• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Driving practice: TBirds or Valks?

d.ude

Hi all!

I'm looking to buy a half dozen discs or so of a mold so I can really focus on my form.

I've been playing for about 2 years, LHBH, and am really focusing on good form; this site especially made me realize that I strong arm so I'm trying to focus on using my core. I've made progress but have a ways to go.

Right now I throw putters about 200, mids about 250, and drivers about the 300 mark, give or take 20.

Right now my main drivers are a 170ish Champ Orc, high 60s DGA Rogue, 171 DX Katana, and a 171 Star Wraith, all of which I can flip.

So, should I buy Teebirds or Valkyries for practicing? They'll be DX of course :)

300'? Many will recommend you should be taking mids out for practice until you get them out to 300' and leave the drivers at home.

Don't worry. I'm there with you.

if it's DX why not get 5 of each?

if you do wish to practice with a driver the TB may be a better choice as it is slower and, in theory, you should be able to learn better technique with it

I think they start out quite stable though so the Valk might be easier to work with

The mid suggestion aside (which isn't a bad one) I don't know that the Teebird or the valk will be best at your distance for teaching form. Teebird's a little too stable to be able to really help pick out form flaws, and a valk will tend to act more stable given the speed. You might try something a touch flippier and the same speed as a fairway. Maybe a lighter leopard, river, or xl.

Yeah many will tell you no drivers but I disagree. Teebirds are great as well as Valks but I feel a teebird is a better teacher because of the understability of the Valk when it gets up to speed.