• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Better to develop opposite hand or opposite style?

Discgolfer420

I currently throw almost exclusively LHFH, it works well for me but I want to develop other parts of my game. My backhand driving is very inconsistent so I am considering developing a RHFH instead of continuing trying to "fix" my crap backhand. Curious what other think, work on my weak LHBH or try to develop a RHFH?

I think that would depend on the person. Personally, my left half is completely retarded. I stick to my dominant hand and am currently trying to develop my RHFH.

When I had been playing for a few months, I slipped in a creek and broke a rib. I couldn't throw forehanded for 6 or 7 weeks, so I was forced to learn to throw backhand. It was the best thing that could have happened to my game! I am far better throwing primarily BH than I ever was relying on my FH. My advice is take a step backward in order to take several steps forward!

I think that would depend on the person. Personally, my left half is completely retarded. I stick to my dominant hand and am currently trying to develop my RHFH.

Agreed, most people have little coordination with the off hand. But, the primary consideration should be that a LHBH and RHFH are two very different shots. Different angles, requiring different lines, and room. Seems like developing an arsenal of throws on one side would be a sound stategy before moving to the other hand.

While a RHFH and a LHBH finish in the same direction, their flights can be pretty different. Add whichever is easier for you, but don't completely give up on either. We have a guy locally that can throw BH and FH with both hands, it opens up SOOOO many different lines for him.