• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Haltom City, TX

North Park

3.345(based on 61 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

North Park reviews

Filter
3 0
geoloseth
Experience: 45 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Little Gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 9, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The design of the course was phenominal, given the amount of actual space that the park has and the length of the holes. There seems to be no wasred space in the park. The 'creek' comes in to play on many holes adding risk/reward aspects to a good number of holes. But since it is only 2-3 feet wide and very shallow there is very little risk to losing a disc. Good use of the minimal elevation change. The fence was beginning to go in on a few holes to mark fairways which gave a very nice aesthetic and makes you aware of the OB from the tee. The holes were dug for more trees to be planted which is much needed in a few locations.

Cons:

A few pin and tee placements on a couple holes make for a potential hazard ( 16 pin / 17 tee & 4 pin / 5 tee). However trees were in the process of being planted to help protect the tee area. The only other con that stood out was a few of the tee boxes could have been larger ( hole 2 seemed very small).

Other Thoughts:

Overall this course, for me, is worth the trip to the other side of the metroplex. The course seems to be neatly kept and having two tees for most holes adds to the whole experience and creates a much larger course than what you'd expect.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
AthruZ
Experience: 12.8 years 29 played 9 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Don't Let the Trees Beat You! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 3, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I love this course! Short walking distance between tees. Multiple trees make strategy more challenging. Concrete tee boxes instead of dirt which is a plus. Overall I think the city or organization is doing their best to maintain this park in decent shape.

Cons:

Baskets are painted blue and very hard to see. If it was hot pink or orange, it would be a lot better. Also there are no "Next Tee" navigation.

Other Thoughts:

Instead of putting the Disc Golf map near Hole 10, the city needs to put it near Hole 1 so people can review before playing. What were they thinking putting the map information on Hole 10?
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
bmast
Experience: 24 years 54 played 1 reviews
1.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 19, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Fun variety of shots, semi challengin, good use of what elevation is available. Improvements that have been made are very nice (stonewalls and fencing)

Cons:

Baskets look nice but unless you putt with lots of loft and very soft expect spit outs like crazy. Better signage would be nice as well with the course being as compact as it is.

Other Thoughts:

Baskets suck
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 4
danielminnich64
Experience: 15.6 years 11 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 11, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course has improved greatly since the oil company left. Maps on both ends, easy to follow, Challenging, nice baskets. Love all the trees!

Cons:

Frustrating because all my discs become tree magnets when I play here, but that is only because of my inabilities.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.3 years 831 played 777 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Not very exciting 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 12, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a disc golf exclusive area with limited interference from other park uses. A handful of holes have some elevation in play, with a hill on one side of the course. One hole offers an opportunity to throw a nice long downhill drive, and a couple others have some tricky elevation changes to consider.

There are some reasonably technical lines to hit here, with trees in play on most holes. There is an ok mix of potential shots here, though many holes have multiple routes that allow players to stick to a hyzer for much of the course. The dual tees offer a nice mix of hole lengths and some slightly different lines. The alternate pin positions also make for some good variety and replayability. The brand new baskets and concrete tees are in great shape, and the park was clean and free of trash or vandalism.

Cons:

With no signage and baskets without numbers, it can be a real pain to follow the layout here. I had trouble even with the course map, without a map or guide it would be basically impossible to play all the holes in the correct order. There are several spots where multiple baskets are in view, and again the lack of signage makes things a bit confusing.

The course gets a bit repetitive, many of the short tees are similar lengths, and with scattered trees and no rough things start to feel pretty similar. The course isn't all that challenging, all the technical shots are reachable, and the longer holes are open enough to not really provide much of a test.

When I played, half of the course was knee high grass. From the pictures it seems like that was a temporary thing so I didn't ding the rating for it, but it took away from the fun factor on that particular day.

Other Thoughts:

Beginners can have a great time here, especially from the shorter tees. The distances are reasonable, and there are trees to avoid but no punitive rough or really tight lines. More experienced players will find this course a bit repetitive, and even the longer set of tees isn't going to test a full range of disc golf skills.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Highball
Experience: 14 years 13 played 11 reviews
4.00 star(s)

In the trees! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 13, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course had 2 great maps at each end! One greeted you as you dove in so there was no guess work. I printed off the map on line so I was one step ahead. The course was easy to follow and did not need much guess work. Great baskets and new tee pads. There was a nice little creek but for the most part it was dried up. The trees make you work here! I got a kick out of the basket that was mounted in a mini tree stand.

Cons:

Not much to fuss about here. I noticed that some of the baskets were missing. I think that is because they cost a bit and they move them from the "A" to the "B" spot to make the course interesting.

Other Thoughts:

I wish I was not 1/2 way across the country from this course. I'd love to play this one a lot more!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
ColtonV
Experience: 12.7 years 10 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

North Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 31, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

One of my favorite courses to throw. There are 2 tee boxes for every whole, many trees and tricky shots, a cool elevated basket, and much more. There is shade from the trees in many spots and it's not ever TOO crowded (at least when I've been there).

Around whole 15, there is a shot from the top of a hill in which you shoot across a valley into some trees. This hole has a circle tee box. Awesome!

Cons:

Only a few things.
Sometimes the grass is too high so you might be looking for your discs for a long while.
It's right next to some baseball fields so on holes 1,2, and 18 be careful not to hit a car!

Other Thoughts:

All around fun. I had a blast.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
cosmic womb
Experience: 74 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Long time coming! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 31, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Wide variety of shots, and now two sets of boxes on most holes (where there was room). Shade in dead of summer.

Other Thoughts:

This park has been put to the test by floods tornadoes and two gas companies laying pipe. The improvements have been a long time coming and worth the wait. Course map will soon be up at hole #1 and #9 to help with navigation as well as other directional assistance.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
aggiegreg
Experience: 13.2 years 33 played 9 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Construction DONE!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 23, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-multiple turain
--Up and downhill shots
--Wooded and open field shots
-brand new tee pads
--most holes have two tee pads
-signs marking what holes you are at
-nice bridges

Cons:

-extremely easy to get lost in pile of baskets
-when it rains it is extremely muddy
-bridges are not really located in the best spots
-grass was really long

Other Thoughts:

The grass is really grown up right now and so your disc could get a lost (especially for my yellow sidewinder). Bridges not really located in the best spots but it does look like they are going to be putting in more. Also a funny note, there are some fun dogs up on the hill that freak out when you bring a dog to the park. This park is great for dogs as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Paulie
Experience: 13.1 years 8 played 8 reviews
3.00 star(s)

The Drilling Is Gone 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 16, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

18 baskets.
Easy to walk terrain.
Challenging tree obstacles.
No disc drowning water. The ditch is retrieval friendly- not deep and the water is clear.
Many baskets have 2 tee pads now and some of the longs are l-o-n-g.
Ample parking throughout the park.

Cons:

Construction on I-820 is ongoing but not intrusive.
There is a pipeline station that isn't really an obstacle but sometimes crew trucks are parked near it.
The grass is coming back but it's still quite muddy at times where it hasn't.

Other Thoughts:

I had fun. There are some long drives and some places where you have to play through the trees. Nice change ups from one tee to another.

Update 1-5-12
Had to give this another disc! With the new tee pads in place, many baskets now having two tees, bridges and a general clean up- this course is well worth being my home course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
prestonkuke21
Experience: 13.8 years 13 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Under Rated Gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 1, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great combination of hole lengths, tight and open holes as well as righty and lefty holes. This course requires so many different types of shots. You have to thread the needle on on hole and then next you get to air it out with a wide open 500' drive that still demands accuracy to even par. Now that the oil company is out the course is starting to look a lot better.

Cons:

Next to no signage.
The dirt tees get rutty and rocky. Caution is required.
Hard to navigate for newcommers.

Other Thoughts:

This course seems to be very underated as far as it's difficulty. It seems that the city is starting to rebuild the course. Hopefully there will be some new tee pads put in as well as some signs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
TaylorW10
Experience: 13.6 years 17 played 4 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Wait until after the construction is completed. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 5, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good location near my house. Lots of different shots through the trees. Not crowded.

Cons:

Had a map and still couldn't find where to tee off from. On several holes just found the basket and then walked around until I found a decent place to throw from. Hole 1 has a nice tee box with a granite marker in the concrete. They need to do that for every hole. I'm sure it will be a better experience when the construction workers leave.

Other Thoughts:

I'll try back again after the rehab of the park. Hopefully they will have some better tee pads and better signs to point you towards the next tee pad.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
1hardHucker
Experience: 14 years 11 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Pin 11 sound wall 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 1, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The oil company moved from #13; I believe, which only leaves the sound wall on #11, as j0atz stated. The creek by #17 has gotten a lot more clear, since they left. This makes it easy to spot a lost disc on those go for shots that fly too long. Good course for beginners with premium plastic, because the trees will tear up the cheaper plastic. The terrain and vegetation allows for easy spotting of wildly thrown discs.

Cons:

Still another drilling company working diligently and blocking # 11. The other company has left; however, they make-shift road remains in a few holes. They removed several trees along the hi-way, so now it feels less secluded.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
j0atz
Experience: 14.1 years 48 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice, Short Technical Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 19, 2022 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Easily accessible from many areas in DFW since it's right off the highway north of downtown Fort Worth.
-lots of mature trees for shade in the summer
-great variety of shots with short and long tee pads available on many of the holes. Some short technical shots. Longer wooded controlled shots and also a few holes where you just get to air it out in the wide open.
-The trees aren't so dense that on many holes there are a few different possible routes you could take.
-Not a ton of elevation change but every bit of the elevation that exists on this course has been utilized very well.
-Pretty hard to lose a disc on this course unless you really shank something on one of the holes that backs up to some residential backyards. There are a couple of spots in the drainage ditch that can get pretty murky after rain.
-baskets are in good condition and were upgraded within the last few years
-Concrete teepads installed on all holes
-Bathrooms on site across the road from hole 2's long teepad which is near the main parking area.
-Ideal Discs shop is right around the corner from the course.

Cons:

-Navigation can be a bit tricky in a few spots so I would advise having the map handy if it's your first time out.
-Currently no tee signs but I believe most of the holes have a wooden stake indicating the hole number.
-Course has been known to flood a bit during heavy rain season but the last few years really haven't been too bad. There are a few spots that can get really muddy but overall it's really not bad most of the year.
-Since this course is right next to the highway, there is a lot of background road noise. This is something I have just gotten used to.

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun course and pretty quick to play when I am just trying to squeeze in a round after work even though the course has gotten a lot more crowded since covid hit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
sheamous
Experience: 22.1 years 13 played 9 reviews
3.50 star(s)

I finally came back 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 2, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Close to highway (North Loop 820), lots of well placed trees, bushes, creeks and pin positions. Great new baskets and tee-pads. (at least they seem new) This course uses the available obstacles and terrain really well. if you can navigate the tree channels then you'll have some great chances for ace-runs.

Cons:

Not a lot of long drives at this course, though the few that there are seem unique and well thought out. Pretty cramped as far as the layout and it was a bit hard to navigate around as the course crosses over itself a few times. Bring the course map in the Links/Files section. It helped to keep my bearings.

Other Thoughts:

When I first played this course it was under a lot of construction from the oil drilling operation and I gave it a terrible review, hated it. With all of the updates and improvements, this course has quickly become one of my favorites in DFW. You got to go try it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
stedily420
Experience: 11 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fortress 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 19, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This coure has a little something for everyone. Short accurate shots and long drive shots. Its mostly shaded, which is great for these hot Texas summers. The course is very well maintained, mostly mowed and clean. Not alot of action here or at least not like some of the other courses in the area, but has some of the most challenging and interesting holes.

Cons:

Mixed tee's, some are concrete some are dirt,
no multiple pin positions, no signage for navigation.
I only put these things here because they are what other people would consider cons. These things do not make the experience for me. I can very easily look past these small things for such a fun course.

Other Thoughts:

This is an up and coming course that i WILL rate a five when all the upgrades are done. I would recomend this course over almost all others, it is a must play!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
AequitasVeritas
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.5 years 70 played 20 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Definitely Worth Playing once or 10x 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 11, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Very unique holes, i.e. 11 with the basket on the platform. Loved it!
-Very rewarding if you are an accurate thrower.
-You don't have to be a bomber to get a decent score. Focuses more on accuracy than distance. But there are a few air out holes (13 and 15)
-Bathrooms on site
-Trashcans
-A few ace opportunities. But there are no easy aces here. You will have to be accurate to get one.
-Uses the available elevation changes very well.
-Plenty of shade in the summer
-OB Creek is disc friendly - hard to lose one.

Cons:

-Parking lot is pretty rough for lowered vehicles.
-Traffic on 820. It can get pretty dead stop there in the mornings and afternoons.
-If you have tree-itis, you will have a pretty elevated score.
-Fairly difficult to navigate your first time. Bring someone that knows it or get a map.

Other Thoughts:

Love the layout of this course. It will force you to turn the disc both ways to be successful here. If you have a sidearm, it is indeed helpful. I really like the uniqueness of North Park. The basket on hole 11 is elevated about 4 feet and is in a tree. It is a risky putt cause if you miss, you are well beyond what you would usually miss by. That and the tree guards the basket from 2 sides. But it is AWESOME! There is another sleeve in the tree that puts the basket about 10 feet above your head, so even a park job leaves you with a pretty challenging putt.

North Park has really flourished in the 6 years I have been playing it. There's a great disc shop just north of it (Ideal Discs) and plenty of places to eat if you decide to stick around.

There are plenty of minis here as well!

If you are wanting a quick round and are in the DFW area, this should definitely make your list.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
emook
Experience: 14.6 years 46 played 9 reviews
3.00 star(s)

May want to follow the people in front of you 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 19, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

***UPDATE 11/8/10***
I love playing this course. Once you know how it is navigated its a lot of fun to play. The company who put in the gas lines paid for all brand new baskets to be put in, painted to point you to the next whole direction as well.

I find most people who don't like this course, can't play the course as well as it looks like you should be. Super technical, and tests your upshot skills.

Yes not all cement tees, but some things you just got to deal with.



Fast and short course. Not a crazy amount of walking. Challenging forest.

Cons:

If you play during business hours there are most likely construction workers around. They're gone during the weekend.

Difficult to navigate. Not any real direction on where the next tee is. Had to use photos from this website to find the next tee's the first time I played it. When there are markers, they're pretty run down.

Other Thoughts:

Decent, but overall I think the course needs a make over.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Chain_Bang
Experience: 18.3 years 45 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Better as a 9 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 13, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a decent course. I personally preferred it as the 9 hole course it originally opened as. The newer 9 is confusing and seems rushed together. Lots of good shots, and never too busy as other nearby courses can be. There are both long shots and short, precise shots.

Cons:

Confusing layout on some parts of the course and rudimentary navigation help, such as arrows spray painted on trees. A couple shots across wide open fields will wreak havoc on windy days. Tiny creek which is just a small

Other Thoughts:

original 9 had a good layout and plenty of fun shots. The added on portion is ok but parked cars sometimes prevent play on a couple holes. One basket is even elevated in a tree which adds a degree of difficulty and is a nice touch. Not very highly trafficed and well maintained.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
Riverhouse82
Experience: 20.3 years 50 played 11 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Why is it getting worse? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 11, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

More box's all the time yay...
Easy to follow after the first time.
Lot's of fun in any season. I enjoy summer. despite the heat, the foliage makes the course good and tough.

Cons:

Another InHg course, and you can tell. It has the trademark look of a course with a whole lot of thought and design, just not enough. Who the hell drove all over the course in the mus?? that sucks. bad. would have rather had the downed sticks than the ruts. I don't know how, or who will do it, but i will probably not be playing till it is fixed

Other Thoughts:

I used to rate this a 3.5 but not anymore... also aren't the baskets supposed to be on the ground? silly rules.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top