Broomfield, CO 
East Interlocken Park Share
Uploaded By: The Bard Hole #2 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 261ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Alt. Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

" />
Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Dual tees make this course

1    7/30/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: Gumby23
Played: 109  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 22.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Dual tees make the course interesting and the "A" tees decently challenging. It is designed wisely, taking advantage of the terrain, water and trees. Easy to follow, quick rounds make for multiple tries. Nice tee boxes and signs. #7 throw across the water is awesome.
Cons: No "A" tee for #5, construction, fairly short.
Other Thoughts: Great redesign!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 An Improved Design

2-4    7/15/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: srm_520
Played: 153  Reviewed: 140  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice piece of property that has water in play down the middle of it, and some minor elevation changes that mix in well with the large trees. The course isn't very long, coming in at just under 2500', but makes up for the length with trees, brush, and water hazards. I like the new #5, its short but the trees make it a marked improvement over the previous layout. Concrete tees for all of the boxes is a nice touch too.

There is also a 19 hole layout that is marked with spray paint throughout the course, but you'll need the map from the links page to truly be able to play this layout. Since being redone a few years ago, there were some minor hole changes like the position of #2 and #4, but the boxes are now easier to find with hallway decent marking. I enjoy that even though #2 was changed, it still retained its pucker effect because of the surrounding water.

BEST HOLE/S: #2, #4
Cons: #6 is still a filler hole, and the soccer field still comes into play, so it can be an issue competing for space with the other park users. The water is great, but just note that if you throw you disc in the drink - it's going to be gone in the fast moving current.

The new #9 pin location is a great hole, but if you overthrow - you're risk going into the parking lot and tagging your car. You may have some minor issues competing with path goers on #3 and #4.

WORST HOLE/S: #6
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy the redesign for this course, and can tell that people in this area care about East Interlocken and its future. It's still not a top course in the Denver area, but it's one of the best nine-hole courses on the 36 corridor to Boulder.

Although I didn't have the 19 hole experience, I love when golfers care about a place, so unlike North Midway Park down the road, I think this course has a bright future. This is also one of those times where I think a 2.75 rating is on the nose, but with all of the improvements I'll give East Interlocken's playability and overall design changes an uptick to just touching three discs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Can be great - Must play with hard-surface penalty

5+    4/7/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: ttuff
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to get to and not very crowded. I know these don't sound like criteria that generally draw you onto a course but I am frequently able to get my friends off of the couch on Sunday afternoons because of those two things. Great facilities: restrooms, trash/recycle, shelter. If played with hard-top surfaces as out-of-bounds then this course is technical, difficult, and fun. If played as a standard park course then it will be just that.
Cons: This course is adjacent to Hwy 36 and you definitely notice. You have a great view of the mountains but everything else feels sterile and suburban. No character or creativity went into anything you see on the course. Cars on the west side of the parking lot regularly get hit by discs. The big field can get really swampy and/or goose pooped, which sucks to walk across.
Other Thoughts: We play this course with all hard-top surfaces and water OB. This makes this course really fun and very technical. I can shoot this course at -6 without this rule but generally shoot +4-5 with the "hard-tip rule". Admittedly, 2-3 of those strokes are penalty add-ons for landing on hard surfaces but the remaining strokes come from the added difficulty that comes along with the rule.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 (Not so) secret gem

2-4    12/24/2012   12/24/2012
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 31  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good for beginners, and working on short game. A quick round.

Slopes and water make for some good challenges. Give your disc the right lie OR you can pay a price!

Variety of throws to try.

Well maintained and scenic. Wildlife includes coyotes, raccoons, owls, woodhouse toads, carp, catfish, and wolf spiders, among other beasties.

Alternate tees for most holes (some are challenging to find, see if a friendly local can help you locate them). You can reduce the hazard of the ditch on 3 and 4 during the spring and summer when it is running.
Cons: There IS a lot of water. The main irrigation ditch can have a powerful flow, and the potential for significant danger, if you are fool enough to put your foot in it when it is running.

Thorn-bearing trees around hole 8 can puncture a disc, easily. They'll put your eye out, or give you a nasty poke, if you're not watching closely.

A beehive is on the trail in one of the cottonwoods between 2 and 3.
Other Thoughts: I used to chuck my discraft ultrastar at trees and light poles around the property to the south and west, and always imagined having a crew to throw with out here. It is neat to see a formal course around "my back yard".

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  if you like geese, this is the course for you

2-4    11/25/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: 3 disc wonder
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Signage at each hole
Cons: - Simple hole layout, no challenging holes really
- All holes are relatively short
- Putrid water everywhere. You could lose your disc in 4 inches of water due to how murky the water is. Perhaps mine just dissolved, I'm not sure.
- Lots of geese on the course, so you may need to clean goose guano off of your disc on occasion.
Other Thoughts: This course is only ten minutes from my house and I will never play there again.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little hidden course

2-4    10/23/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: CBass
Played: 119  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tees throughout with nice baskets. Signage on the regular tees can help the first timer make their way around and scout out the alternates along the way. Speaking of alternates tees, these are a nice addition and make the course much more fun for an experienced player. Lots of mature shade trees and shelter. A nice variety of shots on each set of tees. Sweet lake teeshot on #7(?) alternate. The trees, lake, marsh, hillsides, and creek will keep you on your toes. Seems like there are more than one route on most holes which more small courses lack. Short course but worth a trip out.
Cons: Alternate tees do not have distances marked, but they are not extremely long to make it a big deal. A couple drainage crossings can be tricky and may be slick so please be careful. Not too many cons really.
Other Thoughts: There is a message board with area info in it. Great course that the area needs and deserves. Keep up the good work guys!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/20/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 208  Reviewed: 146  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well kept multi purpose park that is in a nice part of town.

-The baskets are in great shape.

-The course is relatively new so that means it is very quiet and does not see a lot of action yet.

-The course plays quickly as there is not a lot of walking in between holes so you can go in and play in a quick amount of time.

-There are dual tee pads at each of the holes and they each have different angles as opposed to just a longer shot, disc selection is different on each hole. You can end up playing 18 completely different holes.
Cons: -This course is way simple and does not have any holes that really stuck out to me, there was not a whole lot of excitement involved on shots.

-The creek that comes into play is quite tough with newer players. Especially on hole 2 where you have to throw downhill towards the basket and if you over shoot it by even 5 feet it is going to go in the water. It is a raging river and there is a very small chance that you will see your disc again after throwing it in.

-Some of the alternate tee positions were very difficult to find and there were no signs to point you where you needed to go to find the alternate positions.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with a few of my cousins when I was visiting who are inexperienced when it comes to disc golfing and we had a bad time with the river, losing two discs on very simple shots.

This course does not have any wow factor and no single hole that stuck out in my mind. In my opinion if you are in the area and want to play disc golf, Westminster DGC is real close by and will give you a bit more excitement then what this course has to offer. It is a passable course but by no means one that I would want to play every day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Park

2-4    10/8/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful well-groomed park
-Nice baskets
-Practice basket and info board near the first hole
-Concrete tee-pads and each hole has an alternate tee-pad
-The alternate tee-pads give many of the holes a different look
-There are tee-signs that show the layout of the hole and give the distance of the holes (though the alternate tee-pads don't have tee-signs for them)
-There is a canal that runs throughout the course and comes into play on some of the holes and hole 7 has a pond off to the right side that could come into play...so there are some water hazards
-There are some fun holes that use the available trees and landscape well
-A few of the holes have slight elevation changes on them
-If it is a windy day out, the wind will definitely come into play on a couple of the holes.
-The course uses the small space available for it quite well
Cons: -There are navigation problems between a few of the holes (Tee-pad for 8 can be a little hard to find when coming from hole 7). I suggest bringing a map the first time you play or taking a good look at the map on the info board at the beginning of the course.
-All of the holes on the course are pretty short (as with the normal tees the longest hole is just over 300 feet).
-While there are some fun holes on the course, a lot of the holes are straight shots and some of the holes (like hole 6 feel like filler holes added just to have another hole on the course).
-None of the holes on the course (at least from normal tees) are that difficult
-The alternate tee-pads can be hard to find if you don't know what to look for.
-The tee-pads are pretty small and about half of the normal tee-pads are on the sidewalks, which could interfere with other park users
-A lot of the holes play over or around sidewalks and a couple of the holes play pretty close to roads and the basket for 7 is right in front of a picnic pavilion. All of these could lead to potential safety hazards if the park is crowded.
-The canal and pond has some nasty water in it if it is full and you throw your disc in it. Also in a few spots some of the grass around the canal grows really tall and could lead to some lost plastic.
Other Thoughts: This is an enjoyable 9-holer in a small park. The designers did a good job of designing some fun holes with the space they had available. With that said, none of the holes on the course are truly memorable. This course doesn't take much time to play and if you work in the area, it would be a great lunch time break. This course is definitely worth a try if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Little Nine Holer W/Alternate Teepads!

1    7/18/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1029  Reviewed: 979  Exp: 39.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one pretty little course. It's set in the middle of a business park and the course is extremely well maintained. It's green with, lush grass, shade trees, lots of hills and some water hazards. Today our water hazard was the sprinklers. The course weaves it way through the buildings sometimes using sidewalks as the tee boxes. There are a alternate set of boxes allowing you to play this as a full 18. This plays as a fairly easy recreational level course thus making it a perfect venue for bringing that newbie/wife/youngster. There are a few ACE runs. # 7 is the longest hole on the course with water on the right side but it can easily be avoided by playing it more safely and staying left. You'll need to throw both hysers and anhysers here. The shade and the sprinklers both were welcome on this 95 degree July day.
Cons: Advanced/Pro players won't find a challenge here. But I think they'd enjoy a round here anyway. I understand the canal can become a torrent after rain. Today, it was a trickle.
Other Thoughts: Perfect course for me, 60 year old recreational player. Your tastes may differ. Proceed at your own pace.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty course, but small.

1    6/3/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: sPinister
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nicely groomed and well kept. Pretty park. Fun way to kill 30 mins.
Cons: Too small. Not enough obstacles. too many straight on shots. thats pretty much it.
Other Thoughts: I have no thoughts other than these. these are the only thoughts i have.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.