• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Corona, CA

River Walk DGC

Permanent course
2.425(based on 25 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

River Walk DGC reviews

Filter
1 1
rxrxr
Experience: 5.6 months 63 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 18, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

No crowds/"locals only" vibe. Great tees

Cons:

Short. Usually windy
Needs more shade. Easy to lose discs in neighborhood.

Other Thoughts:

18 Hole safari course is good fun. Very challenging if all planters are OB.
Every hole is an ace run.


Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
The Katana Kid
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 8.5 years 184 played 56 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Better than expected! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 16, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

There were a lot of people in the park, but the small 7 hole course is designed away from the people. This is a great feature since it's like two worlds and you don't have to worry about hitting park goers. There were also several other players on the course when I was there. Although that slowed me down a bit, it was definitely not annoying.

The tees are incredible! I wish other courses would learn from these guys. They are about 20 feet long and 6 feet wide. And there's a 6x10 pad before the tee with the hole number, distance, par 3, and an arrow engraved on the concrete. Many of these mega tees are bordered with a 12" high by 12" wide rock wall. It's quite a character addition to this nicely maintained course in a nice area of town. It seems like it's a course done for these neighbouring homes. What a great idea!

I emptied my bag on the first hole but still didn't get the ace I expected on this "85 foot" hole, which feels more like 65'. I plan to go back and play this hole until I ace it.

It's only 7 baskets but the way it's laid out is very quick. I was in and out in less than 15 minutes. I can't remember any course of any size that's so quick.

Cons:

Backyards line the course so you've got to careful not to go over a fence. But I didn't even come close since every hole is so easy.

There is a walking path along part of the course, but this didn't trouble me. I talked to the people walking on the path and they were very interested in our sport.

The bark seems a little odd instead of grass but in our drought affected area this makes a lot of sense. Once I thought about the water shortage in the desert we live in the bark didn't bother me but seemed like a good design.

The wind was a small challenge today.

Other Thoughts:

What a great "pitch and putt" course! I can't imagine a better place to bring a beginner. A player with experience can still be challenged, either by his own safari creation, or by challenging himself with a certain score. For me, I won't be happy here with my score unless it's at least 5 under.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Disc Golf's Biggest Tee Pads On It's Smallest Stage! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 20, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

River Walk DGC plays mostly in a narrow little strip of a park bordered by a walking path on one side and houses on the other side. After a few holes, two holes do open up into the larger section of the park. The park seems to be newly built. Everything there has that new car smell, including the disc golf course. Although mostly short, the tee pad are monstrous and the baskets are nice new DGA models with the # on top.

The tee pads are amazing and huge. They are made in three distinct parts. The section you actually throw off is about the size of some normal pads. Behind that is another section with a giant arrow engraved in the concrete. And in the back is an even larger section 12' wide and 6' deep. It has Par 3 engraved in large letters on the left side. In the middle is the hole number. On the right side is the distance. These pads measure 24 feet from the back to front. Is that enough run-up for the 85' hole # 1 ? And then some of the pads have a foot high concrete and rock wall built on both sides of the tee pad. For what purpose? I know not.

Holes range from # 1 at 85' to # 6 at 300'. There is some variety of skills needed. Uphill, hyser, a low anhyser on # 8,.

The whole course is played on bark chips. Which is better than Arizona desert dirt courses but not as good as nice green grass courses.

Cons:

Lack of length and challenge for most players.
Only 7 holes.
Lack of shade.

Other Thoughts:

Great little course to introduce someone new to the game on. Fun little course to come and chase ACES or simply to come and work on your short game. I doubt if it gets much play so I would think you'd probably have the course all to yourself most of the time. Have someone video you as you empty the bag on # 1 and you can become the next Cubbie.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
thespeedokid
Experience: 9.6 years 110 played 34 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Short quick play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 3, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Extremely well kept. Tees are close to perfect. Elevation changes. Easy to find holes. No one plays it making it fast. Good baskets. Variety of distances. (There is a 95 ft hole all the way to a 300+ ft hole).

Cons:

Only 7 holes. Ground is made of wood chips which means skips are almost impossible. (But this adds to the well kept-ness). It's almost to easy.

Other Thoughts:

Great course for begginers. There are no hole signs but the hole distance is on the tees. (Which I think is actually a really cool idea). It's easy but still fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Wilson
Experience: 10.9 years 11 played 4 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Beginners lair 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 18, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Fancy pads in a new park, pads have distance and hole # stamped in the concrete with attractive rock masonry around them.
Great course to take any beginner to.

Cons:

New park where someone decided to cram a disc golf course in as an afterthought.
Only 7 holes, extremely short course, leave the drivers in your bag.
Very windy, baby trees and mulch everywhere off tee pads.
Each hole is affected by traffic from another hole.


Other Thoughts:

Whoever put this course together had the right idea in mind and clearly wasn't allotted enough land to make a good course. Sad, as the land around the park has potential for awesome, lengthy and imaginitive holes.
Take your kids to this one to learn, but only if you live nearby. NOT worth a drive of any distance.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
getthepuckout
Experience: 12 years 19 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Excellent starter course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 30, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Holes are clearly marked on tee-pad with distances.
Park is well maintained and peaceful.
Short and simple giving you an opportunity to work on your putt/approach game, or a great beginner course for those just starting.
18 can be played here with a little imagination.
Free to play

Cons:

Houses line the course and can be a factor off a few drives.
Woodchips everywhere. Expect to get them in your shoes, sandals not an option.
If you are playing 18 and there's another group playing on the course you will be shooting into each others direction quite often.
During the summer it can get very hot and there is very little shade provided. Bring sunscreen.


Other Thoughts:

The course is a great course for beginners. We often use this course as an introductory course when we have friends interested in playing. The short distances and straight shots do not demoralize new players.

Police often patrol the parking lots during and just after school hours. Kids will hang out in their car to smoke. I've never been bothered by any kids. An officer may ask you a few questions if you're by your car when they come by.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 2
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.3 years 831 played 777 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Nice little practice course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 9, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays in an open area of the park with some small rolling hills. There are a few holes that have nice slope to them, giving beginners the chance to start trying uphill and downhill shots. Some small trees come into play on a couple holes adding at least a little bit of an obstacle to get to the pin. The baskets are in great shape, and the concrete tees are huge and nice concrete with the hole number and distance engraved in the pad. The holes have nice distance variety within reason for a beginner course, from 85 to 300 feet.

Cons:

The course is wide open, and overall pretty short. The first hole is a long putt, and many of the others are simple approach shots with no obstacles and no punishment for errant drives. The fairways are wood chips, not a major con just a bit odd in a nice grassy park. The tee sizes are nice, but having the rock walls on the sides made them a little awkward. There's no shade on the course at all, so a hot summer day might not be the best time to play.

Other Thoughts:

This is a decent beginner course, it's plenty short and nicely maintained with no navigation issues, but there aren't any holes that push new players to try any different kinds of shots. More experienced players won't find any challenges here, only one hole calls for more than a putter shot for most players. There are some fun safari options, you could make some decent holes, but they'd still be pretty wide open.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
treesbeware
Experience: 13.5 years 7 played 2 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Practice only 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 28, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Good practice course
-awesome tee pads
-new baskets

Cons:

-Short Course
-Wood chips
-too close to homes.

Other Thoughts:

This isnt a course that i would go outta my way to play at. Its small and gets crowded very easily. Its more of a course to learn the game or practice new discs on.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
stunts
Experience: 13.8 years 6 played 3 reviews
2.00 star(s)

A Great Practice Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 27, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a great practice course. I always try unfamiliar discs there and work on shots that I wouldn't try on a full-sized course. There's plenty of time to practice shots because I've never seen another disc golfer on the course when I've been there. I've gone at all times of the day and have never seen anyone else playing. The residents I've spoken to though always claim that people are playing there all the time, sometimes at midnight apparently. As several other reviewers state, the tee pads are the best I've seen! Friendly residents along the course.

Cons:

Houses along the entire course. The course is covered by wood chips - not my preference. A very short course though can be made to be a bit longer with some creative modifications as to which basket your throwing to.

Other Thoughts:

The residents I've spoken to have all been very friendly and interested in finding out more about disc golf. Unfortunately though, many of them have also claimed that the people who use the course have hopped over fences into backyards to retrieve discs without asking and that players often play at odd hours and seem to be there to drink and make noise. No problem to have fun doing the sport we all love, but the way to grow the sport is to respect those that don't yet play and make them want to be part of something great. If you're there for a game at very early or late hours, try to have some respect for the people who live right on the course. This course was built for the use of the residents in the housing community there, they could easily make it off limits to outsiders.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Discbear
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.5 years 1510 played 25 reviews
3.00 star(s)

walk the river 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 26, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I challenge anyone to find better tee pads than here. The pads are very long,long enough for the longest run up for a drive ever. There is classy rock work bordering the tees. If you want to shoot for aces and birdies all day this is your place. I think it is the perfect place to introduce a child, wife or girlfriend or really anyone new to the sport. It is a clean park. If I lived in easy walking distance I'd probably be getting in a quick round there constantly before work after dinner etc. You will likely shoot your lowest score ever here. I had a 15.

Cons:

It is way to short only 7 holes and they are mostly very short as well with the longest right at 300 feet. It is surely not a destination course, because your adventure is over in 15 minutes, but you could go around a dozen times. You might get dizzy going through so many times.

Other Thoughts:

Every community in the USA needs a little course like this in the neighborhood
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
macViciouss
Experience: 6 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 1, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

very clearly marked
safe area
very very nice park
dogs allowed
nice concrete tees.

Cons:

part of the course is on the side of a hill, covered in bark....slippery when it rains and a bit hard to walk on even when its not wet.
tiny course

Other Thoughts:

This was a nice park, very well done and its in a safe area. probably great for beginners as its so small.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
PDXDisc
Experience: 15.1 years 21 played 15 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Small Course in a Pretty Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 24, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very pretty park
Huge well built tee pads
The bark chips are nice twist
Friendly folks in a nice neighborhood
Free

Cons:

Only 7 very short holes
Not a lot of obsticals yet (give it 10 years when the trees grow in though)
Not much challenge

Other Thoughts:

Played the whole course with a putter - not much challenge. But the pads were increadibly well engineered. Had fun going early in the day before the August heat and had a nice walk and chatted with some of the locals. The view of the mountains and the dry desert air was a nice change of pace (visiting from Portland OR).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Nozzledog
Experience: 39.5 years 39 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

RiverWalk alt 18 hole 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 15, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Never crowded, Good use of area, Nice elevation changes. 7 hole great for beginners, 18 hole good for advanced.

Cons:

Not much shade. Closest snacks 2 miles away.

Other Thoughts:

This has a good 18 hole course using the same 7 baskets with alt. tees, giving a few 300'+ holes. I will try to post this map to Links.
Distances stamped in concrete are NOT correct. Take about 15' off.
I play this course often and never have had a bug problem. I always see City Parks personnel out there and they take care of any problems immediately.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
OcDiscGolf
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 26.5 years 23 played 19 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Beautiful Practice Course, I'm in Love with the Tees! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 15, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

• Very Nice, lengthy tees that are surrounded by 1 ft tall rock ledges which are perfect for sitting on. These are probably the nicest tees I have ever seen and also the longest. Most are double what a standard tee would be. I would love to have these at other courses in my area.
• New DGA baskets that are well kept and graffiti free
• Good use of elevation change including a few hillside baskets which make for a tricky approach
• In a nice, new, clean neighborhood
• Locals are extremely gracious, although I didn't see any serious disc golfers out there. It seems families like to play this one for exercise a lot which I think is great.
• Free!

Cons:

• Not much length on all holes except for one which is 300 feet. The first hole listed as 85 feet but really felt like a 60 foot putt. My daughter actually par'd number one and she just turned 5 years old. Good pump up for her.
• Bugs! The entire park was carpeted with millions of these tiny ant sized creatures that actually looked like tiny roaches. I hope they weren't crabs because I think I brought a few home with me.
• No Pro shop and no food or gas close by. If you don't know the area and don't have a GPS, make sure to gas up and get snacks before you get there.
• Only 7 holes, there is room for 9 and maybe even more.
• A few holes play very close to backyards and I almost put my favorite Star Beast in one of them when I turned over my shot on 6. There was a vicious looking chihuahua in there as well.

Other Thoughts:

Riverwalk DGC is a recent addition to the Inland Empire's collection of disc golf courses, and it is obvious that the designers put a lot of love into this one. Even though it is a short 7 hole course, there are some fun lines and lots of opportunities for Safari with the space available in the park. I had a lot of fun here with my family, and I think that is what the designers had in mind - a short, family friendly course that really anyone could play. My 5 year old daughter had a blast playing it and as I mentioned, she got her first par on Hole # 1. She chose the Nuke (even though I told her it was wicked stable) and she actually turned it over on her 45 foot drive.

I don't know if I hit this one at a certain time because no one else had mentioned this, but the entire ground of the park was carpeted in billions of these tiny bugs which I could not identify. On # 4 which is the downhill shot, my putter (which I threw on every hole except for 2) landed in the bush beyond the hole. I reached into the bush to retrieve it and when I withdrew my arm, it was covered in about 100 of these little bugs. I felt like I was reliving the scene from Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom when Indy has to reach into the "Bug hole" to unlatch the trap door. I turned to one of my kids and yelled "Get me my whip Shorty!". Then I proceeded to brush all of them off and nailed the 15 foot putt for birdie. It added a bit of adventure and intrigue to the round.

After the fact, I talked to Jurupa Parks and Rec and they indicated that they weren't exactly sure what they were, but did verify the existence of the little guys 2 days after I was there and are currently investigating. More to come on this...

If I lived close to this course, I would definitely play it regularly - it is well kept up and fun for a short practice round or three. I saw 2 families playing and they were pretty surprised I was able to get up to that 300 foot hole on my first shot. I think they had been playing that one as a Par 5. The problem with the geographic location is that it is very much out of the way. My GPS showed it as being 16 miles out and it took 40 minutes to get there. In a straight line, it is not very far from where I live but the freeways do not go directly there. There is also a serious lack of any sort of facilities nearby including gas, food, and of course no pro shop.

Overall, the local residents here in the Corona/Norco/Mira Loma area should be very happy that they have a nice, clean new course to practice at. Prado is not very far away and provides much more challenge and length, as well as a full 18 holes. However, this is a great practice course to tune up your mid to short range game. Big arms will only need a putter and maybe a mid range or fairway driver for the one lengthy hole. I would also advise that this area gets a lot of direct sun and will probably get very hot in the summertime. Bring plenty of liquids and also some sunblock I think I'm going to have my raccoon eyes for some time to come and I was only out there 90 minutes at the most.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
DocHaole
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.9 years 79 played 48 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Putting Practice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 15, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- The best tee pads I have ever seen. Someone spent some serious time and money on these.
- Free, one of the only free courses in the area.
- Disc golf exclusive
- No crowds. I was the only one here when I came on a sunny Saturday afternoon, I doubt there is ever a crowd. You can play the whole thing in 20 minutes easily.

Cons:

Short and open course. The only problem with having the distances on the tee pads is that now you can't move the baskets around.

There are a few small trees, and as they grow it could add some flavor.

Other Thoughts:

The ultimate irony here is that they have some incredible tee pads, and no chance to air it out. But I can't hate this course, if I lived here I'd be out every week and just get creative.

Overall not a destination course, but if you're over at Prado it's worth checking out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
fifteen
Experience: 15.1 years 41 played 11 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Nice Cool Down after Prado 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 10, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

DG exclusive area in a neighborhood park which contributes to the great shape the course is in. It was really easy to get around and every hole had its own challenge. The teepads are something else and unique, part of the reason why I stopped by.

Cons:

7 holes that are short, leave the drivers at home. I got by with only my Buzzz and XD. The holes are pretty tight so I can see how crazy it can get if there were several players at the same time.

Other Thoughts:

Came out here after playing at Prado since it was on the way home. Not a course to plan a trip for but a course to stop by if you're nearby.

First tee is on the LEFT side of the park sign, park in the cul-de-sac, not the parking lot. I found that out when I first came here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
lmowdy
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

riverwalk 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 4, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

this course is a part of a newly developed residential community. one in which has some of the best amenities ive seen. the people in this neighborhood have no excuse not to get exercise. due to this it is very well kept up.

tee pads are great. cement with decorative rock walls bordering them.

baskets in good condition.

shrubberies which as of recently are kept cut down for disc golfers. relatively empty most of the time.

Cons:

yes holes are short, but get creative!

course borders the back yards of houses. and its very easy to toss a disc in someones yard. over the past 6 months i've counted new dogs in yards! im sure due to golfers hoping fences with out even a courtesy "hello, anybody home?" if you lose a disc dont be a dick. give a polite warning. people are usually home in the afternoons and im sure wouldnt mind getting it for you. ive even jogged to the front door out of respect. instead of shouting in behind someones house.

wood chips do get in your shoes.

Other Thoughts:

i love this course and am there 3 times a week for a quick hour or so game with my brother. like anyone else who frequents this place we've designed our own 9 hole course by extending holes and finding creative tee offs from outside the actual intended boundaries and this has proved the ability to make each hole 300'+.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Danger
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.9 years 105 played 70 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 31, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Gigantic flat concrete tee pads. Easily the 'signature' feature of this course.
-Holes are not repetitive, each represents a different challenge.
-Zero navigation issues.
-Section of park appears to be DG exclusive, with a walking path between it and the river.
-The DGA baskets are all in good condition.
-Course caters to everybody, holes vary between 80 and 300 feet.
-Low risk of losing disks to OB.
-Course makes a complete circle to make multiple loops painless.
-Plenty of places to sit and take a breather, take in the park.

Cons:

-As everybody has mentioned, only 7 holes. Would rather see the 7 holes they have though, then to try to cram in 9.
-Pin placements appear to be permanent as the sole distances on each hole are literally paved into the tee-pads.

Other Thoughts:

This course plays on a woodchip covered hillside in a small residential park near a river. The 7 holes are behind a line of home backyards providing privacy from any roads, and plays to the side of the main park itself. The woodchips help it to be DG exclusive while grass in other areas tell non-golfers 'Hey! Come hang out here instead!'

Somebody mentioned that the hillside is treacherous. I have to 'strongly disagree'; we had absolutely no problems with footing at any time. Wind was mentioned too, I guess we hit it on a lucky relatively wind-free day.

The numbers on the tee pads appear to be measured from the back of the tee pads (where the number is found), which, themselves, are about 25 feet long. We measured hole one to be about 60' from the tip of the pad while the number provided was 85'. So now you know.

As I frequently mention, this is a fantastic course for the locals, but difficult to legitimize going out of the way for. If you went out of the way to play Prado, I suggest coming here after they close the gates over there and still have some light. I would have to say this is one of my favorite 9 hole courses, even though it is only 7.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
20 0
Apothecary
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 27.1 years 66 played 36 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Bring your windy day game! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 28, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Really nice tee pads. Very long and grippy with the hole number and distance to the pin inscribed on them. Some of the nicest ive seen.
-Baskets in good shape
-Good use of limited topographical changes
-Solitude. I've played there twice now and have yet to see another golfer playing.
-Good flow. Each tee is in a logical and easy to find location.
-Wide open holes with wood-chip bedding makes losing a disc almost impossible

Cons:

-Only seven holes. :(
-Wind. I understand it's pretty much always gusty so plan on playing in windy conditions
-Tight fairways. I imagine when there is traffic at this course there is a significant amount of drives going on to other tees and fairways.
-Short holes. And I mean short. Hole 1 is 85'! Every hole can be done with a putter or mid, but bring your drivers to help navigate the wild air currents more efficiently.

Other Thoughts:

This is a nifty little course tucked away in a suburban neighborhood in sunny Corona, California. It is set in a multi-use park alongside a playground, running track and other amenities. If I lived near here, this course would scratch the putting and up-shot itch, but would most likely leave me wanting to play an additional course where I can stretch my arm to get the full DG experience.

The park is incredibly clean, despite not having many trash cans around. The lack of elevation change makes this course nice for a relaxing stroll.

River Walk is an ideal course to take the family as there is something for everyone and a place for you to practice putting and up-shots, but if you are seeking hole design variety and you like to use your drivers more, you will be much better off hitting up Prado Dam, which is pretty close to River Walk
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Rizbee
Experience: 46.1 years 320 played 11 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Need a break from I-15? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 11, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Giant tees (largest tee length-to-hole distance ratio I've ever seen), some with rock-festooned seating walls. Easy to navigate, well maintained.

Cons:

Entire surface is cypress mulch, which can make footing treacherous on the side hills, and most of the course is side-hill lies. Very few trees - only on two holes, so shots are all pretty straight-away. Links-style layout with fairways going opposite ways very close, so keep your eyes and ears open if others are playing.

Other Thoughts:

Great course for new players and kids. Hopefully kids from high school across the street will be introduced to the game? Very good use of an otherwise unuseable strip of land.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top