• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Hughesville, PA

Lime Bluff Recreation Area

2.945(based on 27 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Lime Bluff Recreation Area reviews

Filter
9 0
itsRudy
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 8 years 78 played 66 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Flatter Than An Ironing Board

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 8, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

You may think I hated the course from the title, but it's just warning others who prefer their courses to be a hike. And that's fair, but I think diversity should allow courses of all styles. Here, in stead of elevation, there were a variety of gimmicks I enjoyed and just a pleasant, easy going round for the most part. And after some truly epic courses like Faylor Lake, I just wanted to unwind and not feel like I was traversing yet another section of the Appalachian Trail.

Lime Bluff is very well taken care of, almost resembling a Japanese garden in parts. Very pretty trees, bushes, and sculpted, by mower blade, heavy weeds pepper the course, to obscure baskets and shape disc paths. They also use basket mounds multiple times, even an open fence once to partially block the basket. There is a modest pond that is a factor on three holes but it isn't intimidating in size. The signature is an old farm house partial wall hiding #17's basket, the dolphin/fish on top was a nice touch and typical of the charm of the place.

Two tees and two baskets per hole, with green baskets for the advanced. Lime Bluff is a decent stop if you're around.

Cons:

#11 thru 14 play into this corner and into themselves. Four that are nearly side-by-side-by-side-by-side in this too-small space. Also by this point in the course, I'm thinking "I've seen this shot here already" and there are suddenly four more like it with the groves of trees and little difference else. It's not a showstopper but it's noticeable.

Navigation to next tees is sometimes abysmal. For much of the course it's pretty apparent, but I had to dig out my phone a lot to see where I'm throwing or where I'm going. On #7's tee, threw it backwards, and from #10, went straight to #13 since the tee was right there while #11 was a walk. The #11-14 corner is a mess of baskets, as one can imagine.

Other Thoughts:

Overall I really enjoyed the aesthetics of this course, the care the designers took in sprucing it up, and the maintenance that goes into it. Easy going rounds help temper with days of hikes some other course are imo.

They took an flat piece of land, a bit on the small side for the purpose, and turned it into a decent 18. That never-the-less limits its appeal to many players who will find the additions gimmicky and caps the ratings potential. I just happen to be someone that enjoys this type of course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Ryal
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 7.1 years 224 played 189 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Calling Lime Bluff

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

+ Lovely park with nice upkeep and strikingly pleasant landscaping.
+ Practice basket and lost disc box.
+ Keystone-shaped concrete tees are flat, wide and long.
+ Unmistakable lines for OB marked by orange flags.
+ Wooden tee signs are colorful, detailed and accurate anchored onto tall and eye-catching bag stands at every tee.

Cons:

- Inadequate 'next' signs. We'll get into that in a minute.
-/+ Overwhelmingly flat.
- Barely any obstacles.

Other Thoughts:

It's not too often that I come across a course like Lime Bluff.
It is so nicely looked after and manicured to a degree that I haven't commonly seen at many other courses in my career so far. As I stood on tee one, I took a deep breath and admired the course's character saturating the grounds in front of me. Tightly trimmed shrubs, pruned trees and purposefully placed plants pepper this property. That very first link was my favorite one to look at.

There are lots of examples of character and scenery here. Link17 features a small stone wall guarding the basket. Four or five of the baskets are either suspended or somehow else elevated atop tiny hills or supported by creative hardware. There are plenty of artsy items sprinkled all over the course to make you stop and look for a few seconds, especially on link4.
Links5 and 8 even feature a small pond to deal with. Link5 in particular was my favorite one to play here for that very reason. I appreciated the challenge of something other than distance and tree pepper. Dealing with trees and water at the same time was fun.

But then it returns to nothing but flat wide grassland with the occasional tree and nothing else for the remainder of the course. My least favorite here was link9 because it is an anemic fairway. By that point, I had already figured out what this course's deal is. Long distances. Open fields speckled with trees. Flat fairways. Rinse, repeat. Those of us who prefer adventurous rocky mountainsides and rugged rooted ravines will find Lime Bluff to be a snore.

It's also kind of annoying to navigate. On fairway4, for example, the player can plainly see multiple baskets, which is slightly confusing. Then, once the proper basket is determined, the player looks around and sees multiple tees with no guidance arrow to point towards the next link, which is slightly irritating. The guiding signs do start to appear in the back nine right when they are absolutely not needed because all of those links are pretty close together and hard to miss. Links11 through 14 are practically bunkmates with how close they are. That wouldn't be so bad, except they play nearly identically.

That's a phrase that describes a majority of the course.
However, I do give it a gentle recommendation as a pleasant course for baggers and a good low-risk distance training ground for locals. For those power players who love to air out their throws, this is actually an ideal course for you.
In closing, Lime Bluff gets a C+ for execution but an A+ for presentation. Yes, its challenges are flat and don't reach out to grab the player, but you hardly every encounter courses as well upkept and cared for like this one. Think of it as the gisc golfing equivalent of 'the scenic route.'
Was this review helpful? Yes No
17 0
HyooMac
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 7 years 427 played 395 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Many Baskets, No Bluff

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 12, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

It's been a long time since this course was reviewed - it's matured a bit, though it's still an 18 hole layout on a wide open and flat property. Designers have tricked up many holes with artificial hazards, and installed multiple baskets to create some variety.



+ Most of the holes have very good signs showing the variety of ways to play, with distances for short and long tees, each to an "A" and "B" basket


+ There's a pond that comes into play on 5 Long. Trees bordering the property have grown in over the years and eliminated much danger from a stream that runs alongside several other holes. There's a great old rock wall with a hole framing the basket if you're playing 17 Long


+ The main tees are concrete; short tees are rubber. The equipment is old, but functional. Old DGA's that catch fine, bag hooks on the tee posts, concrete tees showing some cracks but still intact


+ Good use of OB lines (especially on four side-by-side holes on the back nine). I don't know if the painted lines are kept during most of the year (I may have been playing after a recent tournament) - but they really help to force some shot shaping on this mostly open layout. Similarly, there's some very good mowing on the front nine to shape fairways vs. rough


Cons:

- Can be very confusing. Baskets aren't labeled very well, and the signage doesn't always do a good job differentiating among them. Especially difficult on side-by-side holes that have 2-3 baskets each. You can stand on the tee, look in the general direction of play, and see up to six baskets that could be in play


Other Thoughts:

~ There's a lot of trickeration on this course. Baskets placed beyond artificial mounds, distracting objects like wishing wells and milk cans, a basket behind a fence, etc. There's a hanging basket on #3 (but it's hanging at normal height, so what's the point?). It occurred to me partway through the round that most of these added features are meaningless because there are so few trees in play. Ignore the earthen mounds, milk cans, etc - and you'll see that almost every hole can be played with a tall hyzer from either side


~ Maybe there are some rec baskets that aren't included on the tee signs?


~ Where's the "Bluff?" This area is flat, and the course has zero elevation change. This is a beautiful park, but it is board-flat and wide open. There's been a lot of effort to make more than what the property gives you. It's entertaining, but you're still playing on an open field course



Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
PuzzledGuy
Experience: 8 played 7 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Open Fun Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 25, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I snuck in two rounds on Christmas morning while Mom was at work, and I'm glad I did. This is a fun little course with concrete tee pads, good signage, and more than a few birdie opportunities.

Although the course is very flat and open, the designers made decent use of landscaping to make for an enjoyable course. There aren't any tight lines to hit, or wooded holes to navigate - you'll be able to air out your shots on every hole.

But there are some challenges thanks to some trees, a number of guarded baskets, and good basket placement near a pond and a stream.

Cons:

Multiple baskets coupled with close fairways made for a couple of confusing situations. The second round was definitely easier, but I did notice one or two baskets that maybe should have been in play.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great course for beginners, and offers a little bit of challenge (and a lot of birdie runs) for more experienced players. There aren't a lot of courses in central PA - hopefully this is the start of adding more!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Bootup
Experience: 11.1 years 10 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 25, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Coming from New England with the tight tree lane this was a blast to play. We didn't have trouble finding it and it only to a quick glance around to fine tee one.
The tee pads are in good shape and the rec tees are good to. We split up and played regulars and rec. found them to be good spacing for someone with a shorter arm to keep up.
Grounds are well maintained. The holes are laid out in a clever way to ad challenge to the course.

Cons:

Multiple baskets make some holes a little confusing for first timers, but the maps do a good job.
Looks like the utility work may cause some problems for the short term.

Other Thoughts:

Meet one of the course volunteers and he was a good help to get us acquainted with the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Horsman
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.8 years 222 played 100 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun Wide Open Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 15, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Plenty of Parking
- Nice concrete Teepads
- The course has a lot of longer holes out there so if you are a player that likes a longer course or throwing a lot of hyzers, then this is the course for you.
- Some holes have a few different pin locations that I can see making the course more or less difficult.
- SOme holes have short teepads for those who do not have the arm to play from the longs.
- Has some pretty cool features to make a wide open course a bit more fun. Rock wall on 17 in front of the basket. Lots of what look like artificial mounds on a lot of the holes making the straight shot a lot harder. Elevated teepads. Hanging basket. String line OB. Mandos. They definitely put some thought into how to make an open course more challenging.
- Some of the pins are prtty close to the water, so the risk reward factor here is pretty high on a few holes. They did a good job with these holes in my opinion.

Cons:

- The directions were a bit tricky to use. My GPS took me about 2 miles from the course. I had to drive around for a while until I finally randomly came upon the course.
- If you dont like throwing Hyzer after Hyzer after Hyzer then I can see you getting bored here but it still has a bit aof distance to make up for it.
- For Pennslyvania, I would of thought there would be more mountains and hills on this course but it is very flat. Call it good or bad, its different.
- A few holes have some parallel fairways which can make for some dangerous shots, but everytime I have been here there hasnt been enough people on the course for this to even matter but I can see it being an issue if the course was full.
- There were a lot of people out enjoying the park for non disc golf related things so be mindful of them while they are on the course.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, I really enjoy the course. It is my style of course where I can let my arm open up and play aggressively. You get rewarded for good shots and beat down with the bad. Id suggest this course to anyone. I find it a lot of fun to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
The0ldMan
Experience: 9.1 years 4 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Give it some time. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 25, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nicely maintained by local volunteers.
A variety of pin locations at several holes.
Some interesting obstacles at a few of the later holes.
The elevated tee is fun to drive off of.
Great for beginners.

Cons:

The trees are too young to add any real variety to the holes. As they mature though, I think the course will really improve with some doglegs and such developing as the trees cover more of the wide open field that's there now.

The elevated tee could use some better stairs.

Holes 11-15 seem a little tightly packed and without the trees to block errant throws, it could be dangerous on a crowed day.

Other Thoughts:

I went on father's day with my whole family and we were the only players when we arrived around noon. One other guy showed up while we were explaining rules and such. His name was Gene and he was actually one of the people responsible for getting this course made. He had a lot of stories about the process of building your own course, and the history of some of the bizarre obstacles scattered around the later holes. He was better than all of us but it was fun to watch someone who could actually throw 300+ foot drives. Had a great time and I will definitely return when I go to visit my parents at their cabin in Sullivan County. Once the trees are big enough to add some challenge, this could turn into a really fun course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Rkilker
Experience: 24.1 years 13 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fun but flat 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 5, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great use of available space. Very nice tee pads and a well maintained park. There is also a nice play area for children so it's a nice place to take the whole family. I also like the interesting use if dirt mounts to add some obstacles and "terrain" on this otherwise flat park.

Update after 6 years:
This course is only getting better each year. The young trees are growing fast and have added great additional challenges. At first glance this course seems wide open but there are sneaky challenges and the OB can really bite you without exercising great control especially on holes 11-14. There are also now 2 baskets on each hole which greatly improves the available play. This has matured into a wonderful course.

Cons:

There is essentially no elevation changes. The front 9 does not loop back to the parking lot so once you start you are mostly committed to playing 18 which is only a problem for me when I bring my young son and he can only handle 9 at a time.

Other Thoughts:

I enjoyed playing here. There are many opportunities to send a full drive down range and young trees provide more obstacles than they would seem to given their size. The people who maintain the course do an excellent job. The whole park is very clean and nicely landscaped.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
DiscLoser
Experience: 11 years 25 played 7 reviews
2.50 star(s)

If it's on your way, then play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 13, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Interesting structures used to shape shots: mounded hills, stone walls, wood structures, wishing wells on top of hills.
Two tee positions per hole.

Cons:

Flat, flat, flat.
High grass makes discs hard to find.
Navigation can be a bit confusing with how tight the layout is.

Other Thoughts:

They did a great job with a flat piece of land; the mounds and hand-made obstacles give it a folk-art disc golf feel. Not a destination course, but for North Central PA residents it is...
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
jkdisc
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 117 played 110 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 16, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a decent course on a flat plot of land. There are some man-made mounds which make a nice addition to the flat park.
The course was well maintained and had nice sized trapezoid tee pads. The tee signs give all the info you need. Navigation was easy with no map.

Other Pros:
- bag hooks
- kiosk with scorecards and a place to write your ace
- pond in play on 2 holes
- some holes with multiple tees
- some holes with multiple baskets
- rock wall guarding 17's basket
- practice basket

Cons:

This is a very hilly area but the park is completely flat except for those man-made mounds. The throws all seemed straight with very few obstacles.

Other Cons:
- tall grass in the rough
- after #16 you cross #4 fairway

Other Thoughts:

The buildings near the parking were under construction while I was there. It didn't effect the disc golf and there were porta-potties to use.

I thought the designer did a nice job with the land provided.
The course was a nice stop to break up a long trip but it's not a destination course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
vicious
Experience: 16.1 years 5 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun but unforgiving 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 10, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Long holes
Very open
Good for every throw
Great signs with diagrams and bag hooks
Concrete tees are excellent
Elevated tee pad for holes 13 and 15 is great

Cons:

The pond is a great target for a bomb from either tee that faces it
The brush is hard to navigate through and finding a disc can be rough or impossible
Holes could have more variety instead of just throwing as far as you can

Other Thoughts:

This course is a ton of fun especially on a great day. The first half of the course is a lot of fun, but by the time you get around to holes 11-16 you may be beat after looking for your discs in the shrubbery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
swatso
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.9 years 759 played 414 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Almond Joy 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Tee areas: All holes, except #13, have tall tee posts, containing a map of the hole, and bag hooks. 10' long, rough concrete, trapezoidal tee pads near the tee posts. Many holes also had alternate (shorter) tee locations, 3'x6' rubber mats. Benches every few holes.

While I'm generally wary of playing a course sans map, this course was a cinch to navigate. All baskets but 15-17 had a "next tee" arrow atop them.

Practice basket.

Number-18 is nicely appointed - a mound of red mulch at the midpoint, with '18' "written" on its side using small white stones, with another mound guarding the basket, and an American flag far in the background.

Cons:

FLAT.

Mostly need to just throw straight, although a few right-turns are needed.

Other Thoughts:

The course plays in the flat, open space, located at the back of a public park, and is bounded by hedgerows and farm fields. Obstacles are few and far between on this course, so the length (average ~350'), and the seemingly omnipresent wind, will provide the greatest challenges. Other challenges include:
- About ½ the holes border fields/hedgerows, so too much turn/fade could cause problems
- About 1/3rd of the baskets are located behind man-made mounds of grass/mulch (or a stone wall, as in the case of #17)
- Holes 13 and 15 have alternate hanging baskets. Holes 5 and 11 also had alternate baskets
- A lot of small trees and bushes have been planted where 8-16 reside, but they are many years away from affecting flight paths

Course has lots of nice touches, but there's only so much one can do with a flat, open field.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
xcrunner134life
Experience: 16.3 years 81 played 14 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 25, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good length
Very open course with a few challenging holes that play along the woods/brush.
Most of the holes have posts with signs and hooks to hang your bag. These are new and all the holes should have these posts soon.
Because of how open the course is, it is very easy to get around for first time players.

Cons:

When it's a windy day, Lime Bluff becomes extremely difficult. Don't expect to do well when windy. Also, if it's rained, the course becomes a swamp. Water doesn't drain well at all.
Hole 9 doesn't meet back with the parking lot.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, there aren't too many courses in the area, so Lime Bluff is an excellent course. Good distance course for big arms. Because it's open, it makes it also a good course for beginners too. They won't get the best scores and will probably be frustrated.
There are a lot of flaws in the course that can't be fixed. The course becomes a complete swamp when it rains (to the point of not worth playing unless you're playing with a group). I drive 30-45 mins to play this when I visit my in-laws because it's the closest to their home. It is worth playing if you're in the area and you want some practice playing in the wind.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
laderjr
Experience: 13.1 years 13 played 13 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice Place! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 19, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Open Flat field
Easy to Navigate
Long Shots
Skill Shots
This course is a new favorite of mine for the fact that it IS wide open. There is a lot of room for error here for the beginner. As long as the Soy Beans on the left side of 3 don't get you and the water at the back of 5 and 6, players can make the whole course without losing a single disc.

Cons:

Windy - this course is in an open field on top of a mountain, it seems to me that the breeze that blows there constantly will have some affect on your game. other than that I was VERY happy with this one.

Other Thoughts:

Bring a lot of water and possibly an umbrella for portable shade. There are trees but the shade is VERY scarce on this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
tmc3442
Experience: 15.1 years 54 played 10 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Hughesville 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 5, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

not many obstacles
easy to navigate
cool basket locations (some raised,some hanging,some have fence around to force skill shots)
not easy to lose disc
not much traffic

Cons:

when it rains its a swamp and i mean bad
plain flat open field
beginers course

Other Thoughts:

it was ok to play once. nothing special but should play if in the area. good course to have a chance at ace cause most baskets are reachable in one throw.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
Hammy
Experience: 13.9 years 9 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 25, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The distance veneration is good the course is well maintained and the traffic is low.

Cons:

Its 100% flat and the only water is the very small pond. All woods is to the right of the Tee which could put some players at a disadvantage
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.3 years 831 played 777 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Great use of a mediocre park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 13, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a large area in a multi-use park, but doesn't conflict with any other park uses. There is no natural elevation, but many holes have man made obstacles like rock walls or earth mounds to add some interest. There is a small pond that adds a nice risk/reward element to one hole. There is a good variety of lengths here, from ace runs to holes that leave room to really rip a drive. The wind rips across the flat open space, and adds a nice challenge.

There are nice concrete tees for every hole that were in good shape and provided good footing even in the early morning dew. The signs were easy to read and made it very easy to navigate the course, with no places where it was difficult to find the basket or the next tee.

It's clear a ton of work has gone into this course to build/make the obstacles and keep it in great shape. The small trees will eventually help make this course more challenging and interesting, kudos to the locals who are working hard to improve the course.

Cons:

The course is flat and wide open. There aren't really places where a specific line is called for, you can pretty much get to all the holes with any throw you prefer, with only wind as an obstacle. The design does a great job maximizing the potential of the space, but there's only so much you can do with a former corn field. When the trees grow up, this will be a much better course.

There had been a recent rain when I played, and a large portion of the course was quite swampy. Make sure you're prepared for lots of standing water and mud if you play when there has been precipitation in the last week or so.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a great place for beginners to learn the game, and to learn how to play in the wind. There aren't many obstacles, but there is a mix of reachable holes and ones that newer players will have to throw multiple drives on. More experienced players will likely find the course a bit repetitive and boring.

The course is an ok place for a fairly quick and easy round. Don't drive way out of your way just to play here, but it's a fun stop if you're passing by.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
MercfromBuffalo
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
2.50 star(s)

If you love wide open then you'll love this course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 31, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course is about as well designed as you can ask for. There is a good variety of short holes (about 250ft) and long holes (about 550ft).

Cons:

This course is somewhat boring. It is placed in a town park that is flat and wide open. There is very little in the way of natural obsticles.

Other Thoughts:

If you play after a severe rainstorm, brings boots. The course had some swampy patches and standing water. Also, try to play after the fields are mowed. When the weeds get up to a couple of inches, keep an eye on your disc. You can easily lose a disc in the fairway.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
jblough
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 85 played 85 reviews
3.00 star(s)

This course will blow you away! Literally! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 29, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- A pond that acts as a water hazard. It's so much fun throwing over it!
- A disc return box by the kiosk.
- Good signage and navigability from tee to tee.
- One of the nicest sets of concrete teepads I've ever played on.
- Parking lot is close to first tee with bathrooms nearby.
- Course is well-maintained by a great bunch of local disc golfers.
- While wind may be a con for some, I think it helps make the mundane/flat nature of the course a little more fun and challenging. A strong gust will really carry your disc and may make an otherwise ordinary par 3 a little more interesting. I recommend bringing an overstable disc to handle the headwinds if you come here.
- Nice use of OB and other objects/structures/dirt mounds to break up the flatness of the course.

Cons:

- Very flat and open! Just one elevation change and one or two more wooded holes and this could easily be a 3.5-4.0 course.
- The rough is just brutal and will eat and digest your discs. This is especially true around the pond and along #9,10, and a couple of others.
- Don't even think about coming here if it just rained; this place turns into a swampy nightmare. It's not uncommon for parts of the course to be under 3-5" of water.

Other Thoughts:

Clearly, some people in the greater Williamsport area really care about disc golf. While the course is admittedly flat and shares characteristics with a hurricane (wet and windy), it's the little things about the course that really make it special. You'll especially notice this on #17 and 18.

As a student at Lock Haven University, this is the closest 18 hole course to my school. Over time, this course has grown on me and I hardly mind the 45 minute commute to play here. When the trees grow here in a decade or two, this place is going to be fantastic!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
optidiscic
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.1 years 156 played 149 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Dressing up a Plain Jane! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 31, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

All of the amenities are here. Nearby restaraunts. Port-a-Pottie, clean park, big concrete tees, good signs, well maintained course, and two tees per hole to appeal to winter/beginner play. There is some unique effort given to make the course more interesting. Often mounds are placed in front of the basket along with bushes, interesting stone wall, mini-golf like structures, as well as a pond to make shots more creative and skillfull. The wind is ever present and will influence your decision making. Decent length as well, requiring often 2 drives or a drive and long approach. I particularly enjoyed the elevated basket on hole #2. I got a call back on a prized star valkyrie...it was returned through the lost disc slot! Trees have been planted..perhaps in 10-20 years this course will have a new flavor? Great place to learn drivers and practice wind and drive game.

Cons:

It is simply the most flat course I have ever played. Even with all of the effort to make the course better the canvas to work on is simply a flat cornfield. Not much else can be done I suppose. The wind can be an annoyance if your not an experienced wind player. Plenty of redundancy here. Often just long fairways running close to one another with obstacles near the basket. The mounds are cool but I would rather see a few more used to elevate the baskets or even to elevate the tees as a way to produce variety rather than just constantly peek-a-booing the basket behind a pile of dirt. After 9 holes I was bored and wondered why I drove all this way to play here.

Other Thoughts:

I found the various structures and mounds very neat when I started my round....After playing 18 I walked past hole #1 and had a different opinion about the mound in front of the basket.....obviously after seeing the same gimmick over and over I got annoyed. This is an open course, not busy and despite being in a mountainous region is terribly flat. This makes it ideal to truly learn how far you can actually throw a drive off a concrete tee. I emptied my bag a few times in frustration trying to reach a basket at a length I swore I was able to reach. If your coming down from NY or Canada or on route 80 it's worth a stop. Maybe a good sidetrip if your ever at the nearby Little League World Series in Williamsport. Otherwise not worth a trip.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top