• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Can I get a little help with discs?

Jklotz

Hi guys, new here. Thanks for having me. I'm a beginner. I've been out 4 times now. 2 different courses. First time out nobody kept my score, but the 2nd course (Perkersons), which I've done 3 times now, started out at 23 over and am down to 18 over, so it's going in the right direction. Thankfully, my buddies have been showing me the ropes and have been encouraging. I'm really enjoying it.

So, I ordered a beginner set off of amazon. 4 discs, a DD Trespass driver, Escape driver, Truth midrange and Judge putter. Why? Because they got a good rating and I thought they looked cool. Turns out that Trespass has a speed of 12 and is probably too much for me at this point. I met a guy on the course who gave me the driver he used to learn on, an Orc. It's old and beat up. He said it would be a lot better for me as a beginner.

I'm probably not at the point yet where the discs are going to make a lot of difference. I just wanted to see if you guys though this is a good setup to start with. I plan to go out one day this week by myself and throw all of them to try to figure out what they do.

Any help or advice you can give would be most appreciated.