• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Greetings from Taiwan & Questions about teaching beginners

Hello everyone,

My name is Nils and I'm originally from Germany, but have been living in Kaohsiung, Taiwan for over 10 years. I started playing disc golf one and a half years ago and since became totally addicted to it. I absolutely love the challenge of constantly trying to improve form & technique while enjoying the beautiful outdoors with friends.
Although the disc golf community in Taiwan isn't big, there are monthly tournaments and active communities in all of the bigger cities. You might have also heard about the Taiwanese disc golfer Jacky Chen who beat some of the top pros to take down the Asia Open in 2020.

My buddy and I recently decided to open an online disc shop that also serves as a platform for course, tournament and beginner information. Our goal is to grow the sport and build more permanent courses here in Taiwan. In April we're planning to do a workshop for friends and the Ultimate Frisbee community (which is bigger than disc golf here) with the goal of inspiring new people for this sport.
I've checked the forum for tips on how to teach beginners and like these advices best so far:
- Keep teaching sessions short and simple
- Use only putters & midranges
- Use the same discs as they do
- Klimo/stacked/control grip
- Disc parallel to forearm
- Hand on the outside of the disc
- Start with standstill throws
- Keeping a flat plane throughout the throw