Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #3 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 188
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 18 19
Mountain Bliss

2-4    1/4/2018   1/12/2018
Review By: Dagger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 1/20/2018
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent course using the vast amount of land to offer a large variety of shot distances, and shapes. The pro-shop on site has a decent selection of discs and gear. Fun well maintained public DG course.
Cons: Price for a public course is a little steep.
Other Thoughts: Bring lots of water, and bring your best hiking footwear.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

December Disc Golf in Mountains

2-4    12/1/2017   12/1/2017
Review By: bbrunerbob
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/6/2017
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an excellent mountain course, my favorite course of the 20 or so I have played in the Denver area. I would definitely suggest playing here if the weather is nice. Here's what I like:
- The checkin area has a variety of discs and some disc gear, and a few other things you might want in the mountains. Score cards with course map, although you won't need the map.
- 4 sided net and an entire putting course that you can use for warmup if you want
- Flat concrete tee boxes, all in great shape, with brooms for sweeping. This is a luxury on a mountain course, and it really helps getting off the tee on a good line
- Tee signage: Pin locations marked. A nice map of the hole. Pictures of the hole are in great shape, and really help to find that day's pin location through the trees.
- Course signage: Yellow arrows lead the way to all the next hole locations. I can't imagine anyone getting lost.
- All the things you expect from a mountain course, uphill, downhill, bombers (for my arm speed), tight lines, rollaways, tricky winds. One really nice thing about this course is that it is at the right altitude for aspen, so you get a few stands mixed in with all the lodgepole pines.
- Finally, each hole has a 10 meter rope for measuring putts. Hardly necessary, but it's hard to measure by stride length up and down the slopes, and this is just a nice touch you don't find too many places.
Cons: Honestly, I find it hard to think of any. I suspect if you are visiting from the flatlands you will find some of the walking challenging, but every hole has a bench to rest and take in the views.

I do agree with one reviewer who complained about the lack of any par 4 holes. I think they devise some for tournaments, would be nice to have them be part of the ongoing design. This is the only reason I rated the course at 4.5.

Also, just watch the weather. Afternoon storms in the summer are a definite possibility. Try to get out early.
Other Thoughts: Highway 285 to and from Denver is in great shape, but is mostly 55 mph, and also has a 45 mph section. The state patrol and county sheriff are happy to take your money. Particularly on the way back, going downhill, it is very easy to pick up speed without noticing.

This course is similar to the course in Bailey. Here is my basic take on the two: If you like more open shots and a few more bombers, go with Bailey. If you have a shorter arm, like me, I think you will like Beaver Ranch better. And tee boxes at Bailey are very rustic. Both are pay to play, Bailey works on the honor system.

Lastly, if you don't play much in the mountains, pay particular attention to your balance point on any slope before you throw. And if you are playing at dusk, I suppose you should watch for mountain lions :-)

Here are some course notes, coming from a senior who only took up the game a year and a half ago and throws about 300 feet off the tee.

1 and 2: Uphill warmup holes. Don't try to overpower them, dial in your form and figure out your uphill distance angles.
3: First big rollaway chance, could go anywhere. Bye bye.
4: Back pin a little more interesting, still generally going uphill.
5: Still in the trees.
6: More open, an easier hole to get.
7: Relative bomber throw, but have to negotiate the double mando to get to the open. Great view. OB marked on the left, this is the only shared fairway on the course. Mostly for safety, as tee shots heading left can really motor into the adjacent fairway.
8: Downhill then across a valley. Watch for strong winds in the valley, not always noticeable on the tee.
9-10: Relatively easy as you work your way across the valley / meadow to another hillside. If the pin is left on #9 you go in before the big pine on the left off the tee.
11: Do not, I repeat, do not go too far off the tee. It just falls away forever on the back side of the basket. Trees will kick your disc anywhere.

--- Playing the 21 hole layout this summer. You miss a big downhill at this point playing just the 21 holes, but I actually don't mind because the return uphill is just brutal. I know because I walked back up most of it after overthrowing #11 ---

12/13: Not that long, but uphill all the way, every inch. I literally grunted on a 45 foot putt up to #13 basket.
14: Uphill is a bit less taxing, and finally levels out at the top. Your putt might even try to go down the other side of the ridge you just played up to.
15: Play the long tee to try the double mando. Watch the OB left if you try to finesse the opening.
16: Multiple lines. Notice front tree impaled numerous times on left side line.
17: An actual ace run using a putter ... if they are playing the short pin that day. And if you can miss multiple trees along the way and two guarding the basket. Hey, just throw it straight downhill.
18: You will try to miss the dead aspen right in the middle of the line out to the open sidehill basket. Many of you will hit the tree on the left 30 feet from the tee box that you don't even notice. It seems to have no bark left.
19: Another look right at a basket, but uphill. It plays longer than it looks from the tee.
20: Uphill again, both righty and lefty lines are open.
21: Rollaway, rollaway. I hit the early tree and rolled all the way down, easiest just to re-tee and try again. Somehow, lots of other folks seem to park this one.

One last thought, most of the trees here are just too close and/or tall for me to try and throw over, but I think that might be a great shot in some cases.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Worth it

1    11/11/2017   11/14/2017
Review By: 3woodmanbenjamin3
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Absolutely stunning course with views to match. The holes are well laid out and easy to understand, with excellent tee pads and signage. Most of the course is plotted through dense woods with moderate to severe elevation change. There are occasional open, bomber holes, and plenty of deceiving ravines and gorges to make for a universally challenging course. Multiple pins on various holes allow for more accommodating throws to less experienced players. Fun, little putting course on the grounds as well! Lots of parking, friendly staff, and a sweet clubhouse tent make this top-tier disc golf; worth every penny.
Cons: Virtually none, unless you're not a big fan of hiking or you're not into pay-to-play.
Other Thoughts: Dogs must remain on a leash; plenty of leash hooks at tee pads and trash/recycling cans at strategic points. Smokers will also note the sign at the tee pad on #1 regarding the recommended procedures/locations.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Beauty, Personified

1    10/20/2017   11/6/2017
Review By: jpinsky
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Gorgeous course with many picturesque vistas.
-Concrete tee pads with all the amenities (bag holder, tee pad broom, dog leash hook, benches)
-Tee signs are very easy to read and to find all of the basket locations.
- 3 changing basket locations on almost every hole.
-Easy to navigate (signs pointing you towards the next tee)
-Very challenging (easy to slide or roll down a majority of the course, lots of trees everywhere and plenty of elevation change)
-Quality baskets unlike any I've seen before (check out some of the pictures)
-Nice pro shop with very friendly people

Cons: -A few holes seemed like you threw down a hill only to have to go right back up.
-It was quite the hike (probably the hardest course to traverse that I have played, but to be expected from the location.
-Unforgiving slopes (as challenging as it was, sliding down a hill 200 ft the wrong way was heartbreaking)
-Off the beaten path (we ubered out to the course while we were visiting, only to find out we couldn't get an uber to leave. Luckily, the course owner was there and offered us a ride to the nearest town. Saved us!)
Other Thoughts: This course is in the upper echelon of courses out there. Everything about it was epic, and it made you work for your score. You need to be prepared for a hike and a half, but it's definitely worth it for the experience. Fantastic course!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

nice location

1    9/1/2017   10/12/2017
Review By: fartbox
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: tee signs designate pin position
great views and variety of holes
pro shop
putting/upshot coarse
lots of elevation change
very little rough to loose a disc in, most of the rough was just short grass with a few schrubs here and there
unique and nice baskets
a ace on hole #16 wooooo

Cons: smoking only allowed on certain tee-pads
$10 a day
walks between some holes can slow play
Other Thoughts: If I ever make it back to Colorado Denver area this will be a for sure stop again.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

A hike, but worth it

1    9/14/2017   9/14/2017
Review By: discgolfer2l
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 21.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just a mile or so from the highway and 40 minutes from downtown Denver, this course is a true escape and well worth the reasonable drive.
I loved the scenery; the course and the landscape coexist nicely. The holes make use of the elevation changes without being impossible. Uphill holes are shorter and reasonable, downhill holes tend to give you a chance to air it out a bit.
Course marking is great, if you get lost on this course you only have yourself to blame
The signs at each tee box visually display all potential pin locations and the current pin location is marked as well eliminating the need for scouting out blind pin shots.
Staff is friendly and pro shop has lots to offer including a nice covered area with picnic benches.
Cons: Really none. Just a warning that you need to be in hiking shape to tackle this course. You don't have to be Lance Armstrong or anything but you should be comfortable with some pretty decent up and downhill ascents/descents.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic place to spend the day. Wish I had had more time to try out the putt and approach course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Worth Every Penny

2-4    9/1/2017   9/4/2017
Review By: bhoppbop
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course layout
Great maps
Variety of hole placement
Beautiful scenery
Very Well maintained with little trash
Has a trade in disc program. Can also buy new or used discs.
Great for dogs, each tee box has a neat little hook for their leash
Cons: Maybe not enough long holes
Other Thoughts: $10 for a day pass

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

World Class

1    8/27/2017   9/3/2017
Review By: Ghetto Leprechaun
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.7 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Scenic
Technical
Huge drive opportunities
Extremely well maintained
Someone on-site
Cons: Honestly, nothing. This course may be too challenging for beginners but will be fun nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: If you like this one check out Sipapu Ski Resort, Vadito, NM. Both world class, mountainous, challenging.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fun course, but not the beatdown I was expecting

1    8/26/2017   8/31/2017
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 350  Reviewed: 212  Exp: 6.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 21 hole course (not 23 as listed here) just outside Denver and up in the hills. The site also has hiking, zip lines (outside company) and other activities onsite.

Concrete tee pads, one per hole. These were all in very good shape and well done. Plenty long enough and wide enough. It must have taken some work to get some of these in.

Decent baskets, but unique. I'm not sure if these are homemade or what...but either way, they performed just like you'd want them to. One basket per hole, with several pin positions on most holes.

Good tee signs, with lots of information. Full color map, shows pin positions, distance, etc. Each sign post also has an indicator for which pin position the basket is in, which is always a nice touch. There are also next tee arrows for nearly every hole, which help a ton with navigation. There was barely a time I had an issue with getting around, even as the only guy on the course. Also, each hole had a dog leash holder, and many had benches, brooms, and bag holders as well.

As you'd guess, there's a lot of elevation in play here. Nearly every hole has you throwing uphill or downhill. Also, at about 8300' of elevation, you'll be taking a lot of factors into consideration when choosing discs, especially if you're from a lower lying area (WI, for instance).

Lots of mature trees provide most of the obstacles here, along with some well placed mandos. A few tighter lines can be found, but for the most part you'll be avoiding a few obstacles on your way to the pins.

There is definitely a serenity factor here. Being out there early (around 7am), I ran into a decent amount of wildlife, including a couple large bucks that weren't too happy to see me. It certainly doesn't affect my rating, but let's just say one of those bucks wasn't too happy with me and caused me to take the long way around to my disc.

Decent variation in distances, for the most part. Plenty of ace run type holes, if that's your bag.

Nice little disc shop onsite, with a super cool owner. Stop and shoot the blues with him...you'll be happy you did.
Cons: With that said, it's hard to not see that there's a ton of short holes here. Even with the added elevation, I threw exactly three drivers the entire round (there were a lot of pins in the shorter positions, to be fair..but definitely not all of them), and nothing over a speed 10. This is definitely a course that could benefit from two baskets per hole, or two tee pads per hole. It got a little repetitive, as it felt like anything uphill was short, and anything downhill was longer, but in either case it didn't call for a huge shot.

No water shots to be found here.

I really wish there had been more tight fairways. There was a lot of open shots, or shots where you basically had to miss one object. A few forced lines, but not all that many other than straight ahead or open. While quite aesthetically pleasing, a lot of the holes just didn't offer a ton of challenge...and when the fairways DID tighten up, it was almost to the point of poke and pray.

$10 pay to play...to me, not a big deal, but some people don't dig it.
Other Thoughts: This is a darn fun place to throw frisbees, for sure. In all the long positions, I'd probably give it a 4.25...in the format I played, maybe a 3.75. It feels like a lot was left on the table here and that it could become a GREAT course with a little extra added to the golf. With only one set of tees, you're kind of a slave to whatever pin positions are in, which is indeed a bummer for the traveling player.

The course is well manicured and loved, and it shows. If you're in the area, it's most certainly worth your time to go play.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great destination course

1    8/12/2017   8/24/2017
Review By: newton.hemp
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent tee signs, pin location indicators, tee pads, direction markers to the next tee, grounds maintained very well for cut grass and no trash, and the pro shop was great. The pin locations can make this a pleasant walk about or can really show some teeth for a challenge. Additional feature that was almost as challenging as the regular course was the 20 hole putting course layout mixing the flat meadows with steep uphill, across slopes, and down hill holes to test your ability and tune your aim for the rest of the day.
Cons: I only had time to play the course once during my stay in the area.
Other Thoughts: Beaver Ranch disc golf course is advertised as a destination course and after hearing about it for many years, I was finally able to manage a trip there and see for myself. Agreed, it's a destination course and worthy of the high ratings. The pro shop is well stocked with items needed and a welcome resting place in the shade after a hike around this mountain course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 18 19

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.