. You can see with ease the direction of play and the next hole.
Cons: Its not finished so until it is I have nothing!
Other Thoughts: I loved this course, I've played for 2 decades and then some, and I will be back every time I play in South-Eastern WI.
I think the leadership on this DGC has a pretty good line of sight and am also Excited to see all the progress brought to fruition sooner than later.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Soon to be GREAT

2-4    10/2/2016   10/3/2016
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 241  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 13.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just to start off: This course is brand spanking new as of late summer 2016. So take this with a grain of salt as far as cons and I'm going to base my rating on when this course gets all brick tees and signs are added which are already present on quite a few holes. I played this course for the first time today on a wet, dreary day. The lack of actual tee pads had a definite effect on my round no doubt. That being said, I was thrilled with this course. The design is top notch. The use of the available land is unreal. There is every type of shot you can imagine here. There's water in play, big elevation, major roll away potential, elevated pin.....etc. The Gateway baskets are new to me as far as I can remember but are fantastic. I hope more courses utilize these instead of Disctossers. A little harder to see but catch way better. The navigation is super easy even now. They have a ton of directional arrows to aide with this. The elevated basket on 15 maybe is an awesome feature. Bottom of the cage is probably 6 feet up. The right turning valley shot with the root river on the left on 3, The right to left valley shot on 2.....It's balls to the wall here throughout. Just play this if in the area. And don't review it bad because it beats you down. It will. Embrace the pain. The designers KILLED IT here. Awesome job guys.
Cons: My cons are basically all due to the newness of this course. As of this writing the natural tees are not ideal. Very few tee signs but again I'm sure these are coming. Stumps and other tripping hazards along some fairways. Not the courses fault but pick your s*** up and throw it away or pack it out. This is the only course in Racine.
Other Thoughts: I have played over 200 courses before this one. I honestly wasn't expecting that much based on 3 reviews. I was floored with the overall everything of this course. I'm playing it twice more tomorrow before I head home in fact. If they do the pads right and add tee signs this is a 4.25 for sure. If in the area hop off I-94 and hit this thing up. Finally Racine has a course, I've been waiting, and this is going to be better than anything in Milwaukee already and up there with the foxes in Kenosha. Play this for sure.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Promising Start

1    8/6/2016   8/10/2016
Review By: knivile1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good use of available elevation
-Good mix of tight, wooded lines and open prairie/park style holes
-Great location for course on underused section of public park
-Cool deck/rubber teepads on hole 7 and 10 with 10 having built-in bench
-Challenging basket locations, most seemed to be tucked up and away adding to the challenge of certain holes.
-Brand new Gateway baskets, first time I've ever played on them and they seemed to catch fairly well
-Low number of non-dg traffic most of the time I would guess. Unless there is a large gathering at the park in which case Hole 1, 17 and 18 would become unplayable.
Cons: -Trash; I have never seen so much trash pile up so quickly on such a brand new course. Really disappointing to see especially with the number of trash cans and trash bags out on the course.
-Lack of signage, not a huge con because the course is so new and I expect that to change
-Natural teepads, sure concrete or more rubber pads are coming soon
-Long walks between some holes but not a big deal as there was plenty of orange paint and next tee signs while I was there and I am sure these will be upgraded as well.
-Rough is exactly that on some holes, rough. This will improve as the course breaks in and really makes you concentrate more on each shot.
Other Thoughts: Came to check this course out over the weekend. Course itself is laid out very well and I can't wait to see what this course will look like as it breaks in more. Very rough around the edges but there is a very solid design in place here.

It was very refreshing/challenging/intimidating to see the number of dog legs (left and right) and other types of blind shots here add to the level of difficulty. This could be a con to some and I definitely had to take my time and scout the fairway before each tee shot but it made for a very rewarding feeling to come back after and find my disc/discs in the fairway most of the time.

Did see some paint for long and short tees on a couple of holes which will really add to the appeal of this course.

I will definitely be coming back and it is certainly worth a stop if you're in Racine.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lots of Potential

1    8/8/2016   8/10/2016
Review By: tangerinewarehouse
Played: 75  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -close to Milwaukee metro
-a cool mix of park golf, prairie golf, tight woods, elevation, blind
-walking from hole to hole is pleasant
-couple of cool benches
-challenging fairways and nice basket placements
-baskets are really cool
Cons: -the course still seems a little rough cause it's pretty new
-garbage cans should be bigger
-concrete tee pads would be nice, sure its coming
-prairie grass is really high easy to loose discs
Other Thoughts: nice to see another course pop up. makes trips to racine kenosha area better with more options other than parkside. this course is high risk/reward. you could easily be scrambling out of some mess if you go too far off the fairways. once this course is more worn in, maybe with a few improvements and alternate pin placements it could be better than just above average. If you don't end up looking for too many discs you should have a pretty fun time

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/8/2017   8/8/2016
Review By: lukeanater27
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 4/9/2017
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots is required on this course. They have short, very technical wooded holes, as well as longer more open ones.
Great use of elevation. Holes 2 and 3 are awesome! Who doesn't love to throw over a deep ravine? While the rest of the course does not have any extreme elevation changes after hole 3, the elevation that is available is used very well.
Very unique basket placements. While many courses would have just put he cage in an opening near the end of the hole, this course finds very nifty places to tuck the baskets up.
Hole 15 now has a very cool elevated basket.
Concrete is now in he process of being added.
Cons: As of right now, most of the tees are still grass. A few of the hole have concrete or rubber tee pads. However, I've heard that concrete pads will soon be implemented.
Towards the back nine, it can be pretty rough looking for a disc if you go off the fairway. It's pretty thick woods.
Still a lot of stumps on the ground. I often found myself tripping over them throughout the course.
Starts in a picnic area, which means that when big festivals are going on, hole 1, 17, and 18 may be unplayable.

You won't find any huge par 4s or 5s here. There are some longer 3s however.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course that I really like. There's a river that plays a part on hole 3, and a little bit on hole 8, thats adds to the fun.

There is also a golf course in Johnson park, but you will never actually see it besides the driving range at holes 1 and 18. This is good because it means that there is a clubhouse! The clubhouse has a bar and good food too

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.