• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Carlton, OR

Wennerberg Park

Permanent course
2.755(based on 10 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Wennerberg Park reviews

Filter
4 0
Breh
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 192 played 190 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 17, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Baskets have been upgraded from the photos. They're nice and in great shape
There's a map kiosk board near hole 1 be sure to take a picture you will need it. Hole 2 has a neat pin position in the trees. There's some fun shots here, and a good mix of shots. Some ace chances and some holes you can throw the drivers on

Cons:

No tee signs or tee pads. Natural areas where ground is wore out makes identifying the pads easier, but will still need map to find them,and right baskets. Hole 7 and 10 are very overgrown, and not good holes. Pretty throw and Hope style shots. Hole 11 isn't a great hole either..and the course itself is just okay

Other Thoughts:

Be careful over shooting hole 5 as there is a cliff behind the pin.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
handwasher
Experience: 12.1 years 110 played 15 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Not a winter course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 23, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

It's a place you'll probably have a fairly private round. Not a lot of foot traffic, so it's great for bringing my dogs along.

Cons:

- Signage sorely lacking
- Dirt pads are fine for summer but very bad in winter
- Very difficult to navigate because of lack of tee signs or poured pads.
- New layout leaves much to be desired

Other Thoughts:

I used to enjoy this course, but the new baskets contribute to a layout that frankly seems like it was made by someone who doesn't actually play disc golf. It was better with just nine holes.

This course should be a quick, fun round. Instead, it's a frustrating experience trying to navigate it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Gooddude
Experience: 7.1 years 5 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

seldom used, nice set up, good Times 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

first 8 are simple holes, very hard to lose discs. Good for beginners. Hand written map copies on first tee.

Cons:

Hard to figure out even with the hand written maps.
no tee boxes or markers. only some yellow paint on the ground where others have torn up the grass.
one hole is hidden, and if you miss the disc goes swimming. next hole requires shot over parked cars to an elevated hole up against a tree. miss, and it takes an extra shot to get back to the front of tree. kind of like a lucky putt course, but no windmill

Other Thoughts:

Take out the three bad holes and play 9. you will be happy and have your discs when you leave.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
JMuckey
Experience: 6 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 4, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well marked out
Nice baskets

Cons:

Only 9 holes
Course seemed fairly short till 7,8,9. Maybe mix in longer holes
Had to ask a local where to find the first tee, well marked from there though
Last 2 times I've played a photographer(same one both times) has turned the basket at 6 and the area around it into her personal photo studio. Also interferes with your tee shot on 5...
Also seen several cars parked in the fairway at 3, forces you to throw over them or go extreme turnover around them.
Would be nice if other park goers would pay attention to the disc golf.
Had several people deliberately walk out into the fairway on 9 and completely ignore my repeated requests to watch out because I wanted to throw.

Other Thoughts:

Really a nice park setting but I wonder how much Carlton really wants it there with the continued issues with other park goers and a lack of signage designating areas as no parking to prevent potential hit cars...
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
mbressler13
Experience: 12.2 years 50 played 26 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nice wine country course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 4, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Nice baskets
-Bathrooms a plenty
-Cool layout in a nice city park
-Tee signs are good

Cons:

-Very muddy during rainy season
-No tee pads

Other Thoughts:

Not a single person throwing plastic other than the group of three that I was with. The course was in decent condition for the middle of February. It had rained pretty heavily the night before so the ground was a little moist. The tee pads are probably the one big con that I can think of, with them being bare ground. Each hole had decent signage that showed you the topography of the hole. The course is a par 27, 9 hole layout. Most pin locations are guarded pretty well by trees. I think the longest hole was 374 feet so bring a driver or two. I will be back quite regularly during the spring and summer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Murdoc Loch
Experience: 20 years 62 played 15 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Casualties Suffer Casual Tees 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 10, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Well made Horning's style homemade baskets are used at this course, they make a nice sound when hit.
-The course is in a nicely manicured park, with barbeques, swing-sets and sports fields.
-Bathrooms in the parking lot
-Relaxed course vibe, not so challenging but is not meant to be. Good course for beginners and casual players.
-Decent tee signs with distances and hole number.

Cons:

-There are no teepads on the course and it's not obvious where the tees start and end. If pads are not an option wood or rocks should be installed to denote the fronts of the teeing areas.
- Non-golfing park users often times walk or play in the fairways of the course.

Other Thoughts:

-It's not much of a destination course but, for the locals this a nice place to shoot some discs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Neigborhood Nine Hole Course With Horning's Baskets! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 19, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Wennerberg DGC occupies part of a larger park featuring pincic area and shelter, ballfields, and the flat, area with scattered mature trees where the course mostly plays. The tee pads are natural. They got a little slippery when we were hit with a rain shower. The signs are simple, listing the hole #, Par, distance and a basic map. The baskets are the heavy duty models made from truck rims which you'll find at all three Horning's Hideout courses. They're industrial strength strong, they catch just as well as any Discatcher and they make as nice melodious tone when your disc falls into the rim after catching chains.

The course is a basic recreational one in both length and difficulty. It's not going to present a grave challenge to anyone but then again it's not a pushover either.

Excellent little course to bring a family, newbie or a girlfriend or just for that practice round. There are a couple nice ACE runs as expected.

Cons:

I'd like to see someone add, at the very least, a front board on the pads. At least, give players a limit on how far up they can tee it up on.

Other than that simple suggestion, this is another of those " It is what it is Courses". It's not trying to be too much or be too challenging. It just a fun little throw in a city park.

Other Thoughts:

If I lived near this course, I could play a lot of rounds here before growing weary of it. The river might come into play on # 4 ??? but other than that, you'll probably never have to hunt for discs here. Enjoy it, Carlton, Oregon!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
castigo
Experience: 15.1 years 40 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice little course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 21, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Quiet (at least on a weekday)- no crowds
-Well-maintained park
-Easy course, no hills, blackberries, etc.
-Great for a mid-range game

Cons:

*Signs are a little off, sometimes not matching the topography. Easy to figure out where to go, though.
*No tee pads. Dirt.

Other Thoughts:

A very easy course, practice. Good for working on your mid-range game. I was there on a Thursday afternoon in the summer, and there was no one around. I imagine on a weekend it would be a popular picnic/family park, though. If you plan on a McMinnville/Newberg trip, it's worth a quick little stop just to say you've played it. Not a lot of options for a power player, not many holes in the 300 range. Lots and lots of birdie & ace posibilities here. Overall, a fun little course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Ronburke
Experience: 45.1 years 7 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

nice warm up / practice course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 9, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Fairly easy to navigate.
Good course to practice different shots and warm up.
Great beginner course
Not crowded
Decent baskets
Fairly well maintained park.
Flat (if you consider that a pro)
You shouldn't loose any discs here.

Cons:

No tee pads
Not very challenging

Other Thoughts:

This is a nice park that is not crowded to come and just practice. I've been wanting to practice a few shots and this place is perfect for that. It's an easy course for beginners to play on and develop skills for harder courses. First time I played it, I shot 1 under par so it's fairly easy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Discbear
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.5 years 1525 played 25 reviews
3.00 star(s)

The pride of Carlton 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 23, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a nice clean well kept park. There are several birdies to be had, but there are many fine trees to thwart many of your efforts. We had the course to ourselves for 2 rounds on a perfect sunny Friday around noon outing.The course is easy to follow and the baskets are good, the Hornings Hideout variety. There is a good variety of shots to throw.Litter was very scarce.

Cons:

The tee pads are dirt but played just fine [ in dry weather]. There are no holes that you could call epic although it was fun to play. It's not a destination course as it is fairly easy and only 9 holes, but it is a great addition to the local area.

Other Thoughts:

It's great to have another course and I will likely play it again if I'm in the vicinity. Thanks to those who made the effort to get this course in.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top