Manor, TX 
East Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: jdawg2008 Hole #11
3 / 213ft.   3 / 213ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Wear your pants!!

5+    6/19/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: nathantrafford
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holy crap. If you want a challenge, this course is for you. But be warned, this course is punishing.

The things I loved:
The whole park. Get done early or whatever, there are some awesome covered basketball courts, some very nice soccer fields, playgrounds, etc. to enjoy. Really nice complex.

It's quiet. It's a little bit of a drive to get out there, but worth it because you don't get the cluster F that you do at searight or the new Roy G.

It's beautiful. I wish the water was stream fed so it was always running, but it is really pretty regardless.

It's challenging. I played it yesterday and my buddy lost a disc on his first throw, then lost a disc on his second throw, and lost another later in the course. He's a good player, just had some bad luck that day. However, this is in my pro's list. Being a challenge is a good thing. It makes it much more fun.

Variety. One hole you will be going from a looping bomb to the next hole being an insanely accurate laser beam through 12 trees. You will be throwing flicks, regulars, tomahawks, rollers, hyaers, anhyzers, the whole shebang. I kid you not, the first time I played this course, there was a moment when I considered throwing lefty (it probably would have turned out better if i did!).

Hills. Many courses in the Austin area (and texas in general) lack this variety in elevation. Here it is a good amount. There aren't really any massive cliff shots (like 15 at searight), but it is a good variety on each hole.

Exercise. This goes with the hills thing. Bring your hiking shoes. If you stay on the fairway the whole time, then it won't be so bad, but you will inevitably roll into a creek bed that is a 10ft drop that you have to climb to.

The holes are thoughtfully created, with the players in mind.
Cons: The rough. You will be cursing if you have a bad shot, and it probably won't be because you can't find your disk. It will be because of the absolutely enormous amount of stickers and brambles everywhere. Without any exaggerating, it seems that every single plant out there has giant thorns on them. See a harmless bush that you want to peer into? DONT DO IT! Some of them literally have 2 or 3 inch thorns. Not to mention the massive amount of thriving cacti. And not the kind that are worn down and don't have their thorns anymore. There are a ton of them.

The tee boxes are pretty short and the ground is eroded around most of them, making them especially easy to trip over/fall off.

While the layout is great overall, there are no signs leading to hole 16, which is pretty far away from 15 with multiple paths leading different directions. When you finish 15, follow the treeline to the left. It will curl around and you'll reach a concrete path. Go left on it towards the lake. About 50-75 feet down you'll see a dirt path off to the left. Take that, and then follow the grass area to the right for another 150-200 feet. It will dip down and to the right where you will find the tee box for 16.
Other Thoughts: Pick up after yourself! Seriously, it's not hard.

14 will be tough for many. It's overwhelming when you're standing on the box. You have two options: You can either bomb it straight forward and pray you don't hit anything (If you are VERY accurate, I'd say you still only have a 30% chance of getting through. Not kidding). OR you can play it safe, lay it up at the base of the bridge, then bend it around for a nice par. I usually play it safe, then throw another one just for fun, and every time I'm happy that I threw the safe option first.

If it's not the middle of the summer, WEAR PANTS AND LONG SLEEVES! You probably thing I'm kidding about the amount of briars and stickers, etc. but I'm not. I am covered in cuts and scratches today from looking for my buddy's discs yesterday. I'd seriously suggest saving this course for the cooler months, and if you do decide to play in the summer, PLAY SAFE! you will thank yourself later.

That being said, it's also a good idea to leave your dog at home IF: He isn't 100% disciplined, especially if he has long hair. I have a husky like the one in the photos, and while he's a good puppy, he IS a puppy and I don't trust him enough yet to not go investigate some wildlife that is all over the park. He would soon learn his lesson not to jump into the wooded area, but you will be cursing when you have to spend an hour or two pulling stickers out of his fur.

WILDLIFE: we ran across a very large rattlesnake right under the cage at hole 10. It's the right time of year for it (beginning of the summer), so just be careful and respectful. We tossed a couple discs near him and he moved, but if we hadn't seen him who knows what would have happened.

Take care y'all and play smart!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 This beast has got teeth! AKA "Old Painless"

1    5/21/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 169  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 22.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: East Metro Park provides a very complete challenge of golf. Any weaknesses in a player's game will be made apparent. The course requires power, shot-shaping, accuracy, strategy, escaping from trouble, and putting on risky greens. The tee signs indicate blue and red for the skill levels, but I believe that gold and white are more accurate.

The signage and tee pads are top notch. The course is separate from the rest of the park, with minimal pedestrian traffic. Much of the walk is picturesque. The holes are mostly separated from each other visually. Many of the holes are uniquely appealing aesthetically (the pictures on this site don't do them justice). Many of the holes provide unique challenges. A few of the holes are candidates for a short list of the best holes in disc golf.

All of the holes provide fair challenges. I particularly enjoyed the short par 3's that have tight, but fair routes. On paper, the par 4's don't look super-long (except hole 8), but with the technical requirements and elevation changes, they are very demanding. The extreme challenge of East Metro is addictive. I'm looking forward to my next opportunity to battle this beast.

Some of the highlights include:

Hole 1 is a gorgeous opening hole. The tee shot is moderately tight and well framed. The fairway doglegs 45 degrees to the right past the initial gap and climbs sharply uphill. This hole requires two powerful, accurate shots to earn a birdie 3.

Hole 3 is a medium length par 3 that requires a drive be thrown within a tight vertical window with a gentle left-to-right turn. The creek is tight on the right side of the basket.

Hole 4 isn't a long par 4 at 564 ft downhill, but it is extremely challenging. There is a choice between a long-straight shot off the tee to a small target that will leave a 225 ft straight shot to the basket or a shorter, hyzer off the tee to a decent landing area that will leave a slightly longer, more technical second shot.

Hole 8 is a long, straight, downhill par 4 with a fairly tight fairway. Missing the fairway on this hole can be brutal. To make a birdie 3 on this hole requires a lot of guts and excellent execution.

Hole 10 is a par 4 that appears as a "should get" 3 on paper, but proves to be more difficult in practice. The tee shot is moderately tight. The difficulty really comes into play on the second shot, with the basket tucked into the opening in the woods with steep drop-offs on three sides.

Hole 11 is a very unique, challenging, short par 3. There are three distinct, tight routes, all of which present their own challenges. The green drops off sharply behind the basket.

Hole 12 is a short 492 ft par 4, but once again, it is no easy 3. To have a legit chance at birdie 3 the drive must be thrown precisely with power. The second shot is uphill and then downhill and bends sharply to the left. Without a very well thrown drive the dogleg proves to be too sharp. A par 4 is fairly easy to make by playing relatively safe, but making a 3 requires an aggressive, risky drive.

Hole 14 Is a nice 170 ft head scratcher. There are several shots that can be played, but they all involve very tight lines. The deuce is there for the taking, but requires commitment and execution.

Hole 15 is another par 4 that appears to be a "should get" 3 on paper, but proves to be very difficult. The tee shot is tight and intimidating and the hole plays very much uphill with a bend to the right halfway down. The hole is straight-forward, all the player has to do is execute.

Hole 17 is an uphill, dogleg par 4 that's listed at 640 ft, but plays more like 800 ft. The gap off the tee is moderately tight. The hole will tempt power players to bomb off the tee to have the chance for 3 that most players won't have, but missing the initial gap can prove to be very costly.
Cons: The extreme challenge and brutal rough found at East Metro make this a course that is extremely unfriendly to beginners. 90% of players should play the shorter tees here.

The rough is thick and full of cactus, other thorns, and snakes (some of which are poisonous). Players will spend a lot of time looking for discs and will likely lose one or more. The round is an extreme workout between the challenge, hills, and battling the rough. The course does not loop back to the parking lot after 9, even though the property could have accommodated two loops.

The tee pads for holes 13 and 15 are only about 35 ft from each other.

There are a few places which could use "next tee" signs. This is particularly important from hole 15 to 16 and then from 17 to 18. There's a very long walk from 15 to 16. It appears that hole 16 could have been a nice par 4 with a downhill tee shot to a defined landing area.

There isn't a basket near the parking lot for putting warm ups.

The tees could use some sort of frames. Some of them collect wash-outs, which make for slippery pads and some have gotten eroded underneath, which will lead to cracking on the corners.

This course will likely break in over time to become a 4.5 rating, but it will take several years for that to happen.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer; leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

To read about my review philosophy check out the other info section on my profile.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Eastern Course

1    5/16/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 35  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mike Olse does it again! I went out to play this course because I heard so much about it and this thing is fantastic. It reminds me so much of Brushy Creek Sports Park except this more open and a longer course. Easier to navigate as well. Holes 1 through 4 start you off as a warm-up for the rest of the course. Number 1 being the longest. Number 2 and three are short par 3 holes and pretty much straight shots to the basket. Hole 4 is a little longer being a double crossing of the creek that runs through this course and demands a very accurate shot or the disker gets in trouble quick. Hole 5 is a short 190 foot par 3 hole but also demands an accurate throw or it is fishing time in the creek again. Hole 6 is a short throw by the creek par three, but once again, a chance to lose a disc. I lost one on this one. I still managed to bogey this hole even with the penalty throw. Hole 7 is a straight-away par 3 or four depending which tee you are throwing from. Hole 8 is a long 805 par 4 or 5 depending on whether you are pro or am. Hole 9 was my showcase hole. This one was deuce all the way. Loved the throw between two trees over the creek. Then a straight shot at the basket. Ching! Hole 10 pretty much is a wide open straight shot par 4 until you get to the basket. It sits on a jut out over water. You have to be accurate with your putter or it will miss and roll down into the creek like mine did. I did hit with the second one though. Holes 11 through 15 play in the woods and are relatively short. Holes 16 through 18 are longer and play you right back to where you parked to start play. This course was a good challenge overall and well worth the stopover to play.
Cons: Only one that I saw was the transition from holes 15 to 16. A wrong turn and you wind up back at hole 8. Otherwise I find nothing else to say that I could find wrong with this course.
Other Thoughts: This is a good, solid 18-hole challenge of a disc golf course. Mike Olse did an excellent job with this one. The only other course I could see where he might have topped himself so far was the gold course down in Ingleside, Tx. Otherwise this is a fun course to play and has many good challenges to it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Holey Moley!

1    3/15/2012   3/22/2012
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is a course many a disc golfer can get their chops and throws into! That is, if it is dry. I was there on a day that it was very wet and muddy and this course is at best a 3 on a day like that. Otherwise, an excellent course for testing your mettle and very deserving of a 4 on a dry course. Too many throws into the creek for me. When I came across hole 5 and saw it was mostly creek for fairway, I didn't bother. Best hole here? The long one. 805 for hole 8 from tee to basket. 9 gives a good gap throw challenge.
Cons: I imagine this course stays messy pretty much throughout the year, unless there is a drought. Too wet, too messy, and way too difficult.
Other Thoughts: I do not relish going on a disc hunt every time I play a course. I don't mind looking for some, but when I have to on every hole or have to go "fishing" for a disc, that gets tiring! You people that like these so-called "fun" courses can have them. If I want to go hunt for something, I will regress and go hunt for Easter Eggs.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Top 3 in Austin

1    11/26/2011   11/26/2011
Review By: cfmack
Played: 61  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 21 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is definitely in my top 3 in the Austin area (other two probably being Circle C and MetroCenter ). We decided to play this course over Falcon Pointe because it was a windy day. I am extremely happy with this decision.

1. Signs were well posted and insightful.

2. Course has an excellent variety of shots: lefts, rights, narrow, open, long short

3. Tee boxes are concrete and wide. They are provided for both the Amateur and Pro shots.
Cons: Manor is a bit far for me 17 miles but given the time, I would gladly drive out there again.
Other Thoughts: I went after it rained and the field was quite muddy. Therefore, I can't speak to the park's drainage.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging course

5+    6/12/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: Team Epic
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: This course contains a bit of everything, making it a pretty good challenge for any level.
Cons: A little overgrown in the spring/summer. Make sure to throw accurately.
Other Thoughts: I wish Emma Long City Park had a course.

0 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 A new Top Favorite

1    4/15/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 524  Reviewed: 117  Exp: 41.5 Years
23 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
My Enjoyment: 9.1 (out of 10)

Design
*From the Long tees this is a Gold level course, so it will test even the most highly skilled players. Even though my skill level is much lower (White level) I especially enjoy occasionally playing such high caliber courses as a way to gauge my game against what the best players would play.
*Fairways- have great shape variety and a very good mix of terrain. Some holes are fairly open and you can air it out, some have nice grass with scattered trees, some are classic tight woods holes needing lots of accuracy.
*Ideal Length variety- There's a smattering of lengths in every range! Blue tees: 2 <199/ 5 of 200-299/ 2 of 300-399/ 2 of 400-499/ 3 of 500-599/ 3 of 600-699/ 1 of 805. (Notice that 10 holes are over 400 ft.) The long holes are legitimate par 4s, so that adds variety too.
*Creek beds and water- There are creek beds on 15 holes! Not every creek had water in it, but these add to the beauty and when they have water in them they add to the challenge. It appears that the water levels vary throughout the year. You can also find a description of the water holes at my East Metro Course notes page.
*Beauty- I think the course is really beautiful in a rugged, Texas kind of way. Cacti mix with blue bonnets and old trees.
*Challenging greens- lots of protected baskets and risk vs. reward with stream beds or possible roll aways.

Basics
*Signs- Fantastic colorful Houck signs with good maps and everything you'd want on a sign.
*Tees- 2 sets of cements tees on 10 holes. 8 holes have 1 tee.
Cons:
Basics
-Maintenance. It was Spring, but quite a few fairways had knee deep grass covering the whole fairway. Even with good throws you could lose a disc right in the middle of the fairway if you didn't track it closely. This took a good deal of extra energy and added unnecessary tension. This is the biggest factor that lowered my enjoyment of the course.
-Navigation. Some baskets are hard to see, so the maps on the tee signs help a lot.
-Rough. It can be very thick and thorny in places.

Design
-Navigation. There are a few long walks to the next tees, most notably tee 16, but tees 9 and 2 were a hike too.

Amenities
-Course map. The online map needs improvement. It doesn't have any hole numbers, so it's a bit confusing to figure out. Plus it's rather drab.
Other Thoughts:
Blue tees Course Level = Gold (most suitable for Pro players rated >975)

~The course is new, but in time it would be good if they could add some more amenities like score cards, a practice basket, trash cans, and some benches.

East Metro is now in my Top Favorites category, so I can't wait to get back there again! My thanks go to the designer, Mike Olse, the builders, and everyone who works on it. I consider this a destination course and a "must play" in the Austin area, so it's worth making a long drive to play. If you have the chance, don't miss this course!

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews

23 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 In the running for best TX course

1    5/29/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 259  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 13 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This is not your father's disc golf course. This is not a simple Sunday stroll though the park. This is a course that will challenge your ability to throw a disc. Distances range from under 200' to over 800'. Lefty holes, righty holes, uphill and downhill... the balance of shots is just fantastic. To conquer this course you'll need a full repertoire of shots. The fairways are fair and the rough is rough. Realistic par 4's are sprinkled throughout this course. The tee signs are top notch HouckDesign quality. The park is beautifully maintained. There are restrooms in the park (though not near the course). Top quality DISCatcher baskets in good shape. Concrete tee pads that are large enough for a standard 3 step x-step run up. Long and short tees available (both concrete) make this course applicable to a wider range of players. Course is located away from other park activities so interference from non-disc golfers should be at a minimum. There are several trash cans along the course.
Cons:
If you throw a disc more than a few feet off the fairway into the rough prepare yourself for a Safari adventure through sharp/thorny/prickly fauna.

A few navigation issues will hinder first timers: we had issues going from #5 to #6 and then #15 to #16. Could use some next tee markers along the way. A printed map will help you but the one on DGCR right now could use some numbers instead of the color coding. Make note of the "Next Tee" arrows on the tee signs before you leave the box.
Other Thoughts:
This is a multi-use park with boatloads of other amenities (see the park website). Read the directions on DGCR for getting to the first tee once you enter the park.

Adding to the aesthetics of the course were several holes with creative hole numbers marked out, e.g. #5 has a large "5" built out of rocks; #9 has a "9" made from old fence wire hanging in the tree. How they got concrete back to some of the tee locations is really an impressive feat. We saw several small furry animals and a roadrunner, but luckily no snakes.

Definitely a destination course despite being off the beaten path in Austin.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Manor-Mania

1    5/27/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: Scoot_er
Played: 123  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 20.8 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is very challenging and quite long but playing conservative is also a good game plan for those looking to remain "in the hunt". Trying to be aggressive can lead to amazing scores like the designer, Mike Olse's 55 or it could lead to MANY MANY 5s,6s, and even the possibility of 8s and more,

Good shots are rewarded by better looks to the pin on the par 4 and 5s and on the shorter holes a accurate smooth throw will leave you with a birdie putt.

One thing I like about this course is the different mindset the designer had when it came to the par 3s. Most of the par 3s are 260 or under with 3 or so being <220ft but these holes bring very definite lines into play that you either hit or kick off leaving a tough upshot.

Every shot in the bag is needed and no one shot is constantly repeated with the course favoring neither a righty or lefty but the player who plays the smartest, chooses the right time to attack, and executes their shots.
Cons: The terrain if somewhat rough with small rocks and such that are common to the Texas Hill Country along with prickly trees and underbrush that can leave you bloodied and you discs missing.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for competitive golf but I don't think I would make it my casual course of choice (especially in the hot Texas summer) but if you do it will only improve your game

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Top ten!

1    5/15/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: dustingrodriguez
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excelent layout with good elevation change. Accuracy and distance a must if you want to shoot near par. Great scenery and challenging holes made this course one of my top 10! In my opinion, one of the best maintained courses outside of pay to play courses. Nice trimmed fairways, clear walking paths, clean t boxes, and nice hole signs. Fun and technical course!
Cons: FIRE ANTS!!!! watch out for ant hills, they are nasty! and a small bee hive on 17! they dont mess with you if you dont mess with them. LOTS of nature so be carefull around brush and in the woods. Wear shoes with good grip after rain because some of the banks are kind of muddy.
Other Thoughts: Will deffinately play this course many more times! Love to play all over the state, this is one of the best so far!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.