Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: goatpiper Hole #19
4 / 408ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 193
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 19 20
Bucket List

1    10/13/2018   10/13/2018
Review By: Lumberjack504
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Ample parking nearby
- Pro shop with plastic, snacks, drinks, etc
- Restrooms at pro shop and on the course
- Concrete Pads
- Very detailed and accurate tee signs
- It's a hike, good exercise!
Cons: - Only one I can think of is that some of the teepads are a little wonky or a little short. But hey, they're all concrete and it's on the side of a mountain, can't really fault anyone there.
- One stretch of the course has a couple intersecting fairways, I think near hole 7's fairway. Can get a little hectic there but I think this is more a product of the land than the design.

Other Thoughts: Must-play if you're in the area. Colorado woods/mountain golf with elevation changes and tight lines. Beautiful scenery and breathtaking views of the Rockies. Bring some water, it's a solid hike to play the hole course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

High ranking for a reason

1    8/22/2018   9/4/2018
Review By: Hey it's Stellato
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Something about having greens fees elevates this place to the next level. Maybe it hold back the crowds, or just makes you feel special, but I was happy to throw down my $12. The little pro shop and hang-out space at the entrance (and the awesomely friendly staff) make this place great and justify the entrance fees. Professionally maintained tee boxes and signage, no detail overlooked. Really enjoyed playing this course, it is hilly and a little through the woods (similar to most mountain courses in Colorado), but the trees never get too dense so the play remains exciting rather than getting frustrating.
Cons: I really enjoyed playing this course, and I think the amenities and well maintained tee setups and signage justify the cost. That being said, when I compare this to other free courses in the mountains and around Colorado, I think some of the free courses do offer just as good holes and just as fun playing experience.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to save time for a few rounds on the "ace course" putting course once you've crushed your full-round (and a couple cold ones!). The playful small course is a great way to end the day.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    7/14/2018   7/15/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 47  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Everything is amazing here. From the baskets to the navigation. The views are incredible, this is a must play. The clubhouse is very nice with scorecards, and lots of disc to choose from. This immediately went into my top 10 courses ever played and the holes are spectacular. I think it's hole 8 you throw back across the valley if you look straight up the mountain there's a pin at the top when I played it. It's incredible. The tee signs state where pin is located at and if in Colorado do not skip this course
Cons: Umm I can't really think of many, a lot of pins on hillsides so rollouts can occur. I had probably a 250 rollout so that can be frustrating but the course does play on a mountain so you can expect that
Other Thoughts: This place is wonderful they have a zip line that runs through the course along with a 20 hole put course to warm up on

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

2-4    6/30/2018   7/2/2018
Review By: paulthomas
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Incredible course with tons of elevation change and many varying challenges. No water, and with few exceptions it is very hard to lose a disc on this course.
Cons: Costs $12. Definitely worth the price, but as a thrifty golfer, I recommend reserving time to throw at least 2 rounds to get your money's worth. Had difficulty navigating holes 13-16, finding tee boxes and baskets for that batch of holes, probably user error.
Other Thoughts: The ziplines look like a lot of fun, and I wish I had reserved time to go for rides on those too. Take ample water, as you're away from the clubhouse and parking lot the entire round.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Mountain Course

1    5/7/2018   5/8/2018
Review By: DeebsTundra
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.7 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: --Technically Challenging
--Will use all the shots you can throw
--The hiking and scenery is incredible
--Very well maintained for a course buried in the forest. --Concrete teepads on every hole
--Course is well marked, very easy to navigate
--Well done signs with pin positions on every hole
--Great use of the widely varying elevation throughout the mountains
--21 holes that wraps beautifully right back around to the beginning.
Cons: --This course is a definite hike. It's in the mountains and it is steep.
--If you are a low-lander (No offense intended) the average 8500 elevation of the entire course will challenge your lungs and muscles
--I can only imagine after spring and the grasses and bushes really get full there are a ton of rough areas that would be nigh impossible to avoid, keep your eyes on your disc!
Other Thoughts: I've only been playing for a little over a month. And haven't played a ton of courses in the Denver area, but have played places like Birds Nest and Fehringer. A friend and I took a monday off after he had been raving to me about this course. And he undersold it. It's a challenging course, in an absolutely beautiful part of Colorado. With plenty of technically challenging shots through the trees, as well as some sweeping valleys to really watch that disc float.
I initially would have said that $12 to play, $10 for Jefferson County residents is steep, but honestly, I can only imagine how taxing it is to keep this place up. Benches on every hole, trash cans every other-ish hold, so I'm down with paying the cost to upkeep the course.

It's a must-play in Colorado. There are a bunch of good courses based on scores here, but I feel like this really extenuates the "Colorado" Disc Golf Experience.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Mountain Bliss

2-4    1/4/2018   1/12/2018
Review By: Dagger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 1/20/2018
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Excellent course using the vast amount of land to offer a large variety of shot distances, and shapes. The pro-shop on site has a decent selection of discs and gear. Fun well maintained public DG course.
Cons: Price for a public course is a little steep.
Other Thoughts: Bring lots of water, and bring your best hiking footwear.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

December Disc Golf in Mountains

2-4    12/1/2017   12/1/2017
Review By: bbrunerbob
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2018
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an excellent mountain course, one of my favorites of the 20 or so I have played in the Denver area. I would definitely suggest playing here if the weather is nice. Here's what I like:
- The checkin area has a variety of discs and some disc gear, and a few other things you might want in the mountains. Score cards with course map, although you won't need the map.
- 4 sided net and an entire putting course that you can use for warmup if you want
- Multiple pins that are changed fairly often, so you get different looks on different days.
- Flat concrete tee boxes, all in great shape, with brooms for sweeping.
- Tee signage: Pin locations marked. A nice map of the hole. Pictures of the hole are in great shape, and really help to find that day's pin location through the trees.
- Course signage: Yellow arrows lead the way to all the next hole locations. I can't imagine anyone getting lost.
- All the things you expect from a mountain course, uphill, downhill, bombers (for my arm speed), tight lines, rollaways, tricky winds. One really nice thing about this course is that it is at the right altitude for aspen, so you get a few stands mixed in with all the lodgepole pines.
- Finally, each hole has a 10 meter rope for measuring putts. Hardly necessary, but it's hard to measure by stride length up and down the slopes, and this is just a nice touch you don't find too many places.
Cons: Honestly, I find it hard to think of any. I suspect if you are visiting from the flatlands you will find some of the walking challenging, but every hole has a bench to rest and take in the views.

They have upped the price recently to $12 if you are not a local.

Watch the weather. Afternoon storms in the summer are a definite possibility. Try to get out early.
Other Thoughts: Highway 285 to and from Denver is in great shape, but is mostly 55 mph, and also has a 45 mph section. The state patrol and county sheriff are happy to take your money. Particularly on the way back, going downhill, it is very easy to pick up speed without noticing.

This course is similar to the course in Bailey, and some other private courses nearby. Between Bailey and this one in Conifer, If you like more open shots and a few more bombers, go with Bailey. If you have a shorter arm then I think you will like Beaver Ranch better.

If you are playing at dusk, I suppose you should watch for mountain lions :-)

Here are some course notes, coming from a senior who only took up the game a year and a half ago and throws about 300 feet off the tee.

1-3, all uphill, so a quick chance to figure out footing and uphill lines. #3 in particular has a huge rollaway potential.
4: Back right pin is more interesting, throw into the pit just short left if the pin is back there.
5: Trees, trees. If back pin in play you might want to try over the top?
6: More open, an easier hole to get.
7: Relative bomber throw, but have to negotiate the double mando to get to the open. Great view. OB marked on the left, this is the only shared fairway on the course. Mostly for safety, as tee shots heading left can really motor into the adjacent fairway.
8: Downhill then across a valley. Watch for strong winds in the valley, not always noticeable on the tee.
9-10: Relatively easy as you work your way across the valley / meadow to another hillside. If the pin is left on #9 you go in before the big pine on the left off the tee. There is a 9A tee box, but it is very rustic, and very easy to lose a disc as you can't really follow the tee flight. I do not suggest using this tee box.
11: Do not, I repeat, do not go too far off the tee. It just falls away forever on the back side of the basket. Trees will kick your disc anywhere.

--- Playing the 21 hole layout this summer. You miss a big downhill at this point playing just the 21 holes, but I actually don't mind because the return uphill is just brutal. I know because I walked back up most of it after overthrowing #11 ---

12/13: Not that long, but uphill all the way, every inch, with trees.
14: Uphill is a bit less taxing, and finally levels out at the top. Your putt might even try to go down the other side of the ridge you just played up to. Sometimes plays as par 4.
15: Play the long tee to try the double mando. Watch the OB left if you try to finesse the opening.
16: Multiple lines. Notice front tree impaled numerous times on left side line.
17: An actual ace run using a putter ... if they are playing the short pin that day. And if you can miss multiple trees along the way and two guarding the basket. Hey, just throw it straight downhill.
18: You will try to miss the dead aspen right in the middle of the line out to the open sidehill basket. Many of you will hit the tree on the left 30 feet from the tee box that you don't even notice. It seems to have no bark left.
19: Another look right at a basket, but uphill. It plays longer than it looks from the tee. Might also be in par 4 position, which is again all uphill.
20: Uphill again, both righty and lefty lines are open. There is a pin way right that you cannot see unless you hike up the fairway.
21: Rollaway, rollaway. I hit the early tree and rolled all the way down, easiest just to re-tee and try again. Somehow, lots of other folks seem to park this one.

One last thought, most of the trees here are just too close and/or tall for me to try and throw over, but I that is a great shot throughout the course.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Worth it

1    11/11/2017   11/14/2017
Review By: 3woodmanbenjamin3
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Absolutely stunning course with views to match. The holes are well laid out and easy to understand, with excellent tee pads and signage. Most of the course is plotted through dense woods with moderate to severe elevation change. There are occasional open, bomber holes, and plenty of deceiving ravines and gorges to make for a universally challenging course. Multiple pins on various holes allow for more accommodating throws to less experienced players. Fun, little putting course on the grounds as well! Lots of parking, friendly staff, and a sweet clubhouse tent make this top-tier disc golf; worth every penny.
Cons: Virtually none, unless you're not a big fan of hiking or you're not into pay-to-play.
Other Thoughts: Dogs must remain on a leash; plenty of leash hooks at tee pads and trash/recycling cans at strategic points. Smokers will also note the sign at the tee pad on #1 regarding the recommended procedures/locations.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Beauty, Personified

1    10/20/2017   11/6/2017
Review By: jpinsky
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Gorgeous course with many picturesque vistas.
-Concrete tee pads with all the amenities (bag holder, tee pad broom, dog leash hook, benches)
-Tee signs are very easy to read and to find all of the basket locations.
- 3 changing basket locations on almost every hole.
-Easy to navigate (signs pointing you towards the next tee)
-Very challenging (easy to slide or roll down a majority of the course, lots of trees everywhere and plenty of elevation change)
-Quality baskets unlike any I've seen before (check out some of the pictures)
-Nice pro shop with very friendly people

Cons: -A few holes seemed like you threw down a hill only to have to go right back up.
-It was quite the hike (probably the hardest course to traverse that I have played, but to be expected from the location.
-Unforgiving slopes (as challenging as it was, sliding down a hill 200 ft the wrong way was heartbreaking)
-Off the beaten path (we ubered out to the course while we were visiting, only to find out we couldn't get an uber to leave. Luckily, the course owner was there and offered us a ride to the nearest town. Saved us!)
Other Thoughts: This course is in the upper echelon of courses out there. Everything about it was epic, and it made you work for your score. You need to be prepared for a hike and a half, but it's definitely worth it for the experience. Fantastic course!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

nice location

1    9/1/2017   10/12/2017
Review By: fartbox
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: tee signs designate pin position
great views and variety of holes
pro shop
putting/upshot coarse
lots of elevation change
very little rough to loose a disc in, most of the rough was just short grass with a few schrubs here and there
unique and nice baskets
a ace on hole #16 wooooo

Cons: smoking only allowed on certain tee-pads
$10 a day
walks between some holes can slow play
Other Thoughts: If I ever make it back to Colorado Denver area this will be a for sure stop again.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 19 20

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.