• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Noob disc questions

RAHfrolfer

Hey, I've been playing for about 2 months now. Definitely hooked!

I started with some softer plastics (started kits), which was a bad call on my highly treed local course.
My form is improving and I can consistently throw up to 300 and on a really good throw 340ft.
Here are a few questions I have:
I have a champion beast that flies perfectly for me every time. I have another driver that I can throw directly afterwards and for some reason it will often fly too low (like into the ground 100ft down course). It is a gripier plastic, is this the issue? or is it the shape? I can't figure out why two similar drivers have such different results for me back to back.
I am also trying to figure out speed ratings and how the power behind a throw affects flight. I have a ROC3 in DX that doesn't seem to be as overstable as it should be. It is not particularly beat in so I don't expect it to fly understable but if I throw it 150ft it flies like an understable disc rather than the 5/4/0/3 it is rated. Am I throwing it too hard? Do I need to get it in champion for it to fly overstable as it is rated?
I have a few understable discs (genius and astronaut). I find them inconsistent (especially the genius). Sometimes they fly really understable and other times much less so. Is this just about choosing the right distance for the rating so you are throwing for the rated speed?
If so, what distance are different speed ratings best for - i.e speed 5 vs 7 vs 9 vs 11 vs 13 (how far should each ideally be thrown to fly as they are rated?)

Here is a pretty cool interactive flight chart. This might give you an answer to some of your speed/distance/stability questions.

http://www.inboundsdiscgolf.com/content/?page_id=431