• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Gaithersburg, MD

Seneca Creek State Park

4.275(based on 83 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Seneca Creek State Park reviews

Filter
15 0
adlacro
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.2 years 152 played 125 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Seneca Creek

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 22, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

27 hole course with Mach 3 baskets in good condition. Course offers three nine hole loops that each go back to the parking lot, but can be played as a full 27. Very good mix of lefty/righty holes with a good bit of elevation change and some tight OB in spots, particularly down by the creek. A few tunnel shots with a low but fair ceiling. Multiple pin positions on every hole (indicated at the tee sign). Well maintained. Off the fairway was manageable and fair, easy to find errant throws. Hole 13 (the dogleg right down by the creek) was IMO the signature hole and I thoroughly enjoyed my triple bogey on it.

Cons:

Some of the tee pads had some cracks in them, making run up on a few holes tough. Can be muddy or buggy depending on time of year (neither were a factor when I played).

Other Thoughts:

Nominal park entry fee during the busier months (no additional fee for the course itself). This was a very fun course, well worth my time on my trip, and worth your time if you find yourself northwest of DC. I also want to thank a local for showing me the course, making Seneca that much more enjoyable on my visit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 5
Obbica
Experience: 6 played 6 reviews
5.00 star(s)

I wish I knew how lucky I was when I lived nearby 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 3, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

*Well maintained
*Great variety of hole styles and challenges
*Marked well
*Each 9 brings you back to the parking lot
*Great tee boxes and tee markers
*Some permanent staircases

Cons:

*Some holes may not be cart friendly
*Some times you have to pay

Other Thoughts:

I haven't played here in a few years. This was our first real disc golf course. We lived close by and it was amazing. I think we took for granted how well maintained and well designed this place is. I would play it if I make it back to the dc area for sure. I have extreme bias towards this place; I proposed to my wife on this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 7
casmith175
Experience: 19 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

My favorite course drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 1, 2022 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

A really well-maintained course with 27 holes. My home course, and I couldn't be happier. Thank you Mr. Bill!

-Layouts for holes 1-9, 10-18, and 19-27 all start an end at the parking lot
-Multiple tee-pads for each hole. Some holes have 2 baskets
-This course has a huge variety of required shots, making it great for learning. Backhand, forehand, rollers, tomahawks, thumbers etc can all be useful tools.
-Disc return box is run by the park. They'll call you if your disc is returned and has a phone number on it
-Excellent (and somewhat vintage) signs
-Basket locations are changed often, adding to course variety. Check the bead on the sign for the current location.
-Course is very well-maintained
-Cool squirrel lives on hole 2. Black with white tip tail, his name is Captain Jack
-The local community is very friendly. Be on the lookout for Wednesday doubles during the Summer! You do not need to know anybody, just come on out



Cons:

-Tee-pads can get slick when wet. Especially whites (longer layout). Note: The local club is working on fixes.
-Somewhat limited park hours during the off-season, if you like to play early rounds. Generally 10am to 5 pm.
-The holes by the creek can get muddy (5, 13, 14)

Other Thoughts:

-Park entrance on weekends and holidays is 3$ per Maryland resident and 5$ for out of state. Week days are free.
-The middle nine (10-18) has the most walking distance of all three.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
Ryal
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 7.2 years 234 played 193 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Of Sleek Seneca Creek I Speak 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 11, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

+ The welcome area has a big course map, cardstock scorecards & plastic trash bags for the taking, a lost disc box and a practice basket.
+ There are benches everywhere.
+/- There are 'next' signs, but the player has to actively look for them because they are nailed onto trees in dark colors.
+ Sturdy and complete tee signs with "hook and bead" system for the single basket's current location, but...

Cons:

- ...Many of the hooks and/or beads are damaged or outright missing. For some, they may as well not exist for how reliable they are.
-/+ The tee pads are an inconsistent mix of flat poured concrete, laid brick or uneven concrete pavers, but at least all 27holes have them.
- The distances listed on the scorecards, tee signs, and Udisc all disagreed with each other.

Other Thoughts:

I thought holes3 and 4 were the nicest to look at. I played here in the middle of summer. During that time, the lush foliage, peaceful nearby stream, shadowy forest and gentle terrain of those two fairways combine to create a scene almost worthy of a fairy tale. My least favorite was hole7 because of how plainly it played. Hole26 was my favorite to play here because of its changing elevation and varying obstacles.

As for the course as a whole, Seneca Creek can be described like that: varying. I think that more people would classify this course as being wooded than open, but it doesn't neatly fit that descriptor. With 27 holes to work with instead of the traditional 18, there is much more to consider when thinking about this course. Realistically, the experience balances out to more of a park-style course rather than what most people would call wooded or forested. Make no mistake, there are certainly heavily wooded holes to be had here. Holes15 and 16 stand out as almost claustrophically good examples, but those kinds of fairways are in the minority. Still, Seneca will certainly scratch your itch if you prefer wooded disc golf.

Players who like to grip and rip won't find this place too attractive. While there aren't trees everywhere, they are common enough to put a damper on the most energetic throwers unless they're feeling extra daring and gutsy. Just watch your footing on some of those pads during run-ups. More than a few of them seem like they were hastily assembled and plopped into the ground with no real care. And you may have to do some guesswork regarding which basket you're throwing towards. The 'current basket' system ought to be fortified. Also, bring along your good sense of direction because navigating the course isn't necessarily intuitive in between holes. I was lucky to meet up with a local regular, Rick, who guided me along holes10 through 27.

Speaking of which, I don't have much experience with 27-hole courses. This is only the second one I've played. Functionally, there really is no difference regardless of the number of holes. But from an evaluative standpoint, it feels weird. Since there is 50% more disc golfing here than at most courses, it runs the risk of feeling drawn out or repetitive even if there is more disc golf to enjoy. Still, whether or not it does start to wear out its welcome, Seneca Creek offers disc golfers a fun layout and plenty of options to pick from. There are multiple tee locations and various pin possibilities. Tournaments here must be pretty tricky.

All said, Seneca earns a strong recommendation from me. The land is well utilized and takes golfers on a nice tour of what Maryland disc golf can offer. It can be frustrating to be unsure about where you're throwing and which way to walk, but patience will see you through. Be sure to wear sturdy sneakers, and stay hydrated.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
eakadima15
Experience: 27 played 17 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 26, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

So many challenging and technical lines

Gorgeous views

Good mix of elevation changes

The locals are very friendly

Plenty of different tee positions

Great roller lines

You will be challenged to throw all of the different shots you have in your game

Each set of 9 holes ends near the parking lot, making it easy to take breaks

While there are some tough wooded shots that demand tight lines, there are also a good number of open holes where you can really let it rip

Nice tee signs

Cons:

You NEED a spotter. If this is your first time playing, I recommend reaching out to the Seneca Creek DG Facebook group and ask someone to show you the ropes. They will likely be happy to help you!

The wind can be rough

The Parks Department responsible for this course sucks. This course needs better signage to show where the next holes are, and the locals are willing to put in the work to help as a labor of love. The government hacks are putting in way too many restrictions that prevent locals from making the simple changes that would make this course so much easier to navigate.

Be careful, there are sharp bushes that can draw blood

Other Thoughts:

This is a really great wooded course. It has the potential to be world class, but its unfortunate that the parks department stands as an obstacle to this course reaching its full potential. Still, if you are in the Maryland/DC area, this is a must-play course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 5
JarnSarge
Experience: 15.2 years 3 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 20, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

27 holes
benches
tee signs
open shots
wooded shots

Cons:

tee pads some are un even pavers
Some Fairways are close to other holes
Baskets are old and need updated
Navigation is a little tough

Other Thoughts:

27 holes has a lot of history and has its fun shots but out of the 27 holes most are repetitive, some wooded holes are hard to see from the tee pad but that just adds to the challenge, course could use some updating
Was this review helpful? Yes No
24 0
Monocacy
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 24.2 years 505 played 78 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Classic east coast woods course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 24, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Seneca Creek is one of the classic east coast woods courses, set in a (mostly) disc golf-exclusive part of the state park. Located in the Maryland Piedmont, the course features rolling hills and stream valleys. Tree cover ranges from mature deciduous forest down by the creek to newer growth with deciduous trees and junipers closer to the parking lot. Some of the creek holes with their soaring canopies feel like wooded disc golf cathedrals (at least until your disc hits a tree and kicks into the rough, but that's on you - the lines here are fair). The park is particularly gorgeous in the spring when native dogwoods and redbuds are blooming, and again in the fall when maple and tulip poplar leaves glow in the evening sun.

Some holes are fairly open and some are tighter, but make no mistake - you are mostly playing in the woods, with a handful of park-style holes. Nice variety of holes that favor left-turning, right-turning, and straight shots, plus uphill, downhill, side-hill, and valley hole designs. Playing well at Seneca Creek requires you to shape the entire flight of the disc, not just hit a gap. This is a higher-level challenge, and one of the reasons I love playing here. Success must be earned, and the course keeps you honest.

Seneca Creek has three 9-hole loops, each conveniently starting and ending near the parking lot. There are also a few bonus 2-hole or 3-hole loops that bring you back to the parking lot: holes 1 and 2; holes 10, 11, and 27 (or 10, 11 and 9); and holes 19, 20, 17, and 18 (or 19 and 18).

Many holes have a huge variation in distance and difficulty depending on which tee and basket you play. For example, hole 10 can range from 242' (short tee, A pin) to 562' (long tee, C pin), and the D pin is even longer (and more fun). In contrast, sometimes the long and short tees are similar distances but play at different angles to the fairway. Several holes offer the choice of two fairways, and some of the long tees require you to navigate a tunnel just to reach the main fairway. At least two paved tees on every hole, plus recreational tees marked by yellow-painted blocks. Even though the rec tees are short, birdies are not always easy.

Excellent tee signs include a detailed hole map, distances from each tee to every basket, and a hook with a colored bead that shows basket position(s). The colored beads are very helpful because many of the longer pin positions are blind from the tee. The club rotates basket positions regularly, which enhances replay value. Usually the course is set up with a balanced mix of A, B, and C pin positions.

Second baskets have been installed in the long (C or D) position on several holes. These long pin positions are highlights of the course and significantly enhance the challenge and joy of playing here. As of fall 2021, long baskets have been set up on holes 1, 5, 13, 18, 23, and 27.

Remarkably low risk of disc loss for a wooded course. The club does an amazing job of clearing underbrush near the fairway (thanks Mr. Bill!). There is a lost disc drop box at the kiosk, and lost discs with identification can be retrieved at the ranger's station near the park entrance.

Practice basket near the parking lot, and the permanent long pin for hole 18 serves as a second practice basket (just make sure no one is playing the hole). Also near the parking lot you will find a kiosk with a detailed course map, and picnic tables suitable for hanging out after the round. Abundant benches have been installed throughout the course. Port-a-pot near the parking lot in summer, and indoor bathrooms are available elsewhere in the park.

Bright yellow flags make the Mach 3 baskets easier to spot in the woods. Flags are usually swapped out each spring, so they might get a little worse for wear by late winter. Red-banded baskets have been installed as permanent long pins on a few holes, but the older baskets are solidly mounted, level, and catch well.

Too many memorable holes to list, but here are a few favorites:

Hole 13 is the signature hole on the course, with a fairly generous fairway lined with OB creek left and mature deciduous forest right. The slightly downhill drive is about 280' from the short tee with a tricky landing zone. The hole then doglegs right, still following the creek, and the permanent D pin is another full drive from the landing zone. The long tee adds 90 feet to reach the dogleg.

Hole 6 is a dead-straight, high-ceiling tunnel, with distances ranging from 278' to 405' from the short tee. The long basket requires an accurate drive and tricky approach through scattered trees. Gorgeous and intimidating.

Hole 22 is steeply downhill, low ceiling drive with distances ranging from 296' to around 500'. Lots of ways to attack the hole: roller, backhand turnover, or sidearm can all work. Hitting the line just right is never easy but always satisfying, and scramble opportunities are usually available if your drive gets knocked down early.

Cons:

Have a course map available the first time you play here because navigation can be confusing where the 9-hole loops cross over each other. Loops cross between holes 5 and 6, holes 7 and 8, holes 12 and 13, and holes 24 and 25.

Some of the older concrete tee pads are a bit narrow, but most pads are level with the ground so this is not a big problem. Some of the paver tee pads in the woods are getting a bit uneven. Uneven turf pads on a few bonus extra-long tees in the woods.

A combined sewer system (storm water and sewage) follows the creek. This is common in older sewer systems, but after a heavy rain the olfactory experience may not match the visual beauty of the creek holes. Bring a towel and don't lick your discs after they go OB in the creek!

There is a dog waste station near the parking lot but otherwise no trash cans. Maryland state parks have a pack-it-in, pack-it-out policy so plan accordingly.

Once each summer baskets are moved to the A (short) position for a children's disc golf event.

Other Thoughts:

I never get tired of playing here, even though I have probably played Seneca Creek more than any other disc golf course. Heck, I might have played Seneca as often as all other courses combined. But with 27 challenging holes, multiple tees on every hole, ever-changing basket locations, multiple baskets on many holes, and multiple ways to attack most of the holes, this course never gets old for me.

Some feel that Seneca is a "lefty" course. Often this means that the course is well balanced between right-turning and left-turning holes, and such is the case here. In fact, some of the right-turning holes set up better for a RHBH turnover rather than a righty sidearm. It is true that the five creek holes all have OB on the left side, but on most of those holes you have righty-friendly options.

Seneca Creek started as an 18-hole course with lots of low-ceiling holes that favored rollers. Since the redesign to 27 holes, rollers are no longer required (but still useful on a few holes). If you run into any Seneca long-timers they probably have a solid roller game.

There are official hole pars for tournaments, but for casual play everything at Seneca Creek is "par 3". Yes, even those 560' dogleg holes. Deal with it.

When you play the five creek holes, note that the yellow OB rope usually follows the tree line, well away from the creek. If your drive skips left past the tree line, you will generally be out of bounds.

Seneca Creek State Park comprises 6,300 acres with a 90-acre lake. Park activities include more than 50 miles of hiking and mountain bike trails, playgrounds, volleyball, boat rentals, fishing, hunting, historic sites, a winter light show, and a beautiful peony display garden. The park is an oasis in the DC suburbs, hosting abundant wildlife such as foxes, hawks, owls, snakes, chipmunks, and of course deer.

Nominal fee to enter the park on summer weekends.

Fun fact: Most of the 1999 horror film 'The Blair Witch Project' was filmed in Seneca Creek State Park (but not at the disc golf course).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
17 0
epritt
Experience: 3.4 years 7 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Scrappy Seneca Golfin' 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 14, 2021 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

First of all, this is a beautiful state park. The course has its own dedicated area on the far side of the park that makes it feel like a disc golf oasis.

-27 holes. It's in every review, but this is the only 27 hole course within an hour's drive of where I live, so it's the only one I've played so far. The 27 holes are split into 3 loops of 9 that all begin and end by the parking lot, making it easy to play any combination of 9 holes you chose. I like to come on a weekend where I have time to play all 27, and have only played them in order, but you could play any 9, any 18, any tee, and have a new experience every time you play.

-Fairway combos. There's a great combination of highly wooded and more open shots. Trees are in play on every hole, but about half feature trees lining the fairway while half feature trees in the fairway. There are obvious lines on every hole, and I'm sure there are some fun local routes I haven't discovered yet (not on purpose, at least).

-The rough. As opposed to some courses that have extremely dense, punishing rough, most of the rough at Seneca is very much playable. I have yet to find myself in a position in the rough where I couldn't scramble and advance up the fairway. It's punishing, but a good scramble game will save many pars. I love finding creative ways to scramble, and Seneca allows you to do that without being overly punished. The rough is also not so dense that you'll lose many discs. I've hit the rough many times and not really been close to losing a disc.

-OB is well marked. There are strings lining OB throughout the course, which is a nice addition. I feel like a lot of courses only really line OB during tournament play, but the OB lines at Seneca are clearly and permanently marked, making it super easy to check your lie.

-Signage. There is a course map at the parking lot, and every hole has a very accurate sign showing all tee pads and potential basket locations. The hole signs also have a bead marking the current location of each pin. Even when you can't see the pin from the tee, the sings are accurate enough to pick your shot appropriately.

-Multiple pin locations and tee pads. Every hole has at least 2 tee pads (some 3) and 3 pin locations (some 4). I played 2 weeks in a row and some of the pin locations changed, so there's constant evolution to the course and every round will be a little different than the one before, which I enjoy.

-A nice hike. This may be a con for some, to be honest, but I enjoy the hike. The course is LONG. Playing short tees for all 27 holes takes me about 3 hours and results in a roughly 5 mile hike. There's lots of elevation change, but I love the hike. It makes the round fun, too. The last 9 holes are even harder when you're exhausted! There are benches at, I think, every tee pad. So even though it's long, there are many places to rest.

-Pro shop? Signs indicate that Innova discs are available for purchase in the park office. I haven't followed up on that, but assuming the signs are accurate, discs can be purchased on site.

Cons:

-Tee pads. The tee pads are mostly made of roughly 15"x15" concrete blocks. This means that over time and due to erosion, the tee pads can lack consistency and a lot of them are uneven. Since the long tee pads are used less frequently, a lot of them are overgrown, I've noticed. there are also some solid concrete tees and at least one is gravel. Just be prepared to throw from several different surfaces and types of tee pads.

- Layout. Now that I've played a couple times, I understand the layout a little better, but it was very confusing at times as a first-time player. Some signs show where the next holes are, but not every hole has that, so I got turned around and caught guessing a few times. There's also one point where you have to cross the middle of a fairway to get from one hole to another, which is not ideal. Just keep an eye out and don't be afraid to ask for help if you can't find a tee location!

-Bathrooms. There is one porta potty at the course. The park has bathrooms elsewhere, namely right before the main gate. I'd recommend stopping to go to the bathroom before you enter the park.

-Parking. Both times I've played Seneca, there was parking available in the lot. However, the lot isn't huge, and I can definitely see a situation where the course is busy and you have to park in overflow parking, which is available, but requires a bit of a walk to get to the course.

-Baskets. This may be a little nitpicky, but once I get up to the 4-5 star courses, I think that's necessary. The baskets are pretty old, and some are a little rusty. There are maybe 2-3 Chainstar baskets (I'm pretty sure they're chainstar but I could be misremembering), but for the most part the baskets are very basic and can result in some spit-outs that higher-end baskets would catch.

-Pars. Playing the short tee pads, I think this course being all par 3 is fairly reasonable. If long tees are all par 3s, I think that is a touch too difficult. I'd like to see some par 4s on a course with so many holes and so much space to play, just to add a little more variety to the round.

Other Thoughts:

The state park is worth visiting on its own merit. Lots of trails, a beautiful lake, picnic areas, boat rentals, playgrounds, and more. You could easily make an entire day out of coming to Seneca to play a round, pack a picnic, spend some time on the water, etc. The course is one of the best in the area. Remember to bring $3/person if you're a MD resident and $6/person if you're an out of state visitor (unless you have a state park pass). You will leave Seneca ready to come back and play again!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
gtg888h
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.2 years 40 played 27 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Wooded Par-3 Monster 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 6, 2020 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

+27 holes of beautiful, varying, and challenging disc golf. Combination of true-wooded holes and meadows with imposing trees set on rolling hills, with a creek and significant OB coming into play on five holes. Each of the three 9-hole loops goes through each of the different settings on the property, so you get the full gamut of challenges even if you only play nine holes.

+Even with 27 holes (27!), there's not a junky hole in the bunch. All of them really offer challenges - tight gaps to hit, big elevation changes, low ceilings, specific shots...it's got them all. There might not be a *true* signature hole (#13 and #23 are close in my mind), but all of them are worth playing.

+Setting is a disc golf-only section of the state park. You'll get the occasional hiker coming through, but you won't have any of the issues of throngs of non-DG players coming through or picnickers in the fairways, even on busy weekends. Also, for having 27 holes, they've done an amazing job of ensuring that the safety hazards are low - barring some epic shank jobs, you don't have to worry to much about flying discs from other holes.

+Course map at the parking lot provides tons of information - definitely take a picture of it your first time playing (or find the map via Google image search) so you don't get lost between holes. While I consider it a strength that each of the 9-hole loops go through all of the ecosystems of the property, it means that those loops do cross each other between holes, so it could get confusing.

+Tee signs at every hole (generally at red tees or between red and white) provide all the info you need. All holes have two tee pads plus a third set of yellow novice stone markers. Nine of the holes have additional blue "professional" tee pads, but they aren't consistent and have them sprinkled through the three loops. One pin per hole with 3-4 positions that rotate.

+Each of the loops start and end at the parking lot, which is great for restocking on water and food or just taking a break. It's hilly and a bit of a workout!

+Set within a great state park, which has wonderful hiking, boating, fishing, and playground opportunities to make a day of it.

Cons:

-Tee pads are definitely showing their age and vary in size/quality/composition by hole. However, after playing 54 holes here across three visits...they honestly didn't affect me all that much (i.e. not a safety hazard in my mind). But definitely not in a condition to be called a "plus".

Other Thoughts:

Free during the week, and $3/adult ($5 out of state) on weekends April-Oct; very reasonable.

Doubles on Wednesday evenings during late spring/summer/early fall. Starts @ 5 PM I believe.

Some of the pin positions in the longest setting are absolutely par-4 in length - simply not reachable, even from red tees, by anyone but a pro with a perfect shot. I'm never going to make the pars on a course a pro or a con - they are what they are - but I think there's a way to say "A/B/C pin positions are par-3, D is par-4" in those cases. Seen this done elsewhere (Richmond Hill in Asheville, NC) to good effect.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
samxyx
Experience: 6.2 years 31 played 30 reviews
4.50 star(s)

A Beautiful Disc Golf Haven 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 30, 2020 Played the course:once

Other Thoughts:

Fantastic 27-hole course which plays in a large "disc golf only" section of a big state park. The course itself is predominately wooded and stretches across several rolling hills with many shots facing slight changes in elevation. The course is wonderfully maintained with beautiful grassy fairways. There are 4 tees and 3 basket locations for almost every hole allowing you to make the course as easy or hard as you wish. Very scenic with tee shots requiring you to maintain your line through the trees for 300-400 feet or more depending on the layout you're playing. Course is challenging yet fair in that good shots are rewarded and a bad one isn't going to cause you to lose a disc. More open than one would think for a wooded course. Great variety of shot type.

This is one of the best courses I have played. You can tell it's gonna be a good the minute you pull into the parking lot. The isolation of the course from the rest of the park allows you to really get immersed in the experience.The beautiful tree lines and overall upkeep make it feel like you are in an enchanted forest. The holes are challenging and unique. Really tests your distance and accuracy. The rough isn't going to tear you up, but it does certainly make your next shot much harder just based on the angles to the basket. Very long and tiring to complete. Expect to be on the course for several hours. Bring food and snacks.

The only suggestion I have would be the introduction of more true par-4s, and a few holes requiring more shot shaping or angled throws. This should not detract anyone from visiting this course though.

Lastly any review here would not be complete without a special shoutout to Mr. Bill and the other volunteers who upkeep the course! Mr. Bill is very friendly and always found doing something to keep the course looking great. He has even been recognized by the governor for his volunteer service. If you see him say hello.

Overall this is a great course and you'll be hard pressed to find a better one in the area (or state for that matter). If you're looking for a comprehensive disc golf experience, this is the course for you.




Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
where'sfinn
Experience: 5.7 years 29 played 14 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Will be back 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 14, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Multiple concrete tees
Multiple baskets on every hole
Flags on top of each basket.
27 holes
Great variety of elevation change between each hole.
The holes do not cross or run parallel
Great variety of course design - had to break out almost every disc and every type of throw.
Good mix of tight wooded tunnel shots and open fairway shots.

Cons:

You have to pay the general park fee to even enter the greater park.
Maybe the restrooms and water are not close to the course.

Other Thoughts:

Gorgeous park by itself. The course is beautiful and relaxing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
DumfriesLizzie
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 5.8 years 113 played 102 reviews
4.00 star(s)

One of the best courses I have played 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 25, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Okay. I have only been playing disc golf for 2 years and 4 months and mostly in the Mid-Atlantic. Still, this is one of the best-maintained, most imaginative courses I have played so far. The 27 holes provide many options and help players spread out and not crowd each other. Occasionally, I have had to let people play through, but mostly I'm not rush and left alone. First time I played here, I played holes 1-9 and then 19-27. To me, there was not a bad hole in the bunch. Holes 10-18 are also varied and imaginative. Yes, varied. Even if routing was fairly straight, I thought basket locations were mostly challenging. The tree situation for each hole is different: sometimes playing into trees, sometimes playing out of trees, sometimes in trees the whole time, up, down, flat, down and then up, up and then down. No complaints here about variety. It's a very beautiful park and a very beautiful course. Nos. 3 and 25 are big drops down to the basket; gravity will help you if you are not a strong driver. I like getting that break sometimes.

Cons:

Everything is par 3. Some of those holes should be 4s. There are a lot of trees to deal with. The doglegs 20 and 22 maybe? The longer holes, especially those that are uphill and long? For some of the B and C basket placements? The trail along the creek will include people walking (sometimes with dogs and children) and not playing disc golf. Wait for them to get out of your range. There is an entry fee to the park (April-October?). I think if you are not also a kayaker or mountain biker or fisher(wo)man, you might not feel like you are getting your total money's worth nor getting enough variety in activity. By comparison, Bull Run Regional has a waterpark, camping, hiking, fishing, big fields for soccer and baseball. Pohick Bay has (now) an extensive paved bike path that connects that park to two others on Mason Neck, camping, fishing, hiking, kayaking. Yes, it is true that some of those additional things have additional fees. Or that the disc golf course itself charges an additional fee to the park entry fee. Not a fan of pay-for-play, but I understand the states need revenue and also have a crush of people during the summer months.

Other Thoughts:

The 3 sections of the course (holes 1-9, holes 10-18, holes 19-27) each has its own personality. I would say holes 10-18 are the hardest. No. 13 is the hardest IMHO. Very easy to get in the creek more than once!

The geography is a large hill with holes atop, some ringing the sides, and some in the creek valley. There are openings (meadows) atop the hill for some of the holes. So you are not completely in the woods. Just mostly so. The long hiking trail around Clopper Lake is lovely, if you want to continue walking in the woods. I have never walked it in conjunction with disc golf, but I have in the past walked the entire loop around the lake. There are spur trails to discover as well. Picnic stations look very good if you want to try to make a full day-trip of it in the park. Park seems mostly geared for picnicking.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 9
Scottieg40
Experience: 3 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Decent course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 8, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

I love how this course is so spread out. I currently live in Fairfax VA which has limited area for holes. Great nature scene while hiking along the creek. Some good shots in there as well. It's very challenging.

Cons:

With all the land available to create a course I personally feel that they've failed to create the course it could have been. Hear me out. Almost all of the holes are straight shots. Let's think about how discs naturally fly. Flight patterns of hyzer and anhyzer. I believe a disc golf course should compliment a discs flight and contain a verity of shots. Yes, there's a couple that do this but not enough. I may be biased because I come from the discgolf Mecca in Charlotte NC but the lack there of is simply a lack of imagination in the course design. To the designer, you have an opportunity to create something so much more. Better downhill, uphill, and tee pad locations that offer more options to the thrower. Sorry for the harsh criticism but it's coming from someone who cares about the sport and has high expectations.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 4
seayhorse
Experience: 28.2 years 22 played 16 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 7, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

27 holes.
permanent tee pad, multi-tee & basket positions
well marked
large variety

Cons:

can only play when the State Park is open, so no earlier than 8am.
during high season there is an entry fee to the park

Other Thoughts:

this is an excellent course, many holes border on the seneca creek, which serves as a boundary on several fairways. There are wooded fairways, grassy fairways, uphill, downhill, right, left, long, short.
It's well maintained, and the keeper actually calls you if he finds your disc! (assuming it's got your name and number in it)

The state park is nice, too, with paddling and hiking, picnic area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 5
Cerealman
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 16 years 638 played 181 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Showing its age 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 19, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Seneca Creek offers 27 holes made up of three nine-hole loops that return to the parking lot. More courses need to include this option to improve traffic.

There are some superb challenges at Seneca Creek. Hole #1 is a tunnel gauntlet and foreshadowing of the wooded holes. A variety of shots will be utilized and it's obvious how being skilled at throwing a roller would be a welcomed asset.

A fantastic workout. Elevation is often in play and is used well. Many of the holes are on hilly terrain and good shoes are a necessity to travel the course.

This is not a casual-round course. Accuracy and resiliency are vital as Seneca Creek will show its teeth and threaten to chew you up. Therefore, it's an excellent test of one's physical and mental game.

Cons:

Three teepads per hole is a little much, especially since the distance between teepads for some of the holes is less than 40 feet. The multiple teepads aren't clearly marked and can lead to some confusion during first-time navigation. Also, many of the teepads are in mediocre condition.

Plenty of difficult off-the-fairway areas. From unmaintained wooded areas to patches of thorny briars to areas filled with weeds, the "traversability" at this course isn't great.

So many trees. Accuracy is paramount at Seneca Creek as the narrow fairways will provide many challenges and some of the fairways are loosely defined. Some holes (like Hole #16) feature so many random trees that your disc may feel like a Plinko chip.

The lack of variety. While designing 27 unique holes is a challenge, there are too many holes with comparable designs and similar distances.

Other Thoughts:

Seneca Creek is a lovely park with plenty of options for fun, including hiking, biking, picnicking, canoeing, kayaking and more. Also, the park headquarters offers a nice selection of discs for sale.

A rating of 3.5 for Seneca Creek might seem a little harsh, but there are a couple of notable shortcomings regarding the course's condition. While some older courses offer a lovely nostalgic impression, Seneca Creek feels more worn out. The holes start to blend together and there isn't a signature hole on the course. Seneca Creek appears to be in need of a whitewash and fresh paint job in order to return to its glory days.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
DuBose
Premium Member
Experience: 5.2 years 137 played 16 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Must play 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 12, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Three pads on every hole giving great options.
- Signs and maps on every hole.
- Well marked and laid out.
- Great variety of shots. Long, short, left and right.
- Decent amount of hazards and O.B.'s with minimum chance of loosing disc.
- Not crowded but it was a Wednesday so not sure about weekends.
- Set up like 3 nine hole courses so you end up by parking lot after 9 and 18. Gives great options to play 3 different 18 hole courses if you don't have time for 27. Also worked great for me when I caught a foursome on hole 9. I skipped to 19, and then went to 10 thru 18 after 27.
- Nice scenery including wildlife.

Cons:

- Love the options with 3 pads on every hole, but some of the pads are in pretty bad shape.
- Some fairways are pretty close. Guessing it's a problem when crowded.
- With the space they have, it seems like they could spread out some of the holes a little.

Other Thoughts:

I wish my home course was like this. Lots of options with the multiple pads. Also can handle more people with 27 holes. I will definitely play this course again if I get a chance. I live in California and have had the chance to play 2 courses in Virginia and 2 in Maryland. This is my favorite for the DC area. (So far)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Chismo
Experience: 19.2 years 3 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

What a great course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 11, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Shady walk in the trees for nearly the entire course.
Variety of tees and pins.
Variety of terrain up and down.
Well marked with signs and info.
Mostly wooded course, but didn't feel super closed in, with at least a couple of drives to go long on (at least in early April).
Great work went into adding steps, benches, bridges. Rustic but good.

Cons:

A lot of thorny bushes growing along fairways already in early spring. I can't imagine how nasty it would be to find a poorly thrown disc later in the summer.

Other Thoughts:

As a visitor from MN, it was interesting to see how this course compared to courses I'm familiar with in the midwest. I like that the trees in the park are less dense than those in MN, and there is much less underbrush and tall grass to contend with (at least in early April.)

It was a great time, and our group enjoyed playing very much.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
discNDav
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 38.2 years 439 played 93 reviews
4.50 star(s)

still a classic 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 26, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Seneca was my favorite course in the Mid Atlantic region back in the mid/late 90's, upon returning 17 years later (Dec '16) I found the 9 'new' holes to be just as great.

This course set in a scenic state park has tremendous variety to it: tight wooded shots but none are unfair, great elevation changes up down and across hills, a creek comes into play several times, marked OB rope, at least 2 tees and the majority of holes have 3 tee options, yellow flags on top of each basket, good tee signs, white poles near the disc grabbing cedar trees and multiple pin locations which I'm sure they rotate.

Seneca was known as a 'roller' course but I didn't throw any rollers (on purpose), I was able to backhand every tee shot.

The 3 loops of each 9 return to the start. 2 baskets on 3 holes. Mach 3's are my favorite basket type.

Not beginner friendly, this is a plus!

Cons:

Nitpicking here since it's hard to dislike anything about this course...
The last 1 or 2 holes on each 9 are somewhat of a let down, simply not great holes and generally play left to right. I'm a RHBH player.

The tee pads are a mixture in size and material, some old ones have long narrow cement slabs, some have cement pavers and some have gravel around them helping with erosion.

Other Thoughts:

Some of the original basket locations have been extended and depending on which tee you are using I thought some are now "tweener holes", a tough par 3 or easy 4.

Seneca is now listed in my "favorites".

Located near several major highways it is close to the exits but the Wash DC traffic is a pain even in non rush hour times.

Don't drive 12 mph over the speed limit on Clopper Rd with out of state plates or you might get a $40 ticket in the mail 2 weeks later.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
jsemales
Experience: 20.2 years 91 played 39 reviews
5.00 star(s)

One of my all time favorites 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 5, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Absolutely love this course. I got out and played with a group of 4 and had an absolute blast all day. The course is challenging with lots of tight shots in the woods mixed with plenty of open fairways for big arm players. It will require every shot and disc in the bag to score well.

Cons:

The course is tough, but fair. If you shoot well and leave yourself good approaches, you can shoot a decent score. If you make a mistake, you will find yourself hunting to get back into a playable area.

Other Thoughts:

BRING BUG SPRAY
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
ramonstone
Experience: 13.3 years 8 played 5 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Lucky to be my home course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 11, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I am lucky enough and spoiled to have this as my home course. 27 holes with three loops that all circle back to the lot, there are great options to play as much or as little as you'd like. There are two or three tees every hole and two to four pin locations on every hole that get changed pretty regularly. Mr. Bill and the regulars out there keep this course in amazing condition. From week to week more and more areas get cleared for optimum playability. It is challenging, it is fun, it is mostly wooded and there is a creek that provides nice ambience. Makes me feel like a kid out there. There aren't long walks from pins to tees mostly and it was designed very well when they redesigned it to 27 holes. I am biased and the course from most pros POV would be a 4.5, but to me, I haven't been anywhere better. I love this place and consider it a must play to anyone that hasn't been fortunate enough to play it

Cons:

The only con is this course has spoiled me and ruined a lot of other courses for me
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top