Monroe, OH 
Monroe Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
4 / 292ft.   3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Always a challenge

5+    7/1/2017   7/3/2017
Review By: UFM82
Played: 20  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course forces you to control your shots, pick your line carefully and execute. If you are off by more than a couple of feet here or there you will not score well. Very tight windows in some areas and with full leaves on the trees very little room for error. This course is hilly due to the layout and it is used well. Uphill and downhill throws. Across the line throws. Several blind throws where you need to be comfortable throwing a disc and knowing where it will land. Several very good ace runs here; I've bounced off the basket on #16 twice now. It's a 24 hole course that is not long so it plays quickly. If you are in the area it is worth a round. Good course.
Cons: Can be treacherous when damp as the muddy hills are slick. Course holds water and can be swampy even after it hasn't rained on a while. Some hole signage is gone due to vandals. Early holes are uphill which makes it hard to get started at first. Last 4 holes are easy holes and winds up ending the round in a field away from the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Close by and always challenging. I can throw even here and I'm middle-rec. Better throwers score under easily. Amateurs may not like the brush- very thick, very unforgiving.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Monroe Community Park

2-4    4/24/2017   4/28/2017
Review By: ad166809
Played: 25  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quality baskets. They have the baskets in really great spots throughout the course. The additional 6 holes can get confusing so make sure you know which basket you are going for.

Tee Pads are in good shape

Clear signs, distances, illustrations on the maps for holes.

Course design is great. Very easy to navigate.

The park is maintained extremely well. There are a couple of the woodless holes where the grass could use a haircut.

Trash Cans and Benches on a lot of the holes or at least nearby.
Cons: There are no restrooms really close to the course. They are mostly for the baseball fields and other activities around there so just be aware of that.

Course is actually relatively easily because the holes are not too long.

Parking is great to start on hole #1, but its a decent walk back if you play all 24 baskets.

This course can get pretty crowded on the weekends. The couple times I went I saw a lot of newbies out that were slowing down play.
Other Thoughts: Major Elevation changes at this course. Hole #1 starts you out going straight up, but don't worry there are some good downhill holes as well.

Great variety of hole distances. The elevation changes also help with this.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Course

2-4    3/29/2016   3/30/2016
Review By: JDS3105
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Easy to navigate
Lets you develop a short game
Plenty of parking
Great workout
Cons: Very muddy after it rains- wear boots
No practice basket
A few missing tee signs
Some holes very close together-keep your eyes open
A few holes can interact with other park goers
People not using common sense or respect and not throwing away trash despite several trash cans being placed
Other Thoughts: Monroe had been on my list for a while. I had a Tuesday afternoon off and decided to play. I had the entire course to myself. With the elevation changes, this course will give you a heck of a workout. This is a technical course but you still have a few 300+ft holes you can throw drivers on- even some of the 200-285 holes you might find yourself throwing a driver especially on the uphill holes. Not a course for first timers. You will use many throws- backhand, anhyzer, forehand ect. I imagine this course is tougher in the summer time when everything has grown back. I was very pleased with this course. But since it's over 30 minutes away, it won't be in my regular rotation. But I definitely will be back to play it again!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Short and woody

5+    2/21/2016   2/22/2016
Review By: Gliming5000
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly difficult for a short course and will test every shot in your bag under 250 feet.
24 holes
well marked in most places
easy navigation
Cons: Some holes missing signs
mostly dirt/mud on fairways
needs colored tops on baskets
Mostly short holes
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for someone who likes tight wooded courses and only likes to throw mid range discs. I would have liked to be able to throw some drivers, but I guess that's just what I'm used to.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short, technical, and Fun!

1    6/15/2015   12/15/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 337  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 24 hole course, set in a multi-use park, in Monroe, OH (greater Cincy area). The course loops around the park.

Concrete tee pads, one tee per hole. On this course, these tees were fine, even if a few were starting to show some age.

Chainstar baskets, in decent enough repair. One pin position per hole. I particularly liked some of the basket placements here. Plenty of roll away opportunities, and some nice tucked positions.

Nice use of the terrain and wooded areas here. There's a nice mix of wooded and open areas, and plenty of rolling elevation comes into play, especially early in the round.

Nice, tight, technical lines in the woods. I don't remember any lines that were too tight, but you definitely need to be accurate here.

While most of the course is shorter, there was some variation in distance, which is nice.

Tee signs were adequate, with distance, hole number, and a basic line laid out. Navigation was pretty simple, as well.

Cons: One tee/pin per hole. There didn't seem to be much space available for more tees, but some more pin positions here would be nice.

This does seem to be a somewhat right-friendly course. Lots of straight, or right to left type holes. It's not that big of a deal, though...lefties are cheaters. Most holes offer one line, and that's about it.

Being this is a shorter course, it's not hard to imagine it gets a ton of traffic during peak times.
Other Thoughts: Monroe isn't a butt kicking course by any stretch. What it is, is fun. Lots of ace runs and technical shots are found here. Definitely a decent place for all skill levels to have fun throwing frisbees.

While Monroe probably isn't a must play, there's plenty to offer here. If I were close again, I'd probably play it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Love it

5+    9/7/2014   9/10/2014
Review By: remraf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Variety! It's got open holes, open wooded holes, and wooded wooded holes. It's got straight, hyzer, anhyzer, narrow, wide, up, down and all combinations therein.
+ Concrete Tee Pads - which I personally prefer to asphalt, rubber, and grass.
+ Location! Pretty easy to get to, just 5-10 minutes right off I-75.
+ Mostly easy to navigate, with no brainer next holes, and next tee signs pointing you the right way when necessary. If you look closely at the baskets too, some very kind soul took the time to put arrow stickers on many of the poles of the baskets pointing you in the right direction to go on the holes back in the woods. Thanks kind person!
+ 24 holes! That's 29% more than 18!
+ Benches and trash cans liberally placed throughout.
Cons: - The concrete tee pads are far too narrow and short. Most holes it doesn't matter, because you are not going to come up with your big johnson throw on too many holes anyways. But there are a couple where you just wish the tee pad were bigger. Yes, I realize you can start off the tee pad. But when I compare this to say Lobdell in Columbus with these nice, big, roomy concrete tees, these slightly disappoint.
- Can be crowded! Being a great course, in a great easy to get to location, lots of people come out! Which is great! But I mostly fly solo, and I LOVE getting to a course and it just being me and the course. Greedy, I know. But when I'm at say Gulley bright and early and there's nobody there, it's an awesome thing that I really enjoy. That said, I have yet to run into any group who does not let me through. This is a personal preference, and hardly a real negative, but I mention it in case their are kindred souls.
- On hole 23, if there is a baseball game going, you can overthrow and come close to the crowd.
- Despite liberally placed trashcans, degenerates still discard trash (bottles, etc) whenever said container is dispensed of it's liquid. Seriously, how hard is it to walk it to the next hole that probably has a trash can?
Other Thoughts: Pictures may not accurately convey the elevation changes here. You are really throwing and walking up and down hills on a couple of holes. And it's quite noticeably more of an effort to navigate than an average course, and I say that as someone who walks a lot. Finally, there are only 4 holes over 300 feet, with the longest being 345. This is a more technical course, and 1 step or small walk ups are in order here. Bring your Putters and Mid Ranges and enjoy - this is a great course!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Only played 10 holes

1    7/4/2014   7/4/2014
Review By: RlemontW
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I loved the pin placements on the first ten holes. I only played 10 as my 11 year old got tired. Distances are good. Not too tight. Good course to practice different shots.
Cons: Slighty muddy today but after a few days of sun this would be an awesome course to play.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Monroe DGC

2-4    10/21/2013   1/21/2014
Review By: joshtrum
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2014
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - 24 Holes
- Variety of Shots and types of Holes
Other Thoughts: A tightly wooded course. Monroe is a course where a player can work on there technique and need to throw shots in tight spaces. 24 Holes. A more advanced level course to play on. Course has emphasis on control of the disc, not necessarily how far you can throw.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Troll's Review

5+    11/14/2012   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 29.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 24 holes
Tight and wooded, mostly, good mix up all around.
Decent lay out, and easy to follow progression
Cons: Could be better labeled all around with signs to the next tee pad
Other Thoughts: Good addition to the Cincinnati hub of courses popping up. turtle creek and few other courses are right in the area...

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good couse

2-4    8/3/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: chris171
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice place to work on control, holes are easy to find and give a good challenge with the trees. Good mix of holes that are in the woods and also in open field.
Cons: Not many cons other then you will get a good workout playing this hole
Other Thoughts: Love this course and enjoy playing it with friends.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.