Conroe, TX 
Little Egypt DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #7 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 304ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Unique course and lots of fun

5+    1/18/2020   1/22/2020
Review By: MikeTorre
Played: 72  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful spot -> immaculate technical course situated in a forested green space adjacent to residential community

Challenging -> expect 18 holes zig zagging up and down through the forested areas with some nice elevation mixes

Well-designed -> amazing tee pads, nice baskets, great signage - all together a lot of fun to navigate and throw

Free! -> the course is available to all in a safe area with ample parking (follow the dirt road into the forest...)

Cons: "Samesy" -> while most courses tend to mix things up, this course design goes deep on one experience.

Intimidating -> more inexperienced players (certainly beginners and novices) might find the tight fairways punishing

Bit isolated -> not a lot of other courses in the immediate area (yet), but I like to combine it with McDade for a really fun day of golf

Other Thoughts: I've thrown 20+ courses in greater Houston now and this one stands apart from the rest - a truly unique option for disc golfers looking for a technical alternative to "open" park courses.

I find the course tricky to locate sometimes. Just follow the big Shadow Lakes sign and the little John Burge Park sign to get to Little Egypt.

Don't let the bad reviews dissuade you! I've brought a couple of friends to this course and we've all enjoyed it a lot. Yes, it's tough, but it's also one-of-a-kind.




4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Clean technical course, but...

1    12/5/2018   12/5/2018
Review By: 3dogmike
Played: 38  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 12/6/2018
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Cleanest course I have ever played!
Excellent signage (except getting to first tee pad)
Quality concrete tee pads
Quality baskets
Some really good technical holes, even with a little elevation change.
Lots of opportunity for shaping shots
Cons: Getting to the first tee pad from the paved parking lot for the park can be a challenge.
Some holes need more clearing to really provide an opportunity to shape a shot.
Too repetitive. Some great technical holes, but 18 of them? Overkill.
Didn't use my drivers much. Mostly control drivers and midranges.
Other Thoughts: If you're on the north side of the Houston/Woodlands area, there are several other courses I would place over this.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice wooded course in TX

2-4    7/30/2018   7/31/2018
Review By: hawk12
Played: 266  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 29.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very large concrete trapezoid tee boxes on each hole, most well well maintained and clear of sand.
Good tee signage on each hole, with next tee direction on each sign.
Fairways were fairly well designed with decent shaped lines on most holes (more below).
Well used and obvious paths to the next hole after each basket, was very easy to find my way around without needing the map once I looked at it in the parking area and on here once I found hole 1.
Decent work was done to give fair lanes and shot shaping, its obvious the desingers know a little something and are not noobs 'giving it a go'.
Cons: There was a few repetitive themes I felt that really bring it down for me.
1- holes 1-6 are the same 2 holes 3x over to start the round. Same up/down & distance.
2- It really felt like I mostly threw the same 2 shots the entire round (save 3 holes). Either I threw a 300-310 ft turnover (LHBH), or a 225ft turnover (LHBH). As a lefty this place was turnover city for me & the only 3 holes I got to throw a clean hyzer were a 230 footer and a 200 footer, then hole 18 was my only driver hyzer at 315ish.... Even the dual lanes which were quite nice to see, did not have the flight path that a lefty would take - I choose to throw the turnover down the righty lane almost every single dual fairway as that had a much better lane/flight path. Maybe this is a maintenance issue, as I did notice one of the designed lefty lanes was completely overgrown and not really a fairway anymore. Even the one par four, was two righty hyer shots at 240ft to pin it. Again, the same repetitive throws as many of the par 3s....
3- Some of the concrete tees could have been placed/installed in a slightly different location (a few feet left or right, or even aiming slightly different angle down the fairway) to allow a cleaner or more even chance to utilize both fairways lanes. Again, this may be an installation issue vs. a design issue as just a foot left or right on a box can make a huge difference in a wooded course.

So the repetitive nature of throwing annys, and the repetitive nature of throwing a turnover mid OR a turnover putter over and over was a shame. It really felt like every hole was either 215 ft or 310ft.... I threw the same 2 tee shots both rounds I played yesterday, over and over and over.
36 tee shots yesterday, 6 left hyzers (4 of those were with a putter), 20ish anny mids, and 10 anny putters. I was hoping for more from an over 3.5 rated course.

Other Thoughts: This is my 35th course in TX, and I feel quite strongly that most courses in TX are rated about a half a mark higher than the should be on a national scale. Could be the state is so big that many golfers don't get out of state too often. BUt 10% of the total number of courses I've played are in TX and this is a common feel for me.

This was indeed a solid TX course, better than most for sure. Solid bones, good design, just too repetitive for me liking. Maybe its a maintenance issue, maybe it just needed some ever so slight changes (1-2 more tree on the left lanes removed for a better lefty shot shape. I just kept throwing the 'safer cleaner lane' as I didn't want to go in the woods, and it was so often a turnover I felt a bit let down at the end of my 2 rounds.
Again, this is not a total knock, its good course, its just not a 3.5+ course in my eyes.
Reviewer background: I travel for work, a lot, and play the very high end courses, as wellas those 1.0 courses just because they are close to where I am working or staying on a trip.
I have seen the very best and the very worzt courses in my travels.
Played as righty for 15 years, got injured, and as a lefty for the last 13 years - so I am one of the guys that really sees both sides of the disc after 28 years of playing.
940ish rated player that has played 302 courses in 29 states, so I've been around to a few to see what's out there as well.

Overall, I'd recommend a player to come here, and recommend a traveling player to stop by as it was some good golf and better than many in the area.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tech Support

1    6/9/2017   6/9/2017
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 321  Reviewed: 302  Exp: 8.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Boasting 18 wooded lane holes in a separate part of a nice family park just north of Conroe, Little Egypt will pose a technical control challenge for even Intermediate to Advanced layers, and will really improve your skills at hitting a release point and managing a course. With fantastic, large, level, trapezoidal concrete tees and still-new DGA baskets, the infrastructure is really top notch. There are plenty of trash barrels and benches to go with a good course map and excellent tee signage. Logical flow with minimal walks from basket to tee mean you probably won't miss the fact that the course lacks 'next tee' signs.

The tall pine trees and sandy soil here appear to drain pretty well, and minimize undergrowth, so even when you do get off the tight fairways (you will), it's pretty tough to lose a disc. There are two shorter holes (8 & 10) with the ravine just behind the green. 8's won't be a problem, but 10 gets really steep. They use the gradual slope well on the first half dozen holes and the finishing 18th, and the rest of the course has minimal slope. It would be a cart-friendly course, but you might not need a huge selection of discs: control mids and maybe fairway drivers will help keep it down the middle.

The shadedness of the course will definitely be a plus when the weather gets warm. Compliments to the course installers for clearing the trees they have, and for creating a relatively challenging track, without trying to make it too long. In all, "Little Egypt" (in John Burge Park") will only be easily mastered by higher rated players with pinpoint control in the 300 foot range. Folks who throw shorter, but can control their tee shots to stay in the fairway, may add a stroke on most holes, but still enjoy the challenge.
Cons: The lack of next tee signage may become an issue after holes 12 and 17, where the paths cross, but if you just remember you'll be crossing the bridge after each, you'll be good to go. The biggest issue with the course is that after the first five holes, you feel a little like it's starting to get repetitive. Have patience: there are a couple of deuce chances and left to right shots through the middle of the course. Note that (right now) holes 6 and 7 are unplayable due to some construction over there, so (even though you could play hole 5, you might just decide to walk straight past the 4th basket to play from the 7th fairway on, and keep the flow going. Finally, bigger arms will lament the lack of any 'grip and rip' holes.
Other Thoughts: I added the following to the course directions: One mile on the right (past Shadow Lakes) is the entrance to John Burge Park. Immediately turn right on the gravel drive to the turnaround in the woods, 1st tee is on the left.

Reviewer Background as of this writing: played 293 courses and written 277 reviews, with skills hovering around a 900 rating, with folks ranging from age 7 to 87, so I try to write reviews helpful to all.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 nice woods!

1    12/21/2016   12/29/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 334  Reviewed: 271  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -excellent concrete tees and excellent tee signs
-great Mach V baskets in good condition
-entirely wooded course, 18 holes in thick trees but fair tunnels
-good variety of righty and lefty shots and minor elevation
-requires accurate shots to score well
-easy navigation
-fairways cleared of brush and the rough is not too bad
Cons: -the holes get repetitive right away
-the holes are mostly in the same distance range (15 holes from 230'-350')
Other Thoughts: This course does one thing really well. It is a great wooded finesse course with excellent amenities. The tees, baskets, and signs are top notch and the course is easy to navigate but the holes are repetitive. The fairways are well defined tunnels on basically every hole. Most have varying numbers of trees to avoid in the middle of the fairway and hole 4 has a cool split fairway.

As others have said, the middle portion of the course is the most interesting. It has the most variation in fairway shape and distances and there are a few small ravines. I also liked hole 18 as a finishing hole: a right turning uphill drive to a flat wooded area with scattered mature trees.

It's hard to find much to say about the course. There are not really any memorable holes since they are all a bit of a blur. It is definitely well done and a great place to practice accurate driving. It's also a good complement to the other courses in the area. If I lived nearby I would play here a lot but I prefer this kind of golf, even if this one is a bit vanilla.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Helps with your game!

2-4    9/10/2015   9/15/2015
Review By: Meho20
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is an excellent course.

Fairways are nice and not too big, rough is there but not too rough.

Teepads are all concrete, hole markers at each hole, baskets are in great shape and have number plates.

Course is quiet - sits back from the park.

Cons: Nothing wide open to let you rip a big drive.

Nowhere to practice throws of any significant distance.

First couple of holes are repetative, but then gets interesting after that.


Other Thoughts: This course can test you mentally. It has all the lines to play to make for a good round and challenging.

Overall a great course, fun to play and can be done very quickly!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Been a while

1    2/22/2015   2/22/2015
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 43  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very wooded and tight course, good teeboxes, challenging course I would love to play often. I played it on a roadtrip with a couple other courses about 8-9 months ago so I can't remember much, I do know that it was far more challenging than McDade.
Cons: The fairways are fair, but the rough is a little too rough. I recently designed a course in east texas that's pretty similar to this in the narrow fairways aspect, but the rough is a little redic.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  The Narrow Path

1    6/25/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: ianryn
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee boxes
- Hole location map at tee boxes
- Lets you know the direction of the next hole location on the map
- Clean fairways
- Some trees but makes it challenging
- Benches on some hole locations
- Brush cleared away on pathways
- Wooded areas not overgrown so makes it easy to locate disc
- Well shaded
Cons: - No holes are to wide open
- No area to practice driving
- Cages could stand out more with better markings (bright colored tape/paint)
- No easy way out if it starts to rain (from experience)
- Lots of small tree stumps that are easy to trip over
Other Thoughts: - Course makes you pay for inaccurate throws
- Park is in a great location away from the rest of park traffic

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Little Red Riding Hood

2-4    7/8/2014   10/29/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 151  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/8/2015
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Pros:

1. Huge tee pads. Ample room to get a really nice run up in the woods.

2. Course map in parking lot. I would take a look before beginning.

3. Tee signs with pretty accurate display.

4. Tight wooded course. Too many course in Houston lack tight wooded holes.

5. Hole 1 starts in the woods, but there is a short drive tucked back by the tee pad so you dont have to walk from the main parking lot.

6. Elevation. The first few holes basically play in alternating sequence of downhill to uphill to downhill... etc. Some holes play flat with elevation surrounding the pin.

7. Course begins and ends in the same area.

8. New DGA Mach 5 baskets with number plates.

9. Restrooms on site.

10. Practice basket near parking back by tee 1.
Cons: The Cons:

1. Lots of debris in the fairways. A good raking would help clear up most of the debris.

2. Mid way through the course it can get a tiny bit confusing as to where the next tee pad is. That's why i recommend checking out the course map in the main parking lot.

3. This a a piggy back of #2, but course needs a few more trees trimmed out to give a more realistic line from tee to basket.

Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the challenge of Little Egypt. Every hole is tightly wooded. You will need a controlled drive with an equally controlled upshot. With the tight fairways offering little forgiveness, your upshots and putts will likely be from the brush or behind tress. Dont be to cocky and think that laying up is bad. You have 18 holes of frustration ahead if you dont keep your cool. Lastly, I think that Little Egypt is a great addition to the north Houston area. Bring bug spray and wear long shorts or pants for the brushy fairways.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/22/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 268  Reviewed: 205  Exp: 8.1 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When coming out to Little Egypt my expectations were low. But I left having a fun time at a tight course in a scenic forest near Lake Conroe.

First of all the tee pads are monsters. Easily the biggest pads in the greater-Houston area. The signs of each hole were pristine and were very informative and they jumped out at you.

One problem that comes with heavy wooded courses is navigation. There are usually turn arounds or holes that do not connect to each other. This course was super easy to follow and the next tee pad could usually be seen from the previous hole. With the big bright course map at the beginning, the course was that much easier to follow.

The course itself is a different feel then most Houston courses. 100% of the holes need a controlled drive to make sure you can get through the narrow fairways. The basket placements are challenging but fair.

Even after a rain this course does not seem to hold water and can be played all the time. There was elevation change on a few holes which probably drains the water into the ditches that go through the course.

The course is still new and it is quite empty it seems throughout the day.
Cons: They say it is better to be lucky than good. And unless you are a 1000+ rater player you may need a few lucky shots to get through VERY small gaps in the fairways. I thought a few holes were quite unfair with just a few two many trees clustered together on a few holes. I guess that was the point of this course so it is sort of nitpicking from a guy who likes to throw his discs far and without care.

Repetition will get you out here. Playing here once it is hard to pick a favorite hole because there is not a hole that sticks out in my mind as THE hole. Everything was tight and 250-300~ ft so it made the course seem repetitive.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and should not be overlooked or turned away from because of it's difficulty. The Woodlands/Conroe area already has great courses and Little Egypt is a great addition and adds what this area has been lacking, a heavily wooded finesse course.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.