• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Reachback Timing / Introduction

RingingChains

First my introduction:
I've been poking around (lurking) these forums for going on 2 years, mainly focused on learning technique. I first picked up the sport as a solitary activity (no one I know plays), but hope to eventually get involved in the local social scene once my skills reach a respectable level. My development has been slow as I only make it out to the course/field once or twice a month. However, I'd like to think I have surpassed the Noob stage at this point and am developing a somewhat consistent form/release. I am currently throwing mids about 175-200 from a standstill and can push that to closer to 225 with a run-up. Fairway drivers get out to 250ish (I know, I know... leave the drivers in the bag for now).

This weekend was the first time I was brave enough to record/watch my throws for some self-analysis. I was pleased to see that what feels like a random series of separate spastic events during execution actually looks fairly similar to what I see from the pros on Youtube. The first big difference that jumped out at me in my X-step was something I never thought of (or can recall seeing specific instruction on) while learning it– which brings me to my timing question below. I plan to continue recording/reviewing my form as I progress and will post it for the form critique crowd when it is ready for fine tuning – but right now I'm just looking for obvious faults and easy corrections.

Reachback timing question (apologies if I have missed previous discussions):