• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Grapevine, TX

Bear Creek

3.625(based on 96 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Bear Creek reviews

Filter
3 0
JeremyKShort
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.5 years 80 played 33 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Wooded, Low Ceilings 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 16, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

A very nice course with shorter technical holes. Most of the holes make you throw under the low ceiling of branches. It puts the creek to good use on a few holes. This is a very good course for those who want to work on shaping lines and keeping their discs lower, as it's not a long bomber course.

Cons:

The tee signs, while showing the holes and various lines extremely well, fail on the most important criteria, namely featuring the hole number prominently. The number is in the bottom right corner in the same size font as the other text. Navigation is tricky in a few places, and the lack of prominent numbers on the tee signs, as well a lack of numbers on the baskets, make it difficult to see from a distance which tees and which baskets go together.

Other Thoughts:

Holes 1 - 12 are together on one side of the park. 13 - 19 require a walk across the parking lot to get to. Most of the holes are easy to walk around, however 9 has a fairly steep downhill trail to cross the creek.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
Schlangewurst
Experience: 11.8 years 20 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Glad I'm not allergic to poison ivy 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 12, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Good variety in hole length and pin placement.
- I liked the change in environment from woods to field to marsh to creeks.
- Great signs to mark where the pin was placed.
- Good tee boxes and holes.

Cons:

- I had to go off the fairway more than once and the poison ivy this time of year is fierce.
- low lying branches are the devil.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 3
TheHipstick
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.1 years 171 played 69 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Good short course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 23, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

All of the tee boxes are marked. Baskets are very nice and show the hole number on each basket.

Cons:

Cant say any really bad other than the grass needs to be cut and some trash picked up. But other than that the course plays very good.

Other Thoughts:

Good course to practice all your shots in the bag.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Memphis Newbie
Experience: 12.6 years 33 played 23 reviews
3.50 star(s)

improved signs 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 11, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Design--good variety

Signage--past reviews have mentioned the poor signage and navigation. This has been much improved. There are nice satellite imagery signs with all the info you need including next tees (actually, not all the info you need, there is no way to mark the current basket postion which is a pet peeve of mine). There are also lots of separate directional signs.

Tees-- there are two tees (multiple tees is one of pet faves) and they are plenty big

Practice area-- nice touch

Cons:

Too many blind baskets-- one of the best parts of disc golf is watching a good shot fly all the way to the basket, with a blind basket that's not possible. Also, when you're playing the course for your first time, like we were, it makes it hard to know what you're shooting for even though the signs are good.

Big walk to hole 13 (which starts by the entrance to the parking lot)-- this is a nuisance, but hey, there's a big creek separating the two parts of the course so you have to go back to the bridge.

Other Thoughts:

In defense of this course, I think the foliage type necessitated some blind holes to lengthen the holes and provide more challenge. What I mean by this is that the foliage here is dense, short woods interspersed with open areas. So many of the holes are shooting through the open areas and around the woods rather than through corridors in tall canopy-type woods like I am used to in Tennessee. When you are shooting through the woods at Bear Creek, there is a very low ceiling, meaning a lot of skip shots are needed. I saw the warnings in previous reviews about hole 15 being a disc eater. We were playing fast and I didn't remember this warning. I also didn't carefully read the tee sign. I thought the basket was in the distant woods past the dirt bank and that's where I threw my disk. When I approached the bank I saw that it dropped down into a deep dark creek with opaque water and the distant bank was flush with the densest poison ivy and bushes you've ever seen. If your disk goes in this water or past, it's gone. The basket is on the crest of the near bank, but hidden to the left. I think the locals have done a great job with this course. We played at 7:00 am on a Saturday and there were only a couple other disc golfers there. This course would be much more enjoyable on repeat visits.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 3
ericl244
Experience: 10 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great course for all 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 1, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

A great overall course for people of all skill levels. A good mix of "back woods" holes and wide open throws. I have probably played this course 3-4 times a week over the last 6 months, and have a blast every time.

Cons:

Large groups are a real issue here. I usually play alone, and my wife will walk along next to me. We will get caught at some holes for 10-15 min stuck behind a large group of 6+ that don't tend to be very courteous.

Other Thoughts:

Go play it, you will really enjoy it. Just watch out for holes 15 and 16, they claimed MANY discs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
FairwayBeast
Experience: 9 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

One of my favorites! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 12, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Very fun course to play. It has clear info of the course. It has one of the best holes I've ever played, hole 12. The locals call it "the gauntlet".

Cons:

It gets packed on the weekends. I really don't like waiting on large groups and we ran into that many times.

Other Thoughts:

I suggest going during the week. My buddy and I went on a Tuesday and played for a good 7 hours with no interruptions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 5
Jimbotten
Experience: 4 years 21 played 12 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Bear Creek 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 10, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Sensational utilization of nature.
Challenging throughout.
The best place to play in DFW on a windy day.
Hole 13 is easily one of the most unique holes in DFW in a frustratingly good way.
Multiple tees!!!

Cons:

Expect above par scores.
Long walk from hole 13-14.
Lots of insects in the warmer seasons.
Expect Delays: expect big groups waiting on big groups (5+ players)

Other Thoughts:

The classic hole #1 would make this course better if it was still around. Now, however, we have a frustrating start to the course with a hard left turn shot that is close to Tee # 2
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Spookyspence
Experience: 15 played 15 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Does a bear poop in the woods? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 5, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Long and short concrete tees
Nice and technical
A few really nice signature holes
Nice tee signs
Practice basket

Cons:

Can be hard to find
Can get crowded leading to mob golf
Poison Ivy heavy, be careful
Short tees are not challenging at all

Other Thoughts:

This course is a fun 18 hole course to play through with its combination of technical and wooded holes ( from long only ) and good basket locations. The short tee locations are disappointing but would be fun for someone who has just started. The course can have tons of poison ivy so keep an eye out! Over all this course is awesome and I will be playing it anytime I am in the area!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
DGCakes
Experience: 12.9 years 27 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great find, Underrated 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 23, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Pretty Technical
Each hole has two tee positions
Through woods so very shaded from TX heat

Cons:

Wont miss the trees
Not the most easily navigable

Other Thoughts:

This park was awesome. It's kind of nestled out of the way and you will miss it if you aren't looking for it from the road. Don't let it's short length make you think it'll be easy!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
Kuel
Experience: 12.7 years 40 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

New Signage 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

NEW signage. Signs are large and use satellite photography for hole layout.
Two sets of concrete tees on every hole.
Two practice baskets about 30 feet apart.
Lot's of good birdie opportunities, especially from the short tees.

Cons:

Poison Ivy. Can get get crowded during peak hours. A coulpe of holes are notorious disc eaters.

Other Thoughts:

This is probably my second favorite course of the 14 I've played. Most of the holes require more touch off the tee than power. Somebody has put in some serious hours out there the past couple of months. The new signage, wood chip around the starting area, and new practice baskets are great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 4
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.3 years 831 played 777 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Ok shots, terrible navigation 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 12, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a wooded park that's disc golf exclusive other than the first few holes. There are some pretty open shots mixed in, with most playing through scattered trees or denser trees. Many of the holes have fairly thick rough waiting to punish errant shots. Water comes into play on several holes, including a few that offer tricky risk/reward decisions.

It felt like a pretty good mix of hole shapes, with a few really interesting lines to hit and a decent balance of left and right turning shots. The alternate tees offer some different lines to hit and some distance difference on the longer holes. Both sets of tees are nice concrete pads. There are alternate pin positions that could change up how the course plays.

Cons:

Navigation is a major issue here. Many of the holes have multiple paths leading away from the basket, so some wandering is required at times to find the next tee. Hole 1 has a really long walk to get to the bridge across the creek, then back over to the pin area. After hole 12, you have to walk all the way back to the parking lot and find the right trail into the woods to get to the rest of the holes. None of these are marked or obvious, and the map available here is pretty useless.

The signage at the tees is mediocre, and many are missing or broken. With multiple pin positions and no marking of which are in use, it can get frustrating to have to scout ahead on the blind holes. There is a lot of trash and vandalism present here. Though there are some fun shots, there are also some mediocre filler type holes, and the overall challenge level just isn't that high even from the longs.

Other Thoughts:

Beginners can have a great time from the shorts here, there are some risky water shots and some thick rough but the distances are reasonable. More experienced players will find the course fairly short and straightforward even from the longs, though a few of the holes are cool enough to make this one worth a stop.

My reviews are written from the perspective of a player seeing the course for the first time, so the navigation issues knock the rating down slightly for me. Locals won't have those issues once they know the course but other traveling players will likely share my frustrations.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
zendragon
Experience: 13.6 years 48 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

My home course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 16, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great range of shots.
Mostly easy to navigate.
Lots of shade but not too many trees to make it unplayable.
Beautiful landscape.

Cons:

A few spots to lose discs.
Crowded on the weekends and evenings.

Other Thoughts:

I would consider this my home course and I play it at least once a week. I love the feeling of being deep in nature even though you're right off a highway and a community. The holes themselves are pretty great. There are alternate pin positions and whoever keeps up the course moves them pretty regularly. Combining that with the alternate tee pads gives you the ability to almost play a new course each time you go. Hole 16 is the only hole I've lost a disc in the water. The rest of the creek is pretty shallow and I'll go in and fish them out, but on hole 16 the water gets over 15 ft deep. If you throw rhbh with any sort of stable to over stable disc here, be careful. Hole 15 has a few challenges for your disc as well. One pin position has the basket sitting on the edge of the creek. It's about 4 ft deep just behind the basket, but if you have a shot that goes off a tree or you get a bad release on, further up the creek it gets quite a bit deeper. The only other real dangerous spot to lose a disc is hole 5. There is a murky pond behind one of the pin positions. The pond is full of limbs and debris, so fishing something out of there takes a lot of patience.
If you're careful on those 3 holes though, the rest are pretty safe with just some trees to offer a challenge to the well kept up fairways.
I really can't recommend this course enough. While there is no single hole that I would say is the best I've played, all of them are fun and challenging enough that make this course one of the best I have ever played all around.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 3
ColtonV
Experience: 12.7 years 10 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Bear Creek 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 28, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Great variety
-Fairly Easy to navigate
-Not too short
-Offers a challenge to some
-People sell disks in the parking lot for cheap sometimes
-2 tee boxes per hole

Cons:

-Poison ivy is the biggest thing
-Can sometimes get a little backed up
-There is a chance you will lose a disc on a few holes

Other Thoughts:

Some REALLY cool holes on here. The only thing that I really don't like is the great amount of poison ivy that resides here. I've only gotten it once when I was there though. This is my "home course" I guess so I do have a kind of bias, but every time I go I have a great time and have thrown with some nice people.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
mike_james
Experience: 16.1 years 54 played 19 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Always Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 16, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Just fun. Really precise lines needed on these holes, without being short. The long tees change this course completely, making it more lefty friendly. Well shaded, and seems to stay playable after a little rain. The wind also doesn't seem to affect the majority of the course. I hear a lot of people say it is hard to navigate, I don't find this to be an issue. It has a good flow to it. Park is pretty clean and well groomed.

Cons:

Will get crowded on you. I would go as early as possible. Sneaky police. Don't be doing anything you shouldn't and it won't be an issue. A couple of long walks to holes. Just #1 if you don't cross the pipe, and from #12 to #13, but it is a good chance to stop at the car for whatever. Some of the teepads are a little short, and/or elevated, so be careful there.

Other Thoughts:

Centrally located for most, so when you do check it out, get a couple rounds in and try from the longs too. Police prescence isn't necessarily a bad thing. Lots of cool events go on out here and they are usually lots of fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
lajoie24
Experience: 13 years 30 played 18 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Bring a map 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 26, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Had a great time playing the course - definitely one of the top precision shot courses in the DFW area. Baskets are in good shape and the park was very clean. Since the course cuts through the woods, the trees provide lots of protection from the wind (we played when it was 20+ mph with very few issues). Multiple tee boxes make an already demanding course that much more fun. I highly recommend this course to any player that can handle the sound of discs hitting multiple trees.

Cons:

Bring the map provided by this wonderful site. I did and still wound up frustrated/confused on how to get to a few holes. The locals are cool and helped a lot with directions. There are many awkward transitions from hole to hole and the signage is poor. You have to walk half way around the course (and through the 1st fairway) to get from the 12th hole to the 13th hole.
It's real easy to throw discs off the fairway into the brush. There's some nasty thorny brush to contend with at times. Jeans might be mandatory.

Other Thoughts:

The 12th hole is one of the more dramatic I've played in the area. I'm very interested in coming back once the trees get their leaves back. If you find a flat glow firebird in the creek by the basket on 15, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Smickie
Experience: 14.1 years 21 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 14, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Wide variety of shots. Have to use almost every shot in my bag. Holes such as 1, 6, and 12 make this course very challenging and fun. Very pretty course with lots of trees which makes it perfect for windy days. Regular and advanced tees are a nice touch.

Cons:

If you haven't been here before, you'll find it difficult to find 13-18. A sign directing you where to go would be nice. Also, a TON of people play this course. Get there early!!!

Other Thoughts:

This is one of my favorite courses in the metroplex. It's very pleasant to play due to the scenery and variety. Alot of good people play the course and are very courteous about letting you play through, but don't let you're guard down. I know a few people who have had discs stolen out here. Anyways, I strongly recommend this course for people of all skill levels so get out there and have a good time!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 6
Lesson
Experience: 15 years 19 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Ivy 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 28, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Has long and short tee pads
-Fun course to play
-Ace runs all over
-Plenty trees so plenty shade and blocks some wind on bad days
-Good baskets
-Long tee pads are fairly difficult and you will get some good practice. Is not too easy to shoot par from all longs.
-Some nice people play here
-Truly is a pretty course to play at
-If your alone at course you can run through a game in prob 40 minutes if you tried so good if you have limited time at a non peak time of day

Cons:

-Too many begginers its pretty hard to shoot all longs with the mobs of people
-Pressures you to shoot shorts with everybody else and its hard to develop your game from these shorts its too easy. Big lack of challenge
-Poison ivy all over
-Since so many kids and local youth play here it brings a trouble crowd, lack of respect throwing on you etc.(baskets stolen, discs, some cars messed with)
-Tons of people play here(mostly recreational players) so its mob golf impossible to play a good game at peak hours
-Recently moved some baskets to different pins but there is a big lack of city involvement, the pins were in the same spots for prob 3 years prior

Other Thoughts:

Overall a fun course my biggest complaint would be so many people come to play and are recreational players who will develop there game very slow because they stick to this easy course(from shorts). Every player should play multiple courses but there is a huge crowd who play here exclusivly and stay begginer at disc golf for a long time. Still a staple course for disc golf in the area and will always play here and have some fun. Just wish they could make it a little more difficult and get some of these people improving and not just shooting the same old shots everytime.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 4
pfluegel
Experience: 15 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 3, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Variety of shots, Concrete pads.

Cons:

Poor Signage, difficult to find the baskets from a lot of the tees, which would be fine, if there were signs.

Other Thoughts:

With a printed out map it was fine. If you dont mind doing some foot work this course is a fun course to play. Hole 12 is particularly fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
aggiegreg
Experience: 13.2 years 33 played 9 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Has a little bit of everything 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 27, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Has a little bit of everying
--a couple of my favorite shots are over rivers
-two great place to tee off from on each hole
-paths well built
-good traffic on the course
-friendly disc golfers on course to help when you get a little lost
-cool looking abandoned car at the end of 12

Cons:

-can get lost on course without the map
-only par 3s
-kinda smells like garbage
-course not signed well
--baskets are not all numbered

Other Thoughts:

great course in the D/FW area, got lost on the course but there were lots of people ready to help. Great course to play everyday. Seems like there are always someone selling disc so make sure you bring cash or plastic to trade
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Paulie
Experience: 13.1 years 8 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Urushiol! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 22, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

18 baskets
Well built numbered tee pads
Two pads per basket; normal and advanced
Wooded (shade)
Challenging obstacles
Easy to get to
Nice pecan trees
Benches and garbage cans
Parking lot
No mixed use to play through

Cons:

No direction from one tee to another or from tee to basket. You have to rely solely on tee pad shape to figure where about the basket is if you can't see it.
Urushiol! Urushiol is the oily organic allergen found in plants of the family Anacardiaceae, especially Toxicodendron spp. (e.g., poison oak, poison ivy, poison sumac). It causes an allergic skin rash on contact.

Other Thoughts:

This course is festooned in poisonous plants. It's got the trifecta; poison ivy, oak and sumac. And not just a little here and there. The poison ivy climbs up the poison sumac that grows in swaths of poison oak. If you went rolling naked through this course, you'd die of urushiol overdose. Or you'd scratch yourself to death later in the day. But don't let this scare you off. We played, in shorts, and we play where it lay, and got no rash. Don't go rolling in it like a dog on a dead animal and you'll be okay.
There are a few deep chasms to throw over. The first one is basket one. You'll know right off if you can throw this course or not. If your disc survives, don't worry, there are other chances to fling your plastic into the gaping maw of planet Earth. We did and still came out with same number of discs we went in with.
All in all, this is a great course and we'll be back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top