• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Help with Standing Backhand Driving Technique

MIgolfer

Hello All,

I finally had the chance to slo-mo film myself throwing a few standing drives. Watching myself on film for the first time was an interesting experience. It's tough to know how much you're doing wrong without seeing yourself in third person.

Anyway, even as a beginner, I noticed a bunch of things I need to work on and hoped to get some more ideas from you on how to fix and/or improve my current woefully awful technique :p.

Here's what I noticed...
  1. My left arm, what the crap? I had no idea I was swinging it with my right arm and I have no idea where that ridiculous habit came from. Must be because I want to grab the disc with both hands or something.
  2. I'm not shifting my weight forward through my throw.
  3. My right arm drops slightly mid swing. So that causes me to pull back up which then causes the nose to point up on every throw.
  4. I think I'm letting go too early in my throw so the disc doesn't finish accelerating.
Any other ideas for me or tips for overcoming these? I generally get about 220' out of my drivers (Champion Valkyrie, Star Roadrunner). Rarely do I get better than 250' lately. I know I can do better than that because in late Summer I was getting 250'ish on a regular basis with the occasional 280'-300' drive. I seem to have settled into some bad habits over the past few months that're screwing me over.

Thanks y'all.

[*]My left arm, what the crap? I had no idea I was swinging it with my right arm and I have no idea where that ridiculous habit came from. Must be because I want to grab the disc with both hands or something.

Looks like you're doing magic ala David Copperfield!