• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Marshall, MO

Indian Foothills Park - South

Permanent course
3.635(based on 8 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Indian Foothills Park - South reviews

Filter
15 0
Surge5
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10 years 172 played 172 reviews
3.00 star(s)

One For The Rough Riders

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 28, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

Hiding in the woods behind the 18th green of more prominent North course sits the entry to the more rugged of the Foothills courses. It retains the big elevation jumps and falls but leaves a little more wanting in hole design and flow.

Tee pads are all large, and all the Monkey Trap baskets are in great condition and catch very well. Purple probably wouldn't have been my color of choice when so many of the pins are in the shade, but in the end, they do the job.

As mentioned, elevation is the biggest pro of the course. Big downhills like 5, 8, 14, 15, and 18; slow uphills like 3, 9, 13, and 16; over a valley on 7; or changing partway through the hole like the drop left on 17 or jumping up to the green of 2. Also hiding to both sides of hole 12's fairway are elevation drops that are going to hurt your scramble percentage. Most of the tee-to-pin elevation changes are extremely significant but happen slowly over the course of the hole except the green of 2 and teeing off of 5.

The wooded section from 10 to 14 is the standout section of the course. Tight lines on 10 and 12, tough uphill challenges on 11 and 13, and 14 with a big elevation drop off the tee, water to avoid, and a tough green to access make for a great run of holes.

Hole 7 is a very unique, highly wooded hole. Off the tee it drops about 30ft of elevation to a 45-degree bend to the left, then goes back uphill to a 45-degree bend to the right and the pin tucked 60ft after the curve making reaching the green in one impossible and getting there in two a positioning challenge. Not a thriller, but a challenge.

Cons:

While the elevation is fun, that doesn't necessarily mean the holes are good quality. The gaps to get to the green of 3 are just too sharp on both sides, trying to access the green of 6 requires near-perfect elevation control, both 8 and 15 are wide-open downhill shots, and 16 is a wide open uphill.

Playing near a lot of hazards. Hole 4 tees by a playground; the second shot of 7 is kept from the road by an easily-pierced treeline; 9, 11, 15, and 16 all play near or across the road; 15 and 17 play near picnic shelters... there's a lot to stay away from. But something that presents actual danger is the green of hole 9. To the left of the green are a few bushes that hide a 25ft drop... to the skate park. A disc falling in there wouldn't really be the end of the world, just an annoying walk back down the hill, but with no guardrail by that drop... well, let's not discuss that.

The rough on the first 5 holes is unkempt to almost uninhabitable levels. Even when my Buzzz was only a foot into it on hole 1 it was an adventure getting around all the thorns and branches.

There are some unique hole shapes that are just... poor. Hole 4 is the first example. It doglegs right about 150ft off the tee, then you throw down a narrowing 225ft fairway to a green that is only about 10ft wide with that nasty rough on either side. Hole 5 is a short hole with a 20ft elevation drop almost immediately off the tee that requires a shot that goes hard left immediately out of that gap, with rough looming if you miss the green. Hole 17 plays 200ft straight then dives left into a large downhill clearing in the treeline... with rough behind the pin. And while I talk about the rough a lot, even if it wasn't that bad these holes would still not be enjoyable.

Navigation is trash. Long walks from 3 to 4, 7 to 8, 10 to 11, 14 to 15, and 17 to 18. Crossing roads every 5 or 6 holes and only having tee sign posts on 3 or 4 holes made navigation more challenging than it should be. Make sure you have a map.

Almost zero in the way of course comforts. No tee signs, few benches if any, and the one water fountain is at hole 17.

Hole 13 suffers from drainage in the worst way. The tee was covered in mud when I came through and the green has rutted badly from the rains draining through. Not really a lot that can be done but hopefully the basket doesn't get washed away.

Other Thoughts:

The South course is definitely the rougher option of the two courses in Marshall. Not that it isn't maintained, but it feels a little more shoehorned into the park than North which exposes its issues more. The big elevation changes can't hide the wild rough or below average creativity of many holes. As for which course to play here if you only have time for one, I recommend the North, but if you like your golf a little rougher, South isn't a bad choice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Pevio
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 191 played 120 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nothing that stands out 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 22, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

The South course has a nice collection of open and wooded holes. OB forms tight fairways on several holes, especially when woods are on one side of the fairway, forcing certain shots. Multiple pins will provide lots of variety.

Even without multiple tees or pins, there's a lot of variety. Holes curve in various directions, up and down hills, and woods or OB on the right side, left side, or both.

The hills, especially on the downhill shots, force you to maintain speed control on drives and approaches. While this can result in a bunch of layups, there's opportunity for really aggressive shots on holes like 4 and 17, which go downhill but have woods right behind the basket.

Cons:

Bad, bad navigation. Many tee signs are missing, and the next-tee indicators are often not good enough. The hole numbers get off from what the map indicates, so play with a local if possible. There's a hole between what the tee sign says is holes 9 and 10, then the entire back nine is marked one off on tee signs verses course map. At least I think that's the case... there's no way to be certain.

Most of the wooded holes have no real line or force some odd line that is pretty unreasonable. Most of those holes also had weeds or undergrowth in the fairways more than I would expect of a self-respecting course. This place needs some work done on it.

The par 4's didn't feel too interesting. They weren't true 2 shot holes, just longer par 3's. There's certainly room in the woods for some more challenging par 4's, and that's where the design effort should have gone.

The baskets don't stand out super well, and aren't great. I found myself constantly running up to see where the basket is, especially when neither pin could be seen from the tee.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, this is a pretty decent course that needs some work to get a high rating. Multiple pins help, but the alternate tees were mostly pointless, especially with the poor signage.

On holes that play near paths and roads (8, 9, 11, 15, 16), watch before throwing.

This course is worth playing, but if you only have time for one round, I recommend the North course. They both start from the same parking lot, so you can park before deciding which to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
david W
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.2 years 493 played 28 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Disappointing 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 4, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Teepads are in great shape

Nice Park (hidden gym for a small town like Marshall)

Several good lines/fairways

Cons:

The course start is only findable if you finish the North Course. Its basically hidden down a path with a very small sign.

Tee signs are terrible. Laminated sheets of paper with hole number and hole distance (which was wrong on several holes). I expect much better (hole diagrams, better material, etc).

Hole design on several holes is not the best, some of the lines left me scratching my head and asking why would you design this hole this way.

Baskets are very hard to pick out in the woods as they are a dark purplish/blue and blend in with the dark hardwoods.

The course needs serious maintenance in the trimming brush and trees department. Several greens are just messy and unkempt. There are fairways where it is almost hard to even see which direction you are supposed to throw. This is even more frustrating since several holes are blind where you cant see the already hard to see basket from the tee.

Overall I was very unimpressed with this course. At the time of this review, this course is rated 4.2 stars making it easily one of the worst 4+ star courses I have ever played. If this course was in my home town it would probably be rated 2-2.5 stars.

If this course were kept up and had better tee signs and baskets I could see it being a solid 3.5 star course but unfortunately it is a LONG way from getting to that level of rating from me.

ALL Bathrooms closed in Winter. Im sorry but how can a public park close every...single...bathroom for the winter? Do they think people aren't using the park during that time of year? Is the park staff too busy checking empty trashcans to maintain a few toilets. This is a huge pet peeve, especially when you've got to take the Browns to the Super Bowl. In the words of Randy Moss, "C'mon Man!"

Other Thoughts:

I love traveling to places that have multiple courses on the same property especially when they are both highly rated. While the North Course showed some good potential and was pretty fun, the South Course was really disappointing. Hopefully this course improves in the near future since this property is apparently being used for Masters Worlds.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.2 years 551 played 429 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Indian Foothills South could be Chief 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 15, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Indian Foothills Park is the ideal setting for a disc golf course, or two. I only played one, so far. The South course is killer. Breaking out big drives from majorly elevated tees, threading precision shots through densely wooded fairways, perfectly blending the big rolling grassy hillsides and trails into the woods. All have at least one concrete tee, and decent quality baskets.

I began next to the gazebo on an awesome hole marked 1. Mostly open, long drive way downhill around a couple of mature trees. Eventually decided hole 2 must be across the street, though it is unmarked, and sign in the tree next to the tees says hole 15. It is steeply uphill the opposite direction of 1, not quite as long. Hole 3 is across the parking area at the top of that hill, a dogleg left down the other side of the hill. Did not like how close this one played to the picnic shelter nearby. Hole 4 is another awesome downhill launch with a few big trees are waiting to grab any disc that is slightly off line. The basket sits on a very sloped position, and is a fast approach. Around the bend hole 5 tees up the next hillside.

It was after finishing 5 the course turned left into the woods and it took me a while to figure it out, I did with help from Geoff. He was familiar and played out the remainder of the course with me. I started playing better when he joined, too. Bogies on the first four holes had me struggling, but I was only 2 over par with 2 birdies on the last 13 holes. There are some good holes in this mid section of the course. A flat throw with low ceiling and a split fairway offering left or right paths to the basket. A tunnel into the trees that twists its way to a basket that sits up the next hillside. Elevated tee that cuts through trees on the way down to the basket, with a nice RHBH friendly hyzer line. The order is fuzzy to my memory, but I know they were all fun. Some were short and sweet, some were long and winding, a little water was present. Great mix of shots, left/right, up/downhill, short/long and woods/open.

Cons:

The layout is almost impossible to follow if you don't know the course. I printed the map, and there are signs, but both are obsolete. The hole numbers have been changed, and not all of the current labels are right. Some of the transitions between holes are not easy to follow and poorly marked. Spent a lot of time searching for the beginning of the course, and then also looking for hole 6 after finishing 5 (down hill to the left). I want to dock a half star on the rating, I wish the signs were really good, and alternate tees were improved.

Other Thoughts:

Indian Foothills Park is really nicely maintained. They were mowing like crazy the day I was there, but didn't interfere with my game at all. This landscape makes for great disc golf, Marshall is lucky to have 2 great courses side by side.

The South course could definitely use some TLC. Improving signs, getting all of the tees up to speed, and maybe trimming a branch here and there would be awesome. I was frustrated wasting time trying to figure out the layout, but I asked directions from a local on the North course, and he wound up finishing my round with me. Geoff showed me the way when I was near giving up, and it was greatly appreciated. Never would have made it through without his help. It would have been a bummer to miss out on that great course because I couldn't find my way around.

So, my advice is this one is totally worth playing, but do your homework and see if you can recruit someone familiar with the circuit. It isn't easy for a first timer, but it is a fun course if you can make it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Grip N' Rip 944
Experience: 18.2 years 7 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice and tough! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 22, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is the toughest course of the 3 here in Marshall. There are wide open, long holes, wooded holes, holes with water, and holes where you can't see the pin. Downhill throws and uphill throws. Great variation in pin locations and elevation. This is a long course that will wear you down and make you earn almost every par. However there are a couple that should be easy 3's. Like hole 10 and16. (16 should be a par 2) This course can be unforgiving if you miss your target or hit the trees. I like the challenge of this course and look forward to mastering this difficult course. 9/15/14-* Signage is up. Every tee has a new sign, a tee and pin location as well as hole layout. Also next tee signs put up. Thanks to the local club for this. They have made this course one of the best in Missouri.

Cons:

The only 2 cons I have for this course are the same as the other ones for the Marshall courses. Some signage and grooming. Once again I do have to commend the club for doing all they can to maintain these courses. But with as much ground as they have to cover, it's just hard to keep up. Most of the grooming issues are located where the parks mowing crew can't reach in the wooded areas. Although it does make it more of a challenge, it also makes it hard to find your disc. The signage has improved dramaticly, but a lot of the baskets don't have numbers or have the wrong numbers. Or maybe the little trail to the next tee is overgrown at times. Overall a non issue, just something to work on in the future.

Other Thoughts:

Hole 7 has been the hardest hole for me. Fairway is narrow and covered with big and small trees. A long downhill run, followed by a long uphill slight left turn. Then a hard right turn and another 100 feet at least to the pin. Very tough hole. I've had several tries and have yet to get any better than a 4. Hole 14 is where the lake comes into play. If it has rained a lot recently then the bottoms of that fairway maybe soggy. Definitely a tournament caliber course and I'm sure the grooming will get better with time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
badams
Experience: 34.2 years 73 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A true test 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 27, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Fntastic use of elevation and natural setting

Cons:

course needs time and play to mature, No ace runs to speak of, may have some difficulty navigating

Other Thoughts:

This course truly tests your entire game. every type of shot is required, There are risk reward considerations on many drives as well as a good number of putts
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
asjzn6
Experience: 18.9 years 136 played 59 reviews
4.50 star(s)

If north is good South is great 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 3, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Absolutely championship course. We worked it out to a par 58 (7,8,9,13 as 4's). This south will separate good from great golfer's. Starting down in the bottoms you have to pin-point from the get go. This course uses amazing elevation. No signs again but follow paths near green and you should find your way. I think monkey traps are great basket and No Hunting purple makes sense and yes orange would stand out but you can see them. This course has length and nice short holes. Plays a lot longer than its counterpart. Even lots of ob to keep you honest. The lengthy hole require lots of length. Dual tees on some holes.

Cons:

No signage. Not a con but not for the newbie. you will need a lot of stamina if playing this as your second round

Other Thoughts:

A phenomenal course a must play for anybody living near the i-70 corridor
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
DiscMan Walking
Experience: 33.3 years 124 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Not an easy walk in the park! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 19, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Extremely Challenging! This course demands all of your shots; long, short, hammer, flick, and you could even roll it if you like. It requires pin-point accurary on some holes and allows you to flail away on others. It has a fair mix of up-hills and down-hills, rights and lefts, water, trees and open fields. All-in-all a great course for your average to pro player. This is a course where you truely measure risk/reward on half of the holes

Cons:

I need to begin with the statement that the course is still new and will improve significantly with age - but there are some obvious flaws that even the locals would admit (and are planning on correcting as time goes on).
1) Signage - last time I played not all of the signs were in place. Great signage is the number one most important feature of a course.
2) The flow of the course is not intuitive - even with a map, it is still a little hard to find some of the holes - find a local and hire them as a guide. The short course is 5900 ft. and will take you to parts of the park seldom seen by the local denizens other than the deer and raccoons. Arrows indicating the direction of where the next hole is located is a must.
3) Not all of the baskets can be seen from the pad. Not that this is a bad thing - but without the aid of good signage you will be hunting for a while trying to locate the basket. Again hook up with a local the first time around.
4) The baskets. The baskets are new, but they were powder-coated purple. In Missouri this indicates "NO Hunting" - but makes it near impossible to see them from a great distance. They blend into the woods, I am a fan of Safety Orange or lemon yellow - flags or powder-coating. Something to make them stand out from the trees. There are a half dozen baskets in the open that are unmistakeable - the other twelve require keen eyesight and foreknowledge of where they are located.
5) This is not a pitch and putt beginner course. If it is the first time you have ever played Disc Golf - try Sedalia. Beginners and even some intermediate players may balk at the length, the required accuracy, the penalty for failing to make a good shot, and the lack of intuitive flow (without a guide or a map). The penalties are steep - literally in some cases! There is the Missouri bramble, lots of trees, steep banks away from some baskets, and a stream or two that will cause considerable anxiety.

Other Thoughts:

It is a great course and will improve tremendously. The local club has spent countless hours working on the course and probably will continue - they are to be commended for all their efforts. They forged this course out of the rawest of resources and did most of the work themselves. The Parks Dept. helped on occasion - but the club did the Lion's share of the work.
Having said that - in closing I would like to say take extra water and an energy bar, download the map, and wear waterproof hiking boots! You are in for one fun afternoon in the park!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top