Huntsville, AL 
Calhoun Huntsville Campus DGC Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #1 (Taken 4/2019)
3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Bagger University

5+    8/22/2019   5/10/2019
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 427  Reviewed: 411  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2019
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.074 Rating) (REVISED - replayed August 2019) A beginner friendly course on a well maintained campus lawn and with movable tee markers.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - All the deliverables on this course scream "I'm for newer players". Short holes in the 150 to 250 foot range. Four hours are mostly wide open and two holes have a moderate amount of trees. No hazards or overgrowth to contend with. The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is near impossible. Players would have to forget to pick up to lose one here.
- ACEABILITY - 6 ace runs. An experienced player could probably ace them all in a year's time with enough rounds. I figure a Recreational player could ring up the chains once every 50 rounds.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be constantly mowed, trimmed and manicured. I don't recall seeing any trash on any of my visits.
- QUICK PLAY - I can run three loops of 6 holes in thirty minutes. All the tees are generally within 100 feet of the prior basket.
- NAVIGATION - I had no issues here even without a map on my first visit. Everything is just so open that players will figure it out real quick.
- IDEAL BAGGER COURSE - Right of the highway exit, quick to play and care-free navigation equal a 5.0 Bagger course. So good, a bagger won't even notice the co-eds in the backdrop as their mind will already be headed to the next course.

Cons: Calhoun's appeal will be limited to campus players, beginners and baggers.
- 6 BASKETS - Having this few of baskets definitely hurts the rating for this course. A few may argue that it's only a practice area, although I'd disagree due to the numbering of the baskets and the fact that there are numbered tee markers.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves in terms of variety are far below average. To recreational players, they are all straight putter ace runs... maybe one mid. The most unique aspect on this course is that the fact that the tee markers are moveable. See other thoughts.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - The layout I played was geared to Novice level players. As noted above, the tee markers can be moved around to perhaps tweak the difficulty a touch higher. Regardless, there is really no way to produce an Intermediate level challenge without putting in design desecrations and fake challenge modifiers such as unnecessary mandos and improv islands.
- CHARACTER - The course has great baskets. There are tee markers too. That's it. No on site course map, no practice basket, no alt tees or basket locations, no benches, no shelter, no restrooms, etc. etc.
- RAW BEAUTY - Not awful by any stretch of the imagination, but none of the holes will have players scrambling for their phone or camera either. I'd score the two wooded holes a 2.5 and the other four holes less than a 1. The lack of trees, no water, little elevation and unattractive views on (2) and (4), lead to my below average score. The co-eds in the backdrop have no effect on my course Beauty rankings.

Other Thoughts: I liked this shorty for what it is. Lavone designed this to be a beginner friendly course to introduce college students to the game and his effective design achieved this goal. A rookie designer would have screwed this small project up by putting in horrible gimmicks like that seen out at Sparkman Park in Hartselle. Regardless, this course is likely just one stop appeal for everyone but campus students and those in the neighborhood. I've played it numerous times as it's a quick way to run six ace shots between my job site visits. It's the best beginner course in town, trumping Dublin, Greenbrier and Kent Robertson.
- BAGGERLAND - The 12th course I've played in the city limits of Huntsville, which is now the most I've bagged for any city, having eclipsed my 11 courses in the city of Austin Texas. There are now 16 listed DGCR courses within 15 miles of downtown Huntsville. In addition, there is one additional unlisted course, one proposed course, and one course under construction.
- MOVEABLE TEE MARKERS - Not sure if this is a good thing or bad thing, but the concrete embedded tee posts are moveable. The concrete bases have an intentionally flat bottom, are laid on top of the ground and weigh more than 50 lbs each. They are very well constructed. Apparently the campus wanted to be able to move tees around in case the grass became worn. Marking a course map for this course is fruitless.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Happy wife, happy life.

1    4/15/2019   5/6/2019
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 550  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2019
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: 1. My girlfriend absolutely loved this course.
2. Good design for beginners that still has challenging holes through tall pines.
3. Great scenery when class is in session.
4. Nice baskets.
5.Safe place for women to play solo with campus security present. Worst thing that could happen is a college guy may hit on a female discer. Most women may appreciate that.
5. Very adequate signage.
Cons: 1. It's only 6 holes. Looks like there is room for additional holes around the campus.
2. I played this course with my girlfriend and had to pretend I didn't notice the college girls. Wear sunglasses!

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

1    5/3/2019   5/3/2019
Review By: scoopa
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Well kept. Very well designed. Good variety of shots. Mixture of wooded and open holes.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I think alternate teepad locations would add to replayability. However, this is easily accomplished on your own.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.