North Plains, OR

Horning's Hideout - Highland Course

Permanent course
3.765(based on 33 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Horning's Hideout - Highland Course reviews

Filter
1 0
rkopald
Experience: 23.2 years 11 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun course drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 17, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Fun course on undulating terrain.

Cons:

Not many!

Other Thoughts:

Fun casual/beginner or day drinking course.
Love the way this course goes up and down.
You *might* lose a disc here, but with how many people play it, you'll probably have it back by the time you return to your vehicle.
even when this course is busy, which is very often, to me it never feels crowded.
Nice, low stakes course for when you just feel like throwing for fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 7
daim1992
Experience: 9 played 3 reviews
5.00 star(s)

the ole hideout 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 29, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is hands down the best course I\'ve played great hike that you disappear on for a good disc adventure

Cons:

A lot of people but it\'s so spread out I barely saw anyone else after we got into the game

Other Thoughts:

Had a big course and a shorter course so it suits all players of all levels
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
royvin
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 7.7 years 188 played 65 reviews
4.00 star(s)

YES 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 17, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Elevation change on practically every hole!
-Fun for all skill levels, but especially beginners
-Hardly a blind shot on the course
-Beautiful northwest scenery and feel to the course
-Easy to navigate
-Variety of shot shaping needed with both wooded and open fairways
-Clean and well maintained
-Nice concrete tee pads
-Great map signs at the tee pads featuring distance, par and elevation change
-Well done course map near the parking lot area next to the other course maps
-Classic yellow Horning's baskets are in good shape
-Fun pond shot on hole 5- it even has an alternate tee pad if you fear water
-Peacocks, chickens, and goats near the barns by hole 1

Cons:

-I guess I didn't like how after 18's throw, the easiest path down is right through 17's fairway.

Other Thoughts:

Alright so I just spent the last 5 minutes trying to think of more cons to list, but nothing comes to mind.

There is a reason why the Fall 2020 Disc Golfer Magazine has this as one of the best short courses in the world. It's one of my favorite courses period. Sure it's short, but that's the intent- and ace runs are fun!

The Highland course is one of those courses that is just naturally awesome. While I appreciate courses with artificial flair, this place doesn't need any of that. It's got short and technical, as well as some open holes that allow for multiple shot shapes. The home-made baskets catch alright and I liked how they have a small cage on top of them for a light for glow golf.

My 2 and 5 year old's enjoyed it and were even able to walk the entire course- which is not always the case.

Aside from the list of pros above, I must mention the vibe of Horning's Hideout is really something special. I am confident experienced disc golfers as well as new players will really enjoy this destination location.

I would rate this a 5.0 for short courses, but a 4.0 when it comes to comparing to all other courses.

$5.00 is a steal considering you get to play this as well as the other two courses. I'm looking forward to returning here soon!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Nate32
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.6 years 74 played 60 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Amazing Views with an amazing course! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 18, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Highland Course at Horning's Hideout is yet to be one of my favorite shorter courses. This course offers amazing views as well as some great fun shots through the woods. This course is one of three courses at Horning's Hideout and one of my favorites. The Highland course offers a great variety of holes. Some are in the woods and some are in the open. Although the longest hole is 245 feet it still is a great warm up course for the other 2 courses. I really like the homemade baskets. Some homemade baskets I have seen are not that great but Bob Horning definitely put a lot of work into them.

When you miss a put on the top of the basket or on the bottom of the basket. The basket reacts to make this loud sound which is annoying, but it makes you really want to make your putts. Great hardware on this course. Tee signs are laminated paper but they work. The tee pads are gravel though.

I would not recommend going in the winter just like a lot of courses in Oregon. It will get muddy and soupy. So its not the funnest experience. Hole 18 is probably my favorite hole. This hole is straight downhill and most people throw mid range or putter. What a way to end the course.

Hole 5 is straight over water. If you are just starting to play I would not recommend this hole to you. Hole 6 plays on the side of the water. This hole is fine but if you want to play safe play off to the right.

Compared to the other courses this course is the easiest one by FAR. The canyon course is definitely harder which is fine but I like both of them. The bathrooms are great as well as a big course map. Admission is $5 I believe.

This course is great to play as a warm up. I did play Canyon and Highland in one day. Trust me it is doable. This course does get maintained and mowed. Not very crowded at all. I did not have to wait until hole 17 on the canyon course.

The first few holes are uphill. Man quite the hike. This course starts off with a few open holes than moves its way out into the woods. HOLE 4. Watch out there is a pond right in back of the hole. Personally you could lay up or leave it short. This pond is not visible from the tee as well.

Cons:

Not very many cons. But this course does get really muddy in the winter so best to refer from that and play in the summer. The baskets do get a little annoying if you miss. Hikes in between holes are not that bad but it gets worse on the Canyon course. I would recommend the map or take a picture of it when you get there.

I really want them to put in concrete tees. This course would get much better if they had a couple more pieces of hardware.

They also need to add new tee signs. There not great but it is better than no tee signs.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a warm up course. The Meadows course is a hike. Thats what I heard. If you want to squeeze in every course in one day I would recommend getting up at 6:00. Plus in the morning you get amazing views. On hole 14 they really need to remove two trees. This hole is uphill and not really that fun when the two trees are right in the middle.

The Highland course is one of my favorite shorter courses and I would definitely like to play these courses again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
DarkRye
Experience: 30 played 7 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 28, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Hornings is disc golf paradise. This course offers really nice open shots but also has a decent amount of variety. Meant to be the easiest of the three courses on site, intermediate players will find most holes in birdie territory. But, the key with easier courses is still making it interesting, and the elevation/trees/pond definitely do a great job with that.

Cons:

There is one narrow fairway hole that shoots uphill with the pond to your left, my less experienced friends didn't have the best time on that hole. Probably want to recommend a flick to lower level players if they are right-handed on that one, very easy for newbies to find themselves in the pond.

Other Thoughts:

Amazingly well maintained, and easy to navigate. Was 1 foot away from acing hole 18 last time I went. Such a fun shot, steep downhill with basket on right. Perfect for my Mako3 anny shot. Some great memories here at Hornings, don't miss an opportunity to come here! If you are more of an intermediate player, definitely check out their Canyon course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
Pierparknut
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.8 years 89 played 85 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 18, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

-The Highland Course, the shortest of the three tracks at Horning's Hideout, is 100% pure fun. Holes range from 150 to 250 feet. Every hole is unique in its own way and every hole is an opportunity to run an ace.

-The course starts in the meadow by the entrance road and works its way west, past the pond, up into the woods, and back around. The layout makes excellent use of the rolling hills; 8 holes play downhill while the uphill ones are reasonable in grade.

-Concrete tee pads are well-made, perfectly flat and textured. The John Houck Design signs are excellent as well, showing the elevation change from tee to basket. Several holes have 30 ft or more of elevation!

-Well-kept bathrooms near the parking area.

-Best holes
#5, one of the longer holes on the course, plays 240 feet over a small pond to a basket tucked in the middle of three large firs
#10 is a fun chip hyzer woods shot with a hill behind the basket, one of several excellent opportunities to run an ace
#18 is an excellent 230 foot downhill finisher. A dozen or so peacocks can be found meandering about near the shed to the right of the basket.

-There's not a bad hole on the course. Every hole requires a different, creative shot.

Cons:

-My only real knock on the course is the baskets. They are certainly easy to see, and have plenty of chains, but the poles act very stiff and are eager to bounce back a dead-center putt.

Other Thoughts:

-I believe that there are supposed to be lights on top of the baskets for night golf. However, most of them were missing.

-This is a fantastic course for all skill levels. Advanced players can have fun running up as many birdies as possible. Intermediate players will be challenged to hit every line, but should still finish a few strokes under par. And it's perfect for beginners, being rarely crowded, and full of opportunities to get that first birdie.

-Highland is a perfect, 45-60 minute warm up to either of the two longer courses on the property. Or, if you're feeling ambitious, you can make a day trip out of it and play all 54 holes at once. Whatever your plan, Horning's Hideout is certain to please.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Breh
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.8 years 191 played 189 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 11, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Hornings hideout is A very amazing scenic place with 3 courses on site. This course highland is the begginers course. It's mainly designed for new players or families. It has great tee signs showing distance and elevation. Everything is basically an ace run with hole 5 throwing over a little lake to a tucked out pin around 250 feet one of the longest holes on course. Navigation is super simple and a great place to have an ace race tournament at. They also have glow lights on top of the baskets not sure if they work but would be fun for glow. Good use of elevation shots for such a short course as well

Cons:

It's very short with probably only 3 holes over 200 feet.
The baskets are homemade however catch decent and for this course not really an issue.
Short tee pads but again for this course they're big enough for what you need.

Other Thoughts:

Come to hornings as you have 3 amazing courses and different difficulty to choose from. It's a great day of golf. You will have to drive around a half mile down gravel road that can be sketchy depending on weather but always a fun time here and great views and lots of peacocks
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
handwasher
Experience: 11.8 years 106 played 15 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great ego boost course! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 12, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Everything is an ace run, so this is a great course for practicing your upshots and putt/approach discs.

Great pick-me-up if you've been taking it on the chin recently. Grab a half-dozen birdies and a few ace runs here.

Cons:

It's short. Like, really short. Some of the holes are jump putts.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 4
JerichoBronco
Experience: 9.9 years 36 played 19 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Best course a newer player can play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 20, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

I can't think of a more beautiful course that I have played

Great signage

Good transitions

Cons:

Watch out for stinging nettle!

Other Thoughts:

You won't find a better pitch n' putt course than this. Beginners will find it challenging, but not too hard. The longest hole is only 245, with 170 being the average hole length. So you are never too far from the basket if you make a poor shot. This shorter distance would be good for older kids too. My 7 year old played the entire course, she didn't complain about how far the holes were like she normally does.

Intermediate players will enjoy the shorter technical shots and have fun going after aces. It's going to be a lot of putter shots for the int player (think I used a mid once) and they still take skill to hit the lines but it's easy to play well under par out here. Again it's not a hard course, but sometimes it's nice to go for aces every time.

Although there is a good amount of brush and underfoliage it is trimmed back far enough that you shouldn't have a hard time if you have an errant tee shot (I can only think of 1 hole that was pretty thick, I think it's hole 5 or 6, an uphill tight shot).

This is the perfect compliment to their other courses. I like to play this one first to warm up then head down to the others.

You are going to a course in a dense forest. The reason it is dense is they get a lot of rain. Waterproof shoes would be preferable.

Plan on spending all day out here
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
Scott64a
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Good Warm Up 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 10, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice short course to warm up on, or really good for kids and beginners. It's well laid out and easy to navigate.

Cons:

It would be nice to have a marker at each basket pointing the way to the next tee. Some of us forget what the hole map said hahaha
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Murdoc Loch
Experience: 19.7 years 62 played 15 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Putt a Birdie on it. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 15, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-The Highlands Course at Horning's Hideout is a pitch and putt, and in that context this is a wonderful course. It's quite fun for the length and I usually play a quick little warm up round here before moving onto the other courses at Horning's.

-There is a nice amount of variety at Highlands (especially for a pitch and putt) - A few holes near water, elevation changes, etc.

-This a great course for young kids and new disc golfers.

-This course has great signage. The signs are very detailed with all of the distances and elevation changes right there on the sign.

- Clean bathrooms near the parking lot (next to Canyon Course's hole #1 teebox).

- This is a pretty clean course, not much trash gets piled up or if it does, it get's cleaned up pretty frequently.

- Sweet custom made baskets made by Bob Horning - They make a really nice sound when you hit them too.

-This course makes great practice for your short game or if you just feel like going for some ace runs.

Cons:

-Some of the tees are close to either; other tees or other baskets and this can cause distractions and hold ups.

-This course has no benches, not really a big deal since it's so short though.

-The space next to and beyond hole 16 and 18 is sometimes used for parking during special events (weddings and the like), it's never fun to hit someones car with an errant drive.

Other Thoughts:

-They did a nice job of adding a certain amount of risk in going for aces on a lot of holes, usually with seep drop offs or out of bounds lines right behind the basket. Although the opposite is the case on 7, 8, 10 and 17, these all have hills behind their baskets.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Ocelotl
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.5 years 40 played 18 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Pitch N' Putt 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 3, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

First off this is a true pitch n putt, I use this course for putting practice and working on short range layups. With that said there are many positives that larger "full" courses dont have.

-Layout, for a number of holes being crammed in a tight space there isnt much overlap or danger of throwing into other people.

-Hornings Signage, all of the tee signs across all three courses are very well designed, providing all of the information play the course.

-Night/glow golf, if you are camping it is awesome to get a night round in out here.

-Challenging short shots, there are a few holes in the middle that challenge you to hit a specific line, it is great to walk out here with 3-4 putters and give the approach game a workout before going over to canyon or meadow.

-Scenery/Wildlife, as with all hornings courses it is simply beautiful out there, plus you never know what critters you will run into, I threw on 12 went down to the basket and realized a deer was standing about 15' away from my disc, it calmly wandered a few feet away let me pick up my disk and then got back to eating a shrub, pretty damn cool.

-Beginner friendly, great family activity when the wife and nieces and nephews all want to go and "throw" this is the place to make it happen.

Cons:

-First few holes are kinda throwaway, just open shots not really challenging or interesting.

-Occasional pack golf, part of being beginner friendly is dealing with the packs of folks not very familiar with the game, making for a few slow rounds.

Other Thoughts:

Horning is a true DG gem, and this course is great to have on site. If you take it for what it is, its a great place to warm up and to work on precise upshots.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 3
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 13, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set on private property that is set up for a few different activities. But, it seems like if the course is open, then there won't be any interference by default!
- Decent amount of the holes are set in within a forested area, to force some line shaping and provide opportunities to be stuck in the rough. Holes #7 thru #13 are deeper in the woods, with tighter lanes to the basket. Some of the more interesting ones include an RHFH hyzer on #9, a very wide hyzer or anny around a copse of trees on #10, a very tight and very downhill shot on #12, and some simpler hyzers.
- Other holes are more open, with more mature trees to force certain shots. #5 is a RHBH anny/flex shot over a small pond and into a ring of trees, #14 is an open shot once you get past some tight gaps directly off the tee. #15 is a sharp hyzer that slopes to the left, and #18 is a good downhill shot that has the typical RHBH hyzer lane blocked. Definitely the possibility of getting hung up outside of the woods on these holes.
- Constant elevation changes really help make this course fun and interesting. The downhill shots on #12 and #18 are pretty extreme, and the uphill slopes on #5 and #7 aren't too shabby. Plenty of spots where an errant shot can roll away as well, both in and out of the woods.
- Some tricky basket placements to liven things up; #5's is between five giant fir trees, #6's is behind some very large tree trunks, #11 and #15 are sloped behind the basket, and #17's is on a slope as well.
- Homemade baskets are sweet! Tee signs are very nice as well. Mostly natural teepads, but the holes are short enough where it really doesn't matter. Navigation is a breeze.

Cons:

- Most obvious con at this course is the short hole lengths. How short? Average length of 172', with eight of the holes at or under 150'. Definitely a warm up course for any skill level. Still pretty fun though.
- A few holes are pretty much wide open, like #1 thru #3, and #17.

Other Thoughts:

- This is a fantastic beginners course, or a warm-up course before hitting up the other two on the premises. There is enough line shaping to warrant some very different shots, and enough troublesome areas where a bad shot can be punished. Water is definitely in play on #5 and sort of #6 as well. Definitely worth shooting through once if time allows.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
ohtobediscing
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 44.4 years 401 played 41 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Lucky Charms! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 10, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

We arrived to camp late afternoon, and immediately went and played this course, where I shot -8. At midnight we went back [nicely toasted] with two discs each[white] and headlamps and I shot -11. My buddy dinked his in the water's edge at #5 and fell in while retrieving it. I tumbled all the way down the trail going to pin #12 but only got dirty during the experience. He lost a Leopard on #13 but we found it the next morning. We decided body-rolling down the hill at #18 was easier than walking. The hardest part was not giggling like giddy schoolgirls as we walked back to camp past the owner's residence at 2 am.
Its OK as a beginner's course, as its rarely crowded and the quiet isolation is conducive to ponderous thought. But the open shots have unusual and/or sudden elevation changes, and the closed-in fairways require precision or you'll be invoking Olde Scottish oathes ("Ach. I'm really bad at this.") as you explore the local shrubbery. There's enough woods/undergrowth at the sides of several of the fairways to spend some time disc-hunting if you're Driving While Imbibing. An overthrow at #2, 12, or 18 can add a couple strokes each. Underthrow at #5 and you're in the lake.
None of these are a con, however: they're just stations on the way to the pot o' gold. Which is exactly what the baskets look like: giant semi rims repurposed, chained and painted brilliant yellow, that go "DONNNNNGG!!!" like a county Cork church death knell when you flub your putt.
If you've blown your driving ability on the other two courses you might still have enough arm to play this one and really enjoy the variety of shots, elevation, woodsiness and isolation. And the peacocks.

And bring some Scotch. For the Little People.

Cons:

The long concrete tees and bomber homemade baskets are lighted, but not all the lights work or solarly charge well enough to illuminate the moors. Best to play this in the daytime first and learn it.
During concert events like String Summit, all the field holes will have campers, and the woods will have drunken, wasted wanderers mumbling about like Henry Thoreau at Walden.

Other Thoughts:

The camping is excellent and cheap, and if you're here in the off-season/weekday, you'll have enough room on the various grassy tent terraces for a large game of catch-and-toss. Quickie marts, grocery, pubs and restaurants are 6 miles away, so don't arrive without appropriate supplies.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
ninja-don
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.5 years 29 played 25 reviews
4.00 star(s)

One Disc Wonder!!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 15, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Easy course. But very fun!
- Baskets here are all home made, painted bright yellow (very easy to see), and well made at that, they catch disc very well... maybe beter than any other basket I've played.
- Layout was good, and easy to follow... you could normally see the next tee from the basket, or at least follow a trail to the next one.
- There are caged LED lights on top of the baskets and near most of the tee areas so you could play some night (glow) golf.
- Tee signs are excellent!!! they are very nice and accurate. They also have the elevation change for each hole from tee to basket (EXAMPLE: +11ft or - 25ft), this was nice as it made me think about if I need more or less on my shot, which I rarely pay attention to otherwise.
- A great warm up course.
Trash can were placed all around the course, which left the area very clean.
- If you need a fast game... this is course for you only took me about 35min for 18 holes. Great cooldown or warm up for the other courses.
-You can get towles from the house were you pay. The towels are free to use, just bring them back where you got them.
- Normally a pay to play course is a con for me, but $3/person for ALL DAY and for ALL 3 courses... that is a deal!
- Drinking water available for free (not bottled).
- Porta-potties all over the place. Not so many on the courses but before and after for sure.

Cons:

- Not all of the lights (baskets or teesigns) were in working condition.
- I know it not the courses fault, but plan accordingly to not have cell phone service here. (It works before you start down the dirt road so it's not that far to drive back out if you really needed to make a call).
- Also not needed, but kind of a con for me since this place is so great for disc golf is the fact that they don't have disc for rent or for sale. (This would really put them over the top in my book, as it is the only really major thing I think this place is missing).
- Tee pads were either short or dirt, but for me this didn't really matter since the wholes were short enough that I really wasn't doing any kind of run up.

Other Thoughts:

- Be prepared to drive down a narrow dirt/gravel road with blind corners. (I drove a lowered honda and made it just fine, but it wasn't ideal) I don't think there is any car that couldn't make it, just be ready for it.
- This is a great beginer, warm up, or cool down course. It's a fast round, great for family or younger players... or perhaps a skins round.
- Only need one disc if you have a good alround disc for this course. I shot under par with a Innova Roc in 32 minutes the morning before I left.
- This being the easier of the 3 courses you can get a little more challenge from the Canyon Course or even try the Pro rated Meadow Ridge course for even more challange.
- Camping and fishing available here... I paid $15 dollars to camp on site... it was well worth it since I was in the middle of my trip and wanted to play all these courses.
- I was able to play all three courses after palying Pier Park and taking lunch and dinner breaks. If you have the energy... it's completely possible (and recommended) to play all three courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
austoroc
Experience: 19.8 years 71 played 20 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great for Kids or Warm-up 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 12, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

As the easiest course out of three at Horning's Hideout, it is something that a family can enjoy. For instance, if I had kids who are still learning how to play disc golf, I'd have them play on this course while I play at Canyon or Meadow Ridge. There are couple of holes that are over 200 feet, and the rest

However, my brother-in-law and I played this course after playing the other two, and we found the course amusing and very relaxing. It's a great wind-down course for us.

The course is actually scenic, especially with couple of holes that plays around the pond. I also noticed that the baskets on this course has a light on top, and I assume it is for playing in the dark with glow discs. That would be fun!

This course is great for warm-up, because all you really need (at least for me) was a putter and maybe a midrange disc. I used my Yeti Aviar and Buzzz the whole round.

Cons:

Some of you won't want to play this course because, quite frankly, it's too easy. This course is where I got a score of -12 on my first try.

Another minor drawback is that many of the tee boxes are quite small.

Other Thoughts:

Next time I come to Horning's Hideout, I think I would play this course first so I can at least warm up my arm before moving on to the Canyon course.

If you drove a long way to play at Horning's Hideout, I think it's worth warming up at this course then get the chance to play Canyon or Meadow Ridge afterward.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
forehandfranz
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 31.8 years 226 played 128 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Playing Under the Lights 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 25, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

One of the only courses I know that has lights on the baskets and tee pads! This is a fantastic warmup or wind-down for a day at Horning's Hideout. Most of the course plays as an old school pitch and putt (only 4 holes are over 200' (the longest being 245') and will serve your short accuracy driving game.

The first part plays up through open rolling grassy hills with pins placed along woods edge. Then it goes up in the woods for awhile and gets narrower and a little more technical. The pin positions on many holes are devilishly perched on the edges of hills. Will you go for the ace or lay up? Fun.

Cons:

Very minor pick - The only problem with the solar lights is the ones that are located in thicker trees = dim sunlight = low charge = low light at night.

Other Thoughts:

This course may not blow you away, but I see it as an essential part of the Horning's experience.
I've gotten two aces out of my three rounds played there!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
The Doctor
Experience: 20.8 years 61 played 8 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nice executive course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 23, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great landscaping. fun little 18 hole course with lots of easy shots.

Cons:

short and easy. they have plenty of room. should be more challenging and up to tournament standards

Other Thoughts:

Good for the novice players. every hole is an ace chance
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
dgjordan
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Imaginative and Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 23, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course will have you trekking up and down the hillside. There is great usage of the natural terrain including a cross-pond shot and several 15' up/down elevation shots. There are plenty of fun pins to shoot for at all levels and abilities. It also works as a great warm-up game if you are going to tackle either of the other two courses.

Cons:

I don't have any complaints. It is definitely the best pitch'n'putt I have ever played.

Other Thoughts:

Could be a great date course if you bring someone who has never played before.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
JR Stengele
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23.8 years 251 played 191 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Highland Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 5, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The Highland Course at Horning's Hideout is an 18 hole "Pitch and Putt", and the second addition to this magical place. When playing this course, you have to come in to it with an open mind, as it is not extremely challenging, but is quite unique, and is the perfect compliment to the other two courses on site. Holes range from 130 - 245 feet, and incorporate several of the elements including water and elevation. Pin placements can be challenging and each hole it well thought out. The homemade baskets are durable, and catch well, and the tee signs done by Houck are phenomenal! They show distance, elevation changes (+/-), and any and every obstacle to scale on the course. The homemade baskets also have lights on top so people can play a challenging game of glow golf. Navigation is quite easy, and the course is short enough to finish within an hour as long as it is not crowded.

Although there are a few signature holes on the course, hole # 5 is my favorite. This Par 3 is 240 feet, and has players throwing over water right off the tee pad. Once the water is cleared, the disc must cross an open field toward the pin which is strategically placed in the middle of some towering old growth trees. It is quite picturesque!

Cons:

Not a con really but make sure to bring a flash light. When I played with my buddy, several of the tee pads and baskets were not lit due to the solar panels not getting enough light. Once we flashed it however, they lit up like a Christmas tree.

Other Thoughts:

The Highland Course was the first time I ever had the opportunity to play a full round of glow golf and it did not disappoint! For being a pitch and putt, it was pretty intense, especially in the dark. I wanted to review this course, but would not until I played it at least once during the day because the first time I played it was pitch black. I was amazed to compare my two rounds and see how truly different it felt. When playing, I made sure to bring my Buzzz and some L.E.D's. During the day I just added a putter to compliment my Buzzz. I knew night golf was great but I feel fortunate to have this as my first true experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top