• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Enjoyment of the activity vs focus on reward

Smigles

* Ace Member *
So i came across this video:

In it Mr Huberman explains that focusing on a reward can take away almost all Dopamine release you get from doing an activity. He talks about an experiment where kids that love to paint get a reward for painting for a while and when they no longer get the reward, they aren't interested in painting any more.

He argues that you have to find your Dopamine releases during the activity, not in form of an reward afterwards.

I wonder how much this is related to tournament burnout. I Have been playing tournaments for 10 years now and it really took most of my enjoyment i had from disc golf. Just focusing on relaxed rounds with my buddies on the weekend is so much more enjoyable for me.

Tldr: this is a 10 minutes version of the video, please ignore the pictures in the background, it's some motivational crap but the message is the same and it's not a 2.5 hours lecture.

I came across Huberman some weeks ago on Jacko's podcast. Dude is a very interesting character and I really enjoy his insights. It is very much long form discussions.

Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for the Cliff Notes version.

I'm now in the declining years of my game. I'm more interested in drawing pretty lines with my discs than the number at the end of the hole or round. That's a good thing because I really suck now. I do miss competition though. I've always thought it brought out the best in me.