Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: goatpiper Hole #8
3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Short Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 202
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 20 21
Beaver Ranch

5+    9/30/2020   9/30/2020
Review By: reezyF
Played: 221  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 12.5 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My Three Pros:

1) Beaver Ranch is truly beautiful and a great representative for Colorado Rocky Mountain disc golf. The course is set in a very pleasant park just outside of Conifer and plays largely up and down a large hill on the property. Visitors from out of state will be impressed on many holes by the great views, however someone who is used to mountainous areas may find the park to be very familiar rolling terrain without any major overlooks or dramatic viewpoints. Nevertheless, this piece of woods is a great place to set some baskets up and you will rarely make it through a round without admiring the scenery at some point.

2) The amenities of Beaver Ranch are exactly what they should be for this reputable of a course and the various elements would be difficult to improve upon. All holes have large concrete tee-pads, with double tee-pads on 1 & 15. All holes have very nice signs indicating basket distance, a map pf the hole etc. All holes have multiple pin positions- occasionally ranging from short and easy to very long and difficult on a single hole (see cons below). While many basket positions are blind from the tee- especially the golds- there are indicators at each hole showing the basket positions in play, which are then clearly defined on the hole map, making first time play and understanding of the correct basket to play much better. The pro-shop at the entry has an excellent disc selection and great Beaver Ranch swag, as well as some snacks and drinks. The approach area where the pro-shop is located has nets for driving warm up, and several baskets of the putting course are right there as well to practice putting on. Most holes have bag holder hooks and dog leash hooks. There's a restroom thing sort of midway through the course, although I've never gone in there so who knows if it functions. Most holes have benches and there are a couple of trash cans along the way. LAST BUT NOT LEAST: as of summer 2020 all holes have 2 baskets in play now - a short silver and long gold layout- and all baskets are of great quality as others have mentioned. I think It should be noted many of the high reviews this course has garnered over the years were Before this major addition.

3) The Fun Factor is high at Beaver Ranch. With several holes utilizing the drastic elevation changes in combination with open meadows and tight woods there are so many different shots required in a single round. The things I love include: the tight lines with super narrow but fair wooded gaps, the big wide open downhill throws, the variation of forehand and backhand friendly holes, the variation of distance from short to long. With the exception of maybe a true huge bomber shot Beaver Ranch will give you an opportunity to try out every shot you have.
Cons: My Three Cons:


1) Too hard versus too easy. Today I shot 10 under par on the silver course, and I am no Paul Mcbeth. My best on the gold layout is like 10 over par! While I love that they have added the 2nd set of permanent baskets to make the gold layout permanent, the resulting permanent silver course is typically set in all-par 3, very scoreable positions reserving any of the tweener difficulty and super difficult positions for the gold layout. And so, many may set out to play the much more challenging and fun Gold layout only to find midway through that the long holes are very long, and very hard- at which point many will say screw it and play the silvers they prefer. Many come to challenge the angry beaver, but be warned the gold layout is a beatdown. Meanwhile, the silvers feel like a fun wooded par 3 course you've played everywhere else. This is not so much a negative for the Beaver Ranch as much as an unforeseen result of taking one sorta-medium-hard course and splitting it into easy and difficult layouts.

2) Not DG only. This is an open space park technically so occasionally you may find folks walking along a trail that runs through the course. I have never had any issue other than waiting briefly for someone to walk through, and that is very uncommon. There is also a zip line tour that runs in the same park and only is only noticeable on the first and last holes but does make noise and will occasionally have groups of zippers queuing near the final tee pad. Also the Jeffco parks rangers do enforce their rules and regulations in the park (no loose dogs, no smoking etc), so keep them in mind when near the parking lot or starting area.

3) While Beaver Ranch is beautiful and fun to play and has all the things a course needs, it lacks the 'wow factor' seen at 5-star courses elsewhere like Harmony Bends or Maple Hill. I think this could be achieved with some elevated tee pads or basket placements, manicured/reconfigured greens, additional work to fix up the teepads on the uphill holes, add steps/nicer trails between holes, and a bit more frequent course cleaning. I am not a huge fan of courses having more than 18 holes and wish Beaver didnt have the extra holes, but then again I couldnt really point to any holes that should be combined or removed. None of these things detract from the current playing experience and could only add to improve the already great experience.
Other Thoughts: I have wanted to review this course for a while and am happy to be doing so today. I am someone who has played this course on vacation as a visitor from Texas, then again as a Denver resident who would come up every now and again to get my butt kicked, and now I have a season pass and play frequently. I can still recall the feeling of awe when playing this course the first time and stumbling upon the tee-pee placed at hole 15 to take a mid round break. I still recall the urge to drive out from Denver when I was feeling hot from playing the wide open Denver courses, only to be humbled time and time again. And now, Beaver is probably the course I play the most and love coming back to slowly figure out each hole. Its a course worthy of the reputation as one of America's best and certainly a top contender in Colorado. I look forward to the work and improvements taking place to only make the place more amazing. The views at Bucksnort will be better, and the holes at Bailey are longer, but Beaver will be just as great an experience as any of the other highly rated course nearby.

{PS come play in October for the course's most beautiful colors and mellow weather for the full effect!}

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Mountain Epicness

1    8/8/2020   8/14/2020
Review By: blake833
Played: 142  Reviewed: 119  Exp: 11 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beaver Ranch is an area of the mountains chock full of amazing disc golf. Several beautiful courses, stunning landscape, and each of them with a unique characters. What makes Beaver Ranch stand out and give it that extra edge to go up to the top echelon of courses isn't just the crazy good hole design.

Every hole on the whole course is unique and designed well. Every once in a while I would think the fairway was a little crowded, only to walk up and see it opened up and I just needed to trust the gap. It was fair, you just couldn't see it.But this course has it all: tight and technical, long epic shots downhill, steep uphill, technical downhill. And all fun and exciting!

The equipment here is top notch. Full, often generously huge, concrete tees on each hole (two on 15). Fully detailed tee signs with real pictures of what the hole looks like from the tee with each basket position marked. Each hole has at least two, up to four different possible positions, and at least two of those positions will have a basket in them. There's a set of... Mach V's I think, and a set of DisCatchers out there. One on each hole. The pictures on the tee were amazing and the most helpful aspect of anything I've seen on a course anywhere.

Navigation is pretty easy, but there are a couple spots where it's easy to get onto the wrong hole and you need to keep going, but really it's pretty easy.

This course is also one of the most beautiful places I have ever played. It is hard to really describe the effect of how well all the little things Beaver Ranch does to combine to being a fantastic course. Even the fact that each pin position is properly inputted into DGCR App, there may have been a couple missing but wow it's such a relief to see.
Cons: I dunno. There were maybe a couple times I was like, "wow I like this." and not "WOW I LOVE THIS."

Previous reviewers have mentioned things like not every tee pad is perfect, the long round can be strenuous and you'll need water, and they're all right. I'll echo them with the same spirit of "well I need to put something here, even if it's small."
Other Thoughts: There's a putting course on the property as well. I didn't play, but it looked fun and exciting!

Green's fee is $12, which isn't bad at all. The pro store has cool stickers, and a modest selection of discs.

I don't know dude, just go play this course!


EDIT: I just came back the morning after writing this review late last night and looked at the pics and saw the baskets I thought were Mach 5 in the review were Gateway Titans. I knew playing and had just forgotten

I also see that the hole numbers in the pics do not match the current configuration of holes. The pics are very out of date (and even have dirt tee pads), but when you get there you shouldn't have a problem navigating, or any big complaints about the new layout.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome mountain course

1    8/7/2020   8/7/2020
Review By: Kriv0240
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very beautiful course in the mountains. Two baskets per hole. Very good signs with basket locations pointed out on actual pictures of the view ahead of you.
Cons: Lots of hiking around (we came from the coast so the elevation change and the hiking kicked our butt). A couple of pads took some time to find

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    10/30/2016   10/11/2019
Review By: Itsmeganpost
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Challenging course with substantial ups and downs, some pretty steep. Fun course, mostly wooded.
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worth visiting. It makes for a fun round, especially on the really steep uphill hole where we totally skewed our scores!

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect CO course

1    7/26/2018   7/10/2019
Review By: Boydiggs
Played: 44  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.9 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Exceptional everything. Great entrance, great holes, great scenery.
Cons: Holy crap be ready for a workout! Also if you aren't from the area note that this course is very high in altitude and you will be short on breath.

Bring water and stay hydrated!
Other Thoughts: A few holes looked like afterthoughts. But the majority of them were amazing. Wouldnt call it a perfect 5 but 4.4-4.6 seems about right.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Bring your hiking Shoes

2-4    7/7/2019   7/7/2019
Review By: Timythe
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 28.7 Years
2 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Well laid out course with every type of hole, demanding use of every disc in your bag.
Cons: The many up down, up downs and unlevel trails are brutalizing on the calves and ankles.
Other Thoughts: Partial stairs on 13 & 14 could be helpful. Bring extra water!

2 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Scenic and fun

1    6/13/2018   4/30/2019
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 74  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 20.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - exceptionally friendly staff at the on-site trailer pro shop
- some scenic and spectacular holes
- well-maintained course
Cons: - $12 to play was a bit steep, but at least it obviously went back into the course
- some of the holes were quite confusing for a first-timer, even with a map
- a few holes were either boring or insanely difficult
Other Thoughts: Superb course. In the top 5, and maybe top 3 of the 70+ courses I've played.

Had the right balance of challenge and fun. And the spectacular scenic setting really upped the experience.

Friendly locals at the on-site trailer pro shop.

Course was clean and maintained. Care was put into the course layout.

A must-play if in the area. I attempted to check out the other highly-reviewed courses nearby, but one was by-appointment and the other took a steep muddy road to access. This one was very easy to get to from the main roads.

As a pass-through traveler, this made Beaver Ranch ideal for me.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Best Mountain Course on the Planet!

2-4    4/6/2019   4/12/2019
Review By: DiscGolfCourseCritic
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: VERY well maintained!
Weekly rotating pins
2 courses on property
Concrete Tee Pads
Brooms at every Tee Pad
Water
Pro Shop
41 Baskets!
Trash Cans on course
Recycle on course
Restrooms on course
Dog Friendly
Friendly Staff
Dog hooks on tee pads
rollaway barriers
Cons: The $12 day pass is odd for a disc golf course, but once you play, you get it! Well worth the price! I hope Disc Golf is moving in this direction.
Other Thoughts: This is truly an incredible course! Never have I seen a mountain course of this quality! You can tell the people running this place do everything they can to make this course great! Very friendly and knowledgable staff. These guys move baskets weekly, mow, weed whack, NO litter on course, fairways are all clear, maintain rollaway barriers all in the mountains at roughly 8,400ft! Hats off to you guys!

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/28/2018   1/1/2019
Review By: nnewms
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads for every hole with brooms on every tee sign and they are cleared in the winter
The pro shop and the warm-up area is awesome with 20 putting holes and baskets that can be used for practice putting
Great use of elevation and awesome pin positions especially in the long placements
Friendly staff that are welcoming and helpful before the round
Fantastic tee signs with elevation, hole distance, and easy to tell where you are supposed to go
The $12 fee keeps the course much less crowded than before and with the season pass option is an investment I am more than happy to make
Cons: None really, the $12 is not too much and playing here is well worth it
Other Thoughts: The course was filled with stunning views and was a great hike. At about 8000 feet elevation it may get tiring for people not used to elevation but there are benches at every tee box allowing to catch your breath.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Bucket List

1    10/13/2018   10/13/2018
Review By: Lumberjack504
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Ample parking nearby
- Pro shop with plastic, snacks, drinks, etc
- Restrooms at pro shop and on the course
- Concrete Pads
- Very detailed and accurate tee signs
- It's a hike, good exercise!
Cons: - Only one I can think of is that some of the teepads are a little wonky or a little short. But hey, they're all concrete and it's on the side of a mountain, can't really fault anyone there.
- One stretch of the course has a couple intersecting fairways, I think near hole 7's fairway. Can get a little hectic there but I think this is more a product of the land than the design.

Other Thoughts: Must-play if you're in the area. Colorado woods/mountain golf with elevation changes and tight lines. Beautiful scenery and breathtaking views of the Rockies. Bring some water, it's a solid hike to play the hole course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 20 21

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.