• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Smithfield, NC

Smithfield Community Park DGC

0.565(based on 9 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Smithfield Community Park DGC reviews

Filter
15 0
KenanFlagler01
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.3 years 198 played 192 reviews
0.00 star(s)

Truly not worth your time 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 3, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

I'm sorry, but I've got nothing. I try to be fair -- and even positive when I review courses. I drove 20 minutes out of my way to play this course...and it wasn't even worth that. This barely qualifies as a course and really should be pulled.

Cons:

There are too many cons to list, but here are the biggies:

- Half the course (and it's only 9 holes to begin with) has either been pulled already (missing baskets and/or tee pads) or plays so close to parking lots with parked cars, roads, and playgrounds, that it's too dangerous to people and property to play.

- No navigation at all.

- There is literally a hole that plays over a large playground. I mean, what was the thought process behind that?

Other Thoughts:

Just not worth your time at all. I found 4 of the 9 holes to be playable. Kudos to you if you can find more than that. I guess the holes in the middle of the course (3 through 5 or so) or kind of okay for practice...but not really. Seriously, just don't bother stopping here. But 20 minutes away is a truly awesome course at East Clayton Community Park. Check that one out instead.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 2
eric_vdberg
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 41.1 years 1631 played 40 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Best Course in Smithfield! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 15, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Restroom.
5 concrete tees remaining, 4 are usable.
Tee signs still exist on holes 1, 3 & 9.
Still 6 decent baskets.
1, 4, 5 & 9 are decent, albeit simple, holes if no one else is using those areas.

Cons:

Hole 1's tee is close to the parking lot, the basket is close to a picnic table.
Hole 2 has been removed entirely for a playground.
Hole 3 has no fairway for the last half of the hole.
Hole 6 is gone.
Hole 7 tee is gone, fairway is overgrown, basket is mangled and on the ground, pole & chain assembly still exist.
Hole 8's tee pad is overgrown, the basket is not reachable from the tee unless you throw 90 degrees from the intended line.
Hole 9's concrete tee pad is gone.

Other Thoughts:

There is now essentially a 6 hole course and 2 of those are really not good holes. The rest of the park is beautiful, a really nice playground & sports fields.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
gbass82
Experience: 9.4 years 3 played 1 reviews
0.50 star(s)

A foul language enhancer 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 29, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Not much but I have to say...

-Concrete tees
-Good baskets that are marked (except for #7)
-Easy to find

Cons:

(deep breathe)...

-Very muddy after a steady rain
-Safety issues (chances of hitting people)
-Many of the holes have no signage (Only holes 1,2,3,and 9 have signs).
-Location of holes
-Hole 1 hugs a parking lot so there is a chance of hitting a vehicle with an errant throw
-Hole 3 is next to a fenced in soccer field. I tried to throw a hyzer over the field due to the trees but landed in the field. All the gates were padlocked so I had to scale the fence to get my disc.
-Hole 6 is missing (no basket)
-Hole 7 is a nightmare. There is a very small area to throw in. This area has woods on one side and a drainage with water that looks and smells questionable. The basket was badly damaged (looks like someone tagged it with a vehicle).
-Hole 8 is a mystery. No clear shot to the basket (no way over the trees or around them)

Other Thoughts:

This is a terrible course but a part of me liked the challenge and boy was it a challenge. The park includes nice ball fields, basketball courts, and an aquatics center that contains a pool, workout equipment, indoor basketball courts, and racquetball courts. I am surprised with these nice amenities that the disc golf course isn't as nice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
logjammin
Experience: 27.1 years 32 played 12 reviews
1.50 star(s)

It's free. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 4, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

There are several fun and challenging holes.
Concrete Tee pads.
good baskets, except #7, which was vandalized.
numbers on the baskets, although not all numbers face the tee pads.
Tee signs at 1, 2, 3, and 9.
The first 5 holes are easy to navigate.
Oh, and the tee for #1 is right next to the parking lot, and the basket for #9 is too.

Cons:

It's a crowded park, and a lot of the holes play through, or near, the most crowded sections.
There are a lot of children and babies in strollers. It's important to not hit a baby with a disc.
Holes 6-8 are a mystery. I found baskets for 7 and 8, and a couple of unlabeled tees, but nothing that makes much sense. I couldn't find a tee or a basket for #6. It's possible that the fairway for 7 and 8 is a mowed path that runs along a ditch. As I said, basket #7 is vandalized.

Other Thoughts:

I had fun playing 6 holes and regarding the humans as obstacles. The open holes 1, 2, and 9 are all over 300 ft, I think. And there are trees, ditches, a bridge, a building and a playground to watch out for on those holes. 3, 4, and 5 are shorter and have a lot of trees in the fairway; no undergrowth on those holes, though.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
New013
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14 years 179 played 120 reviews
0.00 star(s)

No thank you. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 16, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Layout - If you take like 3 of the holes out of this park and stick them somewhere completely different you'd have a boring but somewhat kinda not so fun but there disc golf course.

It does mix up hole type a bit with some open ones and then some stuck in the trees over there next to that stuff we're not using.

Equipment - Concrete pads, some tee signs that show you distance and path on some holes. Discatchers.

Atmosphere - Interesting people to watch walk all through your line like there's not a disc golf course there.

Cons:

Layout - If you said this course has safety issues you'd say the understatement of the year.

If you ask me who this course was designed for I'd answer the damned; because I feel terribly bad for anyone who loves tossing plastic and lives out here where this is one of their limited options.

You start off with two holes over 300' and mostly open with the exception of all the walkways, cars, people and children in the danger zone.

Then you play a hole where the only logical line is to throw a big hyzer out over a fenced in field.

Then two very short pitch & putt hyzers followed by some ridiculous dog leg shots near a drainage ditch and an impossible hole. I don't even know how to describe how terrible this hole is but just picture a wall of trees with a tee pad facing it.

Then you're back out to throwing near people or taking another hyzer over a field route.

It just doesn't make any sense man.

Equipment - Some holes don't have signs and you kind of have to figure out where you're going.

Atmosphere - It's in a heavily used park and you're right in all the local action. Try not to kill anyone if you make the mistake of playing here.

Other Thoughts:

Worst course I've played yet which is weird because it has better individual holes than a couple of the other stinkers I've played. It just couples bad design with danger.

I did get behind a group of locals who played 2-5 then 9. I guess that makes the most sense for them although 2 & 9 are essentially par 4's for them. It was fun to watch them go at it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
mrpolarbear
Experience: 14 played 3 reviews
2.50 star(s)

practice course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Some P&P densely wooded holes for working on the short game and a few longish Par 3's to work the mids/drives. I don't envision a "Smithfield Open" any time soon, but this course is definitely worth more than a zero rating.

The course is well maintained, has plenty of parking & restrooms. Regulation baskets all in good condition. If you play early morning you basically eliminate the potential negative "non-player interaction".

Cons:

This is a shared/multi-use park, and has the expected negative aspects as such.

Hole #1 - crosswind fade & you could be nailing a car in the parking lot.
Hole #2 - picnic area on the left "could" be an issue, but it would have to be a really bad throw.
Hole #7 - Unless you have pinpoint accuracy, best to skip this hole. Tight tunnel, impenetrable shule w/ brackish "creek".
Hole #8 - Not sure what the designer was thinking on this one, no reasonable path to the basket.
Hole #9 - Like hole #2, a really bad throw could drift into the playground.

Other Thoughts:

Hole #1: 346 feet minor hazard, drainage creek mid-fairway
Hole #2: ~310 feet wide open.
Hole #3: ~245 feet technical, guarded pin.
Hole #4: ~150 feet potential ace run.
Hole #5: ~155 feet technical 2 path.
Hole #6: ~145 feet dogleg left.
Hole #7: ~310 feet tunnel, dogleg left
Hole #8: ~250 feet NO path - skip this hole.
Hole #9: ~310 feet minor hazard, cross creek

I think this course should land in the 1.5 - 2.5 rating overall. A good 9 (7) hole practice course, no more & no less.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
28 1
Olorin
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 45.2 years 983 played 118 reviews
0.00 star(s)

If you can’t say something nice… 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 9, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Umm... I'm thinking really hard... well, uhh...
*Hole 4 was a kind of fun (but too short) little woods shot with nice pines.
*Concrete tees (that are wide enough, but too short).
*There's a restroom
...and that's about all that I can come up with.

Cons:

-Safety issues abound. These include parking down the left side of hole 1, picnic tables 20 ft. from a basket, walking trails close to fairways and baskets, a playground that could be hit with errant shots... This is an active park with lots of kids, so be careful!
-Holes 6-8 were no fun at all. Hole 6: When I played the course there was a tee pad but no basket. The basket was probably stolen by vandals, but it's said to have been replaced.
-The stream on hole 7. The concept of this fairway seems like a cool design. The fairway curves to the left with a small stream that runs down the entire left side and a narrow landing area bordered by woods on the right of the water. The problem is that the water and mud in the wet area are really skanky and not something you'd want to put your feet in. If your disc goes in there then you're wading through brown gunky smelly muck. Not for me. I avoided it by dinking little shots that stayed safe. Not fun.
-"Hole" 8. There's a cement tee pad and a basket, but I'm still not sure it's really a hole. But if it is, then it's on my list as one of the worst holes I've ever seen! There's a fairway that goes straight for 50 ft. until it dead ends in a wall of trees with thick impenetrable shule that you can't even walk through. There is a basket more than 150 ft away, on the other side of the woods, but the trees are at least 40 ft high, so I couldn't throw a tomahawk high enough or far enough to get there. You can't get through, and you can't get over, so how do you reach the basket? What?!?
-Most of the other holes are too open for my taste.
-Tees signs are below average. Just basic metal.
-No amenities, except for a restroom. No map, no score cards, no warm up basket.

Other Thoughts:

My Enjoyment Rating: 0.3 (out of 10)

Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 900). Four holes are 310-345 ft. so that's too long for most White level players to reach for a birdie, thus they can only expect par or worse.

-Flat. This can't be changed, but the course is completely flat, so there's 0 elevation change.

I'm really trying to be charitable and follow the "If you can't say something nice..." principle. Let's just put it mildly and say I won't be coming back here again and leave it at that.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 3
Borrachos
Experience: 21.2 years 65 played 3 reviews
0.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 19, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course is easy to find and it's in a vibrant park filled with on this day at least 500 people. I really like Holes 1 & 2. Pretty open and above 300. Beware though... if you can throw accurately you shouldn't have any problems. After these holes I thought it was going to be a good course then I played most of the rest.

Great tee pads and nice signs.

Cons:

The rest... lol 3's sign points you to 6's basket. It's pretty easy to figure out which pad goes to which basket in the wooded area, but I could have been wrong. The tees and baskets are almost on top of each other after the first two holes.

Other Thoughts:

Odd enough, I'd say this parks success is a detriment to the disc golf course. People are absolutely everywhere so it is fun being out there and you get the opportunity to describe and hopefully promote disc golf.

With that many people though it's tough to play without fear of hitting someone or something.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
18 1
keltik
Experience: 17.2 years 47 played 14 reviews
0.00 star(s)

True to the SSS standard 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 26, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

It's the first DG course in Johnston County NC and it is centrally located

Cons:

where to begin?
Hole 1 has Parking on the left side of the Fairway (I have hyzered out and hit cars)

Holes 4 & 5 aren't well marked

Hole 6 is Gone (tee pad is there i think but no basket)

Hole 7 is a Wreck (no sign and the basket looks like it's been run over with a truck)

Hole 8 is a total mystery (no tee pad or sign)

it was supposed to be 9 holes but there are really only about 6 or 7 playable holes

Other Thoughts:

It's right beside my old High School (SSS) and this disaster of a course reminds me of the disaster of a HS i went to....but the good news is that there are other very nice facilities there including a new indoor swimming and fitness facility
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top