Newport News, VA 
Newport News DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 269ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 White Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Perfect Beginner Course

2-4    2/14/2014   2/16/2014
Review By: chillumz
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is very close and accessible by way of I-64 and close enough for regular play for anyone in NN, York County, or Williamsburg.

The course is mostly separate from the rest of the picnic/playground areas in the park which makes for good play away from the rest of the visitors.

There is a decent mix of open/wooded holes. They are pretty well maintained and the fields are mowed regularly.

The wooded holes on the front 9 (4-7) offer a chance to get some good lines, but arent particularly crazy.
Cons: Overall the course is solid but a little boring. There are no standout holes, and there is virtually no elevation change to speak of. As a result, many holes run together in my memory (specifically the back 9 which run through sparsely wooded fields).
The back 9 are almost all straightaway shots with a few trees near the basket just to force a little strategy, but nothing challenging.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played when I still lived in NN. Despite the cons I've listed above, I do think this course offers a great introduction to disc golf for any beginner. The holes aren't too long nor challenging, which is good for learning the ins and outs of tossing a disc in the woods and in a field.
All in all, Newport News DGC is definitely worth a visit, although not one to go gaga over.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Newport news

1    11/10/2013   11/10/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 1.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A rating of three is stated as good and that is what this course was for me.

The front nine is a fun layout, letting you air it out on 2 and then requiring from 3-9 some precision shot shaping, and if you play the short tees, it is a fun ace race if you hit your lines. The front nine is very fun to play, if this type of course continued on, i would have given the course a 3.5-4.

Back nine- the back nine becam a little redundant with a lot of straight, or straight-ish shots that were through an array of pine trees, they did the best they had with the land though

This was a fun course to play and would make a njce day of playing if paired up with new quarter park in williamsburg, about a 15 minute drive away. This is a great amateur course and will treat newer players pretty well, as the whole course is short with no true par 4s and little opportunity to lose a disc.

Amenities- the park was your typical multi use park, bathrooms, a message board at the parking lot. Each hole had a tee sign located at the short tee, as well as a bag hanger and the navigation proved to be pretty easy.

Cons: The holes can get somewhat redundant on the back nine mostly straight shots through some pines to a relatively open green

Tee signs- the tee signs were good and portrayed an accurate representation of the hole, however, they were located at the short tee. In some cases you couldnt see the basket from the long tees and i found myself walking up to the tee sign more than i wouldve liked

Elevation and hazards- there was no elevation except for on hole 17 which wasnt really elevation, it was more like a gully. There was no water hazards with the exception of one ditch, which didnt seem to hold water. I played this course a few days before a tournament and it seemed like the had walking paths ob. This would make it a little more interesting if you were to do so.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun Course to stretch your arm out after a day at one of the colonial sites, especially in the winter when new quarter is only open on friday, saturday and sunday.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Buttermilk Pancake

2-4    4/4/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Two 4'x10' concrete teepads per hole. Signs at each teepad (details only at short), bag holders, some benches. Two nine-hole loops.

Upkeep - dampish areas well mulched, lack of litter, can tell the course is taken care of.
Cons:
Quite flat. Fairly repetitive. Walking paths through middle of course.
Other Thoughts:
Course is located in a multi-purpose public park, with a main road, not coming into play, forming one edge of the course.

The holes on this course fall into two basic categories - short-n-tight (holes 4-8, in dense collection of small/mid-diameter trees) with quite challenging shape requirements / narrow windows (particularly from the longs), or primarily open, with typically a couple tall, mid-diameter tree trunks to avoid mid/late fairway. On these openish holes, the alternate tees mostly just add length - the basic look to the basket doesn't change much, except for #16.

Holes 3-9 are the holes that require lots of shot shaping, both right, lefts, and S-shapes. Straight, with an appropriate amount of subtle turn or fade, will suffice on the other holes. Average length is ~300'/235' from the long/short tees, so big throwers won't have many bombing opportunities.

A decent course, well-maintained, limited by the available natural resources. An enjoyable play, good for introducing people to the game, minimal chance of disc loss.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Plain Jane

2-4    3/12/2012   2/12/2013
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course surprised me. I still don't understand why I liked it so much. It meets none of my typical criteria for a good course. I will attempt to come to grips with my nonsensical joy here. It was easy to get to (right off the exit), easy to walk (flat sandy soils), and easy to navigate (intuitive)...the basics are here bathrooms, signs, 2 concrete tees per hole.
The disc golf had some wonderful variety with only one open long distance bomber hole (#2) the rest of holes required low canopy power and precision, tight woodsy line hitting, and throwing around moderate obstacles in semi-open mowed parkland that seemed removed from other park activities. I ran into more deer than people despite the mowed and manicured feel of this park. I threw a variety of discs, distances, lines and took a smattering of birdies,pars and bogeys. There seemed to be moderate challenge on every hole which induced me to think I could birdy off of every tee. A relatively stress free round with minimal chance for disc loss (sans leaves perhaps)...highlights for me were the thumber line on 16, the array of technical shots from 4-8 the unique dive into the woods on 3, and emptying my bag on 18...it's one of those visually I can park it every time holes...fun. This course probably grew on me for the fun factor of running baskets combined with low stress and the variety the 2 tees provided. I played the longs and then the shorts. I enjoyed both rounds. Probably the perfect amateur course as well as a great place to practice on a daily basis due to the variety and lines demanded here without ever overwhelming a player.
Cons: It's flat. Perhaps 1 hole ,#17, that gives the impression of a hill, but lets be honest it's just a gulley. It doesn't have any true par 4s. There is not any remarkable or special hole here that would draw me back to it or make me talk about the course to others. It's just a plain flat disc golf course in a park really. (Which in this case for some reason works)
Other Thoughts: Even though theres nothing special here there is enough solid golf and variety of foliage and shots required that I was never bored here. I would equate Newport News to that girl that appears plain but you are attracted to her anyway because she's just fun to hang out with and for some reason she grows on you.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great local course

2-4    8/12/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: Jpcole9702
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety, well maintained, lots of park surrounding course, throwing pads for both white, and red tees are great.
Cons: Needs just a few more garbage cans along the way to help keep it clean. Would also be nice to get some signs for the red tees so you can better judge your distance on those holes as well.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course, great location just outside the city, and very close to a military base. I really enjoy this course as it has both the holes that allow you to really see how far you can throw it, but also has some nice skill requiring holes to follow that up. Some great nature trails, and very often some deer walking the park with you. Great fun, challenging course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Exceded my Expectations

2-4    8/8/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great park close to town
-Multiple tee pads
-Multiple tee locations
-Great signs
-Some long holes
-Some short
-Beautiful park
-Amazing wildlife
-tough lines to hit but high risk with high reward
-Easy to navigate
-requires accuracy and ability to hit tight spots at a distance.
-Big tee pads
-Good course for beginners
-Great course for seasoned players
Cons: I didn't have any unless I just wanted to be picky.
It's simply a great course.
Other Thoughts: I've played 40 courses now in about 8 different states and this is one of my favorites.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Really nice course

5+    2/8/2012   2/12/2012
Review By: J-Mo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
-Cement tees
-Well manicured
-Signs at each tee
-Benches/Trash cans throughout
-Parking right next to hole 1
-Huge children's playground right near hole 1 (drop the kids off and grip it/rip it)
-Good, diverse assortment of different types of holes (wooded or open).
-Only about a 3 minute drive from the freeway
-Daily fee is only $2
-Annual pass is only $20
-Bag holder at each tee
-Baskets are in great shape
-Practice basket near hole 1
-No "disc losing" water hazards (there are a few small creeks you throw over, but nothing deep enough to lose any discs)
Cons:
-Can get busy on certain days (weekends/holidays etc)
-Closed certain days of the year (see list below)
-Not very difficult if your skill level is above amateur
Other Thoughts:
Here is a list of days that the disc golf course is closed for 2012:
April 21 (7am - 4pm) - Spring Pro Am DG Tourney
May 5 (all day) - Children's Festival
Sept 1 (all day) - Antique Car Show
Sept 8 (7am - 3pm) - Cross Country Event
Sept 12 (3pm - 5pm) - Cross Country Event
Sept 19 (3pm 5pm)- Cross Country Event
Oct 3, 4, 5 (all day) - Festival setup
Oct 6, 7 (all day) - Fall Festival
Oct 13 (7am - 2pm) - Heart Walk
Oct 17 (12pm - sunset) - Cross Country Event
Oct 20 (all day) - Fall Classic Car Show
Oct 25 (12 pm - sunset) - Cross Country Event
Nov 10 (all day) - Fall Colors DG Tourney
Nov 22 through Jan 1 (4:30pm - sunset) - Celebration in Lights

For information/updates, call 757-886-7912 or 757-888-3333

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/27/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: Wildcat_29
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice relatively easy course. It is nice to go to a course that has some challenge but isnt going to ruin your time if you let it rip.
Cons: Too short, some of the Par 5's could be had in 3 or 4 easily. It would be nice if there were arrows pointing to the next tee box on the signs.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/13/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: Dixie Boy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Had my first ace here! Well maintained. Open enough to allow for some mistakes. Holes well marked and easy to follow.
Cons: The last nine holes are not as challenging as the first nine. Can be busy on the weekend.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice not to have to drive to the campsite office to pay, especially since there is a park ranger office near the parking area for the course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quick play

5+    9/10/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: H3LlIoN
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Alright...Newport News. This course is one of my two "home courses." Pros are...plenty of trash cans, big board with tourney postings and adverts for local club, picnic table at the start/end to catch up, there's a practice green right at the beginning of the course to warm up on as well. Each hole has a tower from which you can hang your bag as you shoot, which I find to be a nice touch. There are nice, big concrete tees from which to shoot. Also, there are plenty of trash cans at various places around the course, there are a couple benches in case you need to catch your wind, and porty-johns abound in the parking lot. For the most part, the course isn't too busy, although I DO make a point of avoiding NN on the weekends. Newport News and New Quarter are about fifteen minutes apart, and run by the same people, so the course is very well maintained and cleanly. There's not really any elevation change, but there's a decent mix of wooded and open holes. Also, signs at the main tee clearly shows the pin and alternate tee locations, as well as yardage. The wooded holes are tricky, as they should be, and require one to be precise. Again, this is my favorite style of play, so I dig it. This is also a pretty good course to try and rack up some aces...I've seen it more than once playing here, and never on the same hole.
Cons: The park itself can get crowded, although kids tend to keep off the DG course. This is a pay to play park, although the pay office is about an eighth of a mile from the actual disc golf course. Most people I've seen just skip it, which is sad, as the local club really does a number here and on NQP. The only other downside is that I can out-drive 16 of 18 holes. There really isn't any room to open up, but the nice thing about this course is that it DOES teach precision, which is why it's in my rotation.
Other Thoughts: For the record, I AM NOT a member of the local club, although I am a local. If you're a local, used to playing NQP, and want a quick game, then NN is it. She's definitely a short course, which could be either a pro or a con...I usually hit Newport News when I'm looking for a quick round. I have played this course @ 4 under using only my driver in 22 minutes, to give an idea of length. Still a great course though and, again, prime for aces. That being said, if you're coming from out of town and only get to choose between Newport News or New Quarter Park....hit New Quarter.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.