• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Question] Disc Usage Database

AriusAneid

Title might be a bit misleading, but not sure what to call it. I have a lot to try and explain, so bear with me please, and thank you!

A little background to begin with, I have been playing for 5 years, but not at a very competitive level. I started out using a Starfire driver, and over the years followed the progression to faster discs with the same turn and fade (Starfire->Wraith->Destroyer->Boss). Going this route, I've learned how to throw many of these, allowing for nice long S-curves. The thing that I've noticed while now playing with more competitive players, and realizing how limited my disc bag is, is that you can't just compare discs by their flight stats or the offered flight path charts that the various companies put out.

The biggest thing I've noticed is that there are many more shots needed than just going down as far as possible, or allowing the disc to follow it's normal flight path. This may seem basic to a lot of players, but it was a realization for me. It's actually allowed me to utilize my Boss for better effect in having in turn sharper. But in looking at stats, the difference between a Boss and a Destroyer aren't that different, but what you use them for is very different from what I've been seeing and hearing from more advanced player. These are the interactions in comparing discs that I am very interested in.