• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Spotsylvania, VA

Loriella Park

Permanent course
3.755(based on 34 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Loriella Park reviews

Filter
14 0
lee76007
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 4.9 years 113 played 112 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Play a USWDGC Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 30, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Co-Hosted the 2019 USWDG Championship with Hawk Hollow.

-Loriella Park has 11 heavy wooded holes with 2 water carries, and the rest open. Elevation with sloping fairways and uphill as well. A few open fairways with rolling hills, and some baskets with roller greens. Open fairways some playing tees thru tree gaps or open tees to gaps in the woods or even gap to gap. Baskets had some guardian trees in the open holes.

-Wooded holes are narrow with gaps testing your game, but fair. Water carries are manageable depending which tee pad or pin you're playing.

-The rough in the woods was clean, meaning no or very little brush. You could pretty much walk right up to your disc not having to look for it. Very unusual for wooded fairways.

-Turf tee pads are in outstanding shape, likely installed for the 2019 Championship. Baskets catch well. Most holes have two tee pads, and some holes have as many as three pin placements. 15 out of the 18 tees I played were long. I played a few of the long pins when I could see them. A good variety of distance and pars depending on what tee pad you're playing from.

-Navigation is counter-clockwise. Even in the woods you could see basket to tee for the most part with a few signs to help when needed. Very good walking experience from 1st tee to 18th basket. Your best navigation aide is going to be the DGCR map, take a picture of it.

-Tee signs had very good graphics with map, hole number, and distance.

-Beginner and recreational players will find short tees and baskets fair enough. Intermediate and advanced should be thrilled to be tested on a championship course. Prior to playing for the first time, I recommend watching the championship coverage to study up, and again afterwards to compare yourself to the FPO's lead card. They played a mixture of shorts and longs.

Cons:

-The tee signs had no par information on them. I could figure it out for most of the holes from long tees and pulled up a few past tournament score cards to verify later.

-I didn't see any indication on the tee sign or anything else whether the long basket was placed at B or C pin. A few holes didn't have a second basket in either position. After #3 I decided just to play short basket if I couldn't see a long basket from tee, in the wooded holes just about all I didn't play, and a lot of missed opportunities. Even UDisc was no help, it was a mess of distances and pars. It would also be difficult to keep track of on DGCR hole information tab.

-Some of the wooded holes were not memorable, but they have their own uniqueness from each other, it could take a few rounds to become familiar. The open holes were just good to play. #4 long tee to basket was open all the way uphill and nothing in the way.

-Lost disc potential can be high with the two water carries. On the day I played you would be far more likely to lose your disc in the open field, the grass was almost up to my knees in some places, and I had walked by my disc a few times before turning back, compared to walking right up to my disc in the woods. I was waived thru on #1 in the open by a guy who was having a hard time finding his disc in the grass.

-From what I understand Loriella Park can be very busy on the weekend, so if you like playing quick rounds may want to try a weekday. I played on a Monday morning was allowed to go ahead on the tee by a single on #1 and waived thru by the guy looking for his disc on the same hole. Saw no one else afterwards.

Other Thoughts:

I played Loriella Park just 5 days after playing Hawk Hollow wanted to get the feel of what it could have been like playing in a championship. Both courses separate themselves. Loriella much tighter in the wooded fairways with some breathing room in the open. At Loriella found the course very challenging, but fair. It was fun watching the championship after playing my round and comparing to the Final Round lead card on disc placement. I had also watched the championship more than a year ago. I can say on #1 where I parked my tee shot, I would have won CTP, but after that would have been left behind by the two Paiges, Catrina, and the winner Kristen.

The biggest con was my intention to play long tees and pins. Brought down by lack of knowledge of pin placements on the tee, so after no long basket on #3 decided to stick with shorts unless long pin could be seen from tee. I did find it frustrating but got over it quickly. I will be better prepared next time I play there. Course knowledge by playing regularly here would be a huge advantage.

With the heavily wooded holes having their own settled uniqueness and finding that stretch with the creative gap play, water carries, A few open holes with gaps to baskets, and the joy of playing a course that hosted a major championship, my overall rating is anchored on a 5.0. The time to play my round was 80 minutes with a leisurely pace to take it all in, and some moments of frustrations trying to figure out basket placements while camping out on a few tees trying to figure it out before abandoning it.



Notable Tee Pad:

-No. 17 is an open tee to an open basket with a tree line from the long tees at 140 feet out. The gap was about 20 feet and I parted thru it; the rest of the way home free. Watching tournament coverage, the prior year, the look of the tee to gap was one of a few holes I remembered prior to playing my round. The gap looks bigger in person, than watching on tv.

Notable Holes:

-No. 5 Par 4 at 639 feet long basket is a downhill hole with a lazy dogleg right. Heavy trees to the left, and open to the right. Short basket is in the open, long basket sits in the woods. The gap into the woods is at least 40 feet, and the gap sits at C2 edge. Long Basket has guardian trees. Need to hug the left line all the way down fairway, right side of fairway you can be pinched from reaching basket. Very scenic looking from tee. Put together two good shots and parked the approach.

-No. 12 Par 4 pin A 357 feet both pin B & C at 525 feet. The long tee is shooting thru a wooded gap that must be thrown straight out to open fairway that doglegs right and downhill. Difficult to hit the dogleg from tee, the angle is just awkward, and heavy woods on the right. Your approach down the hill pin A is in the open in front of you, B and C are tucked in the woods in two different locations on a down slope with C the most difficult to the right. The woods were dark and couldn't see baskets, ended up playing the short basket. The long basket was at pin C tucked in the woods at about 40 feet with guardians very scenic setting would have loved to of played but didn't see it until I completed the short basket.

-No. 13 Long Tee Par 4 at 490 feet is a down slope to a pond with C pin on the other side of pond, its also a dogleg left at about 200 feet out. Water edge is at 350 feet, and a water carry to pin is at least 475 feet and difficult. Fairway opens as you approach the pond and short basket to the left short of water is a good mark to place your disc for an approach. From the tee is a straight narrow tunnel of trees limiting throwing options. Basket has a few trees around it.

Signature Hole:

No. 3 Par 3 Long tee at 377 feet short basket what I would call the "hallway hole" is a straight tunnel gap with heavy trees on both sides with a gap of 20 feet all the way down. From the tee a gentle down slope and basket looks a long ways down but sits open within the tunnel. On a sunny day streaks of sun light power their way into the fairway thru the pine trees and is scenic and airy. Gotta keep it straight, I hit trees from tee and on approach. This hole is considered iconic. Saw no basket in the b or c pin position.

Trouble Hole:

No. 10 Par 3 long tee to long basket 387 feet across the pond. From tee shooting down slope thru a heavy wood gap straight down, the gap is also 20 feet wide. Waters edge is 150 feet, to reach across water is about 290 feet roping it. From the water to the basket is upslope and a possible roller back to water. Basket has a few guardian trees. Very scenic hole that can also be trouble. I decided to keep my disc and played the short tee.


Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
VAdgolf
Experience: 6 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Best in Fredericksburg 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 5, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Rating this course from the long tees only.
Hole 1 is a fantastic starting hole..short par 4 that the first half is woodedish and the 2nd half is wide open.
Hole 2 possibly one of my top 3 here. Big teeshot that fi bbn wishes as far right as you can manage ..roller or anny.
Hole 3 most call this the signature hole, because of how it looks. A 300' straight tunnel shot along the evergreens. Field to the left if you dont want to play plinko down the alley.
Hole 4 is a semi boring hole, but it does let you turn lose on the biggest drive you have off the tee.
Hole 5 is another great short par 4 that demand a good tee shot to have an approach into the very fair green area.
Hole 6 depending on where the target is this is a fair to good hole, winding short par 4 that snakes back and forth the entire time.
Hole 7 and 8 and 9 are all wooded holes with fair fairways, but nothing too exciting.
Hole 10 one of the 2 holes with water at this park. 300' shot through a large window over a small pond and onto the green and you have a putt.
Hole 11 12 more short par 4s the tee shot on 12 is more restricted than it needs to be.
13 fun little par that finishes over the water, getting a 3 here takes a great tee shot.
14 15 16 least fav holes here filled with random spaced trees with a mandatory on 14.
17 18 more short par 4s but this time in the open.
Fun course overall and every hole is different from the tee but a few bad tee shots and you feel like a lot of the holes are the same. Most memorable hole here for me is either 2 or 5

Best teeboxes you could hope to have

Cons:

Lots of what I would call tweener holes.
1,6,8,11,12,13,14,16
Sometimes you are not able to play 1 or 2 long because people doing picnics.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
DumfriesLizzie
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 5.8 years 113 played 102 reviews
4.00 star(s)

South DMV gem 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 27, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Might be up there with Seneca Creek as my favorite course so far in my short disc golf "career". The course and the park are beautiful and very clean for a public space. I was pleasantly surprised about that.

I'm a beginner and found the layout fun and challenging. While I played the open, meadow holes better than the wooded stuff, I gradually improved as I went along. I didn't attempt no. 10; just don't have the power and skill yet to get over the lake/pond. Par+4=7.

I like that 17 and 18 are feel-good ending holes. I managed to par both the first time I played here. Great way to end the round.

Rolling terrain has distinct uphill and downhill shots, especially in the two meadows.

No entrance fee!

Cons:

I play the forward tees to the A basket. I originally felt some holes should be par-4 versus par-3 (4, 12, 17, 18). Over time, I think I was wrong. Just no. 4. I've parred 12 and 18 twice now. Being the mediocre player that I am, if I can par it, then it needs to stay par-3 (smile).

No. 3 is crazy-tight. Maybe a hyzer flip with a low-fader? I keep trying... I think the trick is to stop looking at the trees...

"Next tee" signage is minimal. Print out the lovely, informative map here on DGCR.com.

Needs a footbridge at mud-prone zone of hole 9 (there is now one at no. 6 - an earlier complaint of mine). Both holes can have "ponds" of mud in the fairway.

Other Thoughts:

If you do want to make a day of it in the park, there are tennis courts, a soccer field, other large fields, hiking paths, a playground, picnic tables and pavilions.

Woods will make you learn to drive with a midrange or putter or learn to hyzer flip your fairway driver better. If you don't already.

My guess is the property used to be a dairy farm. Open meadows were pastures perhaps. It's a very scenic place with a red barn and stately former residence (now serving as the park office).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
jjtwinnova
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 9.1 years 246 played 97 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Lots of Love for Loriella! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 24, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Loriella is a multi-use park with a pool, baseball fields, tennis courts, walking trails, and a fantastic disc golf course!

Driving into the park on a grey and rainy morning, I was not expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. This course is definitely better than I thought it would be.

For starters, the course plays for most every type of player. There is a heavily wooded portion, that takes twists and turns through the thick forest, and a wide open portion, that let players throw big drives. There is a great variation in distances off the tee, requiring both the use of drivers and putters alike.

On top of that, every hole on the course has two turf tee pads now! The turf tees are definitely a great addition to the course, and provide a great teeing surface. I believe every hole has at least an A and B pin position, and some holes even have multiple baskets. This gives the course a plethora of possible layouts. For example, the tournament I played, the first round a 50 was rated 996, and the second round, a 61 was rated 998. There was a huge difference in the difficulty of the course, depending on the layout.

Tee signs were descriptive and provided a helpful map and distances. They were very nice considering I was playing the course blind.

There were a lot of recent additions to make the course more aesthetically pleasing, such as new wooden bridges, some rocks here and there, and mulch in a few places. This made my experience on the course much nicer, and drier.

There were a few holes I would consider signature:

3: a 250-400 foot dead straight tunnel shot depending on the tee you play

5: A downhill, long right-handed backhand hyzer that takes about 400 feet of power to reach, depending on the wind.

10: A 250-350 foot par 3, with about a 150 foot water carry, with the basket only 30 feet past the water. It takes a controlled, straight shot

13: A tunnel off the tee, with the basket about 15 feet from the ponds edge. However, the C-pin is across the pond, and requires two great shots to get a three.

Cons:

Loriella is a great course, and has a lot features that make it a great course for casual play, as well as tournaments, but it isn't free of cons.

Some of the wooded shots are too tight, and some of the open holes are too open. Depending on what tees you play, the course can be really tough. The longer tees bring more trees in to play on both the open and wooded holes.

As a lefty, I felt like I was throwing a lot more backhands than the rest of my card. I wasn't complaining, but I feel it played more to my strengths than the right-handed player.

I can't really fault the course, and I don't know how bad it usually is, but the area has gotten absolutely slammed with rain. So much so, there was a lot of standing water, creeks that aren't always there. Thank goodness the course has turf tees, because I imagine natural pads would be destroyed.

The course was secluded from the sports in the park, but there were a few dog walkers that took a stroll around the course. It wasn't too much of a problem, but more a precaution.

Navigation was mostly intuitive, and there were a few signs, but a map helped, and playing with locals helped as well.

Other Thoughts:

I believe Loriella is underrated, and with the turf tee pads, tee signs, and more work put in from the club and local parks department, it is truly a better course than the rating indicates. Maybe it's overshadowed by the Blockhouse, or Hawk Hollow? I can't say for sure, but I would add this to your trip to the Spotsy area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
jsemales
Experience: 20.2 years 91 played 39 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great course for intermediate-advanced players 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 11, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I love this course. It's a lot of fun and still remains challenging. It's got a great mix of open throws that require a big arm, and a number of tight holes that require very technical shots and tough approaches. The course isn't super forgiving, but if played well it allows for some great confidence building scores. Get out and play, but leave the beginners at home.

Cons:

There aren't a lot of benches along the course to take a break and rest. The signage for the holes isn't always spectacular but it does allow for the course to be navigated fairly well. I would recommend bringing someone who has played the course before for your first run through.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
BaileyBell
Experience: 9.8 years 28 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Very fun 18 hole! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 12, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

100% not a beginners course! (Back nine)
This course is my all time favorite! Has plenty of holes that are long and open. Also has plenty of holes that are VERY tight and straight. One shot over a pond that's about 200+ feet. Another hole that next to water but is far enough away you can play aggressive!

Cons:

Not a beginners course.
Natural Tee-pads/Carpet. Not a lot of benches through this course. For someone who hasn't played it before, can be hard to navigate through.

Other Thoughts:

Probably one of the funnest course's I've played. very calm, quiet, long but not too hard. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
beardlikeabe
Experience: 9.1 years 45 played 10 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great Course in Spotsy, VA 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 16, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-This course has a great deal of diversity and elevation. There are open holes and there are wooded holes. Some are uphill and some are down.

-The tee-boxes are in OK condition and it appears that they are updating a few of them momentarily.

- There are multiple tee-boxes for additional difficulty if desired and even several holes that have permanent secondary baskets.

-The baskets are in great condition and have crisp yellow paint to guide you through the course.

-The navigation was pretty seamless. Most of the holes have a visual representation of the hole layout and there were only a few holes that did not have such a visual aid.

I really liked the diversity in length and shape. Some were really straight narrow and wooded, while others were of the dog-leg variety. Hole #10 over the water completely was pretty awesome. Bring your swim suit if you don't plan to throw straight on that hole.

Overall, well maintained, at least in the fairways. Some of the open holes can tend to grow grass that is a bit higher, but if you keep them straight you will have no problem keeping an eye on your disc. There are multiple pin placements and long and short tee boxes. I have played this course 10+ times and I do not think that it has been the exact same once.

Cons:

As I mentioned before, some of the grass in the fields can get a bit long and if you miss the fairway off the tee box you could lose your disc in the tall grass. Some of the tee boxes show some good wear and tear, however this is one of the best courses I have ever played.

Other Thoughts:

I have played this course countless times and at all times of the day. My favorite time is around 3pm-5pm. Its still pretty light out, but the wooded areas provide just enough shade to prevent you from getting too hot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
sidewinder22
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18 years 306 played 198 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Loose in Loriella 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 5, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

18 challenging holes with two tees and multiple pins per hole. Nice rolling elevation over a split of open and wooded holes, and a pond coming into play in the woods. The two tees vary the holes quite a bit, and the basket positions also vary the shots a good amount. The open holes feature some long uphill and downhill bombs and the wooded holes feature more shorter technical lines although there are a couple legit par 4s in the woods. Signage and navigation were ok. Disc golf only area of park.

Cons:

Natural/carpet tees. Some of the wooded holes are a little too tight. One big loop back to parking lot. Traffic can be bad getting to course.

Other Thoughts:

Loriella is the best public course in the Spotsy-NOVA area and is conveniently located just off I-95 for travelers and anyone stuck in local traffic. It has great balance of challenges and variety throughout the course and overall fun to play. In the summer it must be nice to cool off in the pool after a round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
Brosneeks
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Loriella 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 20, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

First few holes give you some good long shots and work more into the woods and get more technical. 10 is an awesome set up and a fun hole. Several holes have more 2 tee boxes and baskets. Course is well maintained and fairly easy to follow.

Cons:

Basket placement changes often, which is a good thing but some of the holes are hard to place the basket. The fields could be cut a little more often to make it easier to find you disc after your initial drive.

Other Thoughts:

Better course for newer players and helps get your throws lined up before the harder holes further into the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 1
optidiscic
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.2 years 156 played 149 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Underrated Challenge 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 7, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

I have no idea why this course is not rated higher? It has elevation, woods, water, tight lines, open bombs, short holes, long holes, dual tees and dual basket positions.

It takes some skill to play here as you're either carving or riding the winds up and down huge grassy hills or managing the woods or hitting specific lines on forested fairways...distances are advanced to pro worthy. Lot's of thinking and strategy out here as well...with a premium on smart play and execution due to some baskets and tees nestled in interesting nooks...The real joy here for me was the contrast between reckless bombing and then hitting fair golf lines. Hole #3 is the only hole I have ever come across like it......a true hallway of trees downhill....pure it and you're getting a bird or par...shank it and you're going bogey with some creative save shots. The water carry is also a lot of fun as are the downhill bombs in the fields. I think there is a great amount of fun as well as challenge here to keep you enjoying yourself even as you might struggle in the woods or with the wind. The dual tees allow for not only easier quicker play but also more variety......there could be 4 different layouts due to dual tees and pin positions...this saves erosion and keeps things fresh and appropriate to skill level or amount of time a local may want to spend out there.
Tees were not an issue and signage was well done. 1 mando on the course that didn't really affect your shot but was more for idiot shot prevention and safety. The course is far away from other activities and users of the park....I never felt like I was in a park at all...has the feel of an excluded disc golf course.

Cons:

Much of the woods might seem too difficult for macho beginners or lower rated players....hint use the shorter tees and play for bogey. Some of the field distances may also overwhelm shorter arms...I'm not picking on lesser players...I am one of them but the course is designed for a higher level of player......hole 4 has a way of making you feel really small and wimpy lol....Course may lack a few signature holes to make it top echelon outside of the pond holes and #3. A top course might have 9 or more dramatic type holes.

Other Thoughts:

This is an older course but still delivers. IMO it should be a 4.25 rated course. I fear many bypass it when traveling to the blockhouse on DG vacations when in reality this is a worthy destination on it's own merit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
Username
Experience: 17.2 years 2 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 16, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The wooded holes require control and the open hole require strenght. I think of this course as the standard golf course. Containing a little bit of everything but specializing in nothing. It's a well rounded course

Cons:

There is a lot of traffic at times onthe course however alot of people in the area know about it and play it on a regularly. Also there are almost no signs but the holes and tees are close enough together to figure out where to go.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
ARIK HANZIN
Experience: 13.2 years 9 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Excellent course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 15, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Lots of shot variability - distance shots, short shots, hyzers, anhyzers, overhands, backhands, forhands. You'll use every disc in your bag at this course.

Excellent mix of wooded holes and field holes.

Field holes make excellent use of hills and some trees to add challenge and make each hole a different experience.

Tee signs tell you where the next hole is and even if you forget to check, the flow is pretty consistent.

The holes are spaced really nicely so you have to do minimal hiking, but you rarely run the risk of a wild shot heading into another hole.

Longer feild holes really let you air out your shots without fear of losing discs; the rough is pretty easy.

Great for all skill levels

Ice cream truck regularly comes as soon as I finish my round, (maybe I'm just lucky haha)

Cons:

I've never seen any par info on any of the tee signs. This site claims each hole is a par 3, which makes this course pretty hard in my opinion, (other than that, it's quite beginner friendly)

The tee pads aren't exactly the best I've seen, but I personally had no trouble identifying them or with traction

While there is an excellent 50/50 split of wooded holes and open holes, there isn't anything in between - The open holes are REALLY open and the wooded holes are REALLY tight

No water fountains in or even around the park that I could find

Other Thoughts:

This is probably my favorite course to play at, and it has basically everything I look for in a course. It favors big arms, (theres a 700+ foot, uphill, par 3), and you'll really get to work on your distance in most of the 9 open holes. The other 9 are real tight and really reward good control.

Also living in a hole in a tree on hole 16 is a huuuuge snake.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
J-Mo
Experience: 29.3 years 27 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Very nice! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 10, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is very nice. A great variety of right/left, close/far, open/wooded, water hazards, and multiple pin positions to keep it fresh.

Nicely done tee signs.

It is free to play, and there are plenty of other things to do at Loriella park if you bring the family and they don't want to play DG.

There is plenty of parking.

Cons:

The tee pads were less than desirable. They need to either take better care of the tee pads, or just bite the bullet and put in cement tees.

No alcoholic beverages (in any VA state park, from what I hear).

Other Thoughts:

Overall outstanding course. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 9
Mincus14
Experience: 15.2 years 26 played 26 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 8, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Lots of hole variety with narrow treed holes as well as wide open holes. Water comes into play on a couple holes. Multiple tees on many of the holes. Well signed and the tees show you how to get to the next hole.

Cons:

Field holes are extremely open, and wooded holes are extremely tight, with not much in between.

Other Thoughts:

Kind of an average course, I think. Nothing bad about it, but not too special either.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 1
Ray Gunnell
Experience: 14.9 years 5 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 2, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

An alternate, slightly longer layout is currently setup, and will challenge most.
1 - An open hole, where the pin's behind the tree directly in front of you, and said tree is about 10' deep. Playing to the right or left of the tree results in the same look, but be careful not to shoot too long or else you'll be in the thick behind the pin.
2 - A pin location is the norm, and is another open hole. The pin is placed on a right to left sloping hill, and miscalculation on your drive can take you pretty far down the hill.
3 - B pin location is currently used, but it's still the tight, tunnel hole I think everyone enjoys. Fairway is about 15' wide, with heavy brush on the right side.
4 - B pin location is currently used, and it makes for a long hole. It's a pretty straight forward hole, going uphill. The white tees are located in the edge of the woods at the point of the trees.
5 - A pin location will have you throwing down hill, for another long hole. Tree light left comes into play, but the brush isn't too thick, and you can recover if you go in without too much issue.
6 - B pin location is used now, with two trees in the middle of the fairway to force you right or left. Staying to the right with a rhbh will put you in good position for an approach, but for an aggressive playing, throwing a rhfh may put you closer.
7 - Another nice wooded hole, A pin location results in a slightly shorter hole, but a slight turn right into the circle. B pin location has the pin slightly elevated from the fairway, set a little further back than A.
8 - Another wooded hole that's longer than the others, and will make you stay true to get through. Pin locations are elevated, with a few trees in the fairway that come into play depending on your location.
9 - Super tight window for drives with a steep hill in front of you. Pins play slightly below your drive, but you want to concentrate on keeping in the drive window or else you'll be in the brush.
10 - What may be the signature hole for Loriella. You'll play your drive over the pond, and the pin is currently at location A which gives you about 10 or 15' from the water's edge and is below the tee. Be aware of this if you chose to go long, as you'll be putting downhill.
11 - Long wooded hole and pin location B will take you slightly right, where as A is a straight shot.
12 - One of my favorite holes. A downhill open hole with the pin currently set at the B location, which is set back in the woods. The A location is out in the open, and easily aceable. With the B pin location, you'll want to drive long, and towards the opening in the trees in front of you, not to the side. The right side of the hole is lined with trees.
13 - going into the woods, this is a pretty challenging hole, with two possible endings. There are two baskets for this hole, one before the water, and another over the water to the left. Current pin placements are at B and C, and B will bring you to the right of the fairway while C will take you over the water. The B location is similar to hole 10, as you'll need to throw with care as the pin sits pretty close to water. If the disc gets away from you, you'll be getting wet to retrieve it.
14 - My favorite hole on the course, and currently playing on at the B pin location. The fairway has a 90-degree right turn, and if playing from the whites, there's a passage way(v-shaped in the top of the trees) if you feel daring. A tomahawk or thumber will get you over but error on your throw will cost you.
15 - A long, but possible, ace run hole that you'll want to play right for a good approach if you want to stay safe.
16 - Long wooded hole that will eat you up if you play left. Current pin location is B, and the tree line on the left seems to play perfectly into not allowing clean second shots. If pin location A is in play, the easiest play is from the left of the fairway.
17 - Back to the wide open after you drive. The teeboxes have a line of trees you'll need to throw through to get into the open. Easily enough, but the pin located in the B location, you'll be throwing blind. You'll want to aim for the crest of the hill and slightly to the right, with the pin on the back-side of the hill.
18 - The finishing hole can make or break your round if the B location is being used. You'll come almost full circle from the first hole. On hole one, you'll see a basket to the left beside a large evergreen, that's the basket for 18(the B location, A is visible from the 18th tee). You'll play up the hill, and want to play to the right to give yourself a view of the basket for your approach. If you end up left, play towards the large tree and the pin will be to the right of the back of the tree.

Cons:

Park congestion is become more and more of an issue as it gets warmer. Not many folks respect the signs that are placed at the outlying boundary areas for the course.

Other Thoughts:

If you have a long weekend and are in search for a great four course experience, it's hard to beat Fredericksburg with Pratt, Loriella, Blockhouse, and Hawk Hollow all within 30 miles of one another.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
forehandfranz
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 32.2 years 226 played 128 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Discin in Spotsy 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 26, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Loriella gives players an extreme contrast of wide open holes and teeth chattering narrow wooded holes. It's located in a beautiful park which makes a pleasant setting. The use of multiple tee pads on each hole and alternating pin placements makes for great variety.

The most notable holes are the ones in the woods, as they are very tight and challenging. The first of these is very unique - #3 is a tunnel (about 20' wide) that runs over 300' from the long tees. Fade to either side and there's trouble! Another memorable hole is #10 which is a medium length toss over water.

The new signs are outstanding, helpful and give you pin locations and directions to the next tee pad.

It's very apparent a lot of work has been done on this course thus far and I give them props!

Cons:

This course is kinda bi-polar. The open holes in the field are REALLY open, and the wooded holes are REALLY tight and treed. There is really little in between. My least favorite are the field holes #2, 4, 17 and 18. Although they all use elevation, almost none of them have trees or any other worthwhile obstacle. If they used the woods like #12 does, they would be much more interesting.

The carpeted tee pads were a bit lumpy (and may be slippery when wet )

Other Thoughts:

It would be helpful if they had some kind of marker on the tee signs to indicate what pin is in place (a, b, or c) so you dont have to walk up the fairway. Tyler Park in PA uses a dial on each sign and it works great (see the pictures on this site).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
FredVegasDGC
Experience: 38.2 years 92 played 12 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Not a bad course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 24, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

It's got a good mix of open/wooded holes, elevation changes, doglegs and a water hole. There are signs for each tee pad at every hole. If you get off track in the woods you can find yourself in the jail house very easily. There seems to be a good mix of players there at all times with an excellent chance of joining in with other players.

Cons:

The water hole if you are a beginner or can't throw long enough to clear the pond there is no way to play the hole except to the left where there is a 10' drop & it is heavily wooded. If your experienced or a power thrower the water is no threat unless you miss your throw.

Other Thoughts:

The course can be a little sloppy after a heavy rain.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
prerube
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 17.2 years 275 played 236 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Spotsylvania does it again. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 14, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Multiple tee pads and nice tee signs.
-Discatcher baskets are in good shape
-Course is well maintained
- Great variety of shots, some elevation, but a really good ratio of open to heavily wooded holes to the left and right require many different shot styles.
The water creates 2 interesting and potentially risky holes that can easily be played safe, or you can go for it.
- Clear carpeted tee pads (not sure how the carpet reacts when wet)
-Restrooms

Cons:

Lots of pedestrian traffic. Course is on a popular park so it can get crowded.
Navigation was a small issue, I did not see any markings on the baskets or trees to guide us to the next hole. Luckily BMXcraziekid was there to guide us.

Other Thoughts:

This area has some amazing courses all clustered with in an hour. Loriella park, Hawk Hallow, the Grange, and Pratt Park would make for a memorable weekend destination.


This is an excellent tournament caliber course, but it is not a place I would repeatedly play alone, it is the kind of course where you will want competition.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
cahurley
Experience: 16 years 18 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 31, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Excellent tee signs, dual tee locations with carpet tees, open and wooded holes, benches at most of the tee boxes, friendly locals

Cons:

Unkempt in areas, could be difficult to navigate between some holes

Other Thoughts:

Loriella park has a great disc golf course. My friend and I drove up from Richmond to play and wound up meeting a local (Dennis) at the start who joined us for our round. Throughout the round, Dennis was giving us some background info on the park and the recent changes to the course. Within the past couple of months, there has been work done on some of the wooded holes as well as the addition of signs at each tee telling the location, distance and par of each hole. The tees were carpet which was great for the weather we had, but I can imagine them getting soggy after rain. There were also benches at most of the tees for us to relax if there had been anybody else on the course, but while we were there I didn't see any other golfers. There are multiple pin locations and while some of the holes had multiple baskets, others had a single basket that is moved from time to time for variation.

My biggest issue with this course was the lack of maintenance on the open holes. The grass looked like it hadn't been cut for months and was knee-high in places. The park could just cut fairways and leave the rest high and it would be great, but it was obvious they hadn't done much work on the fields in a while. It could also be difficult to navigate the open part of the course if we didn't have a regular with us because there was a little bit of a hike between some of them and many of the holes are visible so you have to know which tee is which.

Otherwise, there weren't any real obvious problems that would take anything out of playing at this park. Unlike many of the wooded courses out there, we didn't run into many thorned plants or poison ivy and, unless your throw is way off or in the pond, it would be difficult to lose a disc. Overall I'd have to say that Loriella Park was an excellent course and one of my favorites out of the courses I've played in the northern part of VA.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
IAMGT
Experience: 17.2 years 24 played 21 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Good times 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 19, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Really nice tee-pads. They are large, and have carpet which can help give you some extra grip. Also, I liked the fact that there are benches at almost every hole which is nice to lay your bag on, or just rest while others are throwing. The course has a variety of open holes and wooded holes. Starting out in the open can be nice as your first few holes are forgiving since they are wide open. I personally felt the fun began once you got more into the woods. Hole number 10 is one of the coolest holes I have played. I love the fact you have to throw over the pond. If you throw from the pro tees, you are really testing your skills as it is one amazingly difficult shot! I imagine there are a lot of discs in the pond. The course is challenging but not unrealistic. Par is reachable on every single hole. Playing this course for the first time, I shot a one over which is nice seeing that next time I would really try and improve on that after knowing the course a bit better. The paths and fairways are maintained well throughout the woods and it would be fairly difficult to lose a disc because of how well cleaned out it is.

Cons:

There was absolutely no signage on the tee-boxes letting you know what the distance was, or where you were throwing. If I did not have someone with me who knew the course, I would have been in a lot of trouble trying to find the basket or where to go to next. There were a couple of arrows throughout the course to tell you were the next tee box was, but nothing that was absolutely distinct.

Other Thoughts:

This was a fun course to play for the first time. I am from PA and was visiting Uncle and this course provided me a great opportunity to play some Virginia Disc Golf. I played this course with an ex-marine who happened to show up at the course at the same time, so it was nice having a seasoned vet who knew the course!.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top