• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

giving up on drives

"RustyP has good advice"! See your local course pro if you have to, he will be happy to help you! "Your never too old to learn"..."ive been playing this game for over 10 years now & still learning"!! I'm going to try one of those power grips myself. One mistake newbee's make is getting heavy disc's. I thow 150 class whenever possible & there are plenty of disc's available, both understable & overstable!! The only disc's i don't throw in 150 are putters. "I know i'd like to reach the basket in a single throw"...better chance for an ace too!

One other thing that has helped me in the same situation, not having a long drive, a few years back I read an article in Disc golf news, they talked with a tour pro about how he handled pressure, etc... One thing he said and it stuck with me....Don't play against your opponent, play the course. If you play the course the best of your ability, and get beat, then you just got beat by a better player, but did your best. But if you try and play your opponent, match drive for drive, shot for shot , etc..., you are more likely to make mistakes because you are trying too hard to play THEIR game not yours.