• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Drivers] what weight

laerton420

im a newbie (7mo.),55 and I love this sport.i have been trying different plastics and discs,i have had problems from the start with everything I throw just turning over into the ground,the heavier and more overstable the worse they were.so I bought a few blizzards at 138gm,146 gm.....they worked well at first,but as ive gotten better they seem to be too "flippy",so now I think I need to get me some 150-160gm discs,
am I on the right track here,heavy discs seem to much for me no matter how hard I throw them,and the light is too flippy.....oh,,,yea,im talking about drivers and mids.any advice would be helpful

try something between 155-167 for a relatively light driver. If you are having trouble with it turning and burning, try a slower driver, say something around speed 6-8. For mids, i would say 165-170 would be suitable. Form is also a critical factor as well. I suggest try and look in the technique and strategy section of the forums, as well as some vids on youtube or something.

Stability of the disc itself matters more than the weight but both come into play. Save into a strong head-wind (10-15 mph), there are very few discs that you can not get to flatten out if thrown properly so until you develop your form to know the difference, suspect form over the disc.