• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Driver Recommendation

itsRudy: Thanks for your thoughts. In fact, several days ago I ordered a few Makos from the Innova factory store. Although I am only throwing consistently under 200', I can finally notice the performance difference when throwing putters vs. mids.

On a somewhat unrelated note, let share a few thoughts as a beginner. This is a difficult sport. For years I have heard many friends share their thoughts about the many nuances in regular "ball golf" - the footwork, grip, hip & shoulder rotation, head position, follow-through, etc. I have come to the conclusion that all of these factors apply to disc golf as well. As a total beginner, attempting to be mindful of all of these factor simultaneously while driving is tantamount to keeping 15 balls in the air while juggling.

So for me, I have been isolating & concentrating on only 1 or 2 components (for example, in practicing driving) at a time. I figure that if I can lock these components into my muscle memory then I can move on to other aspects of driving technique. My initial goal throughout my practice is to driving straight, accurate & consistent. It's tough; but it's fun.

My personal backstory, however, presents a few limiting factors. Although I have been ( and continue to be) physically active all of my life, I have to develop my skills in disc golf within certain limits. Because of my active lifestyle, over the years I have had to replace both hips, both knees & one shoulder. Throw in a couple of rotator cuff tears & fused vertebrae and you can see that I have no delusion of making the pro disc golf tour. Oh, and did I mention that I am 74 years old?