Eau Claire, WI 
Tower Ridge Park - I Share
Uploaded By: SleekrBeekr Hole #13 (Taken 4/2017)
3 / 132ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach: Left side of trail up hill


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
The better of the Two

1    9/2/2017   9/5/2017
Review By: Muskiebite
Played: 134  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.5 Years
Pros: Good use of elevation
A variety of shots available
$3 Parking pass for two courses is more than fair
Cons: Fairways are XC ski paths so they are completely clear of obstacles
Course can be a pain to navigate if its wet and muddy
Other Thoughts: I personally enjoyed this course more than Tower Ridge II, Lots of fun elevation throwing up and down the hills and the lanes force you to make controlled drives. They do a pretty good job with placing tees and baskets along the paths so you have to throw a variety of shots. The only issue I have with this is since the fairways are XC ski paths almost every hole has a completely clear fairway so besides the initial line off the tee you don't need to do much line shaping to avoid obstacles. The rough was moderate but not punishing if you couldn't stay on the open fairways. We played while the course was in its "Non Championship" Layout but it looked like the alt pin positions would add only another 50-60' and more difficult upshots. I wish the course map and signs would tell you where to jump to Tower Ridge II so you can play 36 holes in one loop, If you jump over between holes 7 on TR I and 9 TRII we didn't know this and wound up playing all of TR I then going over and playing all of TR II.

Solid Course

1    10/23/2016   10/24/2016
Review By: Bitter Mouse
Played: 63  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 22.4 Years
Pros: This is a solid course. It has plenty of very enjoyable holes and lots of elevation (which is my favorite feature). Many good holes which make you challenge yourself to make that perfect high risk shot (I ended up chasing a few risks gone wrong).
Cons: The flow of the course is not ideal and it can be a bit hard to navigate, but we brought a map and figured it out, even with the temporary pads.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course and the fee is not much, but if you are not accurate you might spend some time hunting down discs.

A bit over rated

1    7/29/2016   7/30/2016
Review By: Scooter47
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads for most holes. Baskets are in decent shape.

good course if you like very technical shots. Lanes are very tight on many holes.

Lots of elevation.
Cons: Lots of temporary tee pads right now. Not sure why. Original tee pads looked okay.

Very tight lanes through the trees.

Lots of trash. Bugs too.
Other Thoughts: Unsure of the high rating for this course. I expected better than what we actually discovered. It would be nice if they trimmed some of the undergrowth along the throwing lanes. Better signage between temp tees would be good too.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

My College Stomping Grounds

5+    6/26/1998   1/7/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 24.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2016
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: In 1980, my buddies and I designed the first course in Eau Claire, using master frisbees to navigate a course the size of one square city block. Little did we know what awaited when we visited as adults.

This is simply one of the best courses in the country. It is long, but not overly long, extremely hilly and wooded, and requires a great deal of accuracy and both hyzers and anhyzers throughout. If you score well, you know you're on your game. If you don't, it might just be that you were off by inches and rightfully penalized by kicking into the woods.

This is what disc golf is all about.
Cons: It's a pay course now, which is no big deal. You will see a lot of wild turkeys and hear gunshots, but don't worry: it isn't hunters on the course, but a target range nearby that we all believe shoots away from the course.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 An overlooked gem

1    9/11/2015   9/30/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 337  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of two 18 hole courses located at Tower Ridge Park outside Eau Claire, WI.

Two tee areas on most holes, with the longs in concrete (with a few carpeted), and the shorts usually natural or carpet. The short tees here are usually just that...shorter. A few offer different lines, which were still pretty fun looking. Honestly, though...if you're not a beginner, play the longs here.

Mach 3 baskets, all older, but in good repair. One pin position per hole.

Lots of elevation here. LOTS. Like, just about every hole, even the shorter ones. Combined with tight-ish, wooded lines, it makes for a ton of fun. Every hole has at least one completely fair line, and you'll need a ton of precision to go with your distance on most. Lots of risk/reward when you're deciding whether to let it rip, or play safe. I love these kinds of courses.

Nice signs at every hole, and navigation was pretty simple. The Tower Ridge II course can be played by looping off of I, which is a nice touch.

Really nice variety of distance here. From 215 to 571, and just about everything in between. Nice selection of straight, hyzer, anny, and flex routes. Nice carved out fairways and well mowed.
Cons: Pay to play, which isn't a big deal to me, but some people don't like it. $3 for two really nice courses is a pittance.

It would be nice to have concrete tees throughout (including the shorts). I was there on a day after some rain, and I didn't really have any problems.

No water...I guess that's a con, but I didn't really think about it until doing this review.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite type of course. Up and down, left and right, wooded....awesome. If I hadn't been on a time schedule, I would have played this one again, and I can't wait to get back. To me, it's one of the best in Wisconsin.

Absolutely worth a play if you're in the area. You're really missing out if you don't make it here!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 By far the best near Eau Claire

2-4    8/23/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 269  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 13.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course along with the other 18 on site are set through cross country ski trails. This course has the elevation. The baskets are Mach 3's that are a little beat up but still catch just fine. There are two tees on each hole. The shorts are usually just shorter (obviously) and maybe set off to one side or the other. It's nice having two tee sets though. And on quite a few holes there is a pretty drastic distance or shot shaping difference between the two sets. The tees are concrete for the longs (mostly, not all) and just natural or worn out carpet for shorts. The elevation changes here are awesome and there are a number of holes with major rollaway potential. This can really affect your score with poor shot execution/choice. The course is very easy to follow with hole 1 starting and hole 18 ending right next to the parking lot. There is also a restroom at the lot too. There are signs by almost if not all long tees. A few short tees have signs. This course connects to the tower ridge 2 course so it can be played as a whole 36 hole loop or the 2 eighteen hole courses separately. This is a really peaceful and serene course to play. You feel really secluded for the most part and that's a big plus to me.
Cons: The decision to use carpet on the short tees makes no sense. They're rutted, moss covered and are not as good as just gravel or grass would be. It's $3 a day for a parking pass but is well worth it in my opinion, especially considering what else is around. the bugs (especially gnats) can be insane. Bug spray will hold off the mosquitoes but the gnats and flies can be overwhelming for some. The tee signs are pretty awful. Many are missing, almost all the shorts are long gone. For a pay to play the tees and signs should be way better than they currently are. The course is only seasonal due to the cross country ski trails they play on, not much they can do about this.
Other Thoughts: Out of the two tower ridge courses this is the more challenging. Both are very nice but if you only have time to play one, pick this one. There are a few other courses in Eau Claire but the only other decent one is Mount Simon. And that doesn't even compare to these two at all as far as difficulty. It's worth the fee to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Scenery

1    11/5/2013   2/17/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 58  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really nice heavily wooded course. Nice elevation changes and a good variety. Some long holes with hard upshots and great downhill drives as well.
Cons: Needs a map or some more signs. Just a bit hard to navigate. Pretty deserted in Nov. Kind of remote, so at the end of the day I heard a lot of gunshots. Just a bit unsettling on an unfamiliar course.
Other Thoughts: Would love to play in the spring, hopefully will get to. Fewer gunshots would make me feel better too.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/13/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: deafdgolfer
Played: 125  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -challenging fairways
-some hidden baskets
-still can find your discs in wooded area after your shank drives
-scenic views


Cons: -trash laying around the tee pads, very few trash bins
(thank goodness that it is not everywhere and its all at the tee pads)
-not all holes that have concrete tee pads
Other Thoughts: Signature holes (Pro tee to longest pin)
Hole 1
Hole 7
Hole 12

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic course!

1    9/1/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: Charlie Deville
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Big course with big holes. Long, epic drives off (for the most part) cement tee pads. Big time elevation changes but with wide, groomed fairways. Thin underbrush for the rough makes it easy to find your disc. Well designed course!
Cons: There are a few tee pads that aren't cement but are pretty flat. Baskets are hard to see, could be painted brighter color

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and Fun!

5+    11/3/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: kjdutter
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are multiple pin positions.
There are concrete pads on nearly every hole (except two).
The course is well-maintained all year round.
It is never too busy.
The scenery is beautiful.
It is only $3/day (for two courses) or $25/year.
The baskets are awesome and in great condition!
There is a great mix of distance and elevation.
Cons: Needs more trash cans.
Needs better tee signs and next hole indicators.





1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.