• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Buxton, OR

L.L. Stub Stewart SP - Lil' Stub

3.385(based on 8 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

L.L. Stub Stewart SP - Lil' Stub reviews

Filter
1 5
sillybizz
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 22.4 years 437 played 434 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Very fun short course that I played long ago

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 30, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Fun, wooded course like it's bigger brothers but short

Cons:

- A short course I remember vaguely

Other Thoughts:

I'm trying to close the courses played vs courses reviewed gap so this review is lacking, feel free to thumb me down.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.1 years 1058 played 627 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 11, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

Lil' Stubb is great lil' 9 hole compliment to the Hare's Canyon course that starts right next to the start of this one. Great warm up or cool down course for the big course, but honestly just an all around fun little ace run or putter only course.

The course plays in the same heavily wooded forest as it's neighbor. There's still some elevation involved just on a much tamer scale. The design does a nice job of having both BH and FH favoring shapes off the tee. It's short enough that advanced players will be able to even just jump putt on few.

Very straightforward navigation here. Once you find the first tee the next hole is always very close to the previous basket. The course starts and ends right by the main park road next to the hilltop day use parking lot.

Bright yellow banded Discatchers on each hole. Easy to spot, mounted level and catch great. Zero complaints with these.

The tees are the same brick models that are featured on all three courses here. These are nicely done and work great.

Cons:

The rough is gnarly off, sometimes even on the fairway in spots. Mostly in way of the ferns, though there are all types of other thick plants. luckily the distances are so short that this shouldn't be too big of an issue. That said it's still very possible to lose a disc, at minimum you'll probably end up searching for awhile.

No marking as to where the course actually starts without a map. If you have Udisc you'll be fine.

$5 for a day pass is steep if you're just playing this one, though I find that it's highly unlikely anyone reading this isn't playing Hare's Canyon too.

Honestly I don't have much else negative to say about this one.

Other Thoughts:

This was a fantastic little heavily wooded putter course in a gorgeous forest. Absolutely worth a visit if you find yourself out here to play the main course or are camping. Probably my all time favorite "putter" course. It shot a -7 on here but I could also just as easily see myself shooting an even par tbh. Very fun little course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
Nate32
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.9 years 75 played 60 reviews
3.50 star(s)

super fun short course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 21, 2021 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

L.L. Stub Stewart State park is located in Buxton, Oregon. This state park offers two disc golf courses. One is Lil Stub, and the other is The Hares Canyon Course. This short nine hole course plays in a canyon just north of the main course and offers technical short lines which can be challenging if you get a nasty tree kick.

Each hole is under 200 feet. I really like the setting for both of these courses. I went on a super misty morning and it was absolutely beautiful. Each hole is fully equipped with a new discatcher baskets and concrete tee pads.

Each hole really only requires a putter and you will definitely not need a driver for this course. Lil Stub offers some short technical holes. This course is very beginner friendly since every hole is very short unlike the main course.

Course layout is nice and makes it way down the canyon and back up. Its a great course to warm up for the Hares Canyon.
I do like what they did with how they set up each course.
Hole 8 is interesting because they placed the basket right in back of a big tree so it makes for some fun shots.

I can tell the landscapers take great care of this course because it is well maintained and there aren't too many branches in the way.

Cons:

It is kind of unmarked on where Lil Stub is. It would be nice if they added some better tee signs and signage as to where the course is in relation to the main course. If you are looking for a real challenge this course probably isn't it due to length.
There is a five dollar fee to get a day pass if you are looking to play both courses.

Other Thoughts:

This course is perfect for beginners and It is a great warmup course if you are looking to play the main course. Lil Stub is also a great putter course if you need to take a break from a road trip. Overall a really good beginner course and a great warm up course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
Pierparknut
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.1 years 90 played 87 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 21, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

-This is one of the most fun, challenging, short courses I've played. All the great qualities of the main Hares Canyon course are scaled down brilliantly into a 9-hole pitch and putt.

-The course winds through the same forested hillside as the Hares Canyon course -- a serene, classic PNW setting. Foliage is not thick but ferns abound, which are phenomenal disc concealers. However, given that no hole exceeds 150', lost discs shouldn't be too big of an issue.

-Every hole has a fair line and an ace opportunity without being a gimme. An early tree hit and you may find yourself working hard to save par.

-The course layout very easy to follow; the paver tees and Innova baskets are in great condition.

-Holes 2 and 3 are the standout holes on this course. #2 is a gentle anhyzer requiring excellent touch to avoid blowing by the basket, and #3 is a vertical drop downhill of 120' reachable with a putt. It's almost a carbon copy of hole #4 at Rooster Rock East.

Cons:

-There's really nothing wrong with this course. It doesn't have fancy tee signs, but those are not essential for a course of this length. However, a sign at the entrance encouraging new players to turn left onto the trail for this course would be great. The long course is absolutely not beginner-friendly.

Other Thoughts:

-On its own, a course of this length probably isn't worth the drive (1 hr west of Portland). But it's a great "secondary attraction" to the main course or another outdoor activity (camping, biking, and hiking are all popular at the park).

-This course is such a fantastic addition to the park. For experienced players, it's an excellent warm up. For new players, campers, or visitors to the park looking to try out disc golf, it's perfect. The holes are short, fun, and exciting. Grab a couple putters and have a blast!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
creeddude98
Experience: 6 played 5 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Great Practice Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 28, 2021 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is a great practice course to get you familiar with the lay of the land to prep for Hares Canyon. Hole 3 is really fun as it drops over 100' to the hole.

Cons:

Haven't found any.

Other Thoughts:

Very good course with shorter distance holes under 300'. Course seems well designed and challenging. Very hilly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Breh
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 192 played 190 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 14, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a really good warmup to the big stub course. It's got an average hole length of around 140 feet. It still has the stub feeling with the trees, and beautiful scenery. It's got good ace run lines, and good elevation change. Nice tee pads and baskets. Easy navigation and fun shots/basket placements. It's got great elevation change for just being a short nine hole course.

Cons:

Nothing over 175 leave the drivers behind. Some ferns can make disc hard to locate if by yourself. Some holes have hole number on it some are missing no tee signs :/

Other Thoughts:

This course starts left of the main course, and This is a good course for family new players, or to warmup/ have an ace race competition.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Pitch & Putt Offers Beginners An Actual Wooded Disc Golf Experience! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

So this is my second attempt at reviewing this course. My first attempt went down in flames as a savvy reader (someone actually reads these?) pointed out that I had actually reviewed the front 9 of the 18 hole Hares Canyon course. So I call a do over.

Everything I found says the Lil' Stub course starts near the practice basket. I found the practice basket but finding the # 1 tee box was a little difficult. One thing to remember is the 18 hole course has orange baskets while the Lil' Stub 9 has brand new yellow Discatchers complete w/ number on top. Lil' Stub has small patio tee pads and simple little signs giving the hole #. The course plays in the same densely wooded forest as the bigger course, complete with the disc hiding sword ferns. There is some nice elevation to contend with. In other words, this is a quintessential Pacific Northwest forest you're playing through. The difference is this course is short, averaging about 100' per hole. Once you find # 1, navigation is very easy.

# 1 is 80' needing just a little anhyser.
# 2 is 125' straight ahead.
# 3 is is neat little 85' downhill throw. It has a cool tee pad area with bench.
# 4 is 120' with one large Fir tree to avoid.
# 5 is 120' slightly uphill.
# 6 a 120' needing a little S curve action.
# 7 is about 100', slightly up and very tight.
# 8 finds the basket behind two large trees 110' and slightly uphill.
# 9 is 110' up a steeper hillside but has a fair route getting there.

Cons:

For what this course was designed for, not much.

There could be a better marked trail getting to the # 1 tee pad.

Not much chance of losing a disc but better than average chance, you'll be searching under the sword ferns.

$ 5 fee is worth it if you play both courses.

Other Thoughts:

Nice little warm up course before tackling the tight, technical 18 course. Or a great little course for beginners. What I like most about Lil' Stub is it gives beginners the wooded course education but with these short distances it won't frustrate. I think it'll get them excited about disc golf. They get to experience the things we all love like being in the beautiful forest, following cool little marked trails and having to negotiate some elevation changes and successfully making a variety of throws.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
john82blacksheep
Experience: 15 years 140 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

1 Disc Is All You Need (Maybe 2) 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 21, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a great little 9 hole course if you are just starting out or if you are on the hunt for Aces. It was designed to be a more family friendly option to the 18 hole course on site and I would say that it meets that goal well. The fairways have been cleared to reduce the risk of loosing a disc in the ferns, but you still get the feel of playing in the woods. Most if not all holes have both forehand and backhand options. There are some elevation changes on a few holes and it just wouldn't be Stub without a few trees in the way to give you something to think about.

Cons:

This course is short, possibly too short for more experienced throwers to play on a regular basis. All holes can easily be reached with a controlled putter shot. Hole #3 is the shortest and since it is a fairly steep downhill shot, I can putt from the tee, although others that I have played with still opt to throw from the tee. I could see some getting bored with this course if played too frequently or several times.

Other Thoughts:

I think that this is a very versatile course. Whether you are a new player out for an enjoyable round, working on your short game, chasing Aces or just using it as a warm-up before playing the big 18, this course has a little bit for everyone. If this were the only course at the park I'm not sure I could justify paying $5 day use fee every time to play it. However, if you have a Oregon State Park Pass or are planning on playing the longer course anyway, the parking fee is less of a factor. Either way I would definitely recommend playing this at least once.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top