• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Explanation of the physics of flying discs (FIXED)

Rameka

Par Member
I messed up the images on the other one. Sorry for any inconvenience. This is the fixed version...please just let the other one die as it is confusing and problematic without the right diagrams.

---

For those of you who are curious, this is my attempt to explain why discs do what they do. I've done a bit of research and, although the information doesn't seem obviously available, after a bit of looking I was able to piece together this model. I'm only a lower level physics student, so if any of this is off, forgive me (and correct me, if you know more than I do!).

Please note that I am not an exceptionally strong player, merely a curious mind. So, here we go.

---

As most of you should know, all discs (yes, all, overstable and understable alike) follow the same pattern in terms of physics. That is, they have a tendency to fight to go to the right on a RHBH throw (turn) and, as they slow down, they fight to come back to the left (fade). Discs that resist turn are still affected by turn, and discs that hold a turn throughout their path still fight to fade back over. Given enough height, all discs would fade back over to the left, regardless of their high speed turn rating. The Innova diagrams, for example, cut off at a certain point in the flight because they assume that the disc will hit the ground at some average point. The math-proficient among us may have noticed that these flight diagrams mostly resemble x³ graphs in nature.

28153943.png

Figure 1: Paths of overstable and understable discs, generalized.