Coralville, IA 
Coralville DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg  



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
You'll like "farming" here

5+    11/16/2018   11/17/2018
Review By: grayZlefty
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
Pros: Most amateurs will appreciate a variety of game-refining elements : risk/reward, elevation changes, wind, technical challenges, scenery, open/distance shots, tilted stances, ace opportunities, and quick rounds. The steep-banked creek on holes 2, 4,5, and 6 will swallow plenty of lousy shots. Holes 11-13 and 15-17 have mature growth. Expect areas of deeper grass framing some fairways as the course matures. Several holes have either severe roll-away potential, or steep basket-area drop-offs. Within a month of opening, several improvements (tree planting, drainage, brush clearing, assorted garbage containers) have occurred. A few original farm buildings remain.
Cons: Talented pros will likely find this course to be lacking a wow factor, but should still enjoy a trip here, especially if combined with other area courses. It is brand new(fall 2018) and heavy rains will damage sloped fairways until established. A steady parade of heavy construction vehicles from the adjacent quarry cause noise and gravel dust everywhere. Beware of barbed-wire fencing concealed within brushy areas. Closed until at least 11am M-F. Very limited parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Unknown if this new course will stay open for winter play.
The toughest positions and a gusty wind maybe bump this to a 3 rating. There are restaurants, hotels, and the mall within 5 minutes from the course.
A nearby walking/biking trail extension is in progress. Congratulations to Coralville, the land donators, and the designer for this enjoyable new disc property.


Its Okay For Beginners

1    10/5/2018   10/10/2018
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 90  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 14.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The property as a whole is all brand new, clean and nicely manicured. Clearly a fair amount of money was put into quickly putting this course into place and has a "ball golf" feel to the premises.

-There were nice new signs that are easy to understand.

-Each hole has a brand new basket. No need to get your tetanus shot before coming out here.

-This family farm looks to have other things to do, including but not limited to a permanent bean bag area made from concrete, something unlike anything I have ever seen.

-The property as a whole is very nice.

-1 long down-hill bomber hole that will make anyone want to step up to see how far they can bomb a disc. Fun for anyone on at least 1 hole always.

-River is in play on 2 holes but would require a shank of a shot as it only runs beside the hole and the fairway of the hole is wide open giving you plenty of wiggle room to throw on the other side of the fairway.

-Although they have quickly put a lot of work, time and money into this course with landscaping, they have still made the course FREE to play which is always great.
Cons: -General course design leaves a lot to be desired and is without a doubt the major limitation of this course.
A. Unless you prefer to throw straight, reachable distance holes over and over again for most the course, this course is going to disappoint. It's fair to say that somewhat close to 75% of these holes are fairly wide open, straight shots about 200-300 ft out. There is 1 other hole that goes to the right (hole 5 I believe and i think it was 2 holes that require you to throw a shot to the left (16 & 17). Other than that, an arrow straight shot thrown down an unobstructed alley will get you to each basket fairly easily.

-There are tons of freshly planted trees
-the trees will grow up and add to this course for sure, however, all these trees were planted on about 10 of the fairways strictly to line a straight fairway, giving you about a 100-150ft wide fairway to throw straight down. I don't believe I saw 1 tree planted that required you to throw a disc around it. I also assessed whether the trees created a fairway that bent left or right and none did. They simply put the trees in as straight as a line towards each basket, basically making a ton of holes that are all identical in their shot requirement.

-No garbages on the course when I was there but I would expect they will be putting some in soon and I am not dinging the course's rating for this, more or less wanted to make a note for those looking to play it
Other Thoughts: I always hate giving an average rating to a course that clearly the intent was to create something new and great with a lot of upfront money. Unfortunately, new and pristine only buys so much of my favor in a course and I definitely put more stock in great hole design, hole-type variety, course fun-factor (function of design and variety), and to some extent some technical requirements that make it so a guy throwing a tennis ball can't score the same as the guy throwing a disc. I admit I do prefer technical courses, but this course really does have the same straight, open shot on 75% of the course.

-This, in my opinion, is a great course for a beginner to really get an entry level feel of a decent disc golf course. I would be very skeptical to assume many seasoned throwers will come out here and feel challenged at all. I would never drive out of my way again to play this course. If it was within about 30 miles of my home Id maybe come back but not even that is a guarantee as I prefer more challenge and shot shaping requirements than this course will ever offer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

For Beginners Only

1    10/5/2018   10/9/2018
Review By: iconoclastes
Played: 80  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has beautiful brand new baskets that are bright orange and easy to see for the shorts. There are permanent bean bag toss boards in case you need to wait to hit the course. There is even a cool giant bell to ring on hole 1. The long baskets or alternate locations which are not in yet, would be borderline decent and could potentially merit a half point higher score. There are 2 good holes on this course, 15 which is a short tear drop down and back up a hill, and 18 which is a big bomber and even though there are no obstacles to deal with, 690 feet downhill is always fun.
Cons: I am very disappointed in this course. This is a course for beginners only because there is no challenge. A beginners course CANNOT merit anything above a 3.5 period. This is a wide open course with a few exceptions. There are recently planted trees and bushes on the wide open holes but not as obstacles at all, more as future ways to separate one hole from the other. There is nothing to throw around on most of the holes. There is no technicality to this course. With all the new trees planted one would think on occasion, that one or two of them would be in the fairway to throw around or between, but that is not the case here. There are a few holes in the middle that are just, throw up an open prairie, throw down an open prairie, throw up the prairie, throw back down etc. with no obstacles on the hole nor anything to separate one hole from the other besides some new 2ft tall bushes which makes it a safety concern as well considering this course will only bring in beginners who are still trying to figure out how far right they have to release the disc to get it to come back to the middle.
Other Thoughts: There is no way this course is remotely close to a 3.5, let alone the 4.5 that was given as the first review. I was so disappointed with this course considering it had such a high score. My trip to the area was a lot of fun, but this was by far the worst course we hit. It was simply just a waste of precious time on a short trip. I like technical or varied courses, Coralville is neither. Pretty much every hole is an ace run hole. Those are fun to have a couple times per round but not 15/18. If you are in this area hit Shaver park first and stay there and throw a second round before considering Coralville.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Variety and "fun factor"!

5+    9/30/2018   10/1/2018
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 160  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2018
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Edit/update: My review considers long and short on all holes (one set of baskets are moved between two positions that are currently installed on every hole). The easiest layout (5098ft) was in place (except for a couple holes) for Sept-Oct 2018 for the park's grand opening, and has fewer technical shot-shaping requirements:
1 left-to-right (hole 5)
2 right-to-left (holes 16, 17)
3 straight tunnels (holes 6, 12, 15)

The longest layout (6239ft) has more protected greens and technical shot-shaping requirements:
3 left-to-right (holes 6, 11, 14)
2 right-to-left (holes 1, 16)
3 straight tunnels (holes 5, 12, 15)
Holes 3, 7, and 8 are right-to-left but are wide open on the right side.
Holes 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 and 17 have more protected greens in the long layout.

----

This course is known as Altmaier Park, or "The Farm". Brand new park, grand opening was yesterday (Sept 30 2018). Nice fresh teepads, new orange MachX baskets. This course has a little bit of everything. The variety is its strongest suit. Each hole has two basket positions, usually a little different on the distance, but also different types of shot shaping required. There are several ace runs, and up to three par 4s (holes 10 long, 12 long, and 18 in both positions), so depending on the layout the par ranges from 55-57.

There are a couple of flat open shots, several wide open shots on steep uphill and downhill. A highlight of these is hole 9, a 400+ foot downhill shot from a teepad with expansive views of the valley. One of hole 9's basket position is set right at the edge of the woods, and it's deceptive...a throw that can reach the circle will look like it's going to end up deep in the woods. Also, there are several tunnel shots with varying degrees of technicality. The more technical ones are carved out of dense cedar forest, and it can be very tough to save par if you penetrate any distance off the fairway. Holes 3-6 play along a large creek with some sections having 10-12ft vertical banks, and it is a severe penalty to go in there -- even if you want to try scrambling down, you might not see your disc at all when the water is high and silty after rainfall.

This course is an excellent complement to nearby courses - it's quite different from Peninsula, Sugar Bottom, Lake Iowa and all the Cedar Rapids area courses (and I think it's better than all of these). Several holes are unique, unlike any I can recall from playing about 150 courses in 22 states. When it comes to "fun factor", this course really nails it.
Cons: Although there are a handful of holes here that will definitely challenge the best pro players, that's less than a third of the course, so it's still fair to say that overall this isn't a "championship-level course". Most holes are reachable by intermediate-level players with 320-ish driving distance, and the longer holes are not very technical (except for 12 long).
Other Thoughts: Since it's a really new park, there are still some amenities that are in progress. It's not equipped with decent bathroom facilities or drinking water, although there is a portable john. I think they underestimated the amount of parking needed...probably should be doubled. Where the creek banks are vertical, some access points for disc retrieval would be helpful, but I can understand there might be feasibility and safety concerns. These cons don't have much affect on my rating which is based mostly on the course itself.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.