Asheboro, NC 
North Asheboro Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #4
3 / 220ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 Next >
 Disc Golf oasis

5+    1/5/2009   1/7/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 168  Reviewed: 165  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2014
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety, some wooded, some open, some short, some decently long. Great for beginners because your chances of losing a disc are nil and the holes are fairly short. The elevation changes and variety keep experienced players happy. Seldom crowded. Well maintained. You get a good laugh at locals playing with dollar store frisbees from time to time (At least I do).
Cons: Not extremely challenging or long, gets swampy so wear some boots. Mexicans tend to play soccer across the fairways of 9, 10, and 11 during the summer but they'll politely halt for you if you ask. The right side of the fairway on 10 is permanently muddy and rife with briers and avoid turning your disc over too much or it will sail over a barbed wire fence or you'll have to use your ninja skills to get it back. I've been asked just about every time I've played what I'm playing so if you don't like to be bothered when disc golfing be prepared. This course is slowly but surely starting to miss some tee signs and get slightly trashier but not enough to knock it down, I pick up most of the trash anyway.

The concrete tees are a major botch job, they're rough enough that hard pivoting on them all day will hurt your knees. I'm working on remedying that.

The course is gaining in popularity and that's increasing the negative nature of holes 17 and 18, which aren't great designs to begin with with their close proximity to ball fields, sidewalks and bridges. They throw over sidewalks which is a no-no in my book, especially in a park that is increasing in popularity with other park goers. Waiting for safety is becoming an issue.
Other Thoughts: The infamous hawk is no longer around seemingly. The posted distances don't seem quite right on some holes, might just be me. This is my home course now, I learned on Castle Hayne. I tend to score a 10 under at Asheboro and a 1-2 over at Castle Hayne if that tells you anything about the difficulty. Got my first ace on hole 6, nice hole, hyzer flipped a Sidewinder.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A very good course with very little to improve

1    8/23/2008   10/4/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 411  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 40.5 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a real pleasure to play. Overall I'd say that it's very good and lots of fun, but it just lacks any stellar qualities. It's got one set of tees and one basket position. The fairways are very good with lots of shape variety (4 St/ 6 Lt/ 7 R/ 1 S). There's very well balanced elevation variety (2 Flat/ 8 Up/ 8 D), but the biggest elev. change is only 15 ft. There is very nice terrain with good variety (9 Woods/ 9 Mixed). I really liked the old hard woods and pines mixed with well manicured grass on some holes; holes 12-17 are in a nice arboretum. I thought the front nine holes were a little better than the back nine, but I tend to like wooded holes more than open shots. Almost all of the holes are good, and some are quite good, but none really make you say, "Wow!". The tee signs were good, but basic. The concrete tees were fine but a little short. I loved the Mach V baskets, and one of the best touches is that each hole has a large round number elevated by a pole for extra visibility. It was easy to navigate with helpful directional markers. It's also got all of the amenities covered-- a very good warm up basket; an online map that's adequate, if basic; a message board with a large map; restrooms; score cards online (but the pars are very questionable); some park trash cans.
Cons: One of the really positive aspects of this course is that there are no serious flaws. There's really very little that needs to be improved here.
Hole 17 is a short, open, lackluster hole.
There are a few potential safety issues that might arise during tournaments if there are lots of people there.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925.) It's short for White level players, though, so that makes it easier to score lower. This makes it fun for shorter throwing players (like me).

Course Difficulty: 5 (out of 10)

You be the judge-
If there was a second set of longer tees I'd bump the rating up.
The hole lengths are rather weighted toward holes in the 200-299 ft range (2<199/ 11 of 200-299/ 5 of 300-360).

This course is certainly worth a visit. If it was closer to me I'd play it often.

You can read more of my reviews at the Yahoo group "DG Course Reviews", http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...urseReviews/. Look in the Files section there for my Overall Rating notes and Hole-by-hole ratings.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Easily in my Favorites

8/6/2008   8/8/2008
Review By: Mystery
Played: 57  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved this course. It reminds me a lot of OT Sloan (course near me), except that it has elevation and more wide open holes. The baskets were DGA New II Baskets. They had poles extending from the top with number plates attached. This made the baskets easier to spot. The course included a practice basket near the first tee. There was a large information board with rules, a course map, and distance /par for each hole. The tees were 3ft X 6ft raised concrete surrounded by gravel. There were signs at the tee with par and distance on them, but not a map. The course equipment had a very professional appearance. The course was beautifully maintained with restrooms, shelters, and other amenities (swimming pool, tennis courts, ball field). The first 9 holes were wooded and most of the remaining holes were out in the open with trees protecting baskets and providing obstacles to navigate.
Hole# 2 was a nice anhyzer shot to a basket tucked slightly off to the right, but the next hole required a much harder anhyzer turn than the previous hole. The 4th hole was an uphill shot to a strategically placed basket. The 5th hole was bordered by the tennis courts on the left and thick wood line to the right. The basket was tucked to the right at the end of the wood line. This was the most open hole on the front 9. The 7th hole was a straight shot towards the basket 188ft away. The alley way towards the pin was very tight but gave alleys to attack the basket with your putter. The 9th hole was a wonderful hole. The tee is on one end of a hill with a two trees forming a field goal at the other end. Once your drive bursts through the field goal, it finds a meadow at the bottom of the hill. The basket is surrounded by a cresent shaped grove of trees that shield it from the drive. The back 9 is weaved through a meadow with trees and a creek that winds through it. The 13th hole was an uphill shot with many trees between the tee and basket. There are both hyzer and anhyzer paths to the basket, but you need to be accurate to weave through obstacles. The 14th hole has a hard anhyzer path that appears to be the intended route, but there is the possibility of going right to left over a road that moves through the park. The 15th hole gives a nice s-shaped flight to the basket that is tucked slightly to the left. The 17th hole is an easy 172ft shot that really has no obstacle to the basket. There is a small tree that can easily be avoided. The 18th hole is over the creek with trees strategically blocking a straight flight attack.
Cons: There are only five holes over 300ft, but what this course lacks in length is compensated by character. The tee signs could have added maps, but the baskets are visible enough that they really aren't necessary. Most of the transitions from green to tee are easy to follow as they are relatively close to each other, but the transition from #4 and #5 is a little tricky. The 5th tee is on the corner of the tennis courts near the wood line. I have only one real complaint. I prefer larger tees, but they were large enough for most holes. The real problem comes from the gravel surrounding these tees. It ends up on top of the tee and filling in the rough finish. This can cause a slippery situation if you aren't careful. I found myself pulling up short on my drives because of the uncertainty of my footing.
Other Thoughts: This course has every type of shot represented. It is the type of course that I would travel the 3hrs back to play again and again. It doesn't have 700ft holes or shots over large bodies of water, but it is fun. If you haven't played it, then do. If you have played it, then do it again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

6/18/2008   6/18/2008
Review By: joshdarkstar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 24.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All of the tees and baskets are clearly labeled (with the exception of 2), and there is a map of the entire course at hole 1. The course is well kept which is always a plus. I had some difficulty finding the first tee, but it's because there are 3 different parking lots, and I happened to choose the wrong one.
Cons: The hole should be mapped out on the tee signs. I had a lot of trouble seeing some of the pins due to the massive amounts of trees. The basket for 17 was nowhere to be found. Same with the tee for 18, so I only played 16 holes.
Other Thoughts: Well, this course was a major reality check. I thought I was good until I played this course. Either I was sadly mistaken, or this course is TOUGH. My poor score could be due to the fact that I am not familiar with the discs I used. I also think that I shot so poorly because I have never played the course. Definitely a good choice if you are in the area though. I would play again in a heartbeat.

Oh yeah, watch out for hawks on hole 3!! I had one fly right at me about head level. I was checking my pants after that happened...

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/8/2008   3/8/2008
Review By: Ryan P.
Played: 56  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a good balance of challenge for the advanced player but not too long for the newer ones. a lot of different shots than most courses, such as a hole that is blocked by trees in the shape of a crescent moon, and other things. Some holes have no clear path to the basket; but the ones that do, it's different for every hole. I love the course, there's holes that I have birdied every time but hole's that I still don't know how to play well.
Cons: There's only one hole that you can just let it rip on, and the advanced player will get it to that pin. Also, hole 5 is temporarily closed, but the city said they will redesign and replace it soon.
Other Thoughts: A good variety of shots. WIthin the first 7 holes there are 2 slight lefts, a hard left, a slight right, a hard right, an S curve, and a straight hole. 8 is straight for 25 feet, and then there's a hard right for 300 feet to the basket. 9 is the most unique hole i've ever seen. you start on a hill with trees everywhere, you throw it low with a good amount of annie (right curve for us backhanders) and once you get off of the hill there's an open 150 feet until you get to the tee-which is blocked by 7 trees in the shape of a crescent moon. it's pretty sweet to look at. 10 is a good drive with a nice hill as a backstop, 11 is off of the same hill 9 is on, but straight and downhill. 12 has a row of trees 40 feet from the tee, making accuracy a must. 13 you can go right or left around the trees up the hill, 14 has no real good path, 15 is a 350 straight drive that hooks 40 feet to the left at the end, 16 is right around some trees, 17 is the easiest hole on planet earth (170 foot shot with one 7 foot tree in the way) and 18 is over a nice stream, a railing, and under two trees. 18 is fun, and so is 9. Have fun playing!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.