• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

How do I train my dog not to chase and catch my discs?

blakis21

How do I train my dog not to chase and catch my discs? I have never taken him and I'm new to the sport. I have seen dogs on the course that just stay by the owner.

I just told my dog no at an early age and haven't thought about it since. Oh and he has been jacked by one once so he pretty much just avoids them. I guess I could be lucky though.

Take him outside, not to the course, and try the "NO!" when you are throwing around. I wouldn't start by designating a "dog" disc, it should learn to never go after a disc until you tell it to. Make him/her sit next to you while u throw around, maybe involve a practice basket? Give treats for good behavior and I think the best policy is to work on sitting right next to you..

If you are comfortable with your progress prior to going to the course, I say leash him/her up and do a round, get a feel for how the dog will act when it isn't just you two one-on-one.

I have an 8lb Chiuhuhua Pomeranian mix that decided to chase a wriath, when it started fading it nailed him in the ribs at a high speed. He never chased a disc again, but now he barks and growls when I am driving.

Now lookit here son, either put some vinegar on the discs, or spray him with some vinegar when he chases.

Just gotta keep tellin' them no. I made the mistake of giving my bulldog a disc heh...so then she would attack all my putters when I was practicing. Finally after a while, she knows what is hers and she knows that she is not allowed to chew mine...but she will stand on them and guard them so I cant get them heh.

Just glad she doesn't chew them anymore...cuz she can literally chew through one in seconds. Jaws of fury

practice practice practice.